Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

paddypowerpoker.com Irish Open 2006

• 31-01-2006 10:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭

1. Who is running the event? - PPP, Merrion Casino, Liam Flood.
    2. The purpose of the event - Commerical
    3. Date and Location of event - 14, 15, 16, 17 April 2006 - Jurys' Hotel Ballsbridge
    4. Registration and Start time of event 5pm 15th April, reg time tbc.
    5. Any prerequisites (member of Merrion)
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number - in advance, at the door, suspect entries to be limited to 500.
    7. Type of Tournament - No Limit Holdem Freezeout
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc - €3000
    9. Cost of registration - €200
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund - 100%
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool - €1,000,000
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels - N/A
    13. Starting Chips - 10,000
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts - N/A
    15. Blind levels - gentle as they come - will publish full structure shortly
    16. Blind timeframes - 1 hour
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash - cash prizes, 10% of field approx.
    18. Are there going to be dealers - all tables have fully trained dealers
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules - structure and rules in welcome pack
    20. Is there a tournament director - Dave O'Neill
    21. How are disputes handled - tourney director decisions final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Press release to follow. No more information will be available until that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

Here's the press release for the Irish Open which went out today. More detailed info will be available shortly on the Irish Poker Open site which I will link to here when it goes live.

Ireland’s first €1 million poker tournament

paddypowerpoker.com celebrates the 25th anniversary of the Irish Open - Europe’s oldest No Limit Texas Hold Em tournament

paddypowerpoker.com in association with Liam Flood and the Merrion Casino Club today proudly announce details of the 25th Irish Open poker tournament to be held in Jurys Ballsbridge Hotel, Dublin over 14, 15, 16, 17 April 2006.

irishopencoin.jpg

This historic event is now one of the richest in world poker – the main event has a €1 million prize pool guaranteed and €50,000 added by paddypowerpoker.com. The €3,000 entry (plus €200 registration fee) main event starts Saturday 15 April at 4pm and will attract the top names in poker from Ireland, Britain, Europe, the US and beyond. The final table will play down to the winner on Monday 17 April.

Players can qualify on paddypowerpoker.com from just €10 – the online qualifier who places highest in the Irish Open will also receive a package worth $12,500 to the World Series of Poker in Las Vegas in August . Satellites will also be held in card clubs and casinos throughout Britain, Ireland and Europe.

The Irish Open is the main event in a Festival of Poker taking place over Easter weekend in Dublin – renowned as Europe’s most lively city. The Festival will also include 3 additional tournaments:

Friday 14 April 4pm - €400 (+ €40) rebuy for 90 minutes
    Sunday 16 April 8pm - €300 (+ €30) freezeout
    Monday 17 April 6pm - €150 (+ €15) rebuy for 90 minutes

The Irish Open is Europe’s oldest No limit Texas Hold Em tournament. Legendary Irish bookmaker Terry Rogers started the event with his friend and colleague Liam Flood in 1981. Although Terry passed away in 1999 Liam, a world class player and tournament director of international renown, continues his involvement with this prestigious tournament. Over the years the Irish Open has attracted many of the legends of poker including Stu Ungar, Amarillo Slim and Doyle Brunson.

The winner of the 2006 main event will be presented with the specially commissioned Terry Rogers Perpetual Trophy in commemoration of the colourful character who started this event and pioneered poker in Europe.[/INDENT][/INDENT]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Great event guys and well done. 3k is a bit dear, but thats the minimum buy-in to most events now.

Great weekend of poker. Cant wait.

Thats a great prize to the top PPP, ticket to the WSOP.

site now live http://www.irishpokeropen.com

the WSOP prize is nice alright :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭JustMac

Sounds like it'll be a great tournament. I would give anything to play in it (except perhaps 3200 euro as its way out of my league)

Just a question from the website details of the online qualifiers:

'Each player winning a qualifying package on Paddy Power Poker will receive a package worth $4,500. This is $3925 buyin and registration and $575 for expenses. '

Thought the buyin was 3000 with 200 registration so I cant figure where $3925 comes from.

Also a suggestion/request. Could at least some of the feeders have an entry + 1 buyin/top up as the prize rather than just the entry to the grand final satellite. Problem is that if you win a 10 euro feeder then you are likely to want to top-up in the satellite, unless you done really well in the first 4 levels, so it would cost you 10 for the feeder and 99 for the
    top-up.

