Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who would go to see brokeback mountain?

• 20-02-2006 12:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭

Just heard on the news that brokeback moutain has won some british film awards. Also it's likely to win a load of Oscars also. My question is who the hell would watch it. I mean unless you are actually gay - would you go to see a film about two gay cowboys?

Is this just a case of the film industry congratulating itself rather than a film actually being good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Just heard on the news that brokeback moutain has won some british film awards. Also it's likely to win a load of Oscars also. My question is who the hell would watch it. I mean unless you are actually gay - would you go to see a film about two gay cowboys?

Is this just a case of the film industry congratulating itself rather than a film actually being good?

You should really re read your posts before sending them, because you come across as very shallow and silly. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Don't comment on it until you've seen it. I've heard its quite good from both straight and gay people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

i haven't seen it, but i'm not so closed minded as to point blank refuse to see it.
    chances are there's a lot more to it than you've been led to believe.

"I didn't bother watching Schindlers list because it's just some film about Jews and stuff... and i plain don't like Jews."

^ sounds a bit dumb, eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Only a t-rex can truely enjoy Jurrasic Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

my mum went to see it twice, she said it was great. also saw a trailer in the ifi and tbh it looked pretty good. im sure it doesn't have enough bombs and explosions for someone of your intellect though :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

Tusky wrote:

.......and on that note, its a love story, what does the protagonists sexual preference have to do with it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Ichiro

HeroBear has hit the Nail on the head.
    This film is not about sexual preferance, its a love story and may i suggest you JimmyCrackcorn get yourself off and see it, to open your eyes and remove the blinkers your obviously wearing.

The movie and actors deserved all the awards they received as I found it hard to find a flaw in it and it is a stunning and emotional film.

Ang Lee has again shown us all what he is capable and brilliant as a director.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

I haven't seen it, I'm not a cowboy so don't see the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

they got the idea for the film after watching south park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I have no comeplling reason to see it over any otehr love story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i'm with you brother...i'm not from Wyoming so i didn't bother watching it either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Heyes wrote:
    You should really re read your posts before sending them, because you come across as very shallow and silly. :rolleyes:

Absolutley amazing reply. Indeed I must be shallow!

There are 16 films listed at my local cinema. Naturally I like most people have loads of free time to go see all and can't distinguish which I should go to see with my limited free time. Perhaps I am also shallow and silly for not going see chicken little.

But If I had posted about that instead I would already note that i won't go see that because I'm not a kid?

Can you get the point yet heyes?
    Don't comment on it until you've seen it. I've heard its quite good from both straight and gay people.

Orla - I simply think from all the publicity that this film has been hyped up as a great gay iconic film experiment and that is why it is getting awards. The substance of the film is a a gay cowboy love story - so who wants to go see it?
    i haven't seen it, but i'm not so closed minded as to point blank refuse to see it.
    chances are there's a lot more to it than you've been led to believe.

"I didn't bother watching Schindlers list because it's just some film about Jews and stuff... and i plain don't like Jews
    ."

Tman - care to list what films out of the current release you have been closed minded to refuese to see. Have you been to chicken licken - I've heard that there is more to it than a simple set of animated sequences...
    im sure it doesn't have enough bombs and explosions for someone of your intellect though

Surely you must not be insinuating that I must be a blokey type of person who like bombs an explosions and football and such things. Perhaps I should be going to see this film to explore my feminine side.

Perhaps my quesiton should have been more direct - what fella is going to willingly (i.e. minus forced by girlfriend / partner etc) want to go see this film?

Ah .. wise Tusky

Only a Dentist enjoys going to get an extraction.

finally ichiro has some sort of plausible repsonse.
    This film is not about sexual preferance, its a love story and may i suggest you JimmyCrackcorn get yourself off and see it, to open your eyes and remove the blinkers your obviously wearing.

The movie and actors deserved all the awards they received as I found it hard to find a flaw in it and it is a stunning and emotional film.

Ang Lee has again shown us all what he is capable and brilliant as a director.

