Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rep. Of Ireland V Sweden (May Contain Scores)

• 01-03-2006 3:01pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭

As contained in the other thread, the Irish side lines up as follows:

Republic of Ireland team: Shay Given, Joey O'Brien, Andy O'Brien, Richard Dunne, Ian Harte, Stephen Elliot, Steven Reid, John O'Shea, Damien Duff, Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle

This should be a very interesting game with Stan trying out some of the younger players and I also expect to see the likes of Stephen Ireland being brought on at some stage. Personally I am hoping to see Liam Miller or Jonathon Douglas get a bit of a run out as im interested to see if they can bring their great form for Leeds to the international side. It will be interesting see how Robbie Keane performs in his first game as Irish captain and how he and Doyle link up as a partnership. I have high hopes for Kevin Doyle so im hoping he doesnt disappoint.

Sweden are a very good side and are bound to provide problems for us, but Ireland are usually very good in friendly games when the pressure is off and with so many players trying to impress Stan, I am expecting a good performance from the team. I hope that both Larrson and Ibrahimovic feature at some point in the game, better still if they started together because I think they are both top players and are sure to give our new Centre back partnership a good test.

I dont think we will lose the game tonight but im also not sure if we can get the win, however im going to be optimistic and go for a 2-1 win for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Cant see us beating Sweden, they are lookign to this game for practise for the England game in the WC. Hence they will play all the big stars and I think with the midfield we are playing a draw would be good. How long is it now since England beat Sweden? will be good to see some of the younger players on the pitch. Anyone know is TV3 replaying the full match at 10 like they used to do? in college till 10 so will miss it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Looking forward to tonight. Hope its a good game. Friendlies so often dissappoint but there will be a fresh feel to the Ireland squad tonight with many players looking to prove themselves. Result doesnt matter but it would be nice to get a win on Stans first game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭dr zoidberg

Big Nelly wrote:
    Cant see us beating Sweden, they are lookign to this game for practise for the England game in the WC. Hence they will play all the big stars and I think with the midfield we are playing a draw would be good. How long is it now since England beat Sweden? will be good to see some of the younger players on the pitch. Anyone know is TV3 replaying the full match at 10 like they used to do? in college till 10 so will miss it!!
    Yeah, there's full delayed coverage on TV3 tonight at ten ;) .

I'm looking forward to this, more so to see the way we try to play and of course to have a good look at the newcomers in the squad. Sweden are strong and I wouldn't be surprised or too concerned if we lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Its great to see the players in such good humour now. Things got far too technical under Kerr and the motivation disappeared.

Bringing back Mick Byrne and other members of the old guard was a good move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I'll go with a Sweden win.

The main thing tonight is that the new players gel with the current team.

My main reason for watching the match will be to see how Kevin Doyle gets on. It's quite incredible to see the same player who I watched in the eL less than 12 months ago get his deserved opportunity despite being the exact same player in his eL days. He shouldn't be the only ex or current eL player making an apperance tonight that's for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

A little pre match entertainment - spot the difference.

edit: never mind just spotted the other thread... fecks sake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Sandals

ZLatan and the boys will whoop our beys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

Draw half time, draw full time 4-1. That'll do me.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Nice goal by Duff

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

ye what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Why the **** is Niall Quinn trying to sound like Andy Gray?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

1-0 to Ireland. A far more auspicious start than I envisaged...

Edit: Whoops. Been listening to those "expand your vocabulary" tapes again :P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

maybe Niall wants to be more of an idiot, hence trying to sound like one. who will the next impression be, John Motson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Anyone else use Yahoo Widgets, see pic :)

He was commentating along side Andy Gray during the week, I think that's why he's trying to sound like him.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Excellent first half performance from Ireland. There have been so many positives in the first half not least the performnace of the three lads up front. Stan obviously told them to go out there switch around ther positions to confuse the swedes and they have done just that. All three are causing the swedes problems and some delightful one touch football is being played. Keane seems to be playing in a kind of a free role and he is doing well in it.

Damien Duff has been outstanding in the first half. If im to be uber critical then one or two of his crosses have not found there target but he is running rings around Ostlund and anyone else who comes near him. In fact I have to mention Ian Harte on that left side as well who has been very good so far lining with Duff. He has been excellent from the dead ball as well.

Steven Ried is another player who has been very good. He is controlling the middle of the park and putting in some great tackles. What the ref was doing booking him ill never know because it was a great crunching tackle that he clearly won the ball.