Hi JustMac.

the package includes the registration fee. €3200 ($3925 approx)

as for the feeders, we may look at slightly different formats closer to the event but it is very standard to use this structure.

if we were to make the prize of a feeder enough to cover a rebuy in the grand final, there is no guarantee that the amount of the rebuy would end up in the grand final prizepool (player could chose not to rebuy) so we could not estimate a prizepool before the tournament began.

i will keep everyone posted here on all the qualification methods and developments. we plan on having a very thorough, fair schedule to suit all pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭lemeister

JustMac wrote:
    Just a question from the website details of the online qualifiers:

'Each player winning a qualifying package on Paddy Power Poker will receive a package worth $4,500. This is $3925 buyin and registration and $575 for expenses. '

Thought the buyin was 3000 with 200 registration so I cant figure where $3925 comes from.

The entry fee + reg is 3,200 and so converted to $, this roughly equates to $3,925

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭JustMac

karlh wrote:
    the package includes the registration fee. €3200 ($3925 approx)
    lemeister wrote:
    The entry fee + reg is 3,200 and so converted to $, this roughly equates to $3,925

Doh!

Thanks for the clarification. With powers of obversation like these I think I should just give up poker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭CoD

Pity the highest finishing grand slam qualifier, couldnt get entry to the irish open :P who then finishes highest qualifier in that (although I guess it wouldnt really be a qualifier...) and then makes it to the WSOP, who wins it, and gives PPP a nice cut of the WSOP win :P

..awh well, was worth a try :D

Matt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Any chance PPP will look into 'Steps' type STT qualifiers to these (and other similar) events?

steps tourneys are on that long list i've mentioned :)

won't have them for the Irish Open but i like the idea.

open to qualification suggestions btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

Hi Karl,

I'm interested in playing this event. To qualify would be great but certainly I would'nt play ppp qualifier if the following is corect.

"Players agree that by participating in any satellite tournament on Paddy Power Poker that they undertake to wear branding as supplied by Paddy Power Poker at this event and to take part in any related promotional activity as stated by Paddy Power Poker for a period of six months following the event into which the qualification process took place"

Can you confirm.

i can confirm.

it is pretty standard stuff for online qualifiers. you'll see a lot of people wearing pokerstars hats at the wsop this year and its not because they like the logo :)

you can always qualify via offline qualifiers which will be taking place around the country. i will post up details about them when i get them.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Hi Karl,
    "Players agree that by participating in any satellite tournament on Paddy Power Poker that they undertake to wear branding as supplied by Paddy Power Poker at this event and to take part in any related promotional activity as stated by Paddy Power Poker for a period of six months following the event into which the qualification process took place"

Does this mean that in theory, Paddy Power could insist on you wearing their gear if you play in one of their satellites, don't quality through one of them though, but still play the event by means of either paying in or qualifying at a live event?

I know that is probably not the spirit of the Terms/Conditions but it doesn't state qualifying as part of the prequiste, just playing in a satellite.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Lol... nice loophole spot. I'm sure they mean "qualify through" rather then "participating in".

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Personally I would have no problem wearing PP gear if I qualfied through them but whats the six month thing about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

karlh wrote:
    open to qualification suggestions btw.

Semi-Freeroll MTT Styleee?

$30 +25,000 pppoints

lol - well spotted, obviously only applies if you qualify through our satellites. i thought you were referring to having to wear gear :D

Ammended now.

I'll answer any questions bout T&Cs via PM if that's ok. Would rather use this thread to post updated and details of tourney rather than clog it up.

participating in any satellite tournament on Paddy Power Poker
    oooops ehem :o I must get some sleep.. Changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Sorry Karl but another question.

Are these free satellites or do the players put up all of the money for the prize themselves?
    Didn't PokerStars give players extra money for wearing their gear?

we are talking about the satellites schedule for the Irish Open. all feeders feed to tickets to a weekly grand final and all grand final prizepool will be paid out in as many tickets as it generates.

the T&Cs about wearing gear apply to all qualifiers and always have, as with pokerstars.

any questions about T&Cs please PM me so I can keep this thread for announcments if that's ok.

karlh wrote:
    we are talking about the satellites schedule for the Irish Open. all feeders feed to tickets to a weekly grand final and all grand final prizepool will be paid out in as many tickets as it generates.

the T&Cs about wearing gear apply to all qualifiers and always have, as with pokerstars.

any questions about T&Cs please PM me so I can keep this thread for announcments if that's ok.

First off, I think this is relevant to the thread but if the mods want to split it (and possibly some of the previous stuff) off into it's own thread then that's ok too.

