Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie writes an article

• 01-03-2006 2:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭

Right, I've an article to put into the SU&Societies Page of Trinity News. It's going to be about how our beloved boards.ie forum has taken over the SU boards for the internet source of choice on all things Trinity. I was thinking of even making the point that it's even over-taking the University Record, if it could be fitted in subtly.

I've decided it would be a great endeavour if we open the floor up to all of ye to add a paragraph or a sentence or two.

The working headline is "Overboard: Trinity's New Medium", but that's open to change.

So come on, don't let this die! Apex, you've always been a deft touch with the ole' expression - give it a go!

I assume you'll be pointing to the ex- and present members of Trinity that are Admins, or is that going a bit too far? I'm sure Regi would like a page 3 shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Dateline - Dakota. the men and women of the USS TCD ready themselves for another day of combat - ready for whatever may come. the first thing they check, after bebo? Boards.ie.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Right, I've an article to put into the SU&Societies Page of Trinity News. It's going to be about how our beloved boards.ie forum has taken over the SU boards for the internet source of choice on all things Trinity. I was thinking of even making the point that it's even over-taking the University Record, if it could be fitted in subtly.

I've decided it would be a great endeavour if we open the floor up to all of ye to add a paragraph or a sentence or two.

The working headline is "Overboard: Trinity's New Medium", but that's open to change.

So come on, don't let this die! Apex, you've always been a deft touch with the ole' expression - give it a go!

You robbing basdtard, i'm working on one for Christean...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

crash_000 wrote:
    Dateline - Dakota. the men and women of the USS TCD ready themselves for another day of combat - ready for whatever may come. the first thing they check, after bebo? Boards.ie.
    bebo? ye n00b.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

You robbing basdtard, i'm working on one for Christean...

Fight it out ladies, I'll get the mud pit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

EduMyth wrote:
    I assume you'll be pointing to the ex- and present members of Trinity that are Admins, or is that going a bit too far? I'm sure Regi would like a page 3 shot.

and so would a lot of the trinity ladies.

i'm still a little sad that tcdsu.org was killed off like that - it used to be a very active community, and the final nail in the cross has to be that prospective students are coming to boards to ask questions about various courses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

cuckoo wrote:
    and so would a lot of the trinity ladies.

i'm still a little sad that tcdsu.org was killed off like that - it used to be a very active community, and the final nail in the cross has to be that prospective students are coming to boards to ask questions about various courses.
    ...like me. But isn't the forum back up? http://su.netsoc.tcd.ie/modules.php?op=modload&name=pnForum&file=index

yeah but ever since this tcd board has appeared posters have been moving here....even before the site died it was pretty damn quiet....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

It's up, but quiet. Which I think is a good thing - the SU has enough to be doing without trying to look after a forum as well. Even when it was busy and Boards didn't have a TCD section, it was still no more than a handful of regular users, with disproprtionate workload for the union. Boards.ie is excellent because of the various people involved at different levels - mods and admins are separate, etc. Also, there is a lot of back and forth between the different sections, which a college-specific board wouldn't have (e.g. some TCD users post here and also on a CYTI section or a topic-specific board etc). Finally, and most importantly, Boards.ie has nothing to do with Trinity College or anything that gets funding from the college. Which is healthy, in my opinion. It means that you have a balance of sources - TN (funded but non-Union), the Record (funded and Union), the college official website ('Hegarty Brings Sunshine and Light, Say Students'), Boards.ie (unfunded, un-Union), the toilet walls in the Arts and Hamilton buildings, the Pav late at night, etc.

xeduCat wrote:
    Boards.ie (unfunded, un-Union)
    what is it regi's sig says "Regi accepts visa , mastercard and all other major creditcards" ;)

