Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*** V.N. E50 one rebuy OR top up ***

• 13-02-2006 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭

I have set a date for Febuarys one rebuy OR top up. The venue is not available on either of the remaining saturdays so this one will be on sunday 26th Feb in The Anglers Rest, Chapelizoid, Dublin.

A few points to note..........

* I tried to round up enough relyable dealers but couldn't get enough comitment so this will be self-deal like the last one.

* Januarys tournament finnished at 11:30pm. After chatting with players I think the general feedback is to finnish by 9:30pm. I am proposing 30min blind levels instesd of 40min but am open to feedback on this.

* January's event had 81 runners with 77 using their rebuy or top up option thus a prize fund of E7,900 (+E100 to bring total prize pool to E8,000).

* I estimate 90 players will attend this game and an estimated prize pool of E8,000 again.

Next Date: Sun 26th Feb

This tournament is run monthly and registration is from 12pm - 12:50pm. Game starts 1pm.

30 minute blilnd levels all day as follows:

1pm 25/50
    1:30pm 50/100
    2pm 75/150 (this level was not included in Jan but blinds are now 30 min instead of 40 min)
    2:30pm 100/200
    3pm 150/300
    3:30pm Break incl food. (end of rebuy period, optional top up)
    4pm 200/400
    4:30pm 300/600
    5:00pm 400/800
    5:30p 500/1,000
    6:00pm 700/1500
    6:30pm 1,000/2,000
    7:00pm 2000/4000
    7:30pm Estimated 16 players left and short food break)
    7:45pm 3,000/6,000
    8:15pm 4,000/8,000
    8:45pm 5,000/10,000
    9:15pm 7,000/15,000
    9:45pm 10,000/20,000

Estimated prize pool E8,000 as follows:

Best hand before 5pm....E50
    Best hand between 5pm and finish......E50

9th E250
    8th E250
    7th E250
    6th E250
    5th E400
    4th E700
    3rd E1,000
    2nd E1,800
    1st E3,000

Cost:
    50 euro entry with 10 euro registration.
    One Rebuy or Top up: 50 euro with 5 euro registration.

Game is limited to 100 players (first come first served).
    Tickets for this tournament will be for sale during all pub tournaments and from the bar in the Anglers Rest

% of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund: Reg fees as stated above: (15% of max spend)

No garenteed prize pool............ Estimated E8,000

Starting Chips: Start 4,000.

Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts .Rebuy 5,000. Top up 6,000

Self deal untill last table. Very experienced dealer on final table

there will be a documented list of rules available

Nick O'Hara will be TD

TD will have final say in all matters.

I have altered the structure to try and finnish by 9:30pm. I'd apreciate any feedback in this regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

* Januarys tournament finnished at 11:30pm. After chatting with players I think the general feedback is to finnish by 9:30pm. I am proposing 30min blind levels instesd of 40min but am open to feedback on this.

I have to say I really enjoyed the 40 min blinds, how about 30 minute blinds untill level 6 then after that break have 40 min ? I prefer more play later on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭sleepypriest

Sounds good nick, The Carling Cup Final is on the same day, hope such a major european trophy won't affect the turnout;)

I'll be there I can watch Uniteds 6 goal romp on match of the day!

Sounds good nick, The Carling Cup Final is on the same day, hope such a major european trophy won't affect the turnout;)

I'll be there I can watch Uniteds 6 goal romp on match of the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭VEGAS NIGHTS

ntlbell wrote:
    I have to say I really enjoyed the 40 min blinds, how about 30 minute blinds untill level 6 then after that break have 40 min ? I prefer more play later on.

Interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

ntlbell wrote:

Yeh, would agree with this, makes it better for game play. Dont really want a crapshoot with the last 16 players

Also, I dont think people mind playing to closing time on a Sunday, its just the Saturday night people rather get home to the wife.

But not me and NTL. lol. Just got to make a final table now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I'll be there. 2 out of 2...

