Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toys from your Early Childhood

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭macfran

Polish tin with soil in it to play beds (hop scotch)
    Broken pieces of china /delph known as "chainies" used as money when playing shop.
    Rope to tie on lampost to swing on which the police would cut and confiscate.
    Catty sticks.
    and games that only needed friends and neighbours presence to play, catchagirlkissagirl, relievieo, hideandseek and in the frosty weather the SLIDE which was made by a sack or similar piece of material been dipped into a shore/drain and used to wet an area in the middle of the road and when it froze that was the SLIDE and the evening was spent with all the young people having great fun and falls on the icy road.

We had to use our imagination to pass our leisure time and we did not know the phrase " I'm bored"

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭nowuckenfurries

Evel Knievel's wind up motorcycle( http://www.eriding.net/media/photos/toys/040601_cbrown_mp_his_toy_knievel2.jpg )
    Buck Rogers die cast metal fighter ( http://www.die-cast-toys.com/tv-related/c647.jpg )
    Pocket Simon ( http://www.retrogames.co.uk/stock/assets/images/HH_-_Pocket_Simon.jpg )
    Connect 4
    Sinclair Spectrum 16 K...with silver foil printer
    Home Science Chemistry Kit.....Confiscated St Stepens day when I discovered that Sulphuric Acid mixed with Iron Filings makes stink bomb like smell & doesn't go down well with parents of next doors little darling when I threw it all over her "festive" white christmas jacket!!!:eek:

Star-Wars X-Wing fighter & AT-AT Models
    Matchbox speedway racing track
    Alba walkman type bricksized rip-off of a Sony Walkman!!!:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

• Registered Users Posts: 26 boghopper

I had
    48K rubber keyed Sinclair spectrum
    scramble (sort of arcade machine you put batteries into(my brother had AD Astra)
    bin full of slime and worms( plastic bucket full of rubber worms and this slime that didnt stick to your fingers, but one day it fell on my Da's suit and it bleached it white:mad: he was pretty pissed off
    we had a football game thing which you put on a table and u rotated the knobs on eithir side to make the footballers swing around and kick the ball (bearing)
    Grifter Bike
    brother had a Commando
    and big brother had a Chopper
    70's kids
    Happy Days:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭hellboy99

Bravestar
    Transformers
    Thundercats
    Visionaries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

Hmmm well have to say Lego ruled!:D

Also, Mechano stuff i think they were called.....loved making them!

Oh and those other games like Buckaroo, Operation or Mousetrap!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Roller skates
    Bike
    Footballs
    Hurleys or hockey sticks and balls
    Tennis racquet and balls
    Teddybear called Fonsie
    Marbles
    Jacks
    Hula hoop
    Doll called Belinda with a hyperthyroid look to her. Ohhhh, true love!
    Books - Irish Fairy Tales by James Stephens, King of Ireland's Son by Padraic Colum, Poo Poo and the Dragons by CS Forester, Ferdinand the Bull by Murray Leaf, a book called Myths and Legends with Roman and Greek legends that was officially my sisters and was pronounced mythes and leegends (with a hard G like gun) in the family, My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell, The Pursuit of Love by Nancy Mitford, everything by Dostoyevsky and Turgenev and Evelyn Waugh and PG Wodehouse and Damon Runyon.
    Cricket bat and ball (or failing that, poker and rolled-up socks)
    Tin tray, for tobogganing down the stairs (mind the fingers) when parents absent
    Skipping rope
    Tops
    Yo-yos
    Thread reels with nails in them for making grubby rolls of "knitting"
    Paper for origami folding, including "fortune telling" gadget you wiggled with your fingers
    Cards, for snap, poker (played for matches), whist, pontoon
    Dogs, cats, occasionally donkeys and pony

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Metacortex

Peaadina wrote:
    She-ra Doll? Eh? I didnt have she-ra herself but I had many many of the heroines, i think they were called! I had the Blue one called frosta, she was my fav, altho i cut all her hair off...sadly i didnt grow back :confused:

I loved those She-ra dolls, i had a few of them, they were the best.

I havea vague memory of a boglin as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Atari 2600. ;)
    Remember me da set the thing up and put centipede into it, I didn’t get near it for a week. He was hooked. Me ma had to physically drag him away to give me a shot, and then I was hooked.

Had millions of cars and he-man stuff and one of them skinny skateboards that you couldn't actually stand on, before the fat American skateboards came out, ahh death traps but loved it.

Lego was great too, remember I got special space Lego that was all grey and space looking, thought it was the business, and then the technic Lego came out after that, didn't think life could get much better. (Actually it never did get better) Remember some kid robbed me A-team van and switched it with a black van with no red stripe on it and tried to claim it was his all along. War for about a year after that. Robbed his he-man poster though so got my revenge.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭hamster

I was given this Milton Bradley "Big Trak" when I was younger. It was a battery powered four wheelie toy with a calculator pad on top to set up a series of automated steps. ie, you could tell it go 4 paces ahead then turn right and go forward 2 steps and so on. A nice toy at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭hamster

Big Trak piccie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 noh showband

Cars. When I was a lad, they were all I wanted, all I'd save up my pocket money for. A lot went to charity shops as I grew older and I've been trying to replace my favourites almost ever since. Difference now being that what used to cost a couple of shillings now cost me upward of 15 to 20 quid and, of course, much more for the specialised stuff.

