Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Counties have you never been to?

• 21-02-2006 10:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭

Ok, so we've done the which countries have you visited,
    now it's time for which counties in Ireland have you NOT visited
    (obviously only really intended for Irish boardsters)

Or if you're a Dub, it'd prob be easier for you to state which counties you HAVE visited (as we all know ye think the universe revolves around Dublin!!!):D :D:D

(em, sorry!):o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

I've been to all counties at least once, but I can't really remember being in Derry City (it's the only 1)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

never been to the north. or leitrim, longford, meath, w meath, rosscommon , louth and offaly.

i dont get out much.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

I can safely say I've been in all the counties. I spent 2 weeks every year in the back of my parents car, dragging a caravan on holidays. I didn't particularly enjoy it at the time, but I couldn't think of anything I'd rather do more today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I can safely say I've been in every county in the Republic, even if it was only driving through. I've only been in the lower NI counties, driving to Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Galway and Clare are the only 2 I have not been too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Does it count if the train didn't actually stop on the way through the county or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

All of them in the Republic. Only been in the North once, driving from Dublin to Belfast.

robinph wrote:
    Does it count if the train didn't actually stop on the way through the county or not?

I don't know, but I doubt it.

I mean, when you fly over a country & you can see it's fields, lakes, roads, mountains etc, & you're in it's airspace, you still haven't actually been in that country, have you?

I mean you can't say I visited X when you just flew over X to get to Y.

(I don't think!!):confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Longford, Roscommon, Sligo, Donegal, Monaghan or any of the 6 nordies.. in fairness if I'm not invited then I don't go ;)

Edit - and Cavan.. don't know how I forgot that one :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I've never visited any of the counties in Connacht or Cavan, Monaghan and Donegal or the North counties with the exception of Antrim, when I drove to Belfast for the ferry.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Derry, Donegal, Tyrone, Kilkenny, Carlow, Waterford, Wexford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Shock-Treatment

I've been to them all. my parents bored the sh1t out of us as kids by dragging us around the country every fuppin sunday.I'd appreciate it alot more now, but it was crap as kids. where do they bring my kids? maccie d's.
    I knew they were just trying to torture us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

Almost all in the Republic but none in the North.

Offaly and Wicklow are the only two I know for sure I've never visited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've been to 29 counties, still have WW, WD and WX on the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

leitrum, roscommon...

there's nothing outside of dublin anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Nightwish wrote:
    I've never visited any of the counties in Connacht or Cavan, Monaghan and Donegal or the North counties with the exception of Antrim, when I drove to Belfast for the ferry.

To drive to county Antrim you have to go via either county Down or county Derry. based on the other counties you've not visited you must have gone through Down. Congratulations, one less county not visited!:D

http://www.ireland-photo-library.co.uk/general/map.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭mise_me_fein_V2

Never been to Sligo, Leitrim, Derry, - that's it.

Wouldn't mind seeing Derry, but couldn't care less about Sligo and Leitrim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

The NI counties, Monaghan, Leitrim.

A childhood of your parents dragging you around on holidays with a caravan, seems to get in a large number of counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

In the Republic: Donegal, Leitrim, Sligo, Monaghan, Cavan, Longford, Roscommon.
    In the North: Fermanagh, Tyrone, Derry and Antrim.

Yes, I'm from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭chubba1984

I've been to all counties except Carlow, Fermanagh and Longford

Fermanagh's apparently NOT in the republic, who would of thought it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Never been to:
    Wexford
    Louth
    Kilkenny
    Waterford
    Kerry
    Tipperary
    Down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

I have been to Galway, Dublin, Meath , West Meath , Kerry, Clare, Tippeary,Wicklow and Kildare

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

I'm shocked at the amount of people who haven't been up past the border. Being from Dundalk fair enough its part of life to tip up to Newry for the cheap booze in sainsbury's.

Seriously though - get on up and see the place. Especially Belfast and the Giants causeway and Derry. Some great places. The nightlife in Belfast is super too. A worthy weekend away.

Oh and to keep on topic. Them all. Many times. Never been in Limerick city though. At I doubt thats going to change until someone gives me good reason to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

Eminem wrote:
    I have been to Galway, Dublin, Meath , West Meath , Kerry, Clare, Tippeary,Wicklow and Kildare

I havent been to Cavan , Louth, Navan , Donegal, Wexford, Longford , Waterford , Laois, killkenny

silas wrote:
    Fermanagh's in the republic

Silas you fool!!!
    Go take a geography lesson.

As a native & inhabitant of Ulster, I can assure you Fermanagh's NOT in the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Been to all of them in the south. North only Belfast and Derry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

BoozyBabe wrote:
    Ok, so we've done the which countries have you visited,
    now it's time for which counties in Ireland have you NOT visited
    (obviously only really intended for Irish boardsters)

Or if you're a Dub, it'd prob be easier for you to state which counties you HAVE visited (as we all know ye think the universe revolves around Dublin!!!):D :D:D

(em, sorry!):o

:v:

I can picture your wedding now Boozybabe. You, the bride, in a pair of oversized wellies, with green chords (waist 8 inches too big) with a thing brown belt holding them up. A navy wool jumper with holes in it, and a caipín.

