Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How far do you Commute to Work ??

• 31-01-2006 8:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭

A good friend of mine,unable to afford a gaff in overpriced Dubin...Decided to move to Gorey Co Wexford.....He leaves home at 5.45 to get to work in Airport to be in by 8.30ish ! He sets off again at 6 ish to get home at 9 ish.... Straight to bed caus I have to be up at 5am ish.....This is life....Do u have a simular story Jesus What life is that ? I have heard of people commuting from portlaoise etc...Is this true ? Share your stories here
    /////////////M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

Well if theres no traffic it should take me 20/25 minutes to get into work,
    But because Blanchardstown is one of the worst constructed rat traps around it takes me between 1 and 2 hours to get into work, fun eh?

I also work with a chap who travels up from Gorey,hes bloody nuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

thats nothing. I live in Thurles and work in Dublin a few times a week.
    Most of the time I need to be on site at 7:30-8am. Early start for me. Still don't finish until 5-6pm and then face the long drive back. If I'm not in Dublin then I can be anywhere in the country :(
    If I get a day when I'm in the office then it is only 10 miles away and I finish about 5-5:30pm.
    Early starts can screw up your social life. I often work weekends so I can't go drinking if I'm up at 5am :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

depends, i work all over, if i have to get through town to something small i may take my motorbike to cut through traffic, but in a car, forget it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

It takes me about an hour to get to college in between the hours of 8-10. Anytime after that and it only takes 10 - 20 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭jimbono1

Binomate wrote:
    It takes me about an hour to get to college in between the hours of 8-10. Anytime after that and it only takes 10 - 20 minutes.

Very Interesting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭me and the biz

Takes me ten minutes to drive to work. :D

Strange thing is if I leave 10 minutes later, could take a half hour or more.

damn Lucan bypass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

takes me 20 mins to walk to college
    20 mins in a taxi to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭Ginger83

45mins Collon to Ratoath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

well my "home" is in offaly and i used to commute to collage in dublin,
    My dad still does it for work almost all the time.
    I know am staying in my uncles house as the job im in,i'd be too worn out if i was to go home.plus the shifts im working i kudnt do it without my own car.
    I am now 10 mins walk from were im staying

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

I travel 32 miles to work, then 32 miles back.

I thought that was long, but looking at the OP, that's small fry! Luckily, up this neck of the woods, traffic isn't as big an issue :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Took me 7 minutes to walk to work in dublin when I was living there for 8 months.

It now takes me 7 minutes to walk to college in UL from college court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭crazymonkey

65 miles too work 12hrs working and 65 mles home again, usual four days a week,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,146 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

35 mins drive in the morning.. an hour in the evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

35-40 minutes to drive 29 miles to the airport. Used to take up to 90-100 mins before the M1 was completed. Happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

The question was "How far do you Commute to Work ?? ". I don't think 10 or 20 minutes to get to work is a commute, not the type of commute the OP is talking about. Most of us wouldn't know what a commute was if it hit you in the face.

If you get out of bed after 7am to be in work for 9 - your not a commuter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,146 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Well seeing as I used to spend 3-4 hours on buses up until last year I think I've earned the break :)

Agreed .. buses .. public transport can take years off your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

bubby wrote:

If you get out of bed after 7am to be in work for 9 - your not a commuter.

I get up at quarter past 7 and leave the house at half. I'm a commuter. I despise it as I have a general dislike for people so public transport doesn't sit well with me.

Yeah .. I guess we are all commuters .. but the likes of those coming from Wexford and Kells are super dooper commuters then. I commuted to Kildare for 6 months and it nearly killed me!! And that was OUT of Dublin - so the traffic would have been lighter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Wake Up, Commute, Work, Commute, Sleep, Wake up, Commute, Work, Commute, Sleep.

This is your life, and you're waisting it one day at a time.

Better than pumping your money into rent. At least after a few years with better salary .. then move closer. I would say it is also a wise decision in the midterm for those with children. Some areas for the same purchase price, closer to Dublin and you'd have druggies for kids. It depends on your circumstances.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

65 miles here, 65 miles home, leave at 05:55.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭pontovic

I live in Howth in Dublin and I have to commute to Citywest everyday. Its a 70km journey there and back on the M50, so if I had to be in at nine, I would be screwed with the traffic. Thank god the place I work has good flexitime. I used to come in at 8 and finish at 4 in the summer, but since winter has come, I have to come in at seven and finish at three, meaning I'm up at quarter to six and out of the house my ten past. Its a grueller getting up so early but Ill stick it out. Its the only way to get into work, as I refuse to spend 4 hours a day in my car, so now it takes me usually between 40-50 mins to get in. Rush hour starts on the M50 at 7, what a nightmare !!

