Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crazy people on buses (or any form of public transport)

• 25-02-2006 11:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭

A couple of days ago, i was getting on the bus with two other friends. It was pretty busy downstairs and we were the last to get on. While we were getting on, this woman starts shouting "can you move down please!!" etc etc. So people did, a bit, anyway. It turned out that this woman had a seat free next to her, and was refusing to move her 3 bags in, and was refusing to move along in her seat. she kept sayign she had lots of bags, but one woman had six another had a baby "try carrying a ****ing child in your arms, woman!", one girl said. The whole downstairs started having a go at her. This one particular woman kept asking the driver to do something, but he wouldnt do anything.

The whole bus started tutting the lady, who in fairness, was being very selfish. There were plenty of older people who needed to sit down, and the woman was sitting in a seat FOR the elderly. My friend pointed it out, but a woman just goes "she ain't old love, she's just ****ing ugly!" Anyway, the woman who had been shouting earlier starts calling the woman a fat selfish **** and a fat stuck up bitch and so-on. really laying into her. at which woman sitting down started yelling "driver, please restrain this woman!" and "it is an offence to use such language, stop it now!" " I SHALL NOT MOVE!" etc etc

there was some space free near us, a little ledge which she could have put her shopping on, and me and my friends offered to look after her shopping if she moved it out of the way so people could move or sit. the foul-mouthed woman started sayign to us "why should you look after her ****?! why cant she ****ing move along?"

And then, she starts kicking this womans bags all over the bus, and then went right up to her face and yells "YOU STUPID ****ING ****!" and then smacks her one and starts ripping her hair out, at which hair went flying and a clump of it hit me in the chest! the people on the bus were tryign to restain the woman and tryign to tell the other lady, ironically, to sit back in her seat. she kept yelling, "somebody call the gards!" and the driver? did absolutly nothing, it was utter chaos and he did nothing. then the crazy woman proceeded to get off and slapped the woman around the face. the rest of the bus kept sayign to her "you brought it on yourself, there were old women and mothers tryign to mvoe and sit down, youve got an attitude problem!"

It was the craziest bus ride ever. Anyone else have any similar experiences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

i was that woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

LundiMardi wrote:
    i was that woman.
    How's the hair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

cil_aine wrote:
    A couple of days ago, i was getting on the bus with two other friends. It was pretty busy downstairs and we were the last to get on. While we were getting on, this woman starts shouting "can you move down please!!" etc etc. So people did, a bit, anyway. It turned out that this woman had a seat free next to her, and was refusing to move her 3 bags in, and was refusing to move along in her seat. she kept sayign she had lots of bags, but one woman had six another had a baby "try carrying a ****ing child in your arms, woman!", one girl said. The whole downstairs started having a go at her. This one particular woman kept asking the driver to do something, but he wouldnt do anything.

The whole bus started tutting the lady, who in fairness, was being very selfish. There were plenty of older people who needed to sit down, and the woman was sitting in a seat FOR the elderly. My friend pointed it out, but a woman just goes "she ain't old love, she's just ****ing ugly!" Anyway, the woman who had been shouting earlier starts calling the woman a fat selfish **** and a fat stuck up bitch and so-on. really laying into her. at which woman sitting down started yelling "driver, please restrain this woman!" and "it is an offence to use such language, stop it now!" " I SHALL NOT MOVE!" etc etc

there was some space free near us, a little ledge which she could have put her shopping on, and me and my friends offered to look after her shopping if she moved it out of the way so people could move or sit. the foul-mouthed woman started sayign to us "why should you look after her ****?! why cant she ****ing move along?"

And then, she starts kicking this womans bags all over the bus, and then went right up to her face and yells "YOU STUPID ****ING ****!" and then smacks her one and starts ripping her hair out, at which hair went flying and a clump of it hit me in the chest! the people on the bus were tryign to restain the woman and tryign to tell the other lady, ironically, to sit back in her seat. she kept yelling, "somebody call the gards!" and the driver? did absolutly nothing, it was utter chaos and he did nothing. then the crazy woman proceeded to get off and slapped the woman around the face. the rest of the bus kept sayign to her "you brought it on yourself, there were old women and mothers tryign to mvoe and sit down, youve got an attitude problem!"