The groom (your brother) standing holding onto the alter (alter = counter in supermacs) because his feet point at eachother and cant stand his weight, dressed in a grey wool suit, no shirt, just a vest, but it really brings out his eye. His smile is obvious, you can hear the whistle of air from his remaining teeth as he breaths heavily, spittle landing on you with each deep breath......

The bridesmaids moo and bleat in favour of the wedding, except one who is eating from the faeces pile, your aunt, but she never approved of this union. Everyone knew she wanted your brother for herself.

The priest annouces you husband and wife as he concecrates you with his weiner, shouting "GWAN BOYSSSSSSS"

The Afters go off without a hitch. The garlic and cheese chips for main course are a hit, the fighting starts early, and everyone has a great time.

Oh it will be a great day, ye big muck slinging culchie! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Never been to any of the Ulster counties.

Also Wexford and Waterford.

Ouch!!!!

Did I hit a raw nerve with Joejoem??

BoozyBabe wrote:
    Ouch!!!!

Did I hit a raw nerve with Joejoem??

No, I just thought I'd hit back with a generalisation since you had made one! :D

Seriously though country kids, you dont have to hate people from the capital just because your not from the capital. We dont see you (unless your from Longford/Monaghan) as any different from us :v:

Out of curiosity:- Why Longford / Monaghan?

What do you know about those areas?

BoozyBabe wrote:
    Out of curiosity:- Why Longford / Monaghan?

What do you know about those areas?

I know its where aphex twin shoot most of their videos......

Like this mixed with this and this

BoozyBabe wrote:
    Go take a geography lesson.

As a native & inhabitant of Ulster, I can assure you Fermanagh's NOT in the Republic.
    OK OK, I've been proved wrong, sweet lord woman calm yourself down there, its in the north then.
    :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I've been to Paradise........but I've never been to Meath..

BaZmO* wrote:
    I've been to Paradise........but I've never been to Meath..

I have been singing that all day for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Macker

Oh and to keep on topic. Them all. Many times. Never been in Limerick city though. At I doubt thats going to change until someone gives me good reason to.
    One of the best cities in Ireland ,nice people and good night life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Never been to Fermanagh... well, never stopped there. Been to every other county but only if short stops count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

Being from Dundalk fair enough its part of life to tip up to Newry for the cheap booze in sainsbury's.
    So true ;):D

Ive never been to Derry, Fermanagh, Westmeath, Sligo, Mayo, Tipp, Longford, Wexford

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Macker wrote:
    One of the best cities in Ireland ,nice people and good night life
    I have three friends who went to college there that completely disagree with you. They hated it - and these guys would be fond of a good time.

Different strokes for different folks I s'pose..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Mayo, Fermanagh, Cavan, Derry, Tyrone

Mayo is definate. the Ulster counties i could have been as a small child. loads of relatives up there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Never been to: Laois, Offaly, Westmeath, Meath, Louth, Longford, Roscommon, Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim, Donegal, Derry, Antrim, Down, Armagh, Monaghan, Fermanagh, Cavan, Tyrone!

Jesus thats bad isnt it?! Thought i'd been nearly everywhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

el tel wrote:
    To drive to county Antrim you have to go via either county Down or county Derry. based on the other counties you've not visited you must have gone through Down. Congratulations, one less county not visited!:D

http://www.ireland-photo-library.co.uk/general/map.gif
    I drove through it but never stopped or set foot in Down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Eminem wrote:
    I have been to Galway, Dublin,Meath , West Meath , Kerry, Clare, Tippeary,Wicklow and Kildare

Eminem wrote:
    I havent been to Cavan , Louth, Navan , Donegal, Wexford, Longford , Waterford , Laois, killkenny

Who'd a thunk it? 18 counties in Ireland, one of which is a county town...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

I have not stayed in:

Tyrone
    Armagh
    Derry
    Down
    Monaghan
    Louth
    Cavan
    Kildare
    Laois
    Wicklow
    Waterford
    Kilkenny
    Tipperary
    Clare
    Limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I've been to Kerry, Wexford, Wicklow, Kildare... that's about it. I'll be visiting the rest of the country whenever I start driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭JustCoz

I've been to Galway, Mayo, Antrim, Wicklow, Meath, Cork and I'm from Dublin. Jesus that's really sh*t i should get out more. I hear Kilkenny's pretty cool. I really want to go to Galway for the summer coz none of my friends have made any solid plans and Galway's always a good laugh. Anyone from Galway think that's a good idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I have three friends who went to college there that completely disagree with you. They hated it - and these guys would be fond of a good time.

Different strokes for different folks I s'pose..

You'll just have to come down here and see for yourself I guess. Mary I rag week this week, 90% girls, whats not to love?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

been to all counties except Co. Down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Sligo, Leitrim, Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan, Waterford, Kilkenny, Longford, Louth. May have passed through some in car but I don't think that counts.

And in NI (it being a foreign country and all), only been to Belfast and Armagh, so I suppose everywhere else.