P.S., I'm not a sad old man, I'm not, I'm not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

The ones I can remember:

- Lo-Lo balls
    - go cart
    - bike
    - hula-hoop
    - roller skates
    - lego
    - barbie ski cafe with real hot chocolate
    - barbie minivan thingy
    - barbie jeep
    - 2 cabbage patch dolls (anita and william)
    - glo worm
    - the orange/yellow keeper
    - lots of Littlest Pet Shop stuff....including the actual Pet Shop case thingy
    - Polly Pockets when she was still the tiny little plastic thing (no movable limbs)
    - one of those cup cake dolls
    - screwball scramble
    - connect 4
    - guess who?
    - monopoly
    - hungry hippos
    - the big yellow tea-pot
    - the big shoe- house thingy
    - pound puppy teddy

-

-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭arctic lemur

Sylvanian Families
    Fisher Price Garage
    Duplo/Lego
    Atari 2600 with centipede!
    Dinkys
    My Little Pony
    Care Bears
    Rubiks Cube
    Pocket Simon (anyone remember!!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

This guy

ORCO.jpg

Orco from he-man...great fun spinning across the table.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

Peaadina wrote:
    I had the Purple Keeper, she had a purple kind of polo kneck thing, I think she was mean to be a turtoise
    http://www.inthe80s.com/toys/keepers.shtml

I got Fraggle rock on dvd last week, GOD to be 7 again, watchin fraggle rock
    with a slice of Panda spread on white bread! and running around after!
    :p

I had one too - My most prized posession! they were called sheldon if i remember correctly! Brings a tear to my eye :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Briony Noh

Daleks - there were the small match-box size that ran on a single ballbearing in the base, looked really authentic and to scale. I stepped on one accidentally once and the head compacted into the body, which meant I accidentally had one with a rotating head!

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

The ones I can remember:

- barbie ski cafe with real hot chocolate
    - barbie minivan thingy
    - barbie jeep

-

Oh I would have hated you!!! That Barbie Ski Cafe looked SOOOOooo cool!!

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Had a few She-ra Dolls -
    Double Trouble.... http://members.aol.com/abishort/she-ra/heroins2.htm
    Mermista.... http://members.aol.com/abishort/she-ra/heroins3.htm
    Jeez this bringing back memories... Had another one Think she was a villian but can't find a pic.

My little Ponies and the my little pony Nursery http://members.aol.com/abishort/little/playset.htm

Only ever had one Barbie and that was an Office barbie or something. It was mainly Sindy dolls I had (so much better than barbie, weren't as slutty!)
    Oh I had a lovely Princess Sindy doll. http://www.club-sindy.com/threewishes_box.htm God I loved that one.
    oh and Mountain Bike Sindy http://www.club-sindy.com/herfunbike_box.htm She had weird jointed legs. lol

Played with my brothers Lego, Action Men (so they could married Sindy), their cars with ya know those car mats. I loved them!! Brothers also had police motor bike, Fire engine or truck can't remember and a Thomas the tank engine. We use to have mad races up and down the driveway.

Got one of those Fisher Price tape recorders with microphones. That was great, ya couldn't shut me up singing into it. (Jeez I must have been an annoying child!)

Had a few Key Keepers and care bear figures.

I have a Strawberry Shortcake doll still on my shelf!! and her hair still smells sweet!!

Had a Jem doll. http://www.jemdolls.com/jemstormer.html Think she was part of the rival gang. I so wanted the Jem doll where her earrings lit up!!! My cousin had that one!

Had one of those ribbon and tape exercise thingys. Got those Fisher Price roller skates the you could change the size. Then I progressed to boot skates when I was 10. Feckin loved them!!

Had one of those kitchen sets with pots and pans and all that. had a few tents/tepee thingys.

And my favorite doll, Mandy, that my grand da gave me when I was 2yrs old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Faker_Baker

Fisher Price Record Player
    A wind up clock that played "This old man..he played ..."
    A my little pony with stencil set
    A jack in the box
    sindy doll with bed and wardrobe and a couple of naff outfits
    A Fraggle Rock tea set
    ALF jigsaws

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

G.I Joe (Rolling Thunder FTW!)
    M.A.S.K
    Starcom
    He-Man
    Transformers
    Thundercats
    Dino Riders
    Juplo
    Stickybricks
    Lego
    Mechano
    K'NEX

Commodore64 with tape drive
    Gameboy
    SNES

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭lazygit

hamster wrote:
    Big Trak

i have a fully working one with trailer at home :)