Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin vs Tyrone

• 05-02-2006 4:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭

Just watched game on TG4, had to think back to leaving cert days to understand commentry, amazed at how much I picked up.

that aside....Violence on both sides was deplorable. one fight almost got fans involved. Pillar had to come on and do his Garda skills to break it up, not good to see in any game to be honest, not being biased but mostly started by the tyrone lads too.

At least we came away with the win....."ring a ring a rosie................."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭leprehaungirl

i was watching it to !(whilst studyin irish and it still didnt help me learn netin!) not being biased 2 or anything but i think it was mainly tyrones fault too coz they were jus mad that dublin best them and that they had beaten dublin last year and that it was just jealosy why the fight started! :rolleyes: all the same it was interesting match !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

That's a strange comment leprehaun girl, and I wonder whether you actually watched the match. You seem to imply that the scuffles started after the match because Tyrone were jealous, when in fact there had been melees throughout the game, including times when Tyrone were leading. Why would jealously contribute to these rows? After the game there didn't seem to be any fights at all. If you watched the game you would know this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

i was watching it to !(whilst studyin irish and it still didnt help me learn netin!) not being biased 2 or anything but i think it was mainly tyrones fault too coz they were jus mad that dublin best them and that they had beaten dublin last year and that it was just jealosy why the fight started! :rolleyes: all the same it was interesting match !!

Couldn't agree more leprehaungirl, I watched the match and Tyrone went into it with a mental superiority type of thing as if they'd blow Dublin out of it (Sam Maguire can't help you on the field as he has been dead for quite a while) It was a yucky match to watch but Dublin was treated to a typical Tyrone tactics that thankfully backfired! (they were also caught on camera) Tyrone always play man on man with the idea being to pulverise the opponent into submission, Dublin stood up and the referee handled things in a way that left dog eat dog. I hope it is a lesson to Tyrone that first of all that no team should carry on like they did and general aggression is good for no-one. Dublin too should be ashamed for rising to the Tyrone challenge and should have tried to best them with Skill. However as a result of this Match it might hopefully take a lot of the general badness and aggression out of the game especially out of the Tyrone team. No team can be happy with it regardless of whos playing. Yet sometimes flight or fight takes over, and this is what Dublin did and pulverised Tyrone. Kerry got similar Harassment is last years final, we lost big deal (thankfully the gooch didn't lose his eye though) Such matters should be solved with skill rather than temper. Revenge is never an answer only through a fair and clean game.

Anyway enough from me and let's all hope that this carry-on dosen't continue by any side. On the up-side if it does we may just be able to thrash Australia next Autumn as all the players will be honed from all the fighting. School boy stuff today.

I don't believe that Tyrone are as dirty as people make out, and contrary to popular belief Tyrone are successful because they've a good team and good players. I do however hate when the players stay down for ages, I'm like "oh come on hurry up and play." Same with today with all the unnecessary fighting from both sides (takes two to tango and all).
    Hmm it came out a while back that Cormac McAnallen's dad has the same heart problem as Cormac had, I guess he's a druggy as well, eh Netwhizkid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Litcagral

dbnavan wrote:
    Just watched game on TG4, had to think back to leaving cert days to understand commentry, QUOTE]

I'm afraid I take the easy method - watch match on mute TG4 and listen to commentry on Radio 1 :)(although can't do this on digital TV with slight time difference)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Diorraing

While Tyrone are a very physical team, I don't think that caused the fights today. The new Dublin midfielder and that fellow Bonner were asking for it all game, as was Stephen O'Neill.
    On the football tho, Tyrone were miles better first half but seemed to be more affected by the fights than the Dubs. Micky Harte didn't seem too pleased after the match either.
    Fair play to TG4 for showing it. Setanta were busy showing Schools junior rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mfield

Does anyone have a clip of the row? I missed it yesterday and would really like to see it after all I have heard about it! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭leprehaungirl

yes i did watch all the match but what im tryin to say is that i think tyrone were very eager to defend there title and dublin were trying to prove there just as good as tyrone. Both there aims were very strong and i think they were both very determained to win which led to the fighting and argueing .
    i wouldnt so much as call the teams dirty there just very physical i think !!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

First off the fighting was just totally out of hand yesterday but this is why it got out of control. The huge big fight that started on the pitch and ended on the sidelines was because of Tyrones play acting which it is well known at this stage that they do quite often. I forget who it was but one of the Tyrone players hit the ground holding his face when Alan Brogan never went near him. This annoyed the Dublin players because it was clear to see Tyrone were play acting and trying to get the Dublin lads sent off. A scuffle broke out and Brogan was sent off because of his challenge depsite the fact he never touched the Tyrone player. The Tyrone physio then said something to Brogan which he didnt like and the fight continued from that.