I feel for the person who has to drive up from Wexford ! Get out of that, thats no life !! Someone here in work has to drive to and from Portlaoise everyday, and come up through the roadworks going on there. Nasty !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

MarinoMark wrote:
    A good friend of mine,unable to afford a gaff in overpriced Dubin...Decided to move to Gorey Co Wexford.....He leaves home at 5.45 to get to work in Airport to be in by 8.30ish ! He sets off again at 6 ish to get home at 9 ish.... Straight to bed caus I have to be up at 5am ish.....This is life....Do u have a simular story Jesus What life is that ? I have heard of people commuting from portlaoise etc...Is this true ? Share your stories here
    /////////////M
    First off "overpriced" is opinion void of market factors. THe price is the price becasue people are willing to pay for it. Supply and demand plain and simple.

The next thing is what did your friend need and then what did he buy? Did he need a 2 bed appartment or a 4 bed semi for example.

The next thing is he decided to buy nobody made him .

My commute is 15 minutes by bicycle and it is made bad by the people who decide to live miles out in order to have their houses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭mise_me_fein_V2

I travel 35 miles from Ardee to Blanch. I do it in under an hour. It's not too bad.

My brother's working in Newbridge at the moment.

He gets up before half 5. but he's home around 4.

Anyone living in Louth should have no problem commuting to Dublin or even Belfast with the new roads we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭pontovic

If you look at it this way, why bother buying a house out in somewhere like Portlaoise or Mullingar, when you are going to be working in Dublin ? Sure they might be cheaper than houses in Dublin, but if you look at it, you have to drive several hundreds of kilometers a week just to save about 100 on your mortgage every month. When you look at it it doesnt really make much sense. I would gladly pay an extra ten euro a day just to be able to live nearer to work if I had to commute like that !

Anyone living in Louth should have no problem commuting to Dublin or even Belfast with the new roads we have.

I don't know about "no problem", fairly sweeping statement there. I travel from Dundalk to west Dublin (65miles), I leave at 05:55 to avoid traffic on the M50 and I resent having to pay 2 toll bridges twice a day (2 to work & 2 home).
    Ardee to blanch isn't really much of a track (relatively)so maybe what you should have said was 'Anyone living in Ardee should have no problem commuting to North Dublin or even Belfast with the new roads we have' ;)

No offence, but I hate Dublin. In fact the greater Dublin area. I would not want to live in Ashbourne or Greystones or even Naas.

Fair play to people for working so hard. If they invest properly, then they wont have to do it in a few years.

Sparks400 wrote:
    I don't know about "no problem", fairly sweeping statement there. I travel from Dundalk to west Dublin (65miles), I leave at 05:55 to avoid traffic on the M50 and I resent having to pay 2 toll bridges twice a day (2 to work & 2 home).
    Ardee to blanch isn't really much of a track (relatively)so maybe what you should have said was 'Anyone living in Ardee should have no problem commuting to North Dublin or even Belfast with the new roads we have' ;)

5:55, don't you mean about 6am.

You can do Dundalk to the M50 interchange in 50 mins. That journey should only take you an hour or 70 mins top. Easy.

The roads I use are all crap. So I retain my statement.

Sparks400 wrote:
    Why did you live so far from work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

My commute is about an hour on the bus, going through city center. I dont mind it too much, allows me to read peacefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

i sued to live in contarf but my work was in Shankill.

So i'd be up for 6:40 , at the dart station for about 7:10 and in work for 8:20.

If i leave it any later than that i won't make it in till 9 ish ( depdening on traffic from skankill to work.

However on the way home i found something handy.

If i finish at 5:30 i'd usualy arrive at my front door at about 7.
    if i finish at 5 i'd usualy arrive at my front door at 6:20.

I now live in Glasgow.
    In the morning I get the bus at about 8:05 and in work for 8:20.
    if i get the later buses they can be packed and hence you miss them.
    The latest i can get a bus is 8:35 and i still make it in for 9.

on the way home is a bit worse.
    get the bus say about 5:45 and don't get home till about 6:30. :eek:

The traffic is nothing compared to what i've put up with in dublin for the last couple of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Swarfboy

Tullamore - Dublin = 1hour each way...............
    small price to pay for
    1) living in a town i.e. walking to every shop, pub, cinema etc...
    2) 2 people do not need to work (save child care) Nobody I know under the age of 35 can do this in Dublin...
    3) therefore my kids have a mammy who is thrilled we went down "the old route" and the kids are very content indeed....if a little excited to see Dad even if it is 8pm....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭ionapaul

bubby wrote:
    Better than pumping your money into rent. At least after a few years with better salary .. then move closer. I would say it is also a wise decision in the midterm for those with children. Some areas for the same purchase price, closer to Dublin and you'd have druggies for kids. It depends on your circumstances.
    Can't say I agree with you there - I rent in the city centre and am 30 minutes walk / 15 minutes drive from where I work, walk into town any night and walk home when done. The money I spend on rent is not 'dead money', I spend a lot less than what it would cost to service a mortgage on the room I live in. I pay for a service that appropriately meets my current requirements; I want / need to have a decent social life. If I had to commute more than 1 hour total in a day, I would not consider that a worthwhile life for me...needless to say if I had young kids I wanted to spend time with, I would resent a long commute even more.