The toilet walls tell me to do dirty things :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Yeah good idea enda, a little more publicity can't do any harm.
    xeduCat wrote:
    It's up, but quiet. Which I think is a good thing - the SU has enough to be doing without trying to look after a forum as well. Even when it was busy and Boards didn't have a TCD section, it was still no more than a handful of regular users, with disproprtionate workload for the union. Boards.ie is excellent because of the various people involved at different levels - mods and admins are separate, etc. Also, there is a lot of back and forth between the different sections, which a college-specific board wouldn't have (e.g. some TCD users post here and also on a CYTI section or a topic-specific board etc). Finally, and most importantly, Boards.ie has nothing to do with Trinity College or anything that gets funding from the college. Which is healthy, in my opinion. It means that you have a balance of sources - TN (funded but non-Union), the Record (funded and Union), the college official website ('Hegarty Brings Sunshine and Light, Say Students'), Boards.ie (unfunded, un-Union), the toilet walls in the Arts and Hamilton buildings, the Pav late at night, etc.
    That's very good.. enda you could use that!

An internet phenomenon, unlike this fleeting bebo craze, has been growing slowly but steadily around campus over the past two years. Its influence has far surpassed say that of the SU forum, though it has absolutely nothing to do with the SU. In this writer's opinion it has even eclipsed The University Record as a medium for college related information. It's not merely about that however. As any "boardsie" will tell you, it's become somewhat of an open community with quite the informal atmosphere. So if you're sick of "Points of Information" and inane beurocracy then why not pop in, have a look and even say hello.

I dunno if you can use that, but it's my best post-study effort. Good luck with it enda...

Starting two years ago - since then its influence has been far reached. candidates for election have logged on to dispute points about their campaigns, and even two members were recognised over a debacle concerning a campaign team - boards.ie Trinity has reached gargauntuan dimensions...

crash_000 wrote:
    Starting two years ago - since then its influence has been far reached. candidates for election have logged on to dispute points about their campaigns, and even two members were recognised over a debacle concerning a campaign team - boards.ie Trinity has reached gargauntuan dimensions...

.....as evident in the short lived 'date crash' poster campaign that puzzled students around the campus last year.

(this is fun)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

one of the most popular websites in Ireland is run by a former TCD student - DeVore (aka Tom Murphy)

And Regi - a former+returning TCD student.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Enda has just rung me, and said to post the following message:
    Get back on topic please.

yeh yeh like he ever stays on topic......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Ah now here Euro some of those replies were excellent and very helpful. You fed me the false line that it had descended into a chat! Well done Crash, xEduCat, Apex, Rountower, cuckoo.

Moderated primarily by SS Maths geek Ian....... ;).

Do any of the admins etc. wanna add a quote? Or one of the regulars pretending to be an admin?

A great advantage boards.ie has over the SU website is the great variety of choice. When one gets bored waiting for a reply on TCD-related gossip, you can peruse over 500 other forums covering almost every imaginable topic. With forums ranging from Scuba Diving to Conspiracy Theories to a recreational "After Hours" forum, boards has a bebo-like addictive element. Clocking in with well over two thousand posts a day, boards is never accused of being a boring place.

(Completely seperate paragraph): TCD now boasts some well known boardsies including Dónal McCormack, John McGuirk, Dave Quinn, Robert Kearns and Daithí MacSíthigh. To the amusement to all posters, a registered user with the name of jhegarty has recently been found to browsing the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭regi

Make sure there's a "Don't forget to subscribe" at the bottom.

(Completely seperate paragraph): TCD now boasts some well known boardsies including Dónal McCormack, John McGuirk, Dave Quinn, Robert Kearns and Daithí MacSíthigh. To the amusement to all posters, a registered user with the name of jhegarty has recently been found to browsing the forum.

1) Well known? Feck off.
    2) I wish to register my lack of amusement at the registered user with the name of jhegarty browsing the forum.
    3) I wish to register my fear at the above user.

Don't actually register any of the above!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

TCD now boasts some well known boardsies including Dónal McCormack, John McGuirk, Dave Quinn, Robert Kearns and Daithí MacSíthigh.
    Ahem... forgetting someone? (namely me)

i need another mention in TN actually - "home of wands and sceptres afficionado Neil McGough" might be good :p

jhegarty

- yes, but bebo has 'matthejap'

off topic/ (sorry enda!)

i was thinking about this (lab reports=tedium), and maybe tcdsu.org does have a purpose as a message board, for the 'on message' delivery of accurate information. i could register an account here as 'welfare' and post away merrily about how it was ok to re-use condoms if you wash them with diluted domestos, and all sorts of inaccuracies about applying for the grant, etc.

