Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been Sacked ??

• 14-02-2006 6:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭

Ok i was once,in the 80s.Robbed them blind ! Jesus I was 20,drove a capri,had the finest women,lived in Tamangos, my wages were approx 400 per month, I really made 1200pm. I worked in a very busy Service Station and the owners gave me "carte blanche" over the lot. In the end it came crashing down and the guards were involved. I have not "half inched" a thing since. At the time It was so scary. I am now a law abiding Mortgage paying citizen !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Nope, never been sacked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Nor have I- then again iv never had a job:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

Nope me neither...Tho Im sure it'd be hard to get fired as a waitress :rolleyes: :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Superdub2

i have been sacked from most of the part time jobs i have had while i have been a student. (im in my last year of college, studying accountancy).

Ive been sacked from four to be exact. i would suggest i was to blame for all except 1 where i had my pants pulled down around my proverbial ankles by a supervisor who didnt like me and just happened to be my "team leader" aswell

the other three, one i didnt want to leave but i was sacked for giving out free food, it was my "first offence" and while it wasnt my first time i had been never caught. the owner sacked me and not the manager who wanted me to stay. i dsidnt want to leave either

while working in the other two i had been there long enuf for me and didnt particularly give a dam bout the job and i suppose you cud i "constructive" left both jobs, by taking as many liberties i cud and pulling as many sickies as i cud until they let me go.

In hindsight they were not the best options to take but hey thats life and you live and you learn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Never been fired :)

Ever been Sacked ??

But of course. Made me more determined then ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭EOA_Mushy

Once, from a restraunt. Was a commis chef, 3rd sicky (ligit i might add) in a year & a half working for them and i was gone off the roster the next day i came in.
    (Getting paid under the table, so nothing i could do....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Oh how I long for a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Superdub2

dont worry bout it binomate working is a mugs game and does nobody any good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Superdub2 wrote:
    dont worry bout it binomate working is a mugs game and does nobody any good
    Try having a nagging mother who wants me out of the house unless I get one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

mothers ay :rolleyes:..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Probably would have been sacked if I had not have left myself.
    Told a fat arsed power tripping manager to go fcuk herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

Superdub2 wrote:
    i was sacked for giving out free food, it was my "first offence" and while it wasnt my first time i had been never caught.
    thats a tricky one, depends on the boss..i gave out free food n coffee n never got caught, but one place i worked the boss was so narky bout the staff taking certain food :rolleyes:

i am tolerant, and can keep my temper in check so i dont lose the rag with the boss or customers or whoever..dunno if thats necessarily always a good thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Haven't been fired and don't think I ever will, I'm far too valuable a worker :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Havent been fired yet. Never took liberties at work but i have a friend who has, 4 cameras, a phone and unlimited batteries.jammy git!!!ssshh i didnt say nothing by the way!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Binomate wrote:
    Oh how I long for a job.

Why don't you get a job then eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

nope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

when i was 18 i was fired from a hotel for almost having a fight with a manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i've had the same job on and off for the last nine years. been sacked five or six times and quit about the same. the joy of working for a friend.

worked in a box factory once. went in one saturday while i still had a slight drunk buzz from the night before. the hangover kicked in at about 11am and i decided to go home. the floor manager threatened to fire me. i pointed out that i had already done 12 hours overtime that week and that i didn't actually have to be there on that particular day. he told me not to bother coming in on monday. i didn't and came back on the tuesday. when the boss asked where i had been i told him that the floor manager gave me the day off. he laughed and i went back to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

julep wrote:
    i've had the same job on and off for the last nine years. been sacked five or six times and quit about the same. the joy of working for a friend.

worked in a box factory once. went in one saturday while i still had a slight drunk buzz from the night before. the hangover kicked in at about 11am and i decided to go home. the floor manager threatened to fire me. i pointed out that i had already done 12 hours overtime that week and that i didn't actually have to be there on that particular day. he told me not to bother coming in on monday. i didn't and came back on the tuesday. when the boss asked where i had been i told him that the floor manager gave me the day off. he laughed and i went back to work.

Good story...

