Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting past doormen/bouncers

• 05-02-2006 12:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭

Basically, my night was just ruined.

My mates 18th, and we all decide to go for a few drinks.
    Now out of the 19 of us, about 7 are under age.

But, we go to chance the arm and try to get in. Everyone bar two of us got in :mad:. But wat p1sses me off the most is that of all the 18 year olds, only one got checked for id and the rest walked on by.

Then myself, around the centre of the line, get checked. And I look older than a few of the 18 y.o's, but still they stop me!!

Does anyone have any pointers that might help next time?
    Such as; a)make eye contact with bouncers b) don't make eye contact etc.

T'would be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I get stopped less when I wear glasses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

fake moustache and a pair of cowboy boots

presuming its a gay bar your getting into...if not then just the fake moustache

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Ok, will try that next time (glasses, not moustache etc)

What I did tonight was leave a tiny bit of stubble. Not enough to be scruffy looking, just to look a bit older.
    Aswell as that, we got a few of the younger lookin lads to link arms with the girls going in, it worked for everyone but myself and one other.

Anyone else have tips ... ?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Yeah, be 18 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

When I was seventeen,
    I drank some very good beer,
    I drank some very good beer I purchased with a fake ID,
    My name was Brian McGee,
    I stayed up listening to Queen,
    When I was seventeen.

Giblet wrote:
    Yeah, be 18 ;)

Only five posts in and someone has to come in with the smart comments :(

I don't plan on waiting that long to go out drinking tbh

(don't mind above, i'm just in bad mood after tonight)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

It was actually a reasonable answer.
    You're underage, tough luck, the law is against you on this one. Bouncers are there to enforce that law.

When I was underage though not only did I have an excellent fake i.d but I also just approached bouncers with confidence, made eye contact and often had a bit of a chat with them sometimes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Personally, I wait until I'm 18...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭pepper

ThatGuy wrote:

But, we go to chance the arm and try to get in. Everyone bar two of us got in :mad:. But wat p1sses me off the most is that of all the 18 year olds, only one got checked for id and the rest walked on by.

Then myself, around the centre of the line, get checked. And I look older than a few of the 18 y.o's, but still they stop me!!

T'would be appreciated.

im 20 but wat i used to do is wen i was passn the bouncers or in earshot i say to a friend" did i tell u i bumped in to my ex in here last weekend-he threw me some look i thought he was gonna come over to me"- when they hear that they just assume ur always there- also i say to the bouncers" well lads how ya" and they say"grand " and let me in..........never failed!!!

pepper wrote:
    im 20 but wat i used to do is wen i was passn the bouncers or in earshot i say to a friend" did i tell u i bumped in to my ex in here last weekend-he threw me some look i thought he was gonna come over to me"- when they hear that they just assume ur always there- also i say to the bouncers" well lads how ya" and they say"grand " and let me in..........never failed!!!

Ah but you're a girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

pepper, doesn't help that you're female, no? :p Damn bouncers and their favouritism of females :p

rb_ie wrote:
    I also just approached bouncers with confidence, made eye contact and often had a bit of a chat with them sometimes.

Ok, I see where you're coming from. The thing is, I wasn't sure how to handle the situation. I did make eye contact, but at the same time I didn't stare at him until it was my turn.

I wasn't looking around the place or nervous, just kept the head down, but it didn't work. So where did I go wrong I'm thinking.

Will try again next week anyway ... might be luckier :)

Fcek it, I'm off to bed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Why didn't you get one of your mates to give the doorman a blowjob?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

This will get you in 95% of the time. Approach the doorman on your own, make eye contact, be polite, and say the following."Hi, do you know if John is working tonight?"

Obviously if you're drunk, look too young, or the "wrong type" of customer there's no way of getting in. No matter what you say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭pepper

pepper, doesn't help that you're female, no? :p Damn bouncers and their favouritism of females :p[/Q

thats nutn 2 do with it - bouncers have stopped a lota my female friends- of course having a low cut top helps:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭slightlycrazy

Try doing what i do, if u have an id that is. Look down at your phone and look like your deeply in the middle of texting someone when your approaching. Then hand them your ID barely look up as if you are really confident you'll get in taht you don't even need to give the bouncer your time. Works about 60% of the time for me. Well last semester anyways haven't tried it since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭munky

ThatGuy wrote:

T'would be appreciated.
    Similar thing happened to me on my 18th, except it was me that was stoped and all my friends walked on in.....bastards

Try doing what i do, if u have an id that is. Look down at your phone and look like your deeply in the middle of texting someone when your approaching. Then hand them your ID barely look up as if you are really confident you'll get in taht you don't even need to give the bouncer your time. Works about 60% of the time for me. Well last semester anyways haven't tried it since

I'd say 90% of bouncers know exactly what you're at when you're doing that. I'm surprised it works for you even 60% of the time tbh.

and you may want to do something about that signature btw.
    munky wrote:
    Similar thing happened to me on my 18th, except it was me that was stoped and all my friends walked on in.....bastards
    Unlucky, on my 18th the bouncers wished me a happy birthday and asked did I want to go into the VIP room/area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

I love approaching bouncers :D, i nearly always get stopped, i dont look anything like a 19yr old and then i whip out the id :D..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭slightlycrazy

rb_ie wrote:
    I'd say 90% of bouncers know exactly what you're at when you're doing that. I'm surprised it works for you even 60% of the time tbh.

and you may want to do something about that signature btw.

Unlucky, on my 18th the bouncers wished me a happy birthday and asked did I want to go into the VIP room/area.
    It does work. Bouncers ain't that bright if you ask me. One of them didn't know Ireland was i the EU for gods sake. And i fixed my sig. Thanks kept forgeting to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭coolhandluke

Well either join the guards,fire brigade or the army and your on the pigs back.But as our southsider friends choose other careers well too bad then !;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Try get a Trinity ID. It doens't have the date of birth on it, so you can fake it, and they'll presume you're not going to cause trouble. If you're asked for your date of birth do not look them in the eye, roll your eyes to the side as is this the the stupidest thing ever and quickly remember your date of birth and subtract a year. I know I can't reply a fake date of birth quickly, so I did that a couple of times. Don't be too quiet approaching the door, they can smell fear. Wear dark clothes. Look at them in the eye, if you have the cajones. Otherwise, talk to your mate. Don't look disappointed when he says no, just look "oh typical", and say to your friend "Will we go <rival pub>?"

Failing that, start on them. They're scared sh*tless of a fight in all honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

ThatGuy wrote:

T'would be appreciated.

Are you 18? Carry ID, problem solved. Oh right, read the other posts. The legal age for you to drink is 18.... for a reason. (To annoy under 18 year olds)

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

What is these days with kids trying to get in pubs to drink ?? When I go out I don't want to be trying to score a 16 year old girl (or do I ?? ;)) .

There's plenty of time left in your life for drinking in dirty smelly pubs, in the mean time get one of your older mates to buy beer in the off-licence and drink it in the fields like everyone else your age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

im 32 and i got ID'd twice inthe last 3 months.

i thinks it marvelous.

but on the topic of getting past bouncers, im generally happy they keep underaged and riff-raff types out of the establishments i am drinking in.

if your not old enough to drink, then stop whinging about not being aable to do something illegal.

i mean seriously, what sort of bizarre skewed logic are you trying to use here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

He's a rebel......

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

K-TRIC wrote:
    What is these days with kids trying to get in pubs to drink ?? When I go out I don't want to be trying to score a 16 year old girl (or do I ?? ;)) .

There's plenty of time left in your life for drinking in dirty smelly pubs, in the mean time get one of your older mates to buy beer in the off-licence and drink it in the fields like everyone else your age.

i had much better craic out in the fields than i ever did in a pub. you can get away with so much stuff that'd get you kicked out of a pub and there's not chance of running into someone you really don't like at the bar. only problem was the feckin cold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

whiskeyman wrote:
    When I was seventeen,
    I drank some very good beer,
    I drank some very good beer I purchased with a fake ID,
    My name was Brian McGee,
    I stayed up listening to Queen,
    When I was seventeen.
    ha ha, knew someone would say that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I'm very young looking for my age. I used to always get stopped by bouncers. Now I just walk into the pub and barely acknowledge they are there. They used to stop me when I was all embarrassed incase I got asked for ID with my head down, looking all suspicious and what not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

ThatGuy wrote:

T'would be appreciated.

Wait till your 18 :D Seriously pisses me off, I worked in a bar. If you slipped or something in there and you werent legally in there you'd be the very bloke giving out cause you couldnt sue, being there under false pretences. Also bar owner could loose his licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

Just start talking to one of yer friends coming up to the bouncers , act like this is a normal night out for you and ya dont expect to be asked , if you just walk along up looking at the bouncers with that look of God I hope he doesnt ask me then you`ll defo get asked .

Im 22 and I still use that look of Oh god I hope he doesnt ask me just for the craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

OLDYELLAR wrote:
    Just start talking to one of yer friends coming up to the bouncers , act like this is a normal night out for you and ya dont expect to be asked , if you just walk along up looking at the bouncers with that look of God I hope he doesnt ask me then you`ll defo get asked .

Im 22 and I still use that look of Oh god I hope he doesnt ask me just for the craic :D

Should a mod be advicating breaking the law?

dbnavan wrote:

Unless their breaking the law in my forums , murdering , robbing or raping I`ll hold off on calling in the guards just for the time being.

Oldyellar flashes a bit of boob to the bouncers. I've seen her in action. Sneaky little thing she is.

dlofnep wrote:
    Oldyellar flashes a bit of boob to the bouncers. I've seen her in action. Sneaky little thing she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Act like you don't need ID, walk up as if you're going to get in, if they stop you, tell them you left it in your car. If you have ID, hide around the corner for about 3 minutes and come back with your ID. If you don't have ID just say you like to carry as little as possible because you'll be reaching into your pockets so often to spend money in their fine establishment:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Prior to turning 18 I used to always get stopped for ID, funnily enough now I am (waayyyy) over 18, I would love to get asked & never do.....I find myself staring out the bouncers, almost daring them to ask me but they never do :( Unless you just look very young, I would act like you want them to check your ID and see if you can't double bluff them.....draw attention to yourself, make plenty eye contact, etc, etc.....I used to work in bars as a student and you can usually spot under-agers a country mile away.....they are usually obviously nervous, they avoid eye contact, keep looking around, etc, etc...just act cool, relaxed and chat, without showing OTT bravado - make eye contact and smile or say "evening" to the bouncers, hold back & let your friends or who you are with in before you to show you have no fear of the bouncers.....

I'd go outside for a break when I worked in the pubs and you would spot the underagers miles back - and then notice them trying to look braver as they got closer to the front of the queue! :rolleyes::v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Try get a Trinity ID. It doens't have the date of birth on it, so you can fake it, and they'll presume you're not going to cause trouble. If you're asked for your date of birth do not look them in the eye, roll your eyes to the side as is this the the stupidest thing ever and quickly remember your date of birth and subtract a year. I know I can't reply a fake date of birth quickly, so I did that a couple of times. Don't be too quiet approaching the door, they can smell fear. Wear dark clothes. Look at them in the eye, if you have the cajones. Otherwise, talk to your mate. Don't look disappointed when he says no, just look "oh typical", and say to your friend "Will we go <rival pub>?"

Failing that, start on them. They're scared sh*tless of a fight in all honesty.

Erm...Tbh, if they ask date of birth, look them in the eye. They have people lying to them for every weekend since they started. If you have the balls to look them in the eye there's more of a chance of getting in. Don't act as if it's the stupidest thing ever - Bouncers get pissed off when they're treated like idiots. Really reduces your chances of getting in. And definitly do not start on them. Ever.

When I'm going into someplace, usually, I'll walk straight for the door, and gie the bouncers a friendly nod and a "How's it going?" on the way in. Worked for me since I was 15, and I'm 19 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Few tips:

- No runners
    - No tracksuit / sporty looking clothes
    - If you're really drunk, forget about it
    - Try not to be nervous
    - Don't give up if they say no right away, don't give them attitude but do engage them in conversation, sometimes it works.
    - Wait till you're 18 and get ID :P

Arrive in a Limo...

...to the pub.

dlofnep wrote:
    Arrive in a Limo...

...to the pub.

and then flash some boob :cool:

OLDYELLAR wrote:
    and then flash some boob :cool:
    pfffttt I'd out flash you in a boobie flashing contest any day!

azezil wrote:
    pfffttt I'd out flash you in a boobie flashing contest any day!

No arguing with that .You do have most delectable breasts.

*giggles like a school girl*

come on Az , get em out.....you know you want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

dbnavan wrote:

Holy Jesus, are the mods of Boards.ie now responsible for the upkeep of morality of the general public? :rolleyes:

Nobody mentioned this when I signed up.

Down with morality, up with boobs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Just moonwalk right by em. They'll be in awe, and let you swish right in.

Yup, the moonwalk works. It's a known fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Daddio wrote:
    Just moonwalk right by em. They'll be in awe, and let you swish right in.

Forgot to mention that one, much better than any ID:D