Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tickets on Luas...

• 20-02-2006 9:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭MarinoMark

I always buy a ticket for my trip on Luas, I have never been checked but I am too afraid to run the risk, Has your ticket ever been checked ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Nope neva checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Used to always get away with it.
    There is a method to it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

been on the luas about 10 times, checked about 4!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭nedoo

Alway buy my ticket, have seen a few people caught, good enough for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭sportswear

id say i pay maybe 30% of the time. you just leg it off though when the 'heavies' come on.

they are pretty obvoius. they only really look for tickets off loutish types

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

I defy any of you to tear a Luas ticket in two. Go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Myself and the missus always seem to be on it when an inspector gets on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

sportswear wrote:
    they only really look for tickets off loutish types

MODS??!! OVER HERE!! this is a personal insult ;)

ban...ban...ban...

anytime ive been on they check everyones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Around 50% of the time I have had it checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I used to work in the IFSC and would hop on the Luas up to Jervis St quite often without paying, never got caught though.

I get the Stephens green line the odd time now and have seen inspectors on it quite often, especially the stop before Dundrum and Balally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

never been checked the couple of times i was on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

qz wrote:

There is a way. Tear along the strip... point of least resistance. Clever bit of work from the Luas folks though, it cuts down on litter/scraps on the trams.

Yeah, I pay my ticket - been checked about 30% of the time too. Anyone who doesn't pay deserves to be caught to be honest - the luas is a product, like any other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Once since the start of January..but I don't know what that was about. Few guys checking tickets and mumbling into dictaphones or something...someone admitted to not having a ticket and they didn't do anything about that..

Good luck to them checking with all those people crammed in on the mornings..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I live on the Luas line so would get it quite often.
    Get checked less than 10% of the time.
    I'm normally on it evenings/nights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Always buy a ticket. Occasionally checked, not too often though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭MarinoMark

smemon wrote:
    MODS??!! OVER HERE!! this is a personal insult ;)

ban...ban...ban...

anytime ive been on they check everyones.

Big Lick !:D :D:D

Ever "legged" it from a restaurant, filling station, hotel etc without fulfilling your " Finiancal Obligation" ??:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

It's on my "to-do" list. I just have to wait till I get the convertable to hop into and speed away on a desert road.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

i would not mind doing it at a petrol station in my buggati veyron as petrol's expensive.:D and nobody can catch me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

MarinoMark wrote:
    Ever "legged" it from a restaurant, filling station, hotel etc without fulfilling your " Finiancal Obligation" ??:D
    why, have you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

An hour ago you asked had anyone went on the luas without paying, and now this? You come off as a mighty cheapskate Mark, it has to be said.

rugbug86 wrote:
    why, have you?
    Indeed my friend I have...Once in the 80s, but made the unfortunate mistake of leaving the car keys on the Restaurant table...A lesson well learned.......While we are at it...you ???

NoelRock wrote:
    An hour ago you asked had anyone went on the luas without paying, and now this? You come off as a mighty cheapskate Mark, it has to be said.

A cheapskate who gives cars away for free;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I worked for statoil... They have cameras, everywhere, and send the police to your address. Suprisingly you can get a lot of info from someone's Number Plate :rolleyes:

JOhn

No, never have and never will.
    Probably because I amn't a f*cking scumbag but hey, different strokes etc..

NoelRock wrote:
    Just trying to post a few interesting topics for a monday nite, No. Not a cheapskate.I will wait for an interesting topic from you by return..GO FOR IT !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I filled up and drove off down the road. Realised what I'd done and turned back, paid my bill in full like the good citizen that I am :o

cormie wrote:
    A cheapskate who gives cars away for free;)
    Yes and the couple were delighted with it, A once off...Will I start to trawl your posts ? What would I find.............? WILL i HAVE A LOOK,Just for the crack...? M

MarinoMark wrote:
    Just trying to post a few interesting topics for a monday nite, No. Not a cheapskate.I will wait for an interesting topic from you by return..GO FOR IT !!!

Oh, you're labelling your own topics interesting are ya?
    How modest.

MarinoMark wrote:
    Yes and the couple were delighted with it, A once off...Will I start to trawl your posts ? What would I find.............? WILL i HAVE A LOOK,Just for the crack...? M

Buddy, I was backing you up saying how could you be a cheapskate if you're giving a car away for free, I wasn't actually calling you a cheapskate, I was saying the exact opposite:(

NoelRock wrote:
    I see "Gay Premiership footballers" hold a special Intrest for you..I have a closet you might be interested in, Very easy to "come out off"..I have not really "Delved" into your other posts yet, so lets keep it civil ! M

cormie wrote:
    Buddy, I was backing you up saying how could you be a cheapskate if you're giving a car away for free, I wasn't actually calling you a cheapskate, I was saying the exact opposite:(
    Took u up wrong...Humble apologies...M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

there seems to be a lot of angry, holier than thou type folks around tonight.

rb_ie wrote:
    Oh, you're labelling your own topics interesting are ya?
    How modest.
    I think they promote a healthy debate. I wait with baited breath for a worthwhile contribuition from your good self, instead of waiting and "pouncing" on what you consider dull. Regards M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

Once in Glasgow. Actually the guy from the fish and chips shop didn´t bother coming out of his restroom for ages and I was standing there waiting to pay for almost eternity and decided to leg it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

I have been checked a few times from Rialto to Blackhorse in the evenings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

About 1 in 5 I get checked, all times of day, night and weekend, in fact, there's loads of them on a saturday night.