Nope never been sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Nope. I know one guy who's never lasted more than two weeks in a job. Somehow he'd get the job, then start turning up 30mins-1 hour late, taking 30min lunch breaks, stealing from tills (where applicable) and giving free food to his friends (again, where applicable). He'd also not bother turning up if he didn't feel like it (e.g. if it was a day of the week ending in y).

I'm surprised some employers even lasted two weeks with him. He's as big a muppet as he sounds. Do employers for student jobs not bother with references anymore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭shanethemofo

the boss was so narky bout the staff taking certain food :rolleyes:

Hehe.... you know they dont stock those magic mushrooms anymore;) :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Twice :o I was only a youngster of course.
    1) Nicking spirits for distribution amongst my friends. I still consider this a 'Robin Hood' act, so I don't beat myself up over it.
    2) Crashing a van (that I shouldn't have been driving) into a golf buggy that my mate was driving. We were racing around the golf course and Mitsubishi L300's don't handle so well on gravel :D
    A good decade now since I was last sacked so I reckon I've beaten the habit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Never was fired. Have a great job now (but if they knew what I was REALLY doing during work hours they'd fire my sorry a$$ for sure - ssshh don't tell anyone) :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

I used to work as a circumciser until i went blind and got the sack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

Only once , but i've been "Out-sourced" twice :(

The once i was sacked i made sure i was, I was moving to Finland and i worked for the worst company i've ever worked for ( i won't give out the name , but i used to take calls for a Directory assistance number for a UK mobile phone company).

If peeps where rude to me , or just shouted at me they got the number of "City Sex tours" in london.

but generealy i worked hard there , but they management didn't give a fly f00k about the staff , so i had roughly 3 weeks left till my flight date , so i just started acting the mick , and sure enough i was called in to a meeting with a new manager , I made sure someone came in with me , and my Sup was there as well.

My Witness and my Supervisor could barley keep a striaght face when they found out what it was about , but i played all shocked and stuff , so i was given my shift off and told to come back in on the monday ( see i worked Fri,sat,sun.mon) 12 hour shifts 7 am - 7pm.
    So i saunter back in on monday , the inform me that more complaints have been made and they match my login number , so i'm sacked.

I wander back home , tell the parents that i've handed in my notice :D and procdeed to play the Playstation for 2 weeks =)

The fact that it was the worst job i have EVER done gave me no sense of Guilt about doing what i did.

I've never been sacked since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Once. I had consistently given no respect for a creepy bar manager. One day (he was a coke head) he threatened me so I locked him into the walk in fridge "by accident" (*accident involved me shutting the door and putting a padlock on the door) untiil the bar owner unexpectadly showed up. I was fired shortly afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Never been sacked but I was made redundant.
    God it was GREAT! They paid me off and I got to spend 6 months with my son and doing up the house.
    There was a "snow day" that year (well, two really) and I remember the GF grumbling as my son and I got ready to make a snowman and she headed off to work.

I wish I could be made redundant every 3 years........

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I was from my first job... I had a weekend shift and at least twice a week id come in late.. a couple of times I came in with clothes shopping bags in tow having been on a bit of a spree... :o The boss couldnt beleive his eyes.. God I was a cheeky little sh*te :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

No but I have an ambition to be fired for "gross incompetence". I am thinking about getting a second job just so I can lose it that way.
    And its harder than you think. My friend went through about 10 jobs in two years before he got fired properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

I was sacked once from an outdoors shop in temple bar. I really didn't want to be there and it showed. I lasted maybe 2 weeks... but when they fired me they gave me a weeks pay extra to see me off... fooking sweet.

I've come pretty close to being fired in another couple of jobs including this one.

However when i like the work i'm doing noone can beat me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Never been sacked despite continuously taking offic supplies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Kojak wrote:
    Never been sacked despite continuously taking offic supplies.

If everybody who took office supplies got fired, there would be worldwide economic depression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Sleipnir wrote:
    If everybody who took office supplies got fired, there would be worldwide economic depression.

Good point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Was sacked just over two weeks ago, well they say 'laid off' but I feel sacked.
    due to financial problems they closed down the sales and marketing team.
    I really did love that job, now all I wanna do is go back in there and smack the boss around the place for hiring me in the first place.
    I realise thats pretty irrational, and that this is just the way of the world, but I have NEVER been laid off before, and I just wanna kick some ass :)

I only got two weeks notice, and in my line of work that just isn't enough to get the gig you REALLY want, so I am temping now, to keep the money rolling in, pay the bills etc.