Tyrone were at this play acting for the whole match feigning injury. You expect to see it on a soccer pitch but not a GAA pitch. Owen Mulligan is the worst of the lot for doing, I remember him acting at least twice yesterday. Teh Dublin players were getting more and more annoyed and the bad feelings just bolied over. Im not saying that Dublin are blameless, obviously they are not and many of their players will face lengthy suspensions, but Tyrone were the instigators from the start.

Poor game of football that neither team will take much out of although im delighted that Dublin got the win. I was pleased with Mossy Quinns performance, I think he scored 1-7 in all. Bad day for the GAA and both counties will be in trouble and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭*marie*

Kingp35 wrote:
    First off the fighting was just totally out of hand yesterday but this is why it got out of control. The huge big fight that started on the pitch and ended on the sidelines was because of Tyrones play acting which it is well known at this stage that they do quite often. I forget who it was but one of the Tyrone players hit the ground holding his face when Alan Brogan never went near him. This annoyed the Dublin players because it was clear to see Tyrone were play acting and trying to get the Dublin lads sent off. A scuffle broke out and Brogan was sent off because of his challenge depsite the fact he never touched the Tyrone player. The Tyrone physio then said something to Brogan which he didnt like and the fight continued from that.

Tyrone were at this play acting for the whole match feigning injury. You expect to see it on a soccer pitch but not a GAA pitch. Owen Mulligan is the worst of the lot for doing, I remember him acting at least twice yesterday. Teh Dublin players were getting more and more annoyed and the bad feelings just bolied over. Im not saying that Dublin are blameless, obviously they are not and many of their players will face lengthy suspensions, but Tyrone were the instigators from the start.

Poor game of football that neither team will take much out of although im delighted that Dublin got the win. I was pleased with Mossy Quinns performance, I think he scored 1-7 in all. Bad day for the GAA and both counties will be in trouble and rightly so.

Couldn't agree more, rather than concentrating on practicing points this winter it seems Tyrone have once again remastered tha art of the dive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

mfield wrote:
    Does anyone have a clip of the row? I missed it yesterday and would really like to see it after all I have heard about it! ;)

http://dynamic.rte.ie/quickaxs/1news.smil From 16min 30 Sec onwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

It was inexcusable. It is plainly obvious that since finishing his last job, Seán Boylan has secretly being coaching both Tyrone and Dublin. Still, they have a long way to go to get anywhere near Meath's level of this kind of thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Kingp35 wrote:

Tyrone were at this play acting for the whole match feigning injury. You expect to see it on a soccer pitch but not a GAA pitch. Owen Mulligan is the worst of the lot for doing, I remember him acting at least twice yesterday. Teh Dublin players were getting more and more annoyed and the bad feelings just bolied over. Im not saying that Dublin are blameless, obviously they are not and many of their players will face lengthy suspensions, but Tyrone were the instigators from the start

Yea all Tyrones fault of course.:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: From what I saw on TV Dublin were the team to start the nastiness. Both teams should be kicked out of the championship for the rest of the year. If not then ALL players involved should get a 12 month ban.
    A stupid ban or 2 wont work.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

jank wrote:
    Yea all Tyrones fault of course.:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Maybe you missed the part where I said Dublin are not blameless. I suggest you re-read my post
    From what I saw on TV Dublin were the team to start the nastiness.

Where and when exactly? Tyrones constant diving was the main reason.
    Both teams should be kicked out of the championship for the rest of the year. If not then ALL players involved should get a 12 month ban.
    A stupid ban or 2 wont work.

Dont be ridiculous. Is this the first GAA match that has had a few fights in it? The players involved should get suspensions and they will. Thats perfectly enough punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Well personally I think the melee was the best thing to happen in years for Dublin football. At last the players showed a bit of grit and solidarity for the first time in years against a Northern team who thought they could push it on their own turf.

The lads held their own and really put it to Tyrone who almost bottled it on their own patch.

Hopefully we can see more of this aggression in a bit more controlled manner. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Litcagral

jank wrote:
    . Both teams should be kicked out of the championship for the rest of the year..

