Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipping Takeaway Delivery Drivers!

• 27-02-2006 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭

Ok question thats been bugging me!

If I order a takeaway for delivery I always ask for how much the order is including delivery I then have the exact change ready for the driver. But I was talking to a guy I work with who does delivery parttime and he tells me that people give him tips and people who don't are tight arses! But I don't see the point of tipping I mean I'm paying a delivery fee of 1.50 or 2 Euros so which I take it goes straight to the driver so why pay anything extra???

Just want to get other peoples opinions.

Snake ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Of course he'd say that.
    I used to tip. But, they're such gits* I make a point of giving exact change. They're already getting ~2 per delivery and have numerous customers per run.
    (*Pretending that they don't have change,etc.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Jesus, I didn't realise people were so fecking cheap.

Just tip them ffs. Its not like they get paid a massive amount of money. If you can afford to get takeaway, you can afford to give him a couple of quid for his time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

I know what you are saying, I mean, I've seen some pitiful deliverymen rummaging in pockets for 5 minutes looking for my change. But I'm of the opinion that if I'm paying 1.50 or 2 euro to have a take away brought around the corner, then it's not my problem. Surely the delivery men get the delivery fee!?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

why the hell does he deserve a tip ?

not exactly a waiter is he

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Gator

A few of my mates did it college part-time and they did terrible things to the food when people did not tip,you can hide a lot of things in sauces and burgers....if you don't tip the first time I suggest you tip the second:D

Gator wrote:
    A few of my mates did it college part-time and they did terrible things to the food when people did not tip,you can hide a lot of things in sauces and burgers....if you don't tip the first time I suggest you tip the second:D

Your mates are arseholes so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

if they deliver fast (within 20 minutes) i'll give them a tip of a euro or two, but other than that they can feck off tbh, prices are expensive enough in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

just tip the drivers 1-2 euros and they will be happy and you will be happy as they delivered your food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i'm out sick at the moment and money is tight, so they don't get a tip (on the rare occasion i splash out on a takeaway). the way i see it is, why should i tip them? they have a job and i don't.
    i do tip them when i am working though.

drdre wrote:
    just tip the drivers 1-2 euros and they will be happy and you will be happy as they delivered your food.

Eh, 2 euro plus the 2 euro they get for delivering around the corner? My bollix, I could get a taxi around and back for the same price. Unskilled workers should accept their lot in life.

**** them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Just tip them ffs. Its not like they get paid a massive amount of money. If you can afford to get takeaway, you can afford to give him a couple of quid for his time.
    I don't get tipped for my badly paid job. The most a delivery person gets from me is when I round the price off to the Euro.

If they don't get paid as much as they'd like, get a better job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Cremo wrote:
    if they deliver fast (within 20 minutes) i'll give them a tip of a euro or two, but other than that they can feck off tbh, prices are expensive enough in this country.
    Aye, likewise. But, as someone has said, if I don't have the money (no job), they don't get a tip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Man, this country's gone stupid for tipping, the guy carries your food from his car so that earns him a tip? If he wants more money he can get a better job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

Kernel wrote:
    Eh, 2 euro plus the 2 euro they get for delivering around the corner? My bollix, I could get a taxi around and back for the same price. Unskilled workers should accept their lot in life.

**** them.
    why dont you get off your lazy ass and collect yourself if its just around the corner:rolleyes: :D

the_syco wrote:
    Aye, likewise. But, as someone has said, if I don't have the money (no job), they don't get a tip.

How would you feel if some of those delivery boys were **** or spitting into your curry as a result - like Gator's mates? I know it adds some protein, but **** that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

I hate that no change crap.. it's just annoying. Plus.. the last few times I've ordered pizza it's been pretty cold.. and the order has been wrong. So.. depending on the mood.. ususally no tip.. although the odd time if the delivery person is nice I'll give a euro or so.

county wrote:
    why dont you get off your lazy ass and collect yourself if its just around the corner:rolleyes: :D

Because I'm busy having sex, and I can't exactly walk around in my silk smoking jacket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭CodeMonkey

My dad used to own a takeaway and I can tell you that delivery drivers make a fortune for doing a part time job (they all got a full time job). €20-€30 to show up and an average of 10+ deliveries an hour for 5 hours for €2 per delivery. On a busy night they will do more. They always go out with a batch of orders in the same general area. Add on tips, everything is in cash so no taxes, you work it out. People who don't tip are not cheap. You are just being over generous. If you have so much money to waste donate to some charity instead of funding someone's 2nd car.

