Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most irritating small injury

• 22-02-2006 2:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭

I have a blister on the tip of my tongue at the moment, I dont know why I get tehm but they are so irritatin. Its just a tiny lump, like a burn, tiny but it lets you know its there.

It got me thinking, what is the most irritating small injury you can have? If I have forgotten one, just tell me...

What is the most irritating injury? 122 votes

coldsore
    0% 0 votes
    burnt tongue/mouth
    14% 18 votes
    something in my eye
    14% 18 votes
    papercut
    15% 19 votes
    bite/break too much nail off
    11% 14 votes
    stubbed toe
    21% 26 votes
    stand on thumbtac / upturned plug or something sim
    6% 8 votes
    salt in a cut
    6% 8 votes
    itchy arse
    0% 1 vote
    atari jaguar
    8% 10 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

a fuppin mouth ulcer it feels just like the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

a grout burn. the lime in grout burns through your skin when you are washing it down. stings like hell.
    i should really invest in a pair of rubber gloves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Paper cut...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Paper cuts are a b1tch

edit//snap :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

A blister/ulcer thingy on the inside of your mouth.. everything you eat hurts, e-ve-ry-thing! When I get one it usually cripples me, but then again I am a wimp so it wouldn't take much :rolleyes:

Apart from that was when I got a cut on the bit between my thumb and index finger, it took ages to heal cos everytime I moved it would open up again and its impossible to stick a plaster there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

Got a cut on my little toe over the weekend, and it's annoying as hell. Hurts every time I walk anywhere. Not really painful, just enough to be irritating.

joejoem, did you finally sell that throwing hammer???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Tiny cut/slip in your lip.

Or one that had me awake all night Monday, a piece of popcorn wedged between two back teeth! argh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭mandz

paper cut has to be the worst. i work in an office so they are a regular occurence with me. There's nothing worse than getting a large one from a card folder. Much bigger than a regular paper cut and a lot more painful. there are a few files in this office that literally have my blood in them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Sounds so girly of me, but breaking a nail is quite painful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭mise_me_fein_V2

A stiy(spelling dunno) in the eye is really annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

I was gonna go with inflamed wrist tendons, but it's not an option, so it's Atari Jaguar for me

....seriously though, couldn't do any "weights" for days ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭PlasseyMinstrel

I twisted my ankle the other day, pretty annoying. Walked with a limp for about a day and a half. So simple to do it but it can really cripple you if done properly (?)

Also a spot just inside your nose that makes you sneeze if you go anywhere near it or that you can feel if you just twitch your nose a bit. Nasty.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Banging your toe off the banisters when its cold...

*Haoooowl* :eek: :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Gandhi wrote:
    joejoem, did you finally sell that throwing hammer???

No, are you intersted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Recently split the skin between my toes open in two places. Hurts like fcuk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I was gonna say biting nail down too much, but then I saw "something in my eye", and that took my vote. I was awake for about 3 hours trying to get something out of my bloody eye, and couldn't, so had to force myself to sleep with it. Next day, eye was swollen to bits, blood-shot, and killin me! argh!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Having something in my eye by a mile, or when you get a little tap in the eye,it hurts like hell for ages and waters up.

stand in front of the bathroom mirror and use your toothbrush to get something out of your eye. i regularly get bits of tile in my eyes and the toothbrush gets it out every time.
    steady hand required.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

xzanti wrote:
    Banging your toe off the banisters when its cold...

*Haoooowl* :eek: :(

I whacked my toe off the staircase about 2yrs ago, I turned the air blue for about 3 minutes, it's still hurts if I give it even the lightest bump!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

Xzanti is right - whacking your toe - esp when you break your little toe and have to tape it to its neighbour til it heals!!! or...slightly worse standing on a plug when its spiky side up -owwwwww. or this morning when I stood on the GHD hair strighteners - that wasnt good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Something in the eye is probably the most annoying one on there for me but I just couldn't resist voting for Itchy Arse because it sounded so funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

bending your nail back the other way accidently.
    sore b!tch

Oh, & getting shampoo, moisturiser, makeup etc in your eye

BoozyBabe wrote:
    bending your nail back the other way accidently.
    sore b!tch

Oh, & getting shampoo, moisturiser, makeup etc in your eye

Nothing worse than sticking the mascara wand in your eye.. Fcukin drive you mad, specially when you've so carefully applied your eye shadow and its now dribbling down your cheek :( AAAaaargh (and the of course pain element)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

have to say a stubbed toe, man thats bad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

xzanti wrote:
    Nothing worse than sticking the mascara wand in your eye.. Fcukin drive you mad, specially when you've so carefully applied your eye shadow and its now dribbling down your cheek :( AAAaaargh (and the of course pain element)
    Tell me about it :(

...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

paper cut between yer fingers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

xzanti wrote:
    I was trying to decide between something in my eye and breaking a nail, your comment quickly fixed that debate! :D (although breaking a nail is not fun either!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

or when you have the mascara on and a contact lenses starts hurtin so you put in some drops and your eye make up slops down your face grrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Anything to do with your toes.
    Seriously you take them for granted, anyone who's had any problems with their toes will understand.
    I had ingrown toenails coupled with infections in both of my big toes and I could barely walk without being in pain for months.
    Even stubbing your toes can cripple you, they're so important!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Yes your toes are very important, they balance you as you walk.

Definitely stubbing your toe off the leg of a chair/table (lucky I've never broken a toe though), or walking on something upturned like a plug has to win it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭deedee lepoopoo

EAR ACHE is the sorest pain. Especially when it's windy.