League?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Flukey wrote:
    It was inexcusable. It is plainly obvious that since finishing his last job, Seán Boylan has secretly being coaching both Tyrone and Dublin. Still, they have a long way to go to get anywhere near Meath's level of this kind of thing.

Boylan knew how to play the game proper, just that the teams he had were considerbly stronger than their neighbours (espeically in the Dublin games this was obvious). I don't think Boylan would teach any of the Meath MEN to pull the hair of an opponent, would you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭vannistelrooy10

**** tyrone they are a really dirty team, what the hell is mickey harte playing the victim role in this. anytime they play armagh look what happens.
    anytime they play anybody else 5 players go and assault the oppositions player with the ball. ****ing scum bags
    come on the dubs at least we stuck it to them and beat em on and off the field

Well going by some of the reactions on this board this type of behaviour is a welcome addtition to the Dublin style of play...

Says alot about the mentallity of their fans.

I know it was a league match but who gives a **** about the league??

jank wrote:
    Well going by some of the reactions on this board this type of behaviour is a welcome addtition to the Dublin style of play...

Thats not true. The point some people are making is that the team showed solidarity in that hey stuck together against a Tyrone team known for being aggresive. Many sides let them get away with it but Dublin didnt. No one is saying they are proud of the team for being involved in fights.
    I know it was a league match but who gives a **** about the league??

Its a competition to get your team ready for the Championship and to bring through players from the Under-21 and Minor sides. Its always nice to see your county do well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

No one gives a f**k about the league but I think everyone is sick of the northern bully boy antics of the last few years. It was great to see someone put it up to them in their backyard and emerge victorious.

:D Love it. :D

Boylan knew how to play the game proper, just that the teams he had were considerbly stronger than their neighbours (espeically in the Dublin games this was obvious). I don't think Boylan would teach any of the Meath MEN to pull the hair of an opponent, would you?

Yes, you're right. He'd wouldn't have them pulling their hair. He'd have them punching their face off them. That's what they did for years, with just about everyone they played against, always innocently protesting that it was the other team. It was strange that when any of those "other teams" played anyone else, they were great games. You may remember the 87, 88 and 90 finals between Meath and Cork. They were tough matches, and Meath always claimed it was Cork. Strange then that the 1989 final with Cork and Mayo (another county later to be vilified by Meath) was one of the best pure football finals on the 80s. Other games that Cork were involved in around then were great too. They were one or two tough guys on the Cork team, like Niall Cahalane, but that was it.

When it comes to Meath and tough play, I can think of loads of incidents. Remember Ollie Murphy injured himself and had to go off in the 1999 semi-final against Armagh? He should never have got that injury that day. He should have been already been sent off the pitch for the punch he threw at the corner back earlier in the game, in full view of the crowd on Hill 16, where I was, and the people at that end of the Cusack Stand, who all saw it clearly.

Mike Tyson, even after biting Evander Holyfield's ear off, would have been considered far too gentlemanly to ever have got on a Meath team, had he a Meath connection. Two 35 minute periods did not suit Meath's style of football. 15 periods of 3 minutes would have!

Meath had some nice footballers with great skill and ability to play the game as it should be. But some of them would make the players in Sunday's match and even thugs in a typical back street late night brawl, look like angels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭madmorphy

bohsboy wrote:
    No one gives a f**k about the league but I think everyone is sick of the northern bully boy antics of the last few years. It was great to see someone put it up to them in their backyard and emerge victorious.

:D Love it. :D

To be fair,with Armagh their tough but fair,what you see is what you get.You might not like it,but they don't cheat.
    Tyrone on the other hand will hit you on the sly and then dive on the ground like they got a smack of a hammer if you come near them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I think both teams have to accept equal responsibility for what happened on Sunday, and I think there will be some lengthy bans handed out to both teams. Regarding the fighting I think there were two teams in it, but I do have an issue with Tyrone players diving to the ground, trying to get other tedams players booked or sent off. This is not a new criticism of them, it is an old one that resurfaces pretty much every time they play, and I think the powers that be should examine this behaviour and do something about it now before it becomes commonplace. The first fight was a joint effort, with both teams responsible but the mill when Brogan was sent off was because one of the Tyrone players went down like he had been shot, Whelo tried to pick him up, and then several Tyrone playersrushed in to help their "wounded" comrade. I respect Tyrone for the football they can play, but am beginning to strongly dislike them for twisting the rules, with incidents like that, and the Ryan Mc Menamin incident last year. They are very cynical, and they are such a good team that it is not neccessary. Also the Tyrone physio should be banned for the season if he is found guilty of stirring, which it looked like he was guilty of to me in the Brogan incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Mike Tyson, even after biting Evander Holyfield's ear off, would have been considered far too gentlemanly to ever have got on a Meath team, had he a Meath connection. Two 35 minute periods did not suit Meath's style of football. 15 periods of 3 minutes would have!