on topic/

tcd boards beers. they've got to be mentioned, if only for the comedic value of 'um, yeah, hi, my name is 'random internet tag that seemed fine when i was registering on boards in a whim and now i'm stuck with''.

cuckoo wrote:
    i was thinking about this (lab reports=tedium), and maybe tcdsu.org does have a purpose as a message board, for the 'on message' delivery of accurate information. i could register an account here as 'welfare' and post away merrily about how it was ok to re-use condoms if you wash them with diluted domestos, and all sorts of inaccuracies about applying for the grant, etc.
    I really don't think thats any adv of tcdsu.org, mainly cause anyone could register an account on there 2 and post crap. Here there would likely be a reply in seconds by someone on boards declaring how stupid that was... And in both places the thing would probally deleted and the person banned....

Mod status for 'welfare' on tcdsu.org? Something like that to indicate that they (should) know what they're talking about?

Like here, we know that edumyth is the ed officer, and xeducat the ex ed officer, and thus put a weighted value on their utterances when they post about repeat fees, etc, but a randomer reading the boards wouldn't have any reason to know this.

Cuckoo's right Ian, tcdsu does (and I've no doubt boards would have no problem with it but they can't - there are just too many forums to provide specific registrations) register "keynames" such as Education and Welfare.

However, back on topic back on topic!

I'm going to give ye some suggestions to write a few sentences/paragraph on! There's a pint in it for the best contributor, even if it's Ian :P. Ah here now in fairness I'm giving you a lot of slack on this thread, you're far better than you used to be imo, don't take it to heart.

-Date Crash incident
    -Growth of the board, new members etc
    -The boards beers
    -The coverage of the election, including the "libellous post"
    -Glory Holes thread
    -The moderation
    -Other useful uses of the board/boards (homework etc)?

We have to finish this by about lunchtime tomorrow, or Andrew_83 will have my head.

Oh and someone should volunteer to get a good boards image. Either a screenshot, or a photo of somone browsing boards, or a photo of a member or something.

maybe it might be worth mentioning (on a more controversial note), that a lot of people came over here about a year ago from tcdsu because of a perception of excess moderation / censorship on tcdsu at that time ... think that was a last big bunch of evacues from that discussion board ... posts seeming to vanish etc

"one of the regular users has even been the result of a poster campaign around college. following a complaint about being single, the poor guy arrived into college to a barrage of "date Crash" posters - truly showing the power of the internet.

So next time you see random posters where you cant tell where they're from, think of boards."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

EduMyth wrote:
    I'm sure Regi would like a page 3 shot.

The mental image SHE BURNS!!!!

*Gets the domestos and ear funnel*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Glory Holes thread

An indepth and well-illustrated discussion of the glory holes in the Hamilton building toilets was another gem. What started as a simple question became a no-holds barred, taboo-busting phenomenon. Anything you ever wanted to know about bodily functions, illicit sexual encounters, menstruation, washable tampons, female masturbation, or the mystery of the men's urinals in the Berkely Library was contained therein. Some classic quotes:

(on men who use glory holes)
    "..there must be a thrill in getting your jollies with a faceless, unidentified person. i wonder if there is a 'was that good for you?' and 'now it's your turn' element to it, or is it just one sided."

(on the "front to back method")
    "remember us guys don't need to wipe, we just shake. Although [...] you can actually shake for too long, and freak people out. There's an etiquette to it [...]"

(on the thread itself)
    "it has transcended that. its now a thread for all those things you wanted to comment on, but didn't think were socially acceptable. all those toiletry related issues that haven't seen daylight before."

Cuckoo's right Ian, tcdsu does (and I've no doubt boards would have no problem with it but they can't - there are just too many forums to provide specific registrations) register "keynames" such as Education and Welfare.
    If you were to talk about something about education/welfare, we have specific boards for them, and the important people to listen to have that big ole moderator thing for that board.You might note on these boards moderators have noted who's advice to listen to on a few occasions on certain issues, usually pretaining to education matters.