Intersting argument. You are saying that the film is actually good. But as a straight guy I'm not interested in going to a film about two cowboys kissing.

So who is ( that aren't gay)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Actually after seeing the clips of it in tonight's BAFTA Awards I'm raging that I haven't gotten to the cinema to see it yet, it looks brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I haven't seen it, but it's getting a lot of positive press, friends have gone to see it and said it's quite good. So with an open mind, I'll pop along next time I'm near the cinema and have a look at it. I generally like to make my own mind up.

I'm neither a cowboy or gay.

But as a straight guy I'm not interested in going to a film about two cowboys kissing.
    so two men kissing makes you feel uncomfortable then? why?

Sleepy wrote:
    Actually after seeing the clips of it in tonight's BAFTA Awards I'm raging that I haven't gotten to the cinema to see it yet, it looks brilliant.

If what they showed is the same as the trailers and other clips I've seen then I can only conclude that this film appeals to women and gay people - both highly emotional sections of society.

I've seen clips of Aeon Flux and I'm dying to see that - because I'm mad into that sci-fi stuff.
    so two men kissing makes you feel uncomfortable then? why?.

I don't smoke - smoking makes me uncomfortable - I understand that smokers like to smoke but I just don't like smoke - is that so hard to understand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭The Fool

My question is who the hell would watch it. QUOTE]

This was my first reaction, but then i thought, Women! Sure they love
    this kinda stuff:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

RuggieBear wrote:

Cos if he stands up people will see his little soldier standing to attention?

ah so you also believe he doth protest too much.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

If what they showed is the same as the trailers and other clips I've seen then I can only conclude that this film appeals to women and gay people - both highly emotional sections of society.

I've seen clips of Aeon Flux and I'm dying to see that - because I'm mad into that sci-fi stuff.

I don't smoke - smoking makes me uncomfortable - I understand that smokers like to smoke but I just don't like smoke - is that so hard to understand?

You do realise some people enjoy films? Not just sci-fi, but get this for crazy, some people actually like different genres of films! OMG teh SHock!!!

So i am guessing, the fact that it has be given so much hype and an oscar favourite means alot of straight people will be interested in seeing what its like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

But you don't live in the future! Why would you want to see that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

jesus i cant believe the **** yous are coming out with! because there are gay characters in a movie only fruits and chicks are gonna watch it? stay in your caves.

lol

eo980 wrote:
    I haven't seen it, but it's getting a lot of positive press, friends have gone to see it and said it's quite good. So with an open mind, I'll pop along next time I'm near the cinema and have a look at it. I generally like to make my own mind up.

I'm neither a cowboy or gay.

but is "positive press" just hype lsuch as the being the first mainstream film that emphasizes a gay relationship in a totally opposite non-gay scenario?

If you are not cowboy nor gay - what the hell are you - alien ;) ?

steviec wrote:
    But you don't live in the future! Why would you want to see that?

Steviec - Please , you are probably training very hard for the keyboard olympics.; now (oops) you must try very hard to actually read the whole post before replying....

Now, concentrate on reading the rest of my post which was this...

It'll be Bridget Jones Diary all over again :eek: :eek:
    Went to see it with Mrs in the Cinema.
    Only male in attendance with 100 or so bitter looking
    oul ones

The Fool wrote:
    My question is who the hell would watch it. QUOTE]

This was my first reaction, but then i thought, Women! Sure they love
    this kinda stuff:rolleyes:

All hail the wise man :D

The Fool wrote:
    It'll be Bridget Jones Diary all over again :eek: :eek:
    Went to see it with Mrs in the Cinema.
    Only male in attendance with 100 or so bitter looking
    oul ones

LOL. Close this thread now - sure wise man here has given the answer to life itself.

edit - can't stop laughing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Yeah I went to see this with my girlfriend and another couple because of all the critical acclaim and all that, it was ok, pretty boring. Honestly I've seen 4 or 5 better films in the cinema in the last year. I really do get the impression that if it had of been about two straight cowboys or a cowboy and cowgirl then it would have just passed by unnoticed.