It's obvious that you're just out to have a go at Meath at this stage and it's looking pretty pathetic I must add. You seem to be suffering from selective memory as you're forgetting the a recent Meath - Dublin encounter where Ciaran Whelan punched Crawford (I think) right in front of the ref, and for no apparent reason whatsoever. But of course the ref didn't do much about it now, did he?

And I'd rather see someone throw a punch than pulling someone's hair, naturally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

I was talking to a few of the Dublin subs yesterday at training and they were telling me that throughout the match they were very imtimidated by the Tyrone fans. They were being constantly abused and weren't receiving any protection whatsoever. The question has to be asked, with the new way of the subs being seated in the stands alongsie the fans, is this really the best and safest option?

Also on the fighting i think both sides were to blame. The tyrone lads certainly dont help with their play acting which, imo, is probably the most annoying thing that someone can do to an opposing team. You could sense that it was going to be a very tough and tense game right from the off when the first melee occurred. The referee really didnt stamp his authority on the game when this happened but i dont think he was really at fault for what went on. I expect strong suspensions to come from the GAA on this one so as to set out a marker for the rest of the season.

But as a Dublin fan, i have to say i was pleased we finally stood up to one of the big teams. Im not saying that i encourage the fighting, but in the past, this Dublin side would have wilted under the physical pressure from Tyrone. It was good to see the lads standing up for themselves and i also liked the way that once one Dublin lad was involved, the whole tram was there to back them up.

It was a very good Dublin win with a severly weakened side. Tyrone had most of their strongest side playing and not many teams go to Hwealy Park and beat them. I hope now we can push on from this and hopefully get a good run in the league as we havent had a good league run in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Good to see Tyrone get a dose of their own medicine,im not condoning what happened with the fights but it goes to show that play acting and thuggery dont always pay off.

I'm sick of seeing Tyrone dive to the ground,looking for frees and wasting time.I hope they lose in their campaign for Sam because at the replay in summer,they further instigated the fighting at croker and even had a go at match officials pushing them.

But aside from the violence,Dublin held their own in the match and emerged victorious...by 3 points.It was nice to see the "big 3" losing at the weekend.Mayo,Kildare and Dublin should be proud as they were also away victories.The big 3 didnt look so big did they,especially Tyrone.

However,although the blame should be shared between the two,it was mainly Tyrone who started it,they will both be punished but I believ the real issue is the safety of the players,as stated by Caffrey.Mickey Harte can come on tv and blame Dublin all he wants but the fact remains that Tyrone were mostly to blame,lost and Harte still has that ugly joining eyebrow.ewwh...why doesn't he pluck them ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

Waylander wrote:
    I think both teams have to accept equal responsibility for what happened on Sunday, and I think there will be some lengthy bans handed out to both teams. Regarding the fighting I think there were two teams in it, but I do have an issue with Tyrone players diving to the ground, trying to get other tedams players booked or sent off. This is not a new criticism of them, it is an old one that resurfaces pretty much every time they play, and I think the powers that be should examine this behaviour and do something about it now before it becomes commonplace. The first fight was a joint effort, with both teams responsible but the mill when Brogan was sent off was because one of the Tyrone players went down like he had been shot, Whelo tried to pick him up, and then several Tyrone playersrushed in to help their "wounded" comrade. I respect Tyrone for the football they can play, but am beginning to strongly dislike them for twisting the rules, with incidents like that, and the Ryan Mc Menamin incident last year. They are very cynical, and they are such a good team that it is not neccessary. Also the Tyrone physio should be banned for the season if he is found guilty of stirring, which it looked like he was guilty of to me in the Brogan incident.

Agree totally with this. I didn't see the game but, from what I saw, there were two teams in it, one just as much as the other. It was a disgrace though. To think alot of the GAA fraternity were complaining about the Aussies battering our poor amateurs.

Good to see Tyrone get a dose of their own medicine,im not condoning what happened with the fights but it goes to show that play acting and thuggery dont always pay off.

I'm sick of seeing Tyrone dive to the ground,looking for frees and wasting time.I hope they lose in their campaign for Sam because at the replay in summer,they further instigated the fighting at croker and even had a go at match officials pushing them.