And you can't make it better or relieve yourself, i.e:

- you can't stick a plaster on it

- swab it wil dettol

- or rub it to ease the pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

EAR ACHE is the sorest pain. Especially when it's windy.

And you can't make it better or relieve yourself, i.e:

- you can't stick a plaster on it

- swab it wil dettol

- or rub it to ease the pain
    Put your finger in it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I hate coldsores. I was given the virus as a 13 year old innocently kissing a boy in some bushes behind the scout hall. Damn him! Now every so often I get this disgusting herpes blister on my mouth. And despite what the ad says, Zovirax does not work. I left it alone and it went away quicker than it did with a 10 quid tube of cream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

My most annoying small injury is also a Coldsore, just got over one last week, thankfully I had none in 2005. A €10 Tube of Zovirax, along with Women's Perfume, (which feels like rubbing a hot poker into it) and Betadine Antiseptic Paint, I was rid of it in a record six days :) The Perfume is severe but worth it.

About 4 years ago I got pair of socks out of our hot press and the proceeded to solo them Gooch style down the corridor and as I went to kick them, Instead of kicking them I missed and My Big toe collided with the Door Frame at about 100mls/per hour, And to make things worse It met the corner of the door frame and right in at the joint between the Big toe and the one next to it. I was limping for two weeks. :rolleyes:

Athletes foot is also mad annoying, but to make it worse, I caught Jock itch last summer in between the Thigh and the pelvis, Mother of god that was bad. Lamisil Cream is a livesaver though.

Hitting my thumb with a hammer is also bad.

Coldsores are my number 1 most annoying though. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I had my whole mouth covered in Cold sores one time, jesus was that bad. I couldn't eat anything with out the food rubbing off the sore, couldn't eat anything with salt or vinegar. When it finally died down I was left with a scabby mouth for a few days :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

either cut, toe or nail, worst things

i thought i had a cold sore last week. turned out to be a spot in disguise. the zovirax i put on it made it worse.
    i find the shame of having a cold sore more irritating that the actual cold sore itself. pointless shame really. most people get them at one time or another. mostly because of the same mistake made by nightwish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

julep wrote:
    i thought i had a cold sore last week. turned out to be a spot in disguise. the zovirax i put on it made it worse.
    i find the shame of having a cold sore more irritating that the actual cold sore itself. pointless shame really. most people get them at one time or another. mostly because of the same mistake made by nightwish.

I know I wish I could cover my head with a paper bag when I have them, I usually cover whichever lip has them with the other lip.. Bubba Gump style. The fact that they are the herpes infection is disgusting though. I read somewhere once that a girl with them once performed *pleasure* on a guy and she transferred them from her lips to his fruit and two veg :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Thumbtac to the eyeball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Taffy89

Eye definitey..Getting something in my eye is unbearable!

Wierdly I love pains in my mouth! I had braces for 2 years and ADORED getting them tightened!

I also hate tags of clothing rubbing into you..Anooying as hell!

netwhizkid wrote:
    I know I wish I could cover my head with a paper bag when I have them, I usually cover whichever lip has them with the other lip.. Bubba Gump style. The fact that they are the herpes infection is disgusting though. I read somewhere once that a girl with them once performed *pleasure* on a guy and she transferred them from her lips to his fruit and two veg :eek:
    yeah, it happens. genital herpes. that's there for life too. not the sore itself, but the virus. another reason to wear condoms until you and your significant other have been tested. i think it's six weeks before you can kiss someone after having a cold sore without passing the virus onto them. not entirely sure though.

or when you have the mascara on and a contact lenses starts hurtin so you put in some drops and your eye make up slops down your face grrrrr

Its no walk in the park being a girl :o bloody hazardous ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

xzanti wrote:
    Its no walk in the park being a girl :o bloody hazardous ;)

But sure the odds are against ye anyway Xzanti. how the hell are you expected to put on a bit o' slap with them stubby little paws :p

http://www.costumesandprops.com/graphics/Autumn_with_cat_makeup250x333.jpg

Xzanti and her bessy mate out on the tiles :v:

http://users.zoominternet.net/~gtrage/cat%20dance.gif

But sure the odds are against ye anyway Xzanti. how the hell are you expected to put on a bit o' slap with them stubby little paws :p

http://www.costumesandprops.com/graphics/Autumn_with_cat_makeup250x333.jpg

Xzanti and her bessy mate out on the tiles :v:

http://users.zoominternet.net/~gtrage/cat%20dance.gif

You promised you wouldnt post that... Thats the last roll of film I send you :rolleyes:

Snowball's lookin well in that one.. shes been on the weight watchers... Shake it baby :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

joejoem wrote:
    No, are you intersted?
    No, just curious when I saw it gone from your sig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

How about when a thorn or wood splinter goes into your hand and it takes an hour of digging with various implements to get it out. But when you do get it out....aaaah the relief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

i chose papercut,but after reading these posts,im thinking something in the eye is worse..

i had ingrown toenails too :( ..bloody curse,had surgery on them three times,i was practically crippled the summer of 2004, wouldnt wiish them on anyone ..since summer last year my toenails have been growing just fine :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 akaanon

Ok, this is not on the list and nobody has mentioned it.

Maybe some lads can sympathise

You are going for a slash/number one/pee, you are zipping up all relieved and whoooooooah, stop there, something was caught in my zip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Definitely something in the eye... makes me want to shout "Agh... there something in my freakin' eye"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

Anything wrong with my nails drives me ****ing insane. I'm particularly conscious of them anyway so if something is out of place it just heightens it and sends me round the bend. Splitting a nail/tearing skin around the nail are particularly bad.