It was the craziest bus ride ever. Anyone else have any similar experiences?

Yeah i did . One time i was on the bus and it was packed and there was a bit opf space left and the bus wouldnt stop. I hate people who are all up in them seles and dont care what way they treat other people. :mad:

How's the hair?
    what hair?:(

I keep mine in a ziplock bag for convenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Man walked onto bus, eyes rolled in his head and he collapsed his head falling into a womans "lap". He then falls backwards onto the floor and appears dead.
    Then gets back up and gets off the bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭cil_aine

Jesus, really?

I was that man...

LundiMardi wrote:
    I was that man...
    I like your technique for picking up girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,845 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I'm LundiMardi:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭WexCan

LundiMardi wrote:
    I was that man...

Moral of the story: people get "bus brain", to coin a phrase from that woman who writes books from an insider perspective... The babylon books...

Anyway, people who are usually normal, sane, reasonable people, get on public transport and change completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

She seems normal to me. Shouldn't of been invading her aura!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

I thought this this thread was about buses ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Ahh the good old CIE, some of my best anicdotes come from my days riding the 75,77 and 76(what a mad route that is, all the Neilstown heads, now thats a ****ing crazy estate).

One of the funniest/madest things I saw was on the 75 coming home from Dun Laoighre. There was this 15 year old traveler girl sitting a few seats from the back and she was getting abuse from these 5 fellas from ballinteer(i think) in the back seats. They were calling her a dirty thinker and asking how many kids she had with her brother, that kind of ****, really hurling abuse at her. And it was completely unprovoked. I walked down and had a go at them because she was there on her own and they were like 18 or something but I was outnumbered 5 to 1 so they didn't take much notice. So I sat beside her and in fairness she was giving as good as she got in anyways. So these fellas kept on at her shouting things up every now and then, acting all hard.

About 10 minutes later, the bus came to a bus stop in nutgrove and the girl turned around to the fellas and said "lets see how hard ye's are now, me cousins are getting on". Sure enough about 8 traveler boys got on, I looked back as they were coming up the stairs and I would have loved to have had a camera to catch the look on the 5 fellas faces. I've never seen 5 faces go so white in my life. Thier jaws just dropped.
    Anyways the 8 boys sat down beside us and the girl told them what the other fellas were saying( the 5 fellas looked like they were going to squeeze themselves out the windows) then completely in unison, nearly with split second timing, the 8 travelers jumped out of thier seats and ran down the back and layed into the 5 dickheads. The driver must have seen or heard what was happening and stopped the bus and the 5 fellas crawled off covered in blood and ran for thier lives.
    A couple of the travelers started on me then (thinking I was with the other five) but the girl told them I tried to help her, and they apoligized and rolled me a joint. the driver kept driving after the 5 **** bags got off, but the travelers had a feeling he was goin to call the garda so they got off a few stops later.
    I'd say at least 3 of the 5 pricks needed hospital treatment but
    to be honest they got what they deserved. One of the most satisfying things Iv'e ever seen. The definition of poetic justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

One that springs to mind was when I was on the 39 in Cabra sitting upstairs towards the back, nearly asleep with earphones on. I open my eyes to see everybody wide-eyed facing me. I pulled out my earphones and heard punches being thrown behind me. There was about 5 travellers (about 16yrs) and one was really laying into another that was just taking it. Some old guy (about 55 or so) jumped up and pulled him off only to be attacked himself. Before I could react the old guy had him controlled - I felt really guilty for not reacting sooner. From what I heard afterwards the fight started for no reason.

Oh yeah, on the 39 again, a few weeks ago. I was sitting right down the back on a packed bus (was the only seat free) and wondering whether to give out to the guy smoking beside me (as were other people). So I pull out the earphones only to hear his conversation on the phone:
    "...was at the doctor and he woz sayin I'm f**kin' psycho... anything sets me off.. was on a bus there and I nearly stabbed someone... this black guy started on me for smokin'... ...pulled me down to the driver.. ...went back upstairs... ...he was bigger than me but I wasn't gonna back down so I pulled out me blade... but he threw me down the stairs... I wasn't gonna wait for the guards so I got off and on this about 4 buses later".