I just pray that I'm not made go to it just like I had to go to see the Blair witch project.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

You're just afraid you might see something you like. Bit insecure about our own sexuality are we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

rb_ie wrote:
    You're just afraid you might see something you like. Bit insecure about our own sexuality are we?

My sentiments exactly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

The film is very good. Does that satisfy you? And I don't think that this has been built up as a "movie about gayness" either. I can't remember a single thing I saw/read that specifically pointed out the homosexuality in this film.

And I'm not gay, as my username attests.

You sir need a slap in the face. Preferably with a big, hard penis.

And I'm not gay, as my username attests..

Are you Sure?? I've just seen your picture on your profile ;)

My sentiments exactly!

At long last, and I thought I'd be up all night waiting for this commentary.

Why is it that when someone comments on anthing that remotely mentions the word "gay", before too long, there will be a reply about self-sexuality. you guys must have been watching "In and Out" recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

Saw Brokeback a few weeks back.

Firstly

He who cut the trailer for the film...FIRE HIM. HE completely grabs the wrong end of the stick with the film. The trailer is the biggest turn off for the film. "They're cowboys...AND THEY'RE GAY!" Stupid stupid trailer.

On the OP's question...

Its a mix. Firstly as Film...It is for the most part. Brilliantly directed, excellent acting and a quite a captivating story.

BUT

In my opinion the opening part of the film was mishandled completely it was far too blunt with the issue and probably did make a part of the heterosexual audiance uncomfortable in parts and in other parts self justified in their view of homosexual relationships.

Or if you would like to analysis me, that it was my own sexual insecurity slipping through when i felt the opening part of the movie was too blunt.

Now the rest of the film is brilliant and developes nicely.

and i do believe Heath Ledger deserves an award for his acting he was brilliant.

BUT

You are right to suspect that to believe that anything given to the film beyond an award for cinematography and best actor is hollywood slapping itself on the back. Not for making a gay cowboy movie...but for promoting, accepting and awarding that they made a gay cowboy movie.

Advertising and hollywood cashing in has ruined a quality movie by staining it as the GAY movie.

There's another film (Death of a gaul is the title i think?) which has similarities (deals with a secret homosexual relationship) but it has been given a proper trailer which doesnt blow the fact that it has homosexuality as a plot element out of proportion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

RuggieBear wrote:
    I don't like romance films myself, so I don't see myself going to watch it. If there was two lesbians kissing, heck that'd be a reason to go watch it:p, but two queers kissing ain't my thing.

=-=

Aeon Flux, by the way, is sh|te. Sci-Fi, yes, but no violence, no people getting shot in gore type settings, etc. The plot makes you think for about 20 seconds, but its crap besides that.

=-=

To quote a guy being led into the Brokeback Mountain screen by the girlfriend "So, whats this about? Is it a comedy?".

=-=

The funny thing about this thread is that its ok not to goto a film if its violent or scary, as you don't like violence or scary stuff (Dog Soldiers, for example), but if you don't goto see the film about two gays getting it on, you're homophobic:rolleyes: or insecure about your sexuality.

The really funny thing is that he is getting flamed for thinking of going to see it. Maybe not wanting to believe the trailers, he asks people. And what happens? They nearly all say that the only reason not to go, is that he's insecure with his sexuality. Aside from BlitzKrieg, no-one else has said why he should go.

=-=

If you're looking for a decent movie, go watch Chicken Little. Its more entertaining than Big Momma's House 2 (which I also saw), and it actually has a few original funny parts. BMH2 has pretty much the same plot as the 1st one, tbh.

the_syco wrote:
    I don't like romance films myself, so I don't see myself going to watch it. If there was two lesbians kissing, heck that'd be a reason to go watch it:p, but two queers kissing ain't my thing.