Why did you live so far from work?

Simply because I want to live in Dundalk, and there are no positions around Louth to suit me.
    5:55, don't you mean about 6am.

No, I mean 5:55 (5mins can make a difference of 15 on the journey).

Anyone living in Louth should have no problem commuting to Dublin or even Belfast with the new roads we have....You can do Dundalk to the M50 interchange in 50 mins. That journey should only take you an hour or 70 mins top. Easy.
    So I retain my statement.
    You have your opinions, I have mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Takes me about one and a half minutes to walk to work:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

ionapaul wrote:
    Can't say I agree with you there - I rent in the city centre and am 30 minutes walk / 15 minutes drive from where I work, walk into town any night and walk home when done. The money I spend on rent is not 'dead money', I spend a lot less than what it would cost to service a mortgage on the room I live in. I pay for a service that appropriately meets my current requirements; I want / need to have a decent social life. If I had to commute more than 1 hour total in a day, I would not consider that a worthwhile life for me...needless to say if I had young kids I wanted to spend time with, I would resent a long commute even more.
    Fair play to ya, I think that's a good view to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭IceHawk

8 minutes walk. Up at 8:40, shower, leave. In work by 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭elurhs

Is it wrong that I'm getting pleasure from seeing Dublin people bitch about traffic and commuting? :D Yet some people regard the 'natives' from outside the Pale as being ignorant?

Used to work in Tuam, 30 mins there and 30 mins home. Now in Athlone, 10 min drive! Anybody sitting in a car for two hours in the morning and two hours in the evening needs their head examined IMHO. People might say they need the work to support their family, but I don't think the child who never sees their parents during the week would agree.

elurhs wrote:
    Is it wrong that I'm getting pleasure from seeing Dublin people bitch about traffic and commuting? :D Yet some people regard the 'natives' from outside the Pale as being ignorant?

Huh? most people never stated if they are Dubs or not. A lot of them could be culchies that could only get jobs in "the Pale" and still want to live at home.

You know a hell of a lot of them are exactley that. Many of them people moan about Dublin aren't from here or even want to be here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

20-30 minute cycle into college

You know a hell of a lot of them are exactley that. Many of them people moan about Dublin aren't from here or even want to be here
    We should put a ban on people from outside "the Pale" living or working here, that would solve all our traffic problems! The same way as some counties (Clare for example) put a ban on people from outside the area building homes there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Buttony

About 35 days of my life per year.

4 days a week 2hrs each way on car,train,luas and on foot. It is a complete waste of my life!!

I know it is completely mental but at least I could tell my boss where to shove his job and take a low paying job in the sticks or live on one wage and still not have to worry about losing my home. And I'm working on getting out of the rat race so I can see an end to my commuting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

15mins.

Walk.

each way.

...suckers :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭Archeron

We should put a ban on people from outside "the Pale" living or working here, that would solve all our traffic problems! The same way as some counties (Clare for example) put a ban on people from outside the area building homes there!!

Absolutely, and there should be guard towers to shoot anyone who tries to sneak in, and anti tank missiles so you can blow up cars and mini-buses. In fact, we could set up 26 (or 32) little mini-countries and have wars and invade each other for fun and sport. End commuting and give the kids something to do at the wekend, its win-win really. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭foggy

When I lived in Dublin, i used to leave the house at 7, walk to the dart and be at work at 8.30 to start at 9. otherwise the dart was packed.
    Now I live in Donegal, i leave my house at 8.40, stop at the shop and still be at work before 9. It's 7 miles door to door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Used to have to travel Northside to Southside, which would be 5 minute walk +40 minute bus +10 minute walk + 20 minute Laus + 5 minute walk each way. But now its a simple matter of 1 bus journey which can vary from 45 minutes to 1hr 20 mins.

A scooter should be in the pipeline shortly which will make everything 5 minutes away! :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

It takes me about 3 minutes to drive to work but I'll be moving out of town in a few weeks so the 5 mile journey will take me probably about 10 mins (and my new 5 bed house cost less than a 2 bed town house in Dublin).

So does that mean you bought based on size or price in your eyes? I am really curious because many people claim on boards that people buy further away based on price while I think it is to a percieved value for money based on size