:mad: Grrrr, stupid fricking idiot ex boss, how I would love to just push him into traffic, or at least poke him in the eye or something.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I was only sacked once, aged 16 in my second ever job in a poxy little company that paid under the table. Basically it was just a case of "now that the busy period's over we don't need you any more, f*ck off."

I am happy to say that they went out of business long ago. I think some of the remaining staff got the place audited for tax :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

got fired by twat of a manager one time years ago. my boss was on hols but the manager knew he was in the wrong (fired me over the fone so I told him to go f**k himself) so he never told my boss that he had fired me!. The next week I had my boss ringign me wondering where I was..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 PeterGriffen

Been fired four times in total, once from the biggest software manufacturer in the world and then another time from the then biggest computer manufacturer in the world. My career history has been officially described as "spotty".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭December Son

Actually now i think about it i DID get fired once. Was working in a ****ty little call centre in omni park called MORI MRC. Me and my friend got jobs at the same time, and during the summer. We were both total stoners back then, and used to go to work baked, and id fall asleep during the morning lecture (or motivational speech, whatever they called it).
    This place was actually dumb enough to let people fill in thier timesheets so they can work whatever days they want. Of course, being high summer and high times, me and the mate only ever wanted to work mon - fri 9am to 1pm :D And we rarely even got more than 2 days work a week! About 3 weeks later both of us had been fired. got to spend the summer as it should have been..hanging out in whitehall park utterly baked :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I worked for a safety company, specifically the signwriting department, doing graphic design, and running the thermal printing machines. I tripled the output of the department simply due to the fact that I was able to have 3 machines running, while designing the graphics for the 4th. The 'manager' above me had 17 years experience, and felt immensely threatened, and proceeded to make my life hell by not allowing net access, complaining if I was eMailing, and then proceeding to allow no personal calls during work hours, no more than 30 mins for lunch, etc.

It all came to a head when I simply turned everything off and went home. There was a meeting the next morning, with me, the MD, the financial controller, and the 'manager'. I sat back enjoying my mug of hot chocolate, listened to him rant for 10 minutes, and when he had worn himself out, I asked the financial controller to show me the profits from the year I'd spent with them, and the previous year. There was almost 3 times the margin. I asked the manager to explain, and he said, well it must be from all the quoatations he was generating. These were the quotes he did every day that took so much time to do, that he had no more time to make signs. Too busy to take phone calls, and too busy to order stock. I asked him to show his last quote, he got it, I asked what number quotation it was, he said 322. I said "So, in the last year, you've done less than 1 quote a day, no sign production, no stock ordering, no phone calls, yet you're making my life hell, and I've tripled what you could do". He went pale, I shook hands with the MD, the financial controller, gave immediate notice and went home.

I'm now in a much better job, company car, almost double the money, and I'm only responsible for myself. Sometimes bad things happen for a reason!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I was sacked twice from the same job.. once I was sacked on the spot as I 'had been seen by a senior member of staff to be stealing items from the store's shelves'.. so I threatened legal action and I was very quickly re-employed and given a pretty detailed apology, then two weeks later I was sacked for being 5 minutes late. It was fun while it lasted :rolleyes:

Oh and then I was sacked as bar manager in a pub after 5 days because the owner hadn't realised what little experience I had and/or how young I was - it was all there on the CV and I didn't lie... but it was cash in hand so there was fook all I could do about it.

Can't wait till I get to fire someone :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

yeah, i've been 'let go'.

"go where?" i asked:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Yes: but all from temp jobs.

1: Ate a fup load of my bosses Krispy Kreme donuts and for some reason (she was hefty hefty hefty) she flipped ... never came back to work. Had a childish plan to mail her a piece of donut anonymously.

2: Went in to work day one ... went to celebrate that evening, never went in day two. They paid me for day one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Wife and I were both sacked (unfairly) within days of one another from the same company. Then 2 days later my wife found out she was pregnant. It makes life interesting, to say the least.