The only slightly negative thing for me so far is that Any O' Brien has looked a bit shaky at times but he has settled down as the half has wore on. Im delighted to see the passion back in the side as all players are trying very hard and Duff ran straight over to STan when he scored which is nice to see.

Im delighted so far and I hope the second half is more of the same.

england 0-1 uruguay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

england 0-1 uruguay

Some goal

It was bloody brilliant*.

* - And I'm not an England hater by the by... this is fiercely disappointing for me.

Ireland, on the other hand, are a revelation.

ireland 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

2 - 0

Robbie Keane scores!

I'm counting my chickens here but this is positive lads. Nice goal Keano.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭shabbyroad

Robbie Keane. Legend.

Nice and positive alright...I'm liking what I'm seeing, nice positive play. Whatever the result now, this is working better than I anticipated... well done Steve, doing better than I thought!

fgdsddddddddddddd1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭The Gecko

Indeed great start - lets pray its a sign of the good times ahead

fgdsddddddddddddd1.jpg

Hahaha. Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,395 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Decent enough match so far.
    Pity we have to listen to that dope Niall Quinn on Sky.
    Does he ever shut up.
    He is babbling non stop,stating the obvious,he must be paid by the word.
    He is like a mother watching her children playing down the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

sweden being pwned

3-0

/me hugs stan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

3-0 what a goal

MILLER! What a goal!

What a goal... I was roaring for him to go it alone and have a strike, didn't expect that. Wonderful goal, haven't seen a goal like that from Ireland since.... I don't know when.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭seabee

MILLER! What a goal!
    what more can i say :D

sjones wrote:
    What a goal... I was roaring for him to go it alone and have a strike, didn't expect that. Wonderful goal, haven't seen a goal like that from Ireland since.... I don't know when.

Andy reid maybe?

This is class stuff pisses all over kerr's playing style imho

One has to wonder what the last two qualifying tournaments would've been like had we played like this...Apparently the potential was there to play in such a positive way all along... But oh well - this is now, well done Staunton!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Can't see the game, are Ireland playing like a 3 goal lead or have the Swedes dozed off?

Mike.

mike65 wrote:
    Can't see the game, are Ireland playing like a 3 goal lead or have the Swedes dozed off?

Mike.

Playing like it very good showing tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

NoelRock wrote:
    One has to wonder what the last two qualifying tournaments would've been like had we played like this...Apparently the potential was there to play in such a positive way all along... But oh well - this is now, well done Staunton!

Jesus dont get carried away lads, its only one friendly match, will be interested to see how results continue after the initial novelty of impressing a new manager wears off...

Credit to Steve, lets hope this isn't a one off

shepthedog wrote:
    Jesus dont get carried away lads, its only one friendly match, will be interested to see how results continue after the initial novelty of impressing a new manager wears off...

Still though - we're playing against a team who have qualified for the World Cup. Clearly the changing of formation etc worked for the team, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Salmon

Heard earlier that Jack charlton and Mick McCarthy lost their first games and Brian Kerr won his first!! Hope its not a sign!! We really need the craic of tournament qualification back again!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

great result and we played great too. i liked the way the players switched around to diffrent positions during the game, they adapted quite well.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

What a brilliant performance by everyone in the green jersey tonight. We hammered a team that is 12 places ahead of us in the FIFA rankings and who had only conceeded 4 goals in their entire qualifying group. They had the strongest team available to them out on that pitch as well.

Steven Reid was brilliant throughout, never put a foot wrong in either position that he played and I think for that performance is good enough for him to have cemented his position in midfield. Richard Dunne was brilliant as well. He put in some great tackles at vital times, he won everything in the air and he was great on the ball. Great pace and strength as well when getting back. Duffer was out of this world and he ran rings around the Swedes all night long. Robbie Keane was great in his new role, he roamed around the pitch setting up the play and putting in tackles. I think he really took the captaincy role well and he was a great leader in everything he done tonight. I think Iam Harte was very good when he was on as well. He didnt get caught out once and his distribution was spot on. Did himself no harm at all tonight.

As for teh new boys they both did well. Joey O' Brien had one slip up when he stood on the ball but fellow new boy Henderson bailed him out with a terrific save. Doyle was a menace by getting into good positions and he tried hard but sadly no real chances came his way but he did well. Stephen Ireland looked assured on the ball and was unlucky not to score. I think he will develop into a great attacking midfielder for us.