I was under the impression that pokerstars offered qualifiers extra money to wear their gear (Something I think I remember Oscar mentioning).

As for PPP satellites, am I wrong in thinking that players put up all the money for the prize (other than perhaps a guarantee of 1 place and not enough players showing up)? Am I also correct in thinking that PPP take a reg for all satellites that does not go into the prizepool? If this is the case surely the qualifiers should be allowed to wear what they want and not be forced to give PPP free advertising!

I've nothing against PPP but surely their T&C's should be held open to the same open scrutiny as Pokerevents, CPT or anyone else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

From what I remember from last years WSOP, there were 2 ways of winning a WSOP ticket on pokerstars.

1)If you won a WSOP ticket with frequent player points (I.E pokerstars, rather than the players were paying for the ticket) then you were obliged to were the poker stars gear.

2) If you won a ticket in a normal cash satellite whereby the ticket(s) were
    funded from the prizepool, then you did not have to were the gear.

For (2) they provided an incentive for wearing the gear by offering a deal whereby they would pay for accomodation in the Rio.

On a related note, you may get into complications if you have an existing sponsorship deal and win a ticket on PP. Nowhere does the player exlicitly agree to the t&c before playing the tournament.

Basically. The only gain a site would have from feeders to offline events is the promotional opportunity as the cash payout from the online qualifier goes outside the site never to return again. PPP is no different in this regard than any other site. I have no doubt that anyone who has ever qualified for any offline event with PPP would agree that we look after our players well. Often providing accommodation / meals / drinks when this is not part of the package won.
    Pokertroll you are incorrect. On downloading poker you are prompted to read and agree to the terms and conditions of the site and software which incorporates the satellite rules and regulations or "Fine Print". Unless the player agrees the download will not complete. This is legally binding.
    The registration fee is to offset the massive costs of running the event. I stress the word "OFFSET".
    Very simply and truly not wishing to offend, if you do not wish to abide by the terms and conditions of qualifying for this event or any other satellite event on PPP I suggest you exersize your choice in the matter.
    I would also add that any player wishing to register and play on the day will not be permitted to wear a .com logo (logo's may be worn but not with .com and the size of it is restricted) this is TV production rules and regulations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

Pokertroll you are incorrect. On downloading poker you are prompted to read and agree to the terms and conditions of the site and software which incorporates the satellite rules and regulations or "Fine Print".

I never read that nonsense;-)

Just to clarify, if u agree to this,are you also agreeing to the t&cs outlined here

Don't get me wrong, if I won a ticket I would definitely accept those t&cs.

Yes, Paddy Power look after their players very well and have been very good to me in the past year - for example, they provided me with a free ticket (Euro 500) to the Christmas Cracker in the Sporting Emporium.

Imposter wrote:
    As for PPP satellites, am I wrong in thinking that players put up all the money for the prize (other than perhaps a guarantee of 1 place and not enough players showing up)? Am I also correct in thinking that PPP take a reg for all satellites that does not go into the prizepool?

this is the way standard online qualifiers for offiline events work on all sites.

karlh wrote:
    this is the way standard online qualifiers for offiline events work on all sites.
    I know this. The point I am making is that PPP are making the reg fee (as they do for all tournaments on the site) and they also want free advertising from the players!
    And then Pitboss says:
    Basically. The only gain a site would have from feeders to offline events is the promotional opportunity as the cash payout from the online qualifier goes outside the site never to return again.
    The same is possible and probable with normal tourney wins as well, especially big ones. You gain the reg fee as you do in normal games as well.
    PPP is no different in this regard than any other site.
    I think we've shown you that Pokerstars handle this a little differently despite claims to the contrary.
    I have no doubt that anyone who has ever qualified for any offline event with PPP would agree that we look after our players well. Often providing accommodation / meals / drinks when this is not part of the package won.
    That's very nice of PPP and one of the things that does make it diferent from most others but this is similar to what PS gives you for opting to wear their gear.
    The registration fee is to offset the massive costs of running the event. I stress the word "OFFSET".
    Are you talking about the online satellites of the main event here? If it's the satellites I fail to see how this holds true.
    Very simply and truly not wishing to offend, if you do not wish to abide by the terms and conditions of qualifying for this event or any other satellite event on PPP I suggest you exersize your choice in the matter.
    Obviously. This doesn't mean we should just keep quiet though, right? ;)

that's a lot of quoting ^^^^ :)

i'm not going to requote each point with an answer in case i break the internet.