Ollieboy wrote:
    Also, I dont think people mind playing to closing time on a Sunday, its just the Saturday night people rather get home to the wife.

But not me and NTL. lol. Just got to make a final table now.

That's because when I fall in the door at 6.30 I make her breakfast in bed, I 'm a smooth fecker really :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

any chance of VN doing some deal with PPP and run $3 tourneys online, first prize is €110 to cover the buy in and rebuy chip for the monthly VN game? this wont appeal to the highrollers among us but might appeal to others, and you could attract more dublin based players for the event.

also, i lik ethe idea of 30min blinds, then 40mins later on... although on recent form i wont have to worry about blind structures beyond level two...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭SandyVN

Il play you 55e heads up.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

now that is a challenge sandy, u sound very confident of winning that heads up game!!

SandyVN wrote:
    Il play you 55e heads up.:D

hmmmm.... im tempted!

Well princess have you made up your mind??:D

ditpoker wrote:
    hmmmm.... im tempted!

I've no idea why, ;)

55e could keep you in beans on toast for a month, we don't want you going hungry :p

i'm scared though.... sandy is better than me officially....
    (thats getting harder to admit!!!)
    if i have a good week online before this i'll def play!!

He's grand he has butter vouchers & food coupons for that carry on.

SandyVN wrote:
    He's grand he has butter vouchers & food coupons for that carry on.

I shouldn't get involved, if i recall corrctly you were cheering on some student to beat me when i was all in!

:eek::eek:

I KNOW! next thursday assuming i've been knocked out of our dit torunament, i'll run a 5euro satalite!! now if only i could learn to deal from the bottom of the deck!!!! :rolleyes:

beans on toast... DONT MOCK IT TIL YOU'VE TRIED IT!! :D

ditpoker wrote:
    I KNOW! next thursday assuming i've been knocked out of our dit torunament, i'll run a 5euro satalite!! now if only i could learn to deal from the bottom of the deck!!!! :rolleyes:

beans on toast... DONT MOCK IT TIL YOU'VE TRIED IT!! :D

maybe we can have a whip round at the next one and get you a block of cheese.

ntlbell wrote:

I shouldn't get involved, if i recall corrctly you were cheering on some student to beat me when i was all in!

:eek::eek:

Lol, Ah once i got knocked out i was against every1.:rolleyes:

SandyVN wrote:
    Lol, Ah once i got knocked out i was against every1.:rolleyes:

serves you right for playing muck like KK

Oh no i really wasnt even that good i was playing muck like AJ vs KK.. lol:rolleyes:

Anyway i deserved it,,, i played like a girl.:D ..

I can always pretend i felt sorry for nick and thought he needed a hand.

SandyVN wrote:
    Oh no i really wasnt even that good i was playing muck like AJ vs KK.. lol:rolleyes:

Anyway i deserved it,,, i played like a girl.:D ..

I can always pretend i felt sorry for nick and thought he needed a hand.

I knew you walked into a monster but I thought it was you with KK, I'd alot to drink!

I heard "IT'S CHICO TIME!" coming from your ipod, that's why you pushed with AJ

You should of been listening to something more dull, like the students talking about "mars bars parties"

:eek: ITS CHICO TIME!!! :eek: No i hope not anyway.:eek:

I was listening to 'the hurricane'. I remember because i got knocked out of a side game later on the same song. Dam the *&%*ing Bob Dylan anyway.

Once again :eek:Its chico time:eek: Anyone listening to that deserves to go out.

Il ask the Dit lads for a mars bars party CD.
    Some pros say read everything you can get your hands on. Others say you'll only learn from experience.
    NTLBELL has just givin me the best advice yet... Who ever thought listening to students could help.

There will be 20e sats on Monday 20th in the Anglers Rest for the 50/50 game on Sun 26th.

10players to a table top 2 get entry fee & a 50e voucher for a re-buy/top up.

Meeting at 7:45 Game starts 8o'c SHARP.