But aside from the violence,Dublin held their own in the match and emerged victorious...by 3 points.It was nice to see the "big 3" losing at the weekend.Mayo,Kildare and Dublin should be proud as they were also away victories.The big 3 didnt look so big did they,especially Tyrone.

However,although the blame should be shared between the two,it was mainly Tyrone who started it,they will both be punished but I believ the real issue is the safety of the players,as stated by Caffrey.Mickey Harte can come on tv and blame Dublin all he wants but the fact remains that Tyrone were mostly to blame,lost and Harte still has that ugly joining eyebrow.ewwh...why doesn't he pluck them ffs.

Tyrone are well known for play acting now, and they should be reprimanded for it but Dublin were just as much to blame for the rows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

The match should of been abandoned and neither team should get the points. As it stands, I think both teams should be docked points if anything. That was more like wrestling than football.

Another point to the debate, In the 2003 All-Ireland Semi-Final between Kerry & Tyrone, Owen Mulligan bit a chunk of flesh out of Mickey McCarthy's Arm when himself and Mickey were both on the floor attempting to get the ball. Remember half-way through Paudí O Se got thrown a punch by a Kerry Supporter, That supporter apparently was an uncle of Mickey McCarthy and was venting his rage over the mulligan incident. Tyrone never play clean never I was delighted to see Dublin winning last weekend, and I'd love nothing more than to see a Kerry V Dublin All-Ireland Final, It would be just pure vintage stuff, I wouldn't care who'd win, It would be so good for Gaelic football everywhere and the attention and hype it would draw would certainly attract international attention. It would certainly be lovely to watch out great teams in battle with just our equal Skill in use. (Dublin are highly skilled and have certainly recovered a lot from the days of Tommy Carr) The time he tried to put Maurice Fitzgerald off his free in the all-Ireland quarter final of 2001 was absolutely disgraceful. The match was then drawn and the day after Johnny Crowley had hit the net twice in the first ten minutes.

Let's hope Tyrone make an early exit in this years championship to allow for a vintage year from the likes of Kerry, Dublin, Mayo and Cork. Counties which play purist football. not the puke from the north as we all saw last weekend, Spillane has been saying it for years, but was he listened to?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

lads i can't believ what i'm reading at all, it wa totally wrong no matter who started it, if you pulled your two kids apart from fighting and one said the other started it would that make it ok as long as the one that started it was punished, no way, it was a high tension game, but as usual some of the playres from both side showed an inhereent incompetemce to control their anger, in the middle of the melee i saw one player trying to act as a peacemaker get flattened by a braindead jackass probably thinking he was a right lad.
    some points have to be addressed though, what is wrong with that small pocket of fans at the dug out.remember Joe Kernan saying his team were abused by the tyrone fans next to the dug out, i wouldn't be surprised if it's the same little pocket, cause lads i've met tons of tyrone supporters over the years and they weren't like that. anyway punish the lads that were fighting for the league and lets get on with it. i'd say some of the new faces migt find themselves dumped for being more trouble than they're worth.

did anyone hear the daft auld one on dessie cahill, she said bothe teams should be punished by taking the points off dublin
    Dessie: but what about tyrone
    auld one: make them replay the match
    Dessie: But they lost
    Auld one: Yeah
    Dessie: if they replay they could win and that would be an advantage and not much punishment.
    Auld on: yeah but they both have to pay

netwhizkid wrote:
    Another point to the debate, In the 2003 All-Ireland Semi-Final between Kerry & Tyrone, Owen Mulligan bit a chunk of flesh out of Mickey McCarthy's Arm when himself and Mickey were both on the floor attempting to get the ball. Remember half-way through Paudí O Se got thrown a punch by a Kerry Supporter, That supporter apparently was an uncle of Mickey McCarthy and was venting his rage over the mulligan incident. Tyrone never play clean never I was delighted to see Dublin winning last weekend, and I'd love nothing more than to see a Kerry V Dublin All-Ireland Final, It would be just pure vintage stuff, I wouldn't care who'd win, It would be so good for Gaelic football everywhere and the attention and hype it would draw would certainly attract international attention. It would certainly be lovely to watch out great teams in battle with just our equal Skill in use. (Dublin are highly skilled and have certainly recovered a lot from the days of Tommy Carr) The time he tried to put Maurice Fitzgerald off his free in the all-Ireland quarter final of 2001 was absolutely disgraceful. The match was then drawn and the day after Johnny Crowley had hit the net twice in the first ten minutes.

