Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parking outside your house!!

• 20-02-2006 12:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭

right o, this has been bugging me for months and i want to know what i can do about it if anything!
    every sunday night i come home to find my neighbour parked well over his side.. he drives a saloon and i have a hatchback.
    it really bugs me because i end up blocking in my other neighbour a bit and i really dont like doing it.
    now, tonight he was practically outside my house which really got me annoyed!!
    theres enough space for two cars, either car blocks a bit of their own drive way(my mam parks there hence me on the street).
    i really dont see why he does it, his wife has her own car that goes in the drive- a drive way made for 2 cars might i add!! and he goes earlier than her in the morning so it wouldnt make any difference if their drive was blocked a little bit.
    i know this might come off as being petty, but its so annoying, especially when ya have to park a bit infront of your neighbours drive due to the other neighbour being too far over!
    im only short of putting cones out like in Bread!!
    please help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

do unto others as they do unto you.
    Annoy him by parking well on his side till he gets the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭raheny red

Start up a petition with your fellow neighbours :D

Oh no wait, send him hate mail, yeh that's it, hate mail..........:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

too dull.

Petrol bomb his car instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Ridire_Dubh

Know how to operate a fork lift?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

ive tried the parking over his side, its too late to knock on his door but i have done it on a different occasion!

please no smart answers folks, its driving me crazy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 DubGal

hire someone really strong to lift his car into a dump somewhere, or you could but some nail ramps in the space he usually parks.

lol whoops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭mad m

Do you actually have a drive in outside your house? Is your path dipped also if you have a drive in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Cut his ****ing head off!

Or else get home earlier and prevet him parking there.
    Set up a division.
    Plant a flower bed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭The Fool

Mmmmmmmm, trickey one alright.
    Shared a house with a guy who had a simmilar problem when in college.
    He took the guys licence plates off and sprayed prophanities in red paint all over the car.

While personaly i think this was over the top it did resolve the parking
    issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭raheny red

Originally posted by Misticles
    its driving me crazy!

All joking aside, I feel you should say it to them tomorrow morning........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Mark out "Misticles Parking Spot" in glow in the dark paint... If he parks there, paint "Twat" on the bonnet... :P

Seriously though, just ask him would he mind moving up a bit, that you don't want to block your other neighbour.

mad m wrote:
    Do you actually have a drive in outside your house? Is your path dipped also if you have a drive in?

ye i do, but i never want to leave it there, people walking by would walk on top of it rather than around, i do live in clondalkin...so it can be expected..
    ill try get the upper hand tomorrow, ill have to move the car back anyways, so ill leave it back and see how he likes it, i know two wrongs dont make a right but sometimes it can be the only way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

politeness always wins out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭mad m

Misticles wrote:
    ye i do, but i never want to leave it there, people walking by would walk on top of it rather than around, i do live in clondalkin...so it can be expected..

I know exactally what you mean,as far as I know he can't part or fully block your exit from your house in case of an emergency. You are going to have to stand your ground Im afraid and not let him walk over you like he is doing.

If he doesnt listen to reason,take some pics as evidence for future reference incase it goes down the auld legal route.Maybe have a word in his wifes ear?

Or better yet, ride his wife.

Let's see, here are some possible courses of action:
    1. Politely explain the problem to the offender, face-to-face
    2. Send a letter of complaint to the landlord, with a copy to the offender
    3. Stop a member of the Garda, and ask them if they would be so kind as to speak with the offender in the interests of keeping the peace
    4. Have your b/f, if he is quite large and fit, to have a polite talk with the offender face-to-face
    5. Make friends with a local bouncer and ask him to visit the offender to negotiate on your behalf
    6. Take kick boxing and ask your offending neighbor if he would be so kind as to allow you to use him as a dummy to punch and kick (for practice)

he dosnt block my drive, but parks in such a way that he dosnt block any of his own and causes me to block a bit on the other side..

Or better yet, ride his wife.
    im not that way inclined lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Put an egg on his car, it's really hard to get them off if they freeze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭The Fool

julep wrote:
    politeness always wins out.
    Wouldn't agree, he obviously knows that if there is only room enough for 2 cars and he parks in the middle it causes problems.