i'll just answer the whole lot by saying again that PPP make the reg fee in all feeders and players who win a seat in an offline tournament wear PPP gear as set out in the Ts & Cs. pretty standard, some sites might be slightly different but that's what's happening.

to get mildly back on topic, the structure for the tourney and some info on the side events is now up on the Irish Open Site

http://www.irishpokeropen.com

p.s. about offsetting costs of the event, Pitboss was talking about the main event. PPP is adding 50k and spendnig a small fortune on the event overall. it promises to be a lot more than a regular poker tournament.

daily feeders now live for the first GF Satellite this Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

karlh wrote:
    i can confirm.

it is pretty standard stuff for online qualifiers. you'll see a lot of people wearing pokerstars hats at the wsop this year and its not because they like the logo :)

you can always qualify via offline qualifiers which will be taking place around the country. i will post up details about them when i get them.

Actually those people were offered accommadation on top of the ticket if they wore pokerstars gear.

Can we please keep the thread for announcement if you want to gripe about how unlike pokerstars we are in another thread feel free :0). These are the t's and c's like it or lump it! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Is the grand final a rebuy or freezeout?

Grand Final is a rebuy culchie
    Feeders:

Time: 2pm, 6pm and 9pm Daily
    Buyin: $10 + 50cents
    Type: Rebuy – 4 levels
    Rounds: 8 Minute rounds

Each $103.95 in prize-pool affords one seat in the weekly gf Satellite

Grand Finals:

Time: 7pm every Sunday
    Buyin: $99 + $4.95
    Type: Rebuy – 4 levels
    Rounds: 15 minute rounds

http://www.irishpokeropen.com/

Each $4.5 in prizepool affords another seat in the event. Highest PPP qualifying finisher gets $12,500 package to the WSOP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

karlh wrote:
    i can confirm.

Stars paid winners $1000 to wear their gear. My package was 10k plus 1k. then another hotel/$1000/No gear no money.

bohsman wrote:
    Stars paid winners $1000 to wear their gear. My package was 10k plus 1k. then another hotel/$1000/No gear no money.
    SSssssshhhhhhhhh we're not allowed to discuss this here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Last year the GF was a $36 rebuy (I know cos I bubbled), so I was wondering why is it a $99 rebuy this time?

I'm not criticising, as I'm sure you have done your sums, but I would have thought you'd get far more people playing the GF if it were $40ish rather than $100? Me for a start.

Imposter wrote:
    SSssssshhhhhhhhh we're not allowed to discuss this here.

I was planning on reading the second page before replying...

I lump it btw plenty of grand finalss on other sites.

Culchie wrote:
    Last year the GF was a $36 rebuy (I know cos I bubbled), so I was wondering why is it a $99 rebuy this time?.

the buyin to the main event this year is €3000 + €200.

as for wearing gear, as said already, PPP don't pay people to wear gear but they must under the T&Cs of online qualification.

I'm happy to announce that the following venues will be running live qualifiers to the Irish Open Main Event:

Dublin - Merrion Casino Club
    www.merrioncasinoclub.com

Cork - Macau Sporting Club
    www.macausportingclub.com

Limerick - Poker Lounge
    www.pokerlounge.ie

Galway - Poker Lounge
    www.pokerlounge.ie

London - Gutshot
    www.gutshot.co.uk

Edinburgh - Gala Maybury Casino
    Tel: (0131) 3384444

I will announce more venues as they are confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

gl to the lads playing at 7pm tonight on ppp. looks like there'll be 4 tickets between about 200 players so good value if u won ur ticket for $10 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

gl to the lads playing at 7pm tonight on ppp. looks like there'll be 4 tickets between about 200 players so good value if u won ur ticket for $10 :D
    how did you get on Des?

ridiculous and yet hopeful.

got to 2nd last table in 9th chip position. get 2 bad beats, the second of which was a ridiculous runner runner flush, and went out in 16th. There were 5 full tickets. Big Dragon suffered the same muppetry and went out in 12th.

however,

I have a 2nd ticket now for next Sunday that i won tonight in Paddy Hicks house, getting his advice all the way.