Then he got down to reading the paper, jumping up every now and again asking where were we in a panic and to close windows people had opened to let the smoke out. After a call to his sister/girfriend whatever, another phone call (he had a bag with him):
    "I've got the money don't worry, have you got the stuff? (repeated)" and then he asked someone over the phone to him a favour and find out the address of someone saying "ther'll be somethin in it for you, just get me his address".

Needless to say, I let him smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

man you people go on crazy buses. mine usually has loads of students (including me) or old people. it's like a bingo bus with youngins.

though a few weeks ago i jumped off just before o'connells st. and some girl in front of me (couldn't be older then 16) got a boot from some old lady wearing a kids backpack. i thought at first she must know the girl, but the girl turned around and said something, then walked away. she looked at me, so i took out my earphones

"did she just kick me?"
    me: "er.. yeah, do you know her?!"
    "no"

anyway, i re-inserted my earphones and continued on. the girl was just ahead of me, at this stage we were at londis (heading south), and the old lady came back to kick her. except this time, instead of just walking on normally like before, she tried to do a legger. but ran into me. i gave her the look of death (i was in "opeth" mode) and she scurried off the other way.

not strictly a bus story but everyone was on the same bus beforehand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I was sitting on a bus before and this junkie gets on. The bus was packed so it was standing room only, and it was rush hour packed, people where practically face to face. You get the picture...

His mobile rings and he does the usual off his face roar "ah jaysis man storrrrreeeeee bud?" He is talking away for five minutes when he starts talking about his aids test. When I say people moved away from him it was like the parting of the red sea.

He then went on to explain that he got the all clear, and people around him relaxed a little more and resumed there previous positions. After that he said he had to go back in six months and be tested again, the read see parted once more...oh what a funny journey!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

I used to frequent the 150 all the time and have the time of my life on it! Every week you were garenteed at least one wino to get on the bus and make a fool of himself.

I remember one time sat at the back of the 150, watching the usual buidling blocks go by as i was coming from town to crumlin. As we hit the coomb a white haired, shaved headed man stepped up on to the bus followed by a kid who ran to a seat from behind the folically challenged mans legs. The child was about 4/5, well able to talk, walk, and make serious noise. The man got to paying for his ticket, bought a single, then proceeded to sit down, when the bus driver called him back to pay for the child. I think it was like 35 cent for a child at the time? The white haired man went nuts, and started hurling racial abuse at the bus driver, who just sat back and took it(he was african). I was shocked myself, that A: The driver did nothing and B: He let him pay for the child. It came to crumlin, just before where you reach the submarine bar, beside the garda station, and the man stood up for his stop. As he was waiting, the driver opened the door, and the man guided his child off the bus, the second that kids foot hit the pavement, the white haired man started to punch and kick the plexiglass door and then started to spit at him calling him the usually names that only a fool could muster up. I hope you took notice of the stop that he tried to get off of, because there was 2 garda standing outside on the random, who ran over, and ripped the man from the bus. The driver still said nothing, closed the doors, and drove off.

When it came to my stop, i walked up to the driver and said 'man he was an utter dick head, fair play for dealing with the situation like that', the driver turned and smiled at me and said 'its a good thing i remembered what his stop was from the last time he tried that', i laughed at got off...

I did mention that the 150 does get the odd wino on board. Well what happens when you get 2 winos on the same bus? Have you ever heard of bum fights?