A randomer isn't necessarily going to discount a post by someone with 'mr doc' as their login on the tcdsu board, your using the assumption they know of the existance of a welfare poster and that this other one might not be trust worthy.

While in theory the idea of people being marked as their position would seem to lead to a more relayable system, due to the sheer number of posters and rate of correction on boards it probally easily offsets that. As with the slow posting on the tcdsu boards, and lower membership the odds of inaccurate information remaining for a long time period without being challanged is much greater.

I think it's more important for the SU website to have good, frequently updated, easily accessible, well written and 100% accurate readable/downloadable information. Interaction is nice, but too often, it can cause (and I'm speaking generally here, not specific to anything in TCD) a rush to play with the new features while neglecting the old.

Any advice that officers give through a discussion-board format is just another tool in the toolbox of in-person office, in-person out of office, email, telephone, mobile phone, messages taken, instant messaging, 'my friend asked', newsletters, handbooks, newspapers, leaflets, posters, etc.

Why would you name ALL su heads? Are they the only people of noteriety in this place? I dunno if I'd much like this place associated too much with the su because it really isn't.
    enda wrote:
    Dave Quinn
    Seriously? What's his username?

Surely you should mention Gambino in this Angryb

I might be a well known person in TCD (eek! shades of that horrible USian concept, the 'Big Man On Campus' phenomenon), but not on Boards - I don't really post much outside the TCD section, and I only have a couple of hundred here. Pathetic, really.

Dave Quinn has only posted a handful of times; Robert Kearns once. I see the point you're trying to make, but maybe picking out the True Addicts (e.g. Dónal) might get that across a bit more faithfully?

Course, given all the dubious advice that you're getting on this, why not just write the article through a Wiki, and then let chaos reign! The LA Times did that a while ago, and it ended up as an almighty flamewar. Lovely.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Seriously? What's his username?
    I think it was dave_chair or something like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

I think it was dave_chair or something like that...

wow subtle!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Why would you name ALL su heads?

This is hackboy we're talking about, remember!?

yeah but daithi makes a good point, they make up something under 1% of posts on this board(that is su heads beyond donal and daithi), so its really mis-representative to quote them and not someone like yourself Pet ;)

so if its a complete hackery article does that give us an excuse to make a thread flaming enda and keep it as the top forum in this board for anyone who finds here to read ? ;)

Though Gambino was interesting during his brief stay.....what he get banned for again anyone?(perma banned for multiple accounts iirc?)

An internet phenomenon, unlike this fleeting Bebo craze, has been growing slowly but steadily around campus over the past two years. Its influence has far surpassed say that of the SU forum, though it has absolutely nothing to do with the SU. In this writer's opinion it has even eclipsed The University Record as a medium for college related information. It's not merely about that however. As any "boardsie" will tell you, it's become somewhat of an open community with quite the informal atmosphere. So if you're sick of "Points of Information" and inane beurocracy then why not pop in, have a look and even say hello.

Boards.ie was officially founded in 2000 and has grown Ireland's largest online community with over 50,000 members. Now one of the most popular websites in Ireland, it is run primarily TCD students Dan King and Jerry Connolly and alumnus Tom Murphy. [Sorry Vexorg and Cloud!] If the growth of 2005 continues, the site will be twice as busy as ryanair.com by the end of the year.

A huge advantage boards.ie has over the SU website is the great variety of choice available. When one gets bored waiting for a reply on TCD-related gossip, you can peruse over 500 other forums covering almost every imaginable topic. With forums ranging from Scuba Diving to Conspiracy Theories to a recreational "After Hours" forum, boards has that Bebo-like addictive element. Clocking in with well over two thousand posts a day, it's never accused of being a boring place.

Boards now boasts some well known TCD'ers including Dónal McCormack, John McGuirk, Dave Quinn, Robert Kearns, Daithí MacSíthigh and Wands and Sceptres afficionado Neil McGough. To the amusement to all posters, a registered user with the name of jhegarty has recently been observed browsing the forum. The TCD "community" is well-knit: one of the regular users was the result of a poster campaign around college; following a complaint about being single, the poor guy arrived into college the next morning to a barrage of "Date Crash" posters - truly showing the extent power of the community present.