Let's hope Tyrone make an early exit in this years championship to allow for a vintage year from the likes of Kerry, Dublin, Mayo and Cork. Counties which play purist football. not the puke from the north as we all saw last weekend, Spillane has been saying it for years, but was he listened to?? :confused:

Could you leave your sour grapes about the All-Ireland final, and matches from 3 years ago, at the door please?

netwhizkid wrote:

Instead of looking for excuses for Kerry's defeat last year, why dont you admit that you were beat by a team who played the better football on the day. All of Tyrone's forwards scored, and Kerry were really bloody reliant on Cooper (it's true, I'm not making it up). Our point scoring was "vintage" stuff! :rolleyes:

The trio of games Tyrone vs Dublin(1st quarter final), Tyrone vs Armagh (semi-final), and Tyrone vs Kerry were three of the best games I've seen. We wouldn't have had any of those games if Tyrone had've been put out early. Maybe we would've have a similar final to 2004. Equally skilled, my arse. And oh wait, Tyrone were playing, therefore the games were automatically crap. Yeah there would be great interest in a Dub vs Kerry final, sure only a million watched the final this year. What the hell do you mean by international attention, it's not exactly the world cup in terms of world-wide popularity.

In 2003, Kerry were really, really, poor. Though it would be hard to win in a game that had the greatest team performance ever (Mickey Ned O Sullivan). Maybe Mick Dywer had a point when he said a lot of the Kerry lads didn't look fit? See, Spillane isn't the only one with an opinion. God I hate this notion that Tyrone can't play football. Any team with players like Cavanagh, Cavlan, Mulligan, McGuigan, O'Neill can play football.

And don't be getting delusions that suddenly Tyrone are crap, after our defeat to Wexford last year there were a lot of questions raised, and we went on to win sam after scoring an average of a point a game *rolls eyes.* Maybe if we win this year you'll start ranting about Cormac McAnallen again, you twat.

Instead of looking for excuses for Kerry's defeat last year, why dont you admit that you were beat by a team who played the better football on the day. All of Tyrone's forwards scored, and Kerry were really bloody reliant on Cooper (it's true, I'm not making it up). Our point scoring was "vintage" stuff! :rolleyes:

The trio of games Tyrone vs Dublin(1st quarter final), Tyrone vs Armagh (semi-final), and Tyrone vs Kerry were three of the best games I've seen. We wouldn't have had any of those games if Tyrone had've been put out early. Maybe we would've have a similar final to 2004. Equally skilled, my arse. And oh wait, Tyrone were playing, therefore the games were automatically crap. Yeah there would be great interest in a Dub vs Kerry final, sure only a million watched the final this year. What the hell do you mean by international attention, it's not exactly the world cup in terms of world-wide popularity.

In 2003, Kerry were really, really, poor. Though it would be hard to win in a game that had the greatest team performance ever (Mickey Ned O Sullivan). Maybe Mick Dywer had a point when he said a lot of the Kerry lads didn't look fit? See, Spillane isn't the only one with an opinion. God I hate this notion that Tyrone can't play football. Any team with players like Cavanagh, Cavlan, Mulligan, McGuigan, O'Neill can play football.

And don't be getting delusions that suddenly Tyrone are crap, after our defeat to Wexford last year there were a lot of questions raised, and we went on to win sam after scoring an average of a point a game *rolls eyes.* Maybe if we win this year you'll start ranting about Cormac McAnallen again, you twat.

Your are in contravention of the Charter rules
    Alany wrote:
    The GAA charter

NO Politics.
    NO Sexism the board is for ladies football and Camogie too
    NO Discussing totally unrelated sports (Finnish motor cross etc)
    NO Advertising products or services - this does not include club festivals or events that the board may be interested to know about
    NO Spamming

Outbursts of personal abuse/racism etc, be it directed at other board members or at Sports people will not be tolerated (unless its against Meath Footballers, in that case fire away!) We reserve the right to edit/move/delete such posts as we see fit.

Do Post Club/county notes, gossip, information we may be interested to hear.

Usual common sense things folks, if you are unsure about something or have a complaint or question PM me or another experienced mod (like Amz or kaimera)

Thanks.

Dear Mods please see that news for you no longer personally abuses me. I guess sometimes when you can't argue with logic and accept the facts then the only other option left as in news for you's case is just to attack the poster.