Cork_girl wrote:
    I hate that no change crap.. it's just annoying. Plus.. the last few times I've ordered pizza it's been pretty cold.. and the order has been wrong. So.. depending on the mood.. ususally no tip.. although the odd time if the delivery person is nice I'll give a euro or so.

You're right Cork Girl, fair play to the rebel county! Here's the song for all us who don't tip the delivery boys:

Growin' up you don't see the writing on the wall
    Passin' by,
    movin' straight ahead you'd knew it all
    But one day sometime when you feel the pain
    You'll find you're all alone,
    everything has changed.
    Play the game,
    you know you can't quit until it's won
    Soldier on,
    only you can do what must be done
    You know in some ways you're a lot like me
    You're just a prisoner,
    and you're tryin to break free
    I can see the new horizon underneath the blazing sky
    I'll be where the eagles flyin higher and higher
    Gonna be a man in motion,
    all i need's a pair of wheels
    Take me where my future's lyin,
    St.
    Elmo's fire.
    Burnin up,
    dont know just how far that I can go
    Soon be home,
    only just a few miles down the road.
    I can make it,
    I know I can
    You broke the boy in me,
    but you won't break the man.
    Just once in his life a man has his time,
    and my time is Now,
    I'm coming
    alive -
    I can hear the music playin,
    i can see the banners fly
    Feels like you're back again and hope riding high
    Gonna be your man in motion,
    all i need's a pair of wheels
    Take me where my future's lyin St.
    Elmo's fire
    I can climb the highest mountain,
    cross the wildest sea
    I can feel St.
    Elmo's fire burnin in me
    burnin,
    I can feel it burnin in me.

Give them nothing! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Kernel wrote:
    How would you feel if some of those delivery boys were **** or spitting into your curry as a result - like Gator's mates? I know it adds some protein, but **** that!
    I'd moan. They know that the previous owners got kicked out due to complaint's. Also, if I knew they spat in my food, I'd key their car. Their supped up Mazda wouldn't look as good then:D

Oh, and this is for the local only. Never tip if I have to pay too much for delivery, tho.

the_syco wrote:
    I'd moan. They know that the previous owners got kicked out due to complaint's. Also, if I knew they spat in my food, I'd key their car. Their supped up Mazda wouldn't look as good then:D

I'd never advocate vandalism, but power to the people syco! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

I will tip the first 1 or 2 times they come, But if i start getting dicked around either by the driver or by whoever i ordered the take-away from.

I've had some running battles with Apache pizza ( won't say which one , as it's been more than 2 different stores).
    But the worst case has to be as follows :

I order myself a 16" Apache Special ( i'm a pig i know) So the lad turns up after 55 mins :mad: . He parks at a angle in the drive way blocking anyone trying to get out. My brother had had a very bad asthma attack the day before so we needed to be able to leave at a moments notice.
    Teh Delievery lad Rings teh bell ( well keeps it pressed till someone answers the door - i fukking hate it when they do that) . My dad answers, he spots where the Numpty has parked and asks him to move the car, to which the lad responds with a classy "Fukk off mister i'm busy". think of a shot from Malcom in the middle , one where loise gets rilled by something said and i think it's fair to say that your on the way of knowing what is going to happen.
    My dad no longer asks but tell's him to move his car, he explaines that there is a sick child in the house and that he might need to go to the hospital if it gets any worse. The lad responds "where you not listening to me ? Fukk off"

That was it , my dad lost it , they got into a screaming match , the lad thows my pizza on the ground , rallys out of the drive way , parks in the middle of the road. By the time he's back i have my pizza in my hands ( i've managed to get my dad away from the front door). The lad comes up and i honestly don't know how he was able to ask this , "that will be 18 eurons please" , I tell him there is not a chance in hell i'm paying after the abuse he gave my father , that if he has a problem he can call his supervisor. he then goes to walk inside the house without permission. I tell him in no uncertain terms that he is not coming into the house, at this all i can hear is my dad shouting from the living room " tell the little **** he car is crap , and tell him to get off my land :eek: ". I explaine that if he wants to ring his supervisor he's gona have to use his mobile or drive back.

He walks off , turns around give me the finger and was just about to get in his car, i decided i'd have some fun..

Do you want a tip ?
    Fukk you
    Here's a tip for ya , Don't walk into doors , there hard.

he drives off giving me the finger, fair enough. I call up the Store i got my pizza from , ask to speak with the manager ( who is also the area manager - she looked after 4 different stores) i explaine what has happend and that it's totaly unexceptable.

A different driver is down in 15 mins with piping hot pizza and a written note from the manager apologising about what has happend and informing me she has fired said asshole from the store ( if that happened i'd bu surprised.).