Any questions & Nick will answer as I'm terrible and only remember half of what he told me........ Sorry boss. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

Would love to play in the satellites next monday but will be in the Cuckoos looking for more points for the trip to London.

You must be hard up now Sandy if u r running satellites.

i'll fire off an email to our members to try and get some bodies to the sat's... should be able to get a few students out to that!!

Iceman78 wrote:
    Would love to play in the satellites next monday but will be in the Cuckoos looking for more points for the trip to London.

You must be hard up now Sandy if u r running satellites.

Ah im never hard up...

See students love the idea :)
    Enjoy it anyway. Im going away in 10 hrs and i need to pack. :eek:

Jeff il see you on the final table of the 50/50.

.........Never know, Nick might ask you to deal. :D:D:D

oh har har!! :rolleyes:

lawl LOL loool

pwned

:p

I'm trying to get an idea of numbers for Sunday. Anyone here thinking of going???

I'll be there

Yeh, hope to be there, still not sure do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

ill be there if i find out how to get there from ballinteer, what bus would i have to get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Nick I'm sorry I'm going to the rugby match on Sunday so I won't be able to attend. Gutted. :(

I did my best to spread the good word at the SE tonight and I'll just have to wait for next month I guess.

Good luck to all.
    Olly.

No worries Olly,

See you at the end of March.........

De Deraco wrote:
    ill be there if i find out how to get there from ballinteer, what bus would i have to get?

That'll be a bit awkward, bus to town and then a taxi might your best bet?

I'll be there as will at least 10 from the clonsilla on tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I'll be there Nick, put a ticket to one side for me please.

Nick any chance of getting a tele upstairs so we can watch the united match?

(I'm a cheeky fecker I know)

Ah ill be there.... A 7day hang over so il play crap. Jeff now might be your time to try regain some dignity.

How did you all get on???

Im pretty sure i was the last in & the 1st out. I coudnt stick around to find out what happened.
    Moral of the story dont drink for 8 days and try play poker on the 9th.:(

SandyVN wrote:

Im pretty sure i was the last in & the 1st out. I coudnt stick around to find out what happened.

We were all pretty shocking today :o

Big D and paul got to the FT 6th and 5th i think.

Drinking for 8 days? is working for nick that bad?

ntlbell wrote:
    We were all pretty shocking today :o

Big D and paul got to the FT 6th and 5th i think.

Drinking for 8 days? is working for nick that bad?
    lol no ole slick nick is fine. Once i get out of this country i tend to go mental.:eek:

Next time eay

SandyVN wrote:
    Ah ill be there.... A 7day hang over so il play crap. Jeff now might be your time to try regain some dignity.

missed my opportunity!!

i spent most of friday in tipp losing whatever diginity i had left!

So i see and heard today.. i hope your doing something worthwhile in dit.. lol i would say dont give up the day job but.

SandyVN wrote:

I am afraid not that dubious title went to me. I went out just as Nick announced your arrival.

The only reason I went was because I had my ticket all ready, I was still drunk from the wedding the night before and hobbling after my limbo injury.

I just went straight home back to bed!

Anyone know who won?

The last 4 did a deal, and played for 800 I think.

I was out in 11th, after villan spending 28K of his 32K chasing a middle pin draw.....which he found on the river:mad:

Tyrone fellah, with a little birthmark on his face (Anglers Regular) was one, above villan was another... too drunk to find out how it finished up, and busy losing my last few quid I had playing pool and STT's.

Great day as always, fine spread put on for last 16. gg Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Very disappointed about my exit in 5th, I thought it was very winnable. Two of the final 4 shouldn't have been there at the end of the night. Will put up a report on my blog at some stage.

ionapaul wrote:
    Very disappointed about my exit in 5th, I thought it was very winnable. Two of the final 4 shouldn't have been there at the end of the night. Will put up a report on my blog at some stage.

Yeh, it very winnable yesterday Paul, gutted tbh. Was reasonably sure that myself, yourself and Big Dragon were set for a big pay day yesterday.