Pathetic and childish really. :rolleyes:

netwhizkid wrote:
    Your are in contravention of the Charter rules

Dear Mods please see that news for you no longer personally abuses me. I guess sometimes when you can't argue with logic and accept the facts then the only other option left as in news for you's case is just to attack the poster.

Pathetic and childish really. :rolleyes:

For **** sake netwhizkid grow up or get the **** off Boards.

Im sick and tired of hearing you whing an moan about every little issue.
    Kerry lost and were beaten by the better team those days. Get the **** over it....

I dont think anbody likes you here on boards.ie and with "vintage" posts like that, nobody ever will.

As I said **** off, keep to the topic or grow up

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Lemlin wrote:
    Could you leave your sour grapes about the All-Ireland final, and matches from 3 years ago, at the door please?
    I couldn't agree more...

And I'd rather see someone throw a punch than pulling someone's hair, naturally.

Well that just proves my point. I'd rather not see any dirty play. Dublin have had some dirty players down the years, as have many counties, but no one comes close to Meath. 31 counties can see that but any Meath fan would say their lad was innocent and that the other fella headbutted the Meath lad in the fist, or the other fella hit the Meath lad in the knee with his groin, or the other fella hit the Meath lad in the elbow with his jaw etc. It was always the other fella or the other team that was to blame. Of course it is just pure coincidence that nearly anytime Meath seemed to play a match there were always other fellas to blame for something.

No county is completely whiter than white, but Meath seemed to be nearly always involved in something or other, but always blamed everyone else. I've seen some rough stuff in matches that Meath were not involved in of course. I remember a Louth v Laois game some years ago now, where a row started and you basically had a rolling maul coming up the pitch. But I've seen more incidents involving Meath teams than any other county.

As I said about the 1989 Cork v Mayo final, it was one of the best games of clean sporting football of the 80s, though Meath would have you believe that both of those counties were filthy. As I also said, Meath had some fine footballers and could play great stuff. Players like Beggy and Flynn, were great to watch. If they all stuck to that they would have had even more success than they did, and finished far more matches with 15 men. They were renowned for the great come backs and fighting spirit. It is just unfortunate that their other "fighting" spirit came to the fore far too often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭roykeane16

why all the big hubaloo its only because dublin were involved that theholy joes are getting up in arms over it had it been kerry or meath not a word would have been said about same old story 31 counties versus the dubs who cares we will win sam this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I agree with you that Tyrone are a very good footballing team, and those three performances last year were worthy of All Ireland Champions. However, I absoloutely hate the fact that a team that has that many top grade footballers feels the need to dive frequently in order to help them win games. I think Tyrone have gone from being popular champions, as everyone likes to see the traditionally less successful counties do well, to not being very popular due to introducing this kind of thing into a sport that has always been proud of its physical nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

roykeane16 wrote:
    why all the big hubaloo its only because dublin were involved that theholy joes are getting up in arms over it had it been kerry or meath not a word would have been said about same old story 31 counties versus the dubs who cares we will win sam this year
    Actually I think it's because this was a game between 2 of the supposedly best teams in the country at the highest level, that was nearly abandoned because of the amount of fighting in it.

Has a national league (or championship) game ever been abandoned because of something like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Well it wasnt abandoned thankfully. I dont think there has been a senior intercounty game abandoned for fighting - not in the last 50 years anyway.

While the scenes were hugely embarrassing to the GAA and inexcusable on the part of both teams, most of the scuffles were pushing and handbags. On my viewing of it on TV, I saw very few red card offences. I'm not sure if Collie Homles' indiscretion was caught on camera, I didnt see it anyway. Brogan's foul on Gourley was only worthy of yellow IMO. Meenan threw a punch at Brogan and O'Neill and Cahill were boxing each other, but the ref gave a yellow in each case, so I dont think that can be increased to a red card given the McMenamin case last year.

The really big incident kicked off after the Brogan foul on Gourley. Whelan tried to pick Gourley up because he believe he was making a meal of the incident (not red card offence), and then Tyrone lads rushed in followed by Dublin lads and lots of pushing and handbags. It calmed down, Brogan was shown red and as he was walking off, himself and a Tyrone official had a shouting match (not red card offence). For some reason McGee took exception to this, he ran over and pushed Brogan on the back (not red card offence). Eveyone else rushed in, led by Bonner who jumped at McGee's back - a big shove, although I dont think it was enough to knock McGee down - perhaps a red card offence, but if nobody else had entered the fray after that, I think a yellow would have been given. But of course most of the players did join in. There were no knockout punches thrown - the ref did pick out Collie Holmes for a red card. I didnt notice any individual committing a straight red offence in the melees, but its hard to see when there's so much going on.