Madness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

This happened as I was on the 46A into town form UCD one evening.
    This kind of ever-so-slightly prudish-looking, well-to-do chap is sitting in the seat in front of me, upstairs and in the left aisle of seats. So then this total pike gets on with another dodgy-looking middle-aged couple. The couple sit down in the seat behind me, while the initial scumbag (about 30-ish), sits in the seat in front of the guy already in front of me. So 2 seats in front of me.
    The scumbag, call him Al, seats real sidelong in his seat, suprise suprise, he starts rolling a joint. He notices the prudish chap, call him Fionn, looking at him, and starts with the "Alroi bud, hows it goin wit ye?" craic, and Fionn replies politely, etc. So the pikey chap starts shiting on about hash and how "people, when you say "hash", dey tink "oh, drug, dats drug dat is!", but man, its just herbal med-i-cine, yeknow?". So being the total tosser that he is, 'Fionn' acts intensely interested in what Al has to say, hanging on every word. Al extends the block of hash to Fionns nose: "Here bud, have yerseldf a smell o' da'" and Fionns is all "Oh, really, roysh, wow, myes, mmm, I've never smelt hash before, actually, loike."
    So Al starts on:
    "Ah yeah man, like, I nevar had any family atall meself, like, i fookin raised meself on da streets, I was on de heroin before I was turteeyan (13), and Im on de metadone now, like, yeknow? Ill fookin tell ya, bud, sum people, dey do be fookin drinkin pints and gettin demselves pissed, but meself, id nevar touch de drink, bud. never. I just hav me cannibis; me herbal medicine, and im down to Xmg of de metadone now."
    And I'm cringing at every moment of this guy feeding bull**** to the guy in front of me. So Al continues:
    "Yeh, like I hav Hepatitis now for a few years, like. I got it offa sum burd, like. But Im lucky, bud, I have the kind dat yer body can foigh', yeknow? Wat abou' yerseldf?"

So the stupid conversation goes on with the pikey chap banging on about how all he does is wean himself of the methadone and never touches drink or "or any o dat ****e". He asks Fionn:
    "Wat are ye doin yerself man, are ye in college or wat?"
    Fionn: "Oh, mm, no, I work in IT, mmm, yes."

So Al says: "Ah, bud, its computars, like, dats like de "New Age", now innit? Did ye evar see dat film de "Matrix"? "

Fionn: "Oh, no, emm, I havent seen it..."

Al: "Listen, mate , you get yerself de Matrix 1, de matrix part 2, and de matrix part 3, make de toime, to watch dem, coz ill tell ye bud, its like, dey never had bullet time, before de matrix. dey invented bullet time, dyeknow? like, nowadays dey can go and follow a bullet and watch it werevar it does be goin, as fast or as slow as dey want, yeknow? it's fookin mad, man, ill tell ye".

So I'm struggling not to tear my hole laughing at these two eejits right now...eventually Al the pike gets off the bus, after shaking hands and saying long goodbyes to his new mate Fionn, and as soon as he's gone down the stairs, the woman who got on with him fomr behind me, leans forward and says to Fionn: "Don't fookin moind him! He does everdytin! he says he doesnt drink?! Yeah roigh! He only drinks bottles o vodka! dont fookin mind him, he does cocaine, herion, everdytin! He didnt get hepatitis from a burd, i'd say he gave it to a burd!"

:p Quite funny, the fool in front of me turns bright red and realises what a total tosspot he's been made. Haha "did ye ever see de matrix bud?" :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i remember getting a bus to the RDS (funderland) about 13 or 14 years ago. there were some scumbag kids upstairs and they were taking the covers off the lights and throwing them down the stairs. nothing was said and they all got off at the same stop as my friend and i. same thing happened on the way back into the city centre. only this time the cops were waiting for them when they got off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Best one I saw was once when I was sitting downstairs on the back row this auld fella (oap) sat down next to another guy in the row in front of me.

Well the guy that was already sitting there first just went absolutely nuts and started whining and screaming (in one of those faggoty nasal Eastcoast US accents) "Uuuuugggh, why do you have to sit here? There lots of other seats on the bus!" He kept on with this crazy bitching for about a minute.

The auld fella (a real salt of the earth Dub) just stared at him and let him say his piece before saying "Listen bud I'll sit wherever I like and if you don't like it you can get off the bus.".

The yank was 'tutting' under his breath for the rest of the ride but he didn't do a thing about it.

Had to laugh. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

The 150 is a crazy bus. FOr some reason the old people use it during non-peak hours. I get it in templeogue so i usually see most of it's oddball stuff from start to finish.