And i intend to play every Sunday until April so I reckon my chances are pretty good, about 20-30 to one, not bad for ten-20 dollars investment a week.

i'm determined to get a ticket, thats my poker focus for the next 2 months. And i recommend it to anyone else who thinks their live game is now good enough. which, of course, mine is! ;)

I'll also be playing in all of Mikes Drogheda sats except for tomorrows as i think there's money to be made outside of the SE and Fitz.
    what do u think?

edit:

there are 40-60 top players out of 150 players in these Open sats including jokers like Lenco! but if u play tight enough and then take a strong double up chance in the first hour u have a good chance of getting into the last few tables. A lot of these guys have no problem rebuying as they are specifically on the site for the Open tickets and will gamble with u. Just make sure ur ahead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭The Ace Face

Doc,

I agree with your theory, I played with you on the first table in open qualifier. I played tight and waited for double ups, I sat for a while on 7k - starting to get left behind - then I doubled up twice to 33k. Ended up reaching 100k in chips at final table and then coasted as chip leader for most of final table. The bubble went forever, I felt bad knocking Johnnyl out on bubble he was low stack and ran into my AA with A7. The intensity leading up to the bubble finishing was unbelievable.

Only dodgy hand I played was early on - BB when ( 60 chips in pot ) I called 180 chip raise with 2-4s. Hit A44 on flop and got a punter to go all in with Ax. When 4 hit on river he cursed my "bad" call. But hey an extra 120 chips with majority of table playing with massive possible return, it was worth a look ( thats my opinion! ) Won 6k in that pot alone.

Really enjoyed the event, cannot wait for April, glad I have ticket in bag,:) 575 dollars for travel from Wicklow isn't too bad! I want to try and qualify for Drogheda next, missed last one with college crap.

Played Board comp same time as PPP qualifier but got rivered 3 times in 10 mins - unbelievable ( obviously my luck transfered to PPP ) - Aldo & Cogent can testify to that. Played under The Bad Ale.

Hope to meet other boarders if I qualify to Drogheda - hope you make open Doc.

Ray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Played Board comp same time as PPP qualifier but got rivered 3 times in 10 mins - unbelievable ( obviously my luck transfered to PPP ) - Aldo & Cogent can testify to that. Played under The Bad Ale.

Ray

Yeai i remember you Ray. You made some comeback in the All-In game from taking a couple of beats to down to about 200 chips then chipping up to well over 2000 if i remember correct.
    Well done on winning the golden ticket!

all-in : Cogent

Doc,

I agree with your theory, I played with you on the first table in open qualifier. I played tight and waited for double ups, I sat for a while on 7k - starting to get left behind - then I doubled up twice to 33k. Ended up reaching 100k in chips at final table and then coasted as chip leader for most of final table. The bubble went forever, I felt bad knocking Johnnyl out on bubble he was low stack and ran into my AA with A7. The intensity leading up to the bubble finishing was unbelievable.

Only dodgy hand I played was early on - BB when ( 60 chips in pot ) I called 180 chip raise with 2-4s. Hit A44 on flop and got a punter to go all in with Ax. When 4 hit on river he cursed my "bad" call. But hey an extra 120 chips with majority of table playing with massive possible return, it was worth a look ( thats my opinion! ) Won 6k in that pot alone.

Really enjoyed the event, cannot wait for April, glad I have ticket in bag,:) 575 dollars for travel from Wicklow isn't too bad! I want to try and qualify for Drogheda next, missed last one with college crap.

Ray

congrats Ray,

i watched the final table and once u hit the 100 grand mark you were on the pigs back. nice aces on the final hand. so now u gotta wait a few weeks to see if you will be 500,000 euro richer on April 17th! well, u play a solid game like that one and you just might.

gl and buy me a pint if u do win it!
    d.

I have a 2nd ticket now for next Sunday that i won tonight in Paddy Hicks house, getting his advice all the way.

I would keep this quiet as it is considered cheating by PPP

bohsman wrote:
    I would keep this quiet as it is considered cheating by PPP

Oscar, i think you are kidding. If somebody wants to give you 'advice' you are welcome to take it or leave it. However if they are playing on a computer next to you and in the same tournament then that is definitely out of order.

In case there is any doubt there was only one computer and one account - mine.

I think this is one of Oscar's spoon stirring moments PPP. ;)

In live poker there is a one player to a hand rule, this obviously goes for online aswell. As long as you were getting advice between hands its ok but the way you said it it seemed more as if he was coaching you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

just got sunday tickets in the feeder and a free green joker ticket for march 5th :)... whats the prize pool, chip structure and avg field for drogheda?.. thanks... wd aceface good game sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Oscar, i think you are kidding. If somebody wants to give you 'advice' you are welcome to take it or leave it. However if they are playing on a computer next to you and in the same tournament then that is definitely out of order.

In case there is any doubt there was only one computer and one account - mine.

I think this is one of Oscar's spoon stirring moments PPP. ;)

Cheater!!!!! Ban Him!!!!