From a personal point of view I am absolutely delighted for Liam Miller. What a goal that was. A great run from midfielsd and a great strike. He has been doing that alot for Leeds running with ball from midfield and setting up goals. But that was some strike. He also did very well in everything else he ahd to do. He was good on the ball picking out his passes well and the one time he lost the ball he got it straight back again. He put some other good challenges as well and looked very assured. Dont forget the clearing header from the goalline from a corner.

Finally I want to praise Stan and the coaching team for playing the tactics that they did. It was great attacking football that was sorely lacking under Kerrs reign . Not once did the team stop pushing forward and trying to play football. There was some great passing movements and the system of playing the attacking players and getting them switch around with each other worked perfectly. Its no mean feat to beat Sweden and to do it so comfortably was great to see. I wonder how much of an impact bringing the great Mick Byrne back had on team morale? Great decision by Stan to get him back on board.

Im not going to get carried away because I know its only one friendly match but all the signs are great and I cant wait for the next Ireland game. Terrific night of football and a smile is back on Irish footballing faces for the first time in a while :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Where to begin?? Couldn't have asked for a better first game under the new règime. Every player gave it their all, looked as if they had a second wind. I wouldn't be able to pick a man of the match. Richard Dunne was brilliant at the back, Duff had as good a game as I've seen him in an Ireland shirt, and Steven Reid looked as if he'd been commanding the centre midfield for years. Robbie Keane had a good first game as captain, got around well, and capped a fine performance with a fine goal.
    Delighted to see the new players do so well, Joey O' Brien had an outstanding game at right back. Stephen Ireland did brilliantly as well when he came on, as did Wayne Henderson who made one superb save. Maybe a little disappointed not to see Kevin Doyle play centrally all night, but great to see him in an Ireland shirt, and he had a really decent game as well. Happy also to see Liam Miller get his first Ireland goal, and what a goal to mark the occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

i'm shocked. i thought this was gonna be a defeat.
    shame i wasn't able to watch it.

congrats to stan and the lads. heres hoping for qualification for the next tournie eh

that said, just had a look at the number of subs made....and ireland usually do better in friendlies than real matches. no getting carried away for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Fair f**king play to them. They proved me wrong tonight and I'm delighted for everyone, the players, the backroom staff and most importantly Stan and Bobby.

You could see tonight that there was a togetherness and determination with the players that wasn't there when K*rr was at the helm. They played for each other tonight which I haven't seen from an Ireland team since when McCarthy was in charge.

Ok it's a friendly.... nothing to get excited about at all but the encouragement is there and tonight has set the bar for how we need to play come the qualifiers.

Great start but I do have to say Sweden were shocking tonight and I think most European teams would have got a result against them but that's to take nothing away from Ireland who were deserved winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

Havent time for a long post, but wow there was passion and hunger right through the team tonight, likes have not been seen since charlton year, well done stan here come the good times. Wonder if mick bryne brought rebel songs on the bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Said before the game the result doesnt matter and it still doesnt even though we won 3-0.

However its no harm beating a team like Sweden 3-0. Pretty much as I expected really in terms of indivduals. Dunne was immense, Duff was electric, Keane was lively as ever, Given hadnt much to do but if he had you would have expected him to deal with it.

The uncertainities going into the game were the new players and some of the older ones. Doyle looked capable. Didnt look out of place which was a relief as we have all built him up alot.

Obrien looked solid too, definite prospect but chances maybe limited with Finnan and Carr ahead of him.

Stephen Ireland came on and looked very good on the ball, I have doubts as to whether he would be strong enough for a two man centre midfield.

Harte was showed up defensively at times but he is very good on the ball and whether his ability on the ball is enough is debateable.

Miller looked sharp for the first time since he joined United. Delighted he scored a cracker will be a big boost for him.

Overall there was a great team spirit there. Everybody seemed to be enjoying themselves. Its something I dont beleive I saw under Kerr. While we will need a lot more than team spirit to get through our group it certainly helps.

Long road ahead, lets hope the glimpses we saw tonight will be built on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

Great result especially Miller scoring. Unable to download it or see the goals in the US.

One thing. Is there a chance of adding to the charter not to post scores of other live games on live threads for other games. I was downloading the England game and just seen this spoiler here on the Ireland Sweden one.
    england 0-1 uruguay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Great result.

Couldn't watch the game as it wasn't on tv here. All I got was bbc text updates. :(

Anyone got the goals uploaded?