In the past month i have seen:
    -Some junkie falling on the ground at the back of the bus and staying there.
    -Some young boy spitting down the stairs.
    -The bus driver having a fight with a woman taxi driver (which was followed by some crazy woman shouting at him).
    -Someone falling through a seat.
    -A group of young girls telling a joke about a Chinese man, then one of them shouts "OMG there's a chinese guy right there", they all got off at the next stop (I don't think he seemed to care tbh).
    -A relatively young woman say "are there any seats upstairs?" on a SINGLE decker bus.

I love my 150 but not really cos it takes forever to get into town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Mec-a-nic

My fav bus story was a few years back when the "No 13 - Poppintree" was given a new terminus on Merrion Square South.

Out of curiosity, the driver was asked where Poppintree was and the answer in thick Dublinese was "Ya dan't wanna know..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Once when I was on the 15 some drunk scumbag opened the back window upstairs of the double decker bus and jumped out........ whilst the bus was moving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

You do see some funny things on busses with regards to your 1 whatever her name was she was a bitch ye but if she dosent want to move her bags she dosent have 2.

The driver was in the wrong by not doing anythong once violence broke out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I was waiting for a 49 one day at College Green, when the 56A pulled up about 5 minutes before my bus was due. A group of skangers got on, and one of them got into an argument with the driver. The skanger spat in the driver's face... the driver jumped out of his seat, shoved open the door and chased the skanger (who was trying to run). The driver then proceeded to beat the crap out of the skanger. As my bus pulled up, the guards were just arriving, while the driver was restraining the skanger with a knee across his head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,749 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Not so long ago on the 25a i seen the funniest thing i have ever seen on a bus, this guy gets on, he looked foreign, took his seat upstairs on the outside edge of an empty seat. Took out his discman, put in a CD and proceeded to play air guitar to whatever music he was listening to, shaking his head, he was giving it loads, everybody was in stitches trying not to let him see them laughing, but i wouldnt imagine he'd have cared anyway, i thought it couldnt get any funnier until he took out a bananna and in between bites he pretended that was a microphone. Well worth the €1.80 busfare at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭deimos

About 2 years ago of a Saturday night (last bus) some guy gets on skuttered with a chinese(or chips) under his arm. He remains silent for a few minutes... next thing he shouts out
    "The bus driver my best friend, he brought me to the pub and now he is bringing me home to my door".

Another few minutes pass, next thing the man while crying, "my wife, my my wife would not even do that, the bus driver does it, and my wife won't... maybe I should have married the bus driver.... all you woman, please treat this bus driver with respect. He brings you where you need to go and does not ask for anything in return"....

The bloke in tears get's off the bus along Collins ave thanking the bus driver.

The guy was very emotional about that bus driver....

Another time, on the 20b during the summer the bus stopped at the lights on the collins ave malahide junction. It's pissing rain so the bus is packed, the bus driver (french guy) announces there will be a show on downstairs. Bus driver get's out of his cabin and begenins juggling for the people. The rest of the way down to Annsleys bridge he sings over the mic.

Now, you may think I am a fool(waffler) making this up... which is what many thought until 2 people I go to college from clontarf confirmed it... apparently he has been there quite some time and does a route from the clontarf area. Funny guy, and how he still has/had a job suprises me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

deimos wrote:
    Another time, on the 20b during the summer the bus stopped at the lights on the collins ave malahide junction. It's pissing rain so the bus is packed, the bus driver (french guy) announces there will be a show on downstairs. Bus driver get's out of his cabin and begenins juggling for the people. The rest of the way down to Annsleys bridge he sings over the mic.
    I don't know about Juggling, but I was on a bus with a crazy french driver who sang over the mic and shook peoples hands as they got off the bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭pontovic

Ah god bless the car. Public transport would have given me grey hairs had it not been for the fact I started driving.

Myself and a few mates had just finished our exams in college for the summer, so we all decided to go to the bar on campus for a few pints, and then go into the city center for a few.
    Two of the lads started having a mess scrap on the way to the bus stop, and ended up with just their boxers on as we reached the stop. They got on the bus and got some wide-eyed stares as they went upstairs. They had another mess scrap on the top of the bus as everyone was looking, and one of them proceded to rip the other boxers, whereupon his manhood was dangling out for all to see. That was some funny ****! One of them sat down next to a German tourist and started talking to them as if nothing was out of the ordinary. Must have been a sight for them !