If he can't figure this out for himself he shouldn't be allowed to drive.
    Some people are just ***** :mad:

I've got an idea that just might work. You could throw a party at your place for all of us who have answered your post. We could then go over to his place as a group and explain to him the problem. If that doesn't work, then I could stay behind to negotiate a little further.;)

Or maybe he genuinly doesn't know that he is causing a fuss because the OP hasn't said anything to him.

He could think the OP enjoys the current set up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I've got an idea that just might work. You could throw a party at your place for all of us who have answered your post. We could then go over to his place as a group and explain to him the problem. If that doesn't work, then I could stay behind to negotiate a little further.;)

i bags the riding his wife job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Nah - my wife is real ugly - i'm just waiting for the twat to speak to my face instead of watching him complain on his computer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

put traffic cones up outside your property donating your car parking space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

No one has anyright to a particular space on a PUBLIC road.... So tough shít.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,654 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Misticles wrote:
    he dosnt block my drive, but parks in such a way that he dosnt block any of his own and causes me to block a bit on the other side..
    So in other words he is parking perfectly legally but you don't like it because you think the road outside your property belongs to you......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

So in other words he is parking perfectly legally but you don't like it because you think the road outside your property belongs to you......

because of where he parks she has to park infront of her other neighbours drive.
    it may be perfectly legal, but it just aint fair dammit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

It's called common f*cking courtesy, grow up.

Maybe the fella doesn't realise he's causing a problem. You could do the same back to him, and then he might knock in and say that you're blocking his way, and you'll have to explain that he was doing the same thing, and you were getting him back, and he'll start apologising and saying he didn't know. Then you'll look really petty!

Or you could just knock in and explain the situation and he'll probably say sorry, won't happen again.

Or else he'll tell you to f*ck yourself, and that's when you put anthrax into his letter-box!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Lump wrote:

John

There's just a little thing called 'common courtosy'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

And your point is? If she's not willing to go around to ask, or the guy isn't willing to do it, if she has asked, well then legally there's nothing she can do. It's actually illegal to cordon off an area of roadway, even if it's outside your house. You'll just have to put up living next to a not very nice man.

John

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I wouldn't like this happening to me either.

You could stop your car behind him and drive slowly up to his car until the bumper's touch, then leave it there, if you do this a few times he might get the message.

I'd say it to him though first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

Lump wrote:

John

I was just going to say it...

He isnt blocking you in any way what he is doing is using the space in between your two driveways with his obviously bigger car...The simple fact of it is that he just gets there first and doesnt take you parking into consideration..

So either say it to him politely that you are blocking the other neighbour slightly (which is entirely your fault not his) and would he mind moving...otherwise do nothing.

IMO they are your only other options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

i know this feeling. My mam and dad park in our drive and outside our house so for the last 4-5 years I have parked directly accross the road in a little spot that doesnt belong to anyone its just a corner beside a field. Our old neighbours across the road used to park 3 cars in their massive drive way no prob. they moved out and the new ones moved im. such a shower os muppets they will only park 1 car in their drive and park the other in my spot during the day. worst is theres room there for 2 cars if you park correctly but these twats park in the middle so I cant park there. If I get home from work and park and then go out later in the evening when I come back they will have moved their car into my spot!. so what im doing now is parking outside their house cos they arent using it. if they keep it up im gonna park in their driveway for the laugh

at my house, theres a bush in the garden that represents the strat of pur houes and the end of his, so technically he shouldnt be going past there. his drive holds two cars..
    and its not my fault that i end up blocking my other neighbour, its due to the fact that hes ignorant and would park in my drive if he had the flippin chance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Tricky one to figure out, One scenario is get a slurry tanker and add natural fertiliser to to his lawn, house car etc. :D

On Topic: Perhaps just simply Ask him, which will probably result in him telling you get F*c8ed, which will then result in a feud between the rowing families. Its a tough one. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Its tricky, sounds like you have a very very small front space? I mean my house has enough for my next door neighbour to park his articulated truck (minus trailer of course) outside his house and not take up any of my area. there is a sign post for a ramp right in the middle of our houses so perfectly divided there and easy to tell if your taking up space. Though we are detached bungalows so maybe thats why we have more space.