If you're looking for a decent movie, go watch Chicken Little. Its more entertaining than Big Momma's House 2 (which I also saw), and it actually has a few original funny parts. BMH2 has pretty much the same plot as the 1st one, tbh.

lol...

personally i thought chicken little was cute but not as funny as it should have been.

i don't like romance films either and the only thing that has stopped me watching the film is the fact that everything by ang lee bores me to tears...

but imo it is homophobic not to go to it on the sole basis that heath ledger and jake gllynhael (sp?) snog/hug/get it on/shag. I mean how is that not homophobic...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

I have no comeplling reason to see it over any otehr love story.
    I agree. Once I heard it was all love story and no shoot-outs and bar-room brawls, I lost interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yep. Love story == chick flick == 2 hours of boredom for me.

When I heard it would involve sitting through a gay sex scene, that was it, there's no way I'm seeing it no matter how much she pleads. Shallow? No, I just know what I don't like, and watching a love story, and then two gay guys in a passionate embrace isn't my idea of entertainment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

OP, just because its about gay people , it doesnt mean that only gay people would have interest in seeing it. dont be stupid.

and why do u keep on going about chicken little? do u have a problem with that too? i actually saw it and i thought it was very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

Just because people dont want to go see it doesn't mean they are homophobic. Jimmy aparently doesn't and thats his prefrence.

What gets me is the people who say that we should all go see it but not say why. If you've seen it and think other should too then tell them why dont just say "ummmm its great n' stuff..... ya" explain why you think its good and others decisions might be swayed.

now before ye complain I have seen BJD and though that scenes were funny, others not so much, but when I saw the trailer for brokeback I wasn't the most impressed. I might go see it but its not something I will go out of my way to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

LOL, the folly of youth. At least, I hope from your postings here that you're just a young lad that hasn't matured enough to grow out of teenage homophobia. I'm neither gay nor a woman and as anyone who knows me will tell you "emotional" isn't exactly a word that can be used to describe me. Some of us will go to see a movie simply because the cinematography looks good in the trailer, or will see clips of some fantastic acting (aside from the two leads, Michelle Williams looks excellent in this) and decide to check out the film even if it something that we wouldn't normally go for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ok. First of all, they're not cowboys. Secondly, only one of them is gay and is about as mincey and camp as Clint Eastwood. The point of the story, oh open-minded ones, is that sometimes people can fall for anyone, regardless of gender or sexual orientation. Thirdly, it is certainly not a chick flick. I've spoken to plenty of girls who didn't like it because it wasn't soppy enough and the two lads weren't believable because they weren't all lovey-dovey (talk about missing the point). Fourthly, it is a great film from the point of view of acting, screenplay adaptation, direction, cinematography. It's slow-moving yes, but that's because it spans 20 years. It's well done in that it's understated rather than laying on the schmaltz or the sweeping violins. It's not an "issue" film. Certain lobbies choose to receive it this way, that's all. It's simply a tragic personal story and a damn fine one to boot. I realise some people are only taking the piss on this forum, but to those who are serious in their ill-informed judgements of Brokeback Mountain, GROW THE HELL UP!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Sifo

cowboys kissing and falling in love just aint my thing. Sorry but you can't force it on me... :p

Its a love story thats only going to appeal to certain people.. personally i dont see the appeal, because the love between a man and a man just doesnt get my heart racing..

The best thing thats come from this movie being released is it's got all these straight debating both sides.... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭RotalicaV

Is there any gay people on boards who wouldn't go see it because its a love film?

I'm interested to know this.

Jebus!!! There's a tad more to it than two guys kissing. To be honest, with all this speculation that only gay guys and women would like it, I personally think swishy, queenie types wouldn't be bothered with it at all. There is no flambouyancy or penises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I'm cowboy-curious myself.

ziggy67 wrote:
    I've no interest in seeing this in the same way i have no interest in watching Romeo & Juliet- love stories just ain't my thing.

Fair enough. But it really is more than a love story. There's no soppiness if that's what you dislike about love stories.

Edit: I hate love stories. They're lame.