It will be interesting to see what tonight's committee are able to pick out from the video footage. They will certainly be under pressure to issue some bans.

Flukey wrote:
    Well that just proves my point. I'd rather not see any dirty play. Dublin have had some dirty players down the years, as have many counties, but no one comes close to Meath. 31 counties can see that but any Meath fan would say their lad was innocent and that the other fella headbutted the Meath lad in the fist, or the other fella hit the Meath lad in the knee with his groin, or the other fella hit the Meath lad in the elbow with his jaw etc. It was always the other fella or the other team that was to blame. Of course it is just pure coincidence that nearly anytime Meath seemed to play a match there were always other fellas to blame for something.

No county is completely whiter than white, but Meath seemed to be nearly always involved in something or other, but always blamed everyone else. I've seen some rough stuff in matches that Meath were not involved in of course. I remember a Louth v Laois game some years ago now, where a row started and you basically had a rolling maul coming up the pitch. But I've seen more incidents involving Meath teams than any other county.

As I said about the 1989 Cork v Mayo final, it was one of the best games of clean sporting football of the 80s, though Meath would have you believe that both of those counties were filthy. As I also said, Meath had some fine footballers and could play great stuff. Players like Beggy and Flynn, were great to watch. If they all stuck to that they would have had even more success than they did, and finished far more matches with 15 men. They were renowned for the great come backs and fighting spirit. It is just unfortunate that their other "fighting" spirit came to the fore far too often.

Sour grapes again? What do Meath have to do with what went on at the weekend between Dublin and Tyrone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

bohsboy wrote:
    No one gives a f**k about the league

People say nobody gives a f**k about the league until the championship comes along and then the arguement arises that loyal fans who attended matchs in the pi**ing feburary rain cant get tickets because people who "jump on the bandwagon" get all the tickets who dont even know where we finished in the league table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭roykeane16

tryrone started it anyway :mad: :mad:

dbnavan wrote:
    People say nobody gives a f**k about the league until the championship comes along and then the arguement arises that loyal fans who attended matchs in the pi**ing feburary rain cant get tickets because people who "jump on the bandwagon" get all the tickets who dont even know where we finished in the league table.

I give a f**k about the league because I like to see my County do well. As I have said its a breeding ground for the younger players to come up through the ranks so obviously if your team is doing well then the players coming through are doing well. This can only be good for the Championship run in. Sure if no one gives f**k about the league why was there so many people at the Dublin Tyrone game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Personally I love the league! 3 or 4 games in Parnell Park are the highlight of my winter/spring!! And about 90% of the Dublin games I've been to over the last few years have been filled with great football and excitement, and we've won a couple more than we've lost.

I think generally in recent years, those who have done well in the league have done well in the championship - though there are exceptions. I dont think it really matters too much to the top 3 this year (they'll be hard to beat come championship no matter how they fare in the NFL), but if the likes of Dublin, Mayo, Cork or anyone else wants to try and break the current cartel at the top, then I believe a good league run would be quite important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

anyone know where you can see footage of the match?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

if anybody has footage links PM shuushh please.

thread has run a bit too long.

Locked.

*note: personal attacks noted. strike1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

re_opened.

http://www.gaa.ie/plugins/newsfeed.cgi?rm=content&plugin_data_id=10810

http://breakingnews.ie/story.asp?j=152443739&p=y5z44436z&n=152444427&x=

9 players total charged by the GAA's Disciplinary Committee with 'discrediting the association'.

Haven't seen the incidents myself.

Locked previously as I didn't want the thread to go off topic with talk of other teams [Meath in this instance] and other incidents.

Keep this on Dub V Tyrone and opinions RE this game.

I think they'll throw the book at them. And rightly so, what went on was a disgrace and shouldn't happen again. Paddy Russell was very close to abandoning the game. Just look at this report:

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=56725

A letter signed by referee Paddy Russell to GAA chiefs in Croke Park has outlined how close he came to abandoning the recent NFL match in Omagh between Dublin and Tyrone.

In his letter, he describes the NFL clash between the two teams in Omagh as "the most disappointing and upsetting of my years of refereeing.

The referee goes onto say how, after a mass brawl broke out " I seriously considered calling off the match but as tempers were at a very high level, I decided it may actually be better to try to continue and restore order rather than leaving both teams together in the field."