Needless to say, the kn0b of a boss told me at the time "I'll see you in Court" - then dropped his kegs and bent over to sign a big fat cheque on the steps of the Court :D - 'tis so true: don't get mad, get even! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Was once fired from my wonderful position as a lounge boy in my local pub (if anyone lives in beaumont they'll know exactly where i worked and if they know anybody who's worked as a lounge boy there they'll know how it probably wasn't my fault ;).) I'd only been there a week or so and oxegen was coming in 2 weeks, i'd had tickets for months. So i asked someone how you apply for time off and was told to put a little note in the roster.. Did so.

Oxegen week comes around and i'm rostered in all weekend. So i asked the manager and explained my situation and he said yeah, fine, i can have the weekend off. I got back and i was still on the roster but with no hours, then suddenly freaked at by the owner for being behind the bar checking the roster (confused the hell out of me... "umm..but i work here!?"). Anyway i was still on the roster for a couple of weeks while asking the nice manager to find out what the story was and if i'd be getting more hours.. But eventually just called and said it was alright and to take me off the roster.. So... kinda fired? But kinda not :)

about 2 days later i got a call from omni cinema (where i'd very much wanted to work, rather than just handing in a CV out of necessity) and have been there quite happily for the last 6 months! hurrah for jobs not in a pub, minimum wage (and a bit) and breaks that meet the legal requirements (and the absence of arbitrary firing is good too...)

oh..sorry... i ranted..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i worked in the leisureplex for four hours. nowhere else seemed inclined to hire me and i need what little money the plex would give me. i got minimum wage because i was over 16, unlike most of the employees. i read the safety manual, was given a uniform and stood behind the counter at the quazar for about an hour. then another job i'd interviewed for called me and said the job was mine if i wanted it. i said it to the manager and walked out. in those four hours they lost my p45 though :mad:

my mate was working in a call centre with his gf. she kept on coming in late and they were sacking her so he said that if they wanted to sack her they'd have to sack him. they said ok. what an idiot :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

passive wrote:
    Was once fired from my wonderful position as a lounge boy in my local pub (if anyone lives in beaumont they'll know exactly where i worked and if they know anybody who's worked as a lounge boy there they'll know how it probably wasn't my fault ;).) I'd only been there a week or so and oxegen was coming in 2 weeks, i'd had tickets for months. So i asked someone how you apply for time off and was told to put a little note in the roster.. Did so.

Oxegen week comes around and i'm rostered in all weekend. So i asked the manager and explained my situation and he said yeah, fine, i can have the weekend off. I got back and i was still on the roster but with no hours, then suddenly freaked at by the owner for being behind the bar checking the roster (confused the hell out of me... "umm..but i work here!?"). Anyway i was still on the roster for a couple of weeks while asking the nice manager to find out what the story was and if i'd be getting more hours.. But eventually just called and said it was alright and to take me off the roster.. So... kinda fired? But kinda not :)

about 2 days later i got a call from omni cinema (where i'd very much wanted to work, rather than just handing in a CV out of necessity) and have been there quite happily for the last 2 months! hurrah for jobs not in a pub, minimum wage (and a bit) and breaks that meet the legal requirements (and the absence of arbitrary firing is good too...)

oh..sorry... i ranted..
    being a lounge boy has got to be the worst job ever.
    i did it in two pubs and never liked it.
    i remember turning 18 and giving the lounge boys the same amount of grief i had been given over the years.
    i did it once, felt bad and apologised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

just browsing the net and paid a visit to my old companies web site, and they have a list of reasons why customers should move their services to them, one of the reasons is the fact that they are one of the most invested in companies of their sort in Ireland.
    Ha! Don't make me laugh, some good thats done them, if they have so much financial backing why close the sales and marketing dept?
    And who closes a sales and marketing dept unless they are thinking of shutting up shop anyhow, sure how else will they generate new business.

Sour grapes? Me? NEVER! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I was sacked, round this time ten years ago. Hadnt a clue what I was doing, used to come in late, but they paid me peanuts, so what do you expect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭bidireland

Got "Let Go" once, went out on the piss on a Thursday night for some stupid reason. Stayed out all night at parties then went straight back into work with the same clothes on as the day before and still drunk, went for a morning break and fell asleep on the table, not at the table - on the table. Woke up at 3:30 and got let go.

At least I provided valued entertainment to the other 90 people that worked there
    It seemed funny at the time:rolleyes: