Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chroming/electroplating (Dublin)

• 02-02-2006 1:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭

Finally got a good contact that can do chroming - this is courtesy of a lad in the MX5 club that works for a company that do upholstering etc. They sometimes need metal parts made a chromed, eg. for barstools etc.

Company is:

Tubular Steel Products
    Unit 6 Landy's Ind. Estate
    Knocklyon Road
    Dublin
    D16

Contacts are Mike and David
    Tel. 01-493-2799
    Mention Simon in MX5 club

Apparently they plate the items in nickel before putting chrome on, and that makes for a durable finish. Don't know what that counts for really, but that's what I was told. It was also said that the price of nickel fluctuates so it's one thing that affects price.

They need to see the items you want chromed before quoting a price. Anyone up for that ? My car is immobile at the moment so I can't go see them.

If it works out well, perhaps we could get a "group buy" together, see if we get a bulk price ? I need to have two bumpers and all the chrome strips & horseshoe-trims front and back of the car replated.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I might be interested in getting a front bumper rechromed.
    Of course it will depend on the cost - I won't commit until I hear that. ;)

For the record I have no idea how much rechroming costs. But my budget would be sub-€200 regardless. Otherwise I could buy a new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Stag bumpers are 500 STG (front) and 700 STG (rear) :( so I have no choice really. Which is ridiculous of course, given that a mate was buying chrome bumpers for his Beetle recently and they were under 100 euros each (well under, too, if I recall).

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I have some wheel nuts that need to be finished in either chemical black, or a black passivate finish.

Any ideas?

franksm wrote:
    Stag bumpers are 500 STG (front) and 700 STG (rear)
    Holy moly.

Do you get a free Stag attached? :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

I'd think about getting the export bars done on mine, would depend on cost and if they would look ok after I fit the other chrome bits I've bought, won't know till I do the dress up. When are you thinking of getting yours done Franksm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

Ive known about them for a while but wonder would their chroming be strong enough for car parts.

Part of the chroming process it seems involves removing all the old chrome and getting it back to bare metal. Their 'bar stool' chroming I believe may not last a year.

Was there a guy with a lovely red mini here that got the grille done by them and it was rusty in no time?

It may have been done somewhere else but there's a guy near me that does up classic motorbikes and he always sends his stuff to the UK? :confused:

Yep - I thought so - Green Blood seems to say he used Tubular steel products - the results speak for themselves.:mad:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=238286

Aw dammit. I feel like the kid who thought he had discovered America only to find that the Vikings had got there before him (and trashed the place).

Back to the drawing board. I have heard anecdotal talk that stuff sent to England for plating was also pitted a year later.

I can't believe there's no-one in Ireland who can do plating properly. What about up North ? I must get a copy of the Yellow Pages next time I'm back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ds20prefecture

I might be interested in getting a front bumper rechromed.
    Are the Spider's bumpers not stainless steel?

Well my front one is certainly not stain-less. Naah they are definitely chrome. You can sometimes buy OEM replacements on eBay.

Shame about the contact, franksm. Better we find out new than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Awww !

I was hoping for a result here !

I need a lot of parts done in the next few months. My car is stripped down so i was to get a good job done !

I might go and check them out anyways !

I wonder what greenblood eventually did with his grille ?

It seems that the EPA (environmental protection agency) has so many regulations with regard to chrome plating operators that the small market here makes it unviable for anyone to do it for heavy duty car parts.

Does this place – “Just the Plating Company Ltd” still exist – they might be worth a try?
    EPA Prosecutes Just the Plating Company Limited.
    On the 26th January 2004 at Dublin Metropolitan District Court, Just the Plating
    Company Limited pleaded guilty to three charges under Sections 8 and 84(2) of the
    Environmental Protection Agency Act, 1992 after they had breached conditions of
    their Integrated Pollution Control licence.
    The charges related to the failure to comply with emissions limit values for discharges
    to sewer, failure to monitor and analyse these same emissions and the failure to
    submit an Annual Environmental Report to the EPA.
    The court imposed a fine of €250 for each of the charges, and awarded full costs to
    the Agency of €4,074.
    The company, located in Mulcahy Keane Industrial Estate, Greenhills Road, Dublin
    12, are licensed to carry out electroplating operations under licence Register Number
    277. The prosecution was taken in light of EPA sampling and analysis results for
    emissions to sewer and the outcome of an EPA audit and site investigations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Ballykine43

Frank raised the question of rechromers in the North. There is a company Nichrome but I am told they are only good for small parts, do a lot of motorcycle work etc.

The Association of Old Vehicle Clubs had a strand a few years ago which you can pick up at http://www.aovc.co.uk/qanda_show_message.asp?ID=19

The answer then was , send your stuff crosswater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭green-blood

sorry guys wish I'd seen this earlier.

They do lots of chrome work for the "display" market, ie plating rails for boutiques, car parts they wil do, quote ya for and take your money, problem is they dont know what they are doing.

If anyone ever does find somewhere decent, please please slet me know too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭Eric318

For what I remember of chroming, for best quality you first need a layer of copper, then nickel, the chrome. If you look at the Periodic Classification of Elements by Mendeleiev, you understand why.

I have an '02 Yella Pages (must pick up a more recent copy next time I'm home) and it lists the following electroplaters:

Almic Ltd, Lurgan, +44-2838346661, www.almic.co.uk
    Eagle Electroplating, Newtownabbey, +44-2890841733
    Maine Surface Finishing, Ballymena, +44-2827657075
    T.J. Plating/Plateco Engineering Ltd, Mallusk, +44-2890833122
    Specialist Plating & Eng, Newry, +44-2830267950
    NiChrome Ltd, Newtownabbey, +44-2890365550

The latter are civil-aviation-approved, for what that's worth

I'll try and pop into the ones in Newtownabbey some weekend.

I wonder would the motorbiker community know about chroming ? They're as much magpies for chrome as we are :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭alfarocks

There used to be a place in Cork city that done alot of chroming for some biker mates of mine a few years back, large enough items too like exhausts & handlebars. Will try and dig out the name of the place..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭mustang68

This morning I was behind a flat-bed silver van on the nangor road and through the mud on the van I could make out "Chrome Ireland" and the phone number may have been 466 4999, but I'm not sure of the number. Thats all I got, maybe it might be useful, or maybe they only chrome small parts or something.

Good Luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭mustang68

Golden Pages: Chrome Ireland Limited Cookstown Ind Est Dublin Dublin 24 01 4664999

Maybe someone can ring them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭sohappy

safeplating in chapelizod ind est, my brother restores vintage bikes and uses them,i do know that all the old chrome has to be removed as well as any pitting on the metal ,he prepares the items to be chromed himself,not sure if they would do the preperation work ,,

One o' me mates was over at the "autojumble" in the NEC on Sunday and was speaking with some platers there.

One crowd, Marque Restore (www.marquerestore.co.uk) also had good stuff on display and knew their stuff. Their work was top-notch apparently - they had some E-type wheel rims chromed up, as well as a petrol tank from a Harley, and some other stuff. Thir typical prices are as follows:

VW camper hub caps £21
    Beetle bumpers £79
    TR6 front bumper £105
    Stag rear quarter bumper £42
    Volvo Amazon quarter bumper £42

For me to buy a rechromed Stag quarter bumper, the cost would normally be £115

The prices shown above are for a bright nickel and chrome finish (same as original), incl. cost of stripping and polishing. Need to add VAT to the above - but there may be ways around that ;-)

The other crowd he found, "Chrome-plating by S&T" as it says on the card were very knowledgable and had some good examples on show. Their card says they look after stripping of old items, bead blasting, as well as copper-plating, nickel plating, chrome plating etc. The do nationwide collections and deliveries which they confirm can be done from/to the North. No sample prices tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

safeplating in chapelizod ind est, my brother restores vintage bikes and uses them,i do know that all the old chrome has to be removed as well as any pitting on the metal ,he prepares the items to be chromed himself,not sure if they would do the preperation work

..........these guys have moved over 2 years ago ! They are now somewhere in Kilkenny or Wicklow or somewhere !

Anyway they did my bumpers 4 years ago, I found them a touch shady to deal with. The work was fine in general, considering the state they were in originally I wasn't sure if they were salvageable. The cost was quite high and one of them they charged me for a small repair which didn't look perfect and deteriorated almost straight away !

They ned to be done again now, purely due to the daily grind and my quest for perfection so I'm probably going to ask around the Merc Club and see what happens !

just an update on chroming. I'm making a little bracket to fix a satnav to a bike so phoned that place in cookstown and they don't do it. The place in knocklyon charge a minimum of €100 + vat and recommended I use brass or steel, but brass will last longer. Don't suppose anyone has come across anyone else who does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭FiSe

There's another option, respray with chrome paint. I do not mean the cheap aerosol can, but one of these hi-tech custom paints.
    Any good spraypainter should be able to do it and resource this paint either over the ocean or over the sea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭bushy...

You could try E&G Manly in Ashbourne Co.Meath , I used them a few times for hard chroming, really good.
    Chrome is porous afaik , so you need good copper & nickel underneath.

bushy... wrote:
    You could try E&G Manly in Ashbourne Co.Meath , I used them a few times for hard chroming, really good.
    Chrome is porous afaik , so you need good copper & nickel underneath.
    What prices are e%g charging bushy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭redzer007

I have been searching around trying to get some bumbers rechromed, and came accross this thread,

I decided to revive it and see if anyone has any update?

if so let me know, otherwise its new bumbers for a grand or off to the UK to get the existing ones rechromed

1960 Karmann Ghia, to preempt the questions of what sort of car has such crazypriced bumpers

thx all

R

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

there was a guy that started up in wexford last year wexford chrome I'll try to find the number for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

kev1.3s wrote: »
    there was a guy that started up in wexford last year wexford chrome I'll try to find the number for you!

I have seen some things he has chromed and heard the prices and they all seem very resonable. His number is 086 3515655.

I am unsure if he does triple plating though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭68deville

he trades as southeastchroming, he has some bits as i speak,
    happy with his work so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭redzer007

thanks guys

I'll give him a call

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 spydre100

Hi all - Just an update on this thread.

Most chromers now use triple plating - copper, nickel, chrome.

However if your looking for such a company i can recommend:

Ashford Chroming
    http://www.ashfordchroming.com
    Tel +44 01233 660879

They do a full collection and delivery service to ie, i had some TR^ bumpers done when i was in cork a while back, im now back in UK sadly. But at least now they are just around the corner.

Give them a google or check their website - very impressive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Eire30

I have seen some things he has chromed and heard the prices and they all seem very resonable. His number is 086 3515655.

Just got quoted €1000 euro by this guy to rechrome 2 bmw e30 bumpers!! :eek: I had to remind him that it was re-chroming I was looking for not 24k gold plating!

Maybe I got him on a bad day but his general attitude/tone when I spoke to him this morning certainly wouldn't inspire me to give him my business.....let alone the crazy price he threw at me!! :mad:

Anyway the search goes on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭chevyv8

I have seen some of the stuff he has done and would not recommend him at all, he did a rear bumper for one of the yank lads, he couldnt get the bumper into the bath , it was done twice, one end in first then the other, it looked sh*te.
    i gave him two small pulleys to chrome and his price was crazy, can buy them and get the posted from the states at half his price. he is expensive for what he does.
    :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭68deville

chevyv8 wrote: »
    I have seen some of the stuff he has done and would not recommend him at all, he did a rear bumper for one of the yank lads, he couldnt get the bumper into the bath , it was done twice, one end in first then the other, it looked sh*te.
    i gave him two small pulleys to chrome and his price was crazy, can buy them and get the posted from the states at half his price. he is expensive for what he does.
    :eek::eek:

He started off competitive enough but i have to agree he got expensive
    v quickly!!