But still , Some people don't know how to be civil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Fair play to ya on standing your ground and getting 2 free pizzas. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

megatron - would you not be worried he'll come back and throw a few punches at you? It would be pretty obvious it was you who got him fired, after all.

And do you not think your dad totally over-reacted? He could see this guy was delivering a pizza...he was only going to be parked there for 20 seconds. Not that that excuses the way the delivery guy spoke to him but still...

Did this happen recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

i pretty much always tip the delivery driver, but only coz thats always been an expected thing to do. Someone mentioned that this country is getting ridiculous for tipping, and I've noticed this.
    Anyone buy a herald lately from those people that stand at the traffic lights around Dublin?? half the time I do, I only have a 2 Euro coin (herald costs a euro) and they stand there staring at you while pretending to be rummaging for change!! Either that, or they make a big thing about using their teeth to take off their gloves so they can get into their pockets. Being expected to tip when you buy a newspaper is really just taking the p*ss. Whats next, put 28 euro petrol in your car and you'll be expected to "just call it €30" This is getting silly, expecially when the people you're tipping are rude arrogant wonkers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

If you get a bit of particularly special, quick service, over and above what you already paid for, then a consideration for the person concerned may be in order. The truth is giving these guys a tip doesn't mean he will deliver quickly next time as his delivery route is determined by whatever other orders he has on the same run. It will never be the same twice in a row so you are not building a relationship of any kind with the delivery guy. Another condsideration, this is possibly a second un-taxed job or even a job done by an unemployment benefit claimant. Do I really have enough cash to be handing it over to dodgers like this? Also you are giving a tip for a brown paper bag. The food inside may be cold, not even your order, short of a item or whatever and you are giving a "good service" tip in advance? What a laugh.
    I think a lot of people tip just to feel superior to the person they are tipping. It's like saying "Here my man have some extra money, its just cluttering up my pockets, go home and feed your starving urchins with money I don't even need, Run along now."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

eth0_ wrote:
    megatron - would you not be worried he'll come back and throw a few punches at you? It would be pretty obvious it was you who got him fired, after all.

he was more than welcome to try , It's not that i think i'm a hard man , it's just that all my bro's where in the house ( me and 3 others ) and all of them are are 6 foot +.
    eth0_ wrote:
    And do you not think your dad totally over-reacted? He could see this guy was delivering a pizza...he was only going to be parked there for 20 seconds. Not that that excuses the way the delivery guy spoke to him but still...

Did this happen recently?

yes my dad did over react , but only when he was told to fukk off. If you parked on someones property then they have every right to ask you to move your car.

and no , it happend a good 5 years ago now i'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Can't see the point in tipping them really. I tip in resteraunts for good service, if the waiter has made my evening a little bit more enjoyable, I can't see how a delivery driver is going to do this.

I'm already paying a delivery charge to the driver, he's getting paid to deliver the food, not serve it up. It would be like tipping your postman everytime he brings your post.

It's funny though, one of the drivers for my local Chinese has started bringing his kid out with him and is sending the little lad from the car to the doors with the food in order (I assume) to guilt people into tipping. It's a strange one opening your door to a six-year-old in a burberry hat and lots of minature soverigns saying "€24 please bud!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭replytohere2004

Nobody should tip than it wouldn't be expected.

Same as TV, if everybody just used the free satellite service which has most of the channels instead of paying over €500 pa to Sky then most of the exclusive stuff on sky would be on RTÉ ect.

But then again the Irish love a good riding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Katykaboom

I do try to tip, my friend is a delivery driver for a local take away, her boss was an idiot, the girl who took the orders could barely spell her own name. One night,this idiot girl, took the address down wrong, so my friend spent half an hour trying to find the place (I was in the car at the time), we eventually found it, my friend was stressed up to her eyeballs because the manager was screaming down the phone at her. She accidently short changed the customer 50 cents, and an hour later, she had to return to give the customer back her money. The customer was abusive, and called her every name under the sun including a c***. You would actually be surprised how much drivers have to put up with!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

All this talk of food is making me hungry... :(

I've never had to deal with a takeaway delivery driver so I can't really say anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

Originally Posted by Jimi-Spandex

Actually if the delivery guy is good they get paid a ****load. My cousins bf has a day-cent bike and used to do deliveries for the dominos down the road. €100 a night on the good nights! Thats alot and its all down to how many they can deliver in a shift etc.

If they want more money they should learn the shortcuts of the area and be quick.