Its tricky as i think technically he can park where he likes as long as he does not block your actual driveway.. but he could park right outside your house.. of course same goes for you!!

Best idea is talk to him, if he is an Ass then take it futher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

if he isnt going to show you any respect dont show him any. any time you see the opportunity, park over on his side. he will get the message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Call over and TALK TO HIM, ASK HIM to stop parking the way he is. Either you do something about it ( and posting here is NOT pro-active ) or you suck it up and deal with it (and continue to rant here for no reason).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Its easy...

Start a game of BF2, apply to be commander. once you're accepted continuosuly call in artillery on his car until its reduced to rubble. Then just sweep it out of you way a hey presto, 1 (one) parking space sir.

L33t.

<edit>
    OOOORRRRR spawn as special forces and plant C4 and then hide in the bush.... hahaha that would be so cool.
    </edit>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

I am a bit confused on this.

Your neighbour parks his car in a way that it doesn't block your drive. It is somewhat in front of your garden. I still don't get why you are parking in a way that blocks anybody else and if you are blocking other people and he is not it is you at fault.

As somebody has said you have no right to park in front of your house. The whole comon courtesy is a joke. You have no right to park in front of your house period. If you are annoyed with somebody parking somewhere on a street tough you have no right and they have no right. It is completely laughable to hear somebody complain about their new neighbour parking in "their" spot.

Common courtesy tells you that you can't complain about what you have no right to. I live on a very narrow road and know the frustration of many parked cars but common sense tells you that you may have to accept these things.

By the by if you have a double wide drive did you get planning to expand it?

One of my neighbours goes nuts about parking for no apparent reason other than what he wants. Everybody thinks of him as a nut about it so is that waht the OP seems to be like but I still don't get his parking problem. In short the OP sounds petty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Misticles wrote:

So you have a driveway and you won't use it? He has a driveway and doesn't use his? Sounds like two unreasonable people to me. You both deserve one another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Misticles wrote:
    i know this might come off as being petty, but its so annoying, especially when ya have to park a bit infront of your neighbours drive due to the other neighbour being too far over!
    im only short of putting cones out like in Bread!!
    please help!:eek:

Its quite hard for someone to be an @ss to you, if you are tooth-rottingly nice to someone. Be all smiles, and tell them it puts you out.

If it happens again, a gentle reminder. if it happens AGAIN... let the air out of their tyres in the middle of the night. Still smile sweetly at them as they come and go from the house though, that way they cant point the finger at you. you are then 'too nice' to actually be accused, and next time they wont forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Public road, get a life.
    ferdi wrote:
    put traffic cones up outside your property donating your car parking space.
    Donating?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

OP,

Every time your neighbour makes you block off some of your neighbours drive, knock on the door & ask if he would be so kind as to move his car to allow you to move over so your neighbour can get into their drive - ask very politely & be appologetic....I guarantee after the 3rd time of disrupting his TV/dinner/etc he will automatically park with more thought.....best of luck....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

your gonna do it eventually so extend your driveway onto your grass so two cars can park in your garden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Victor wrote:
    Public road, get a life.Donating?

You know he meant denoting, no need to act like you're a member of the spelling police.
    The whole comon courtesy is a joke

Why? Because someone who's using more space than they require won't think of others? The OP has a legimate right to complain about that - I'm presuming that the person with the saloon could safely park slightly further up without blocking anyone, yet uses up two cars worth of spaces.

If there were two parking spots left in a car park, and someone parked diagonally across them you'd be pissed off, this sounds like essentially the same thing. I'd just go talk to them - as said above, theres no legal obligation on them to do anything, it would be nice to think that not everyone is as self-centred as some of those who've replied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭HSo

You have had no problems until you live with the twat neighbours I have. They would park up my A**hole if they got the chance. They park so badly that they almost block the road.

But I got the last laugh. While my car was trapped nice and snug in my driveway one night, one of theirs was whack out of by what could only be a drunk driver. The whole side of the car taken out. That person now parks their car very carefully.

Incidentially although I derived much laughter from the incident, I had nothing to do with it - just for the record, it just that God does answers prayers sometimes.