You could go ticketless, and if you kept your eyes open you'd get away with it, and it'd probably be value for money, but you'd never be able relax on the Luas, so I pay my €1.40 a journey and chill...

julep wrote:
    there seems to be a lot of angry, holier than thou type folks around tonight.

Maybe some of us just don't see robbing stuff as a "done thing" or "the norm" ? Sorry, but I look down at people who rob.
    MarinoMark wrote:
    I think they promote a healthy debate. I wait with baited breath for a worthwhile contribuition from your good self, instead of waiting and "pouncing" on what you consider dull. Regards M

And how many results have you gotten in this thread so far that are actually answering the question you posed?

5, if you're including your own. I wouldn't call that a healthy debate, would you?

I may not start threads, mainly because any topic I would like to discuss has been discussed in length in the past or someone has a current thread opened on it, but at least I don't post crap threads.

Anywho, I end this here for the sole purpose of getting this on topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,964 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

MarinoMonk, thou art a genius. Your thread has changed my life forever and has really been the highlight of my day with how interesting it is. I also love the way you back up your answers by trawling through other peoples posts and making assumptions about them, like smebody trying to hide their own inadequacies. I suggest you do a leggit yourself. It might add some excitement to your otherwise uninteresting life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Lump wrote:
    I worked for statoil... They have cameras, everywhere, and send the police to your address. Suprisingly you can get a lot of info from someone's Number Plate :rolleyes:

JOhn

That's why you muddy up your plates beforehand...
    Our local statoil had to reintroduce service attendants due to the amount of drive offs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

drdre wrote:
    and nobody can catch me.

Except for the garda for dangerous driving :)

rb_ie wrote:
    Maybe some of us just don't see robbing stuff as a "done thing" or "the norm" ? Sorry, but I look down at people who rob.

And how many results have you gotten in this thread so far that are actually answering the question you posed?

5, if you're including your own. I wouldn't call that a healthy debate, would you?

I may not start threads, mainly because any topic I would like to discuss has been discussed in length in the past or someone has a current thread opened on it, but at least I don't post crap threads.

Anywho, I end this here for the sole purpose of getting this on topic.
    You never mentioned your intrest in "gay Footballers" Mmm Wonder where that stems from, But fair enough...Goodnight...M

Retr0gamer wrote:
    MarinoMonk, thou art a genius. life.
    Well we can but try, but being a modest type...etc, Anyway no harm intended...Goodnight.M:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

rb_ie wrote:
    yes, anything you would like to discuss. you, however, do not represent everyone.
    marinomark felt it was a worthy topic, even if it doesn't interest you.
    don't like it, don't read it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Jaysus what is it with you and the Gay Footballers thread?

If you actually read the posts the users made instead of the thread title, under the "View All Posts By..." you'd see that everyone in that thread except the OP were arguing that he was wrong to post conjecture.

Homophobe jibes due to someone posting in a thread with "gay" in the title is schoolyard stuff tbh....and if you left your car keys in a restaurant in the 80's then I'd assume you're long since out of school...

Wertz wrote:
    Jaysus what is it with you and the Gay Footballers thread?

If you actually read the posts the users made instead of the thread title, under the "View All Posts By..." you'd see that everyone in that thread except the OP were arguing that he was wrong to post conjecture.

Homophobe jibes due to someone posting in a thread with "gay" in the title is schoolyard stuff tbh....and if you left your car keys in a restaurant in the 80's then I'd assume you're long since out of school...
    Indeed, left school in 1979 and doing ok. This thread took on a life of its own and ended up where I never intented it to be...Peace..Goodnight..Mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

I pay my fare always...

Although there was one funny incident a few months ago when i had spent alot in town and had only some change left, just enough for a childs tickets. So i chanced my arm and sure enough an inspector came on.

Needless to say i was chucked off. I'm surprised she didn't fine me since i tried to be smart about the situation and blatantly say i was 15! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

qz wrote:
    Done it. Take that!

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

qz wrote:
    They've changed them, or at least, they must have changed them...wait, maybe I'm uber-strong...

I've never been checked. I've only been on the luas once though. 46A's all I need (ahem, well that and the occasional 84).