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Crucifix wrote:
    I don't know about Juggling, but I was on a bus with a crazy french driver who sang over the mic and shook peoples hands as they got off the bus.

is that guy still driving the 16a?

that Guy rules

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭WexCan

Crucifix wrote:
    *cringe* Hilarious but would hate to be there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,845 ✭✭✭✭cormie

deimos wrote:
    Bus driver get's out of his cabin and begenins juggling for the people. The rest of the way down to Annsleys bridge he sings over the mic.

That's brilliant:D Maybe he sees it as a way to keep scumbags entertained so they don't have to go starting fights and picking on people for their kicks. An overall pleasant bus ride:)

One time on the bus some 40ish year old man started going crazy screaming "let me off here!! let me off the f**kin bus you f**ckin b@stard" banging on the side of the stairs. The driver just calmly drove to the next bus stop and opened the door still getting abuse.

Some guy took a leak on the dart on a normal Saturday dart back to Bray, he was with a group of mates ... oh wait hang on, I think one of his mates stopped him... aw, that's a crap story now:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

deimos wrote:

Now, you may think I am a fool(waffler) making this up... which is what many thought until 2 people I go to college from clontarf confirmed it... apparently he has been there quite some time and does a route from the clontarf area. Funny guy, and how he still has/had a job suprises me.

That French driver is fantastic craic. I wish there were more like him, everyone gets off his bus with a smile on their chevy chase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

1. Man talking with support pole on bus. Camly informed it that the driver was drunk.
    2. Was threatened with destruction by a nuclear missile.
    3. About 5 skangers beat the ****e out of a guy for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gator

is that guy still driving the 16a?

that Guy rules

He used to drive it now and again, I have not seen him in a while but I remember him singing over the mic, he was gas and a breath of fresh air on those hungover sunday mornings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

This isn't CIE, but it's a bus so it still counts:

Was over in San Francisco, and me and my brother were on our way back to SF from San Josè. Fairly normal bus ride anyway, no trouble or anything along those lines.
    However, about 2 bus stops into the journey, this group of about 10 gangsters (far different from the average scumbag here..) gets on. Now these lads weren't a bunch of rich kids with their massive chains and brand label clothes. By the look of them, they were proper proper gangsters (as in The Wire/Shield type thing).
    So they're causing a bit of a scene near the front of the bus (me and my bro were at the back) and the bus driver stops at the next stop and tells them to get off. So they get off anyway, but one turns and hurls an open bottle of water back onto the bus, soaking a good few people near the door.
    And then the weirdest thing happened. This middle aged, scrawnyish guy (call him Pete) gets up and confronts the group outside. On his own. The bus stays where it is, and everyone's looking at him going "Oh christ."
    The gangsters look at this guy with open eyes, as if to say "you're havin a laugh right?"
    So anyway, there's an exchange of words between the group leader and Pete. Followed by the leader throwing a punch square at Pete's face, which (fair f**ks to him) Pete counters. However, another group member immediately steps up, and decks Pete in the jaw. The leader then grabs Pete and throws him through the bus stop.
    I'm not sure if anyone here has seen the SF bus stops, but the glass in them is pretty think. Pete got thrown clean through it.
    The group then legs it (breaking bus stops is a pretty serious crime in SF). Pete just gets up, brushes the glass off, and gets back on the bus. A good lot of people ask him if he's alright, and he just says he's fine. Albeit he looked mightily pissed off.
    Pete gets off at the next stop and the journey continues. A few stops later, we see Pete again! Only this time he's sitting beside the bus stop, holding his arm and literally, covered in blood.

My guess is he got shredded from the glass, but didn't start bleeding for some reason. Anyway, Pete sees the same people and same bus, gets up and staggers off before someone can call him an ambulance.

Weirdest thing I've seen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ah fairly quiet on my bus rides thank god! There was on time when i lived in London, a guy came on and started talking to the seat across from him...even though no ones there. One of the bus drivers who drove the one i was on most days was very friendly and used to make everyone smile, skipping through the bus when it was his turn, really makes a difference to your day :)
    I have started using the buses in the US now and so far so good, no nutters..yet