Many people have commented that the heavy-handed moderating on the SU forum dealt its death-blow. Certainly, at around the time that complaints about the moderation were rife, the TCD forum of boards.ie noticed a surge in activity. However one notable who was ulitimately banned is the legendary indefatigable Christopher Gambino. Having told us of how he pierced holes in his housemate's condoms for borrowing his jumper, commented that "poor spelling is a sign of a good education" and stating "what's wrong with dictatorships when they are good ones? i fully support heroes like Franco, Pinochet, De Valera and that guy in Argentina in the seventies" his stay was interrupted when he made one abusive comment too many.

An in-depth and graphic discussion of the "glory holes" in the Hamilton Building toilets was one gem that showed the effective moderating. What started as a simple question became a no-holds barred, taboo-busting phenomenon. Anything you ever wanted to know about bodily functions, illicit sexual encounters, menstruation, washable tampons, female masturbation, or the mystery of the men's urinals in the Berkely Library was contained therein. Some classic quotes include "remember us guys don't need to wipe, we just shake. Although you can actually shake for too long, and freak people out. There's an etiquette to it." and "there must be a thrill in getting your jollies with a faceless, unidentified person. I wonder if there is a 'was that good for you?' and 'now it's your turn' element to it, or is it just one sided?"

Right so we need a paragraph on the beers and a nice little conclusion. So far it's looking like a three-way brawl between Pet, Crash and Apex for that pint for best contributor!

Well apart from the SU fixation (in terms of gratituous Union-bashing - a TCD rite of passage - while also giving namechecks to hacks), it's looking good, but it's bureaucracy, not beurocracy. Your editor will kill you for that one.

xeduCat wrote:
    it's looking good, but it's bureaucracy, not beurocracy.
    lol yeah, :o I knew there was a reason I did physics..

I'd tend to agree with others enda that dave quinn etc aren't good people to mention considering they haven't been present in any noticeable way..

An internet phenomenon, unlike this fleeting Bebo craze, has been growing slowly but steadily around campus over the past two years. Its influence has far surpassed say that of the SU forum, though it has absolutely nothing to do with the SU. In this writer's opinion it has even eclipsed The University Record as a medium for college related information. It's not merely about that however. As any "boardsie" will tell you, it's become somewhat of an open community with quite the informal atmosphere. So if you're sick of "Points of Information" and inane beurocracy then why not pop in, have a look and even say hello.

Boards.ie was officially founded in 2000 and has grown Ireland's largest online community with over 50,000 members. Now one of the most popular websites in Ireland, it is run primarily by TCD students Dan King and Jerry Connolly and alumnus Tom Murphy. [Sorry Vexorg and Cloud!] If the growth of 2005 continues, the site will be twice as busy as ryanair.com by the end of the year.

A huge advantage boards.ie has over the SU website is the great variety of choice available. When one gets bored waiting for a reply on TCD-related gossip, you can peruse over 500 other forums covering almost every imaginable topic. With forums ranging from Scuba Diving to Conspiracy Theories to a recreational "After Hours" forum, boards has that Bebo-like addictive element. Clocking in with well over two thousand posts a day, it's never accused of being a boring place.

Boards now boasts some well known TCD'ers including Dónal McCormack, John McGuirk, Dave Quinn, Robert Kearns, Daithí MacSíthigh and Wands and Sceptres afficionado Neil McGough. To the amusement to all posters, a registered user with the name of jhegarty has recently been observed browsing the forum. The TCD "community" is well-knit: one of the regular users was the result of a poster campaign around college; following a complaint about being single, the poor guy arrived into college the next morning to a barrage of "Date Crash" posters - truly showing the extent power of the community present.

Many people have commented that the heavy-handed moderating on the SU forum dealt its death-blow. Certainly, at around the time that complaints about the moderation were rife, the TCD forum of boards.ie noticed a surge in activity. However one notable who was ulitimately banned from boards.ie is the legendary indefatigable Christopher Gambino. Having told us of how he pierced holes in his housemate's condoms for borrowing his jumper, commented that "poor spelling is a sign of a good education" and stating "what's wrong with dictatorships when they are good ones? i fully support heroes like Franco, Pinochet, De Valera and that guy in Argentina in the seventies" his stay was interrupted when he made one abusive comment too many.