I'm getting hungry too. hmmmm pizza for brekkie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

ok , i rarely get deliveries, basically cos i live in the sticks...and nobody will deliver out here. but if i was staying in town with my sis and we got a takeaway we usually do tip, its only a few euro FFS, i think we feel sorry for them, even though it prob is a 2nd job for some of them, but hey lads, the kids need new shoes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Fcuk em I say, they get paid at least €7 p/h which is more than enough to pay the rent in Dublin these days :rolleyes: I generally do tip if they are at the house within 20 minutes, but I hate hate hate it when a 40 year old homeless looking guy shows up with a bag (absolutely soaked through with grease), 55 minutes after the order has been placed. What often happens is the order comes to €15.60 and you hand over a €20, wait for your change and the guy just looks at you as if you're mad for waiting. Piss off like!! :mad:

At least once a week a pizza gets delivered to our house by mistake, by the same guy. One of these days I'm just gonna rob the pizza off him... and maybe his moped and cool hat too :eek: That'll teach him to go to the wrong house!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Ya - be tight, sit on yer couch with your Chow-mein and Chicken Kadhai bitching about the delivery guy buying another yacht on your €2, cos yer too lazy to drag your cottage cheese arses and drooping belly/man-boob combinations off the couch to collect yer MSG ridden fodder yourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Raiser wrote:
    Ya - be tight, sit on yer couch with your Chow-mein and Chicken Kadhai bitching about the delivery guy buying another yacht on your €2, cos yer two lazy to drag your cottage cheese arses and drooping belly/man-boob combinations off the couch to collect yer MSG ridden fodder.

Where's the problem here :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Femmy wrote:
    i think we feel sorry for them, even though it prob is a 2nd job for some of them, but hey lads, the kids need new shoes!
    Who else do you tip? if you walked into the pizza place for collection do you tip they guy serving? he is not on a great wage either.

A lot of delivery guys simply make "mistakes" on the prices to get their tips from drunken households.

aww your so harsh!
    i tip taxi men, i tip hairdressers...thats it i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I'm a poor student so I can't afford to tip anyone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

connundrum wrote:
    Fcuk em I say, they get paid at least €7 p/h which is more than enough to pay the rent in Dublin these days :rolleyes:

Your wrong about a lot of chinese delivery guys being paid by the hour, a lot of em are paid something tiny like €20 a night & make their wages through tips, Im not trying to influence anyone one way or the other, but have all the facts to hand.

Personally I do tip them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I work for a pizza place and the pay is crap. Only working there cause its too hard to get work in a Chinese. There’s actually lists in every Chinese take away because the money is so good. They earn up to 100 a night. You rely on your tips when working for a crappy place like pizza’s.

I’d never do something to someone’s food for not tipping. I do find that the people in the big houses with the big flash cars NEVER tip!

so u deliver pizza'a kiera? do u have to use your own car then or what?

Femmy wrote:
    so u deliver pizza'a kiera? do u have to use your own car then or what?
    Yes i do but its kinda getting a bit much coz its a big engine and its eating the petrol!

The joys of saving for a house, Femmy!

Kiera wrote:
    Yes i do but its kinda getting a bit much coz its a big engine and its eating the petrol!

The joys of saving for a house, Femmy!
    thats a balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Katykaboom wrote:
    the girl who took the orders could barely spell her own name. One night,this idiot girl, took the address down wrong...

Was she Irish though? Maybe a language problem...

Anyways, I do tip delivery men. Even if they aren't being screwed out of money by their bosses (which I doubt) they deserve a bit extra for all the arrogant dícks they must have to put up with in a days/nights work.

Not to mention random scumbags that rob and attack them as they go about their business.
    There is a good reason these places keep stressing how little money their drivers carry.

skywalker wrote:
    Your wrong about a lot of chinese delivery guys being paid by the hour, a lot of em are paid something tiny like €20 a night & make their wages through tips, Im not trying to influence anyone one way or the other, but have all the facts to hand.

Personally I do tip them.
    They don't make their money through tips. Read my earlier post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I'd give them the round up eg if something was 13.90 or 14.20 or whatever i'd give em 15. I wouldn't ever be so tight as to give exact change..

CodeMonkey wrote:
    They don't make their money through tips. Read my earlier post.
    Well monkey, seeing as i do deliveries i can say that you are 100% wrong. Pizza deliveries rely on tips because the money is crap!

Kiera wrote:
    Well monkey, seeing as i do deliveries i can say that you are 100% wrong. Pizza deliveries rely on tips because the money is crap!
    I am talking about delivery guys for chinese takeaways. They all make a small fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

Megatron wrote:
    yes my dad did over react , but only when he was told to fukk off. If you parked on someones property then they have every right to ask you to move your car.

and no , it happend a good 5 years ago now i'd say

He was delivering to your property and your dad didn't like the way he parked. TBH both the delivery guy and your dad acted like assholes...