An in-depth and graphic discussion of the "glory holes" in the Hamilton Building toilets was one gem that showed the effective moderating. What started as a simple question became a no-holds barred, taboo-busting phenomenon. Anything you ever wanted to know about bodily functions, illicit sexual encounters, menstruation, washable tampons, female masturbation, or the mystery of the men's urinals in the Berkely Library was contained therein. Some classic quotes include "remember us guys don't need to wipe, we just shake. Although you can actually shake for too long, and freak people out. There's an etiquette to it." and "there must be a thrill in getting your jollies with a faceless, unidentified person. I wonder if there is a 'was that good for you?' and 'now it's your turn' element to it, or is it just one sided?"

Right so we need a paragraph on the beers and a nice little conclusion. So far it's looking like a three-way brawl between Pet, Crash and Apex for that pint for best contributor!

Is this a little too much of an in-joke article?

Boards now boasts some well known TCD'ers including Dónal McCormack, John McGuirk, Dave Quinn, Robert Kearns, Daithí MacSíthigh and Wands and Sceptres afficionado Neil McGough.
    Fine then, mention Neil and not me. Ffs, I'm kind of a big deal around here, people know me, I have many leatherbound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

my apartment smells of rich mahogony.
    Rotten mahogany?

The SU theme is important. It's about how boards has taken over the TCDSU board and it's going on the only SU-related page in Trinity News. That's why the names mentioned were very SU-based. If anyone can suggest replacements for the hackity names they'd be mucho appreciatedo.

By the way it's not SU bashing, xEduCat. Saying boards > TCDSU board is not SU bashing. It's realistic. There's nothing anti-SU in that article, nor has there been anything anti-SU on the SU [& Societies] page this year.

Correction list:
    -Put into third person
    -Mention Ronny

Any volunteers for contributions about the beers and anyone want to offer a puke-inducing conclusion? Anyone want to offer a photo to flll up some room? Dónal, your contribution have been pitiful! Forshame man, you've always provided about half the page in previous editions! I invoke a contribution from you.

I'll start ye off:
    As the members are members of college they've inevitably become friendly outside of the computer rooms....

So could this mark the demise of the TCDSU board? ....

I'll be sending this off to print at 3pm.

The SU theme is important. It's about how boards has taken over the TCDSU board and it's going on the only SU-related page in Trinity News. That's why the names mentioned were very SU-based. If anyone can suggest replacements for the hackity names they'd be mucho appreciatedo.

You could point to how not only present "well known" TCD folks post here, but if you're pointing to the SU you could point to Niall Hughes (present Ents Officer), Tony O'Donnell (ex-Deputy President), Dave Memery (ex-Education Officer), Michael Dowling (ex-GSU President), Ross Mulcahy (ex-Ents Candidate), Andrew Payne (Editor of TN/ex-Deputy President Candidate), Denise O'Connell (ex-Education Officer candidate), John Inderhaug (ex-Health Sciences Convenor)...
    Any volunteers for contributions about the beers and anyone want to offer a puke-inducing conclusion? Anyone want to offer a photo to flll up some room? Dónal, your contribution have been pitiful! Forshame man, you've always provided about half the page in previous editions! I invoke a contribution from you.

Heh, yeah I was being coy for a reason. I find boards great for reaching students which are not normally associated with the SU (with the permission of the mods of course), or who check the SU website. The SU forum used to have up to 100 posts a day in its heyday, which is nothing compared to boards, but it still was impressive. Given that one of the reasons that I got involved in the SU was through the SU message boards, I think that it would be easy to blame the moderators or the hackiness of those boards, but in reality I think the diversity just wasn't there - on boards you have hundreds of locations and tens of thousands of members to talk about a subject. Still, the SU site is far from useless.

Oh, and a bit of info: the TCD board is the largest post-wise of all other colleges on boards.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭regi

Couple of quick ones - Jerry isn't in TCD.
    If the growth of 2005 continues, the site will be twice as busy as ryanair.com by the end of the year

Completely untrue :) Where did you even get that from?