Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Considering joining the RDF... some insight?

• 29-01-2006 8:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭

Hey folks,

I've been reading some of the threads on the RDF, but I thought I'd go ahead and make one myself.

I'm 18, in my first year in UCD, and am looking for something interesting to do in my spare time, so I've been thinking that the RDF might be a good idea. I'm eager to do something physical and different, and love the outdoors (although I never get a chance go camping or anything like that unfortunately), so it should suit me.

Anyway, I've just got a few questions...

1. What are the different...'types' of recruitment that you can choose from? Sorry I don't know the lingo, but I saw a list a few days ago that mentioned medic, engineer, infantry, and others... Are each of these types available in each barracks? I think I saw a mention that only specific barracks train specific troops. Are all of these different types given the same basic training, or would medics only do medical stuff and leave say weaponry to the others? I ask because this site gives a list of a load of things that I'd be interested in like survival training, fieldcraft, combat training, etc., but it doesn't mention things like electronics, which I'm also interested in; so do only infantry do that training, and engineers do completely seperate stuff?

If it's relevent: I'd be going to Rathmines most likely, since that's the closest to me.

2. Are the current members welcoming to new recruits? This is a bit of a concern to me! I'm not expecting to be 'bullied' or anything, but I mean, is it very cliquey, and groups stick with each other, making it hard for new-comers to penetrate (jeez, nice innuendo!)? I'm interested in the training aspect, but I'd like to meet some new people too! Kinda related to this; are there any times of the year that recruits all join at the same time, en masse? Like do people join all through the year or is there a specific time to join? Ideally I'd like to be joining with a group, but most people I know wouldn't be too into this kinda stuff...!

3. What's the average age of the members, roughly?

4. I have a bit of damage to my ear-drums, which means I can't swim under water :( Would this hinder me at all, or would it be a problem? ie. does any of the training involve swimming under water? And would it be necessary to do it or could I get off that particular part?

That's all!

Thanks alot if you're able to help me at all :)

(sorry for the length by the way...!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Fionn

Ok
    To answer your last question first,
    As part of pre enlistment medical you will be required to undergo a hearing test. So you would have to successfully pass the hearing first than a general physical. And also there’s also a security clearence procedure.

The units available in Rathmines (Cathal Brugha Barracks) are:
    62 Res Inf Bn - Infantry unit
    62 Res CIS Coy - Communications unit
    62 Res Cav Sqn - Cavalry mechanised unit
    62 Res MP Coy - Military Police
    62 Res Logs Bn - Logistics – Transport /Medics and special staff

All recruits do basic Infantry training during their first year then continuation training and after that they usually do training specific to their unit along with advanced Infantry training.

Induction should be ongoing at present, all recruiting should be done by April to enable recruits to have the first module in their training completed.
    All units will be welcoming to new members, without new personnel the unit would cease to exist in a fairly short time. However there is discipline in the Army reserve, but bullying has no place in it and mechanisms have been put in place to prevent it. Generally lots of recruits will be in a similar position i.e. not knowing their colleagues at first but as training gets under way they gradually form into a team and they get to know one another etc.

The average age is between 17 and 20 in most cases.

Hope this helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Do you get paid, can you leave?

Pay
    Reserve personnel are paid at the same rates of pay as that of the regular army - but only when they attend at periods of full time training (usually happens during the summer)
    These rates are per week;
    Private 3* €424.71
    Private 2* €407.59
    Recruit G1 €328.72
    Plus
    €106.13 gratuity payable once per year providing the soldier undergoes 7 or more days full time training and has satisfied the criteria for award of gratuity

Leaving the RDF
    Reservists can apply for discharge from the RDF and if there is good reasons, usually the discharge will be authorised. Because it’s voluntary personnel can opt to just not attend, which is akin to leaving. Eventually they will be discharged anyway on termination of engagement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 b2p

Yeah joinin the RDF is somethin i've thought 'bout before but just haven't really had enough info, to be honest the website ain't great, so i'll ask here.

1. How many times a week do they 'train'?

2. What do you do in these 'trainings'?

3. Do you find u still have time for other things, im in first year college so I do a lot. I guess what i mean is could u be in the RDF and still have time to play sports on the weekends and all the other college craic etc.

4. U get paid for full trainings but not for the stuff during the week, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭marie_85

I was in the RDF for over a year. Generally training is one night a week for about three to four hours, if even that. There is occasional weekends away but as a recruit, there wouldn't be that many for you. However, you will be expected to do a full week or two training in the summertime. In training, you're first taught basic marching before you even go near a weapon. You don't get paid for the nights during the week however you will get paid for the full weeks training. And you also receive a gratuity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Bam Bam

Don't forget the guns:D

I've been in the reserve almost 4 years and love it.

You won't regret joining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I am thinking of joining the RDF too.

I am 5"11-6"0m, 15 stone, I have a bit of fat, but a fair bit of muscle constributes to that weight and 19 years of age and have my junior cert. I am clever enough, I dropped out of school cos I was getting bullied over a small speech problem. (I can be heard coherently may I add)

What do you think of my chances?

The military will be happy so long as you have two arms and legs.

Be prepared for some people to make fun of your speech problem.

Only joking.

Also doesn't everyone from Cork have speech problems:D

not everyone ;)

ok to cover some of the questions posted here

yes unfortunately their website is lacking somewhat!

Training is usually carried out one night per week and usually for two hours 20:00 to 22:00 hours this occurs from Jan to summer camp time usually sometime in Jul and restarts again Sep to Dec, these two hour sessions are referred to as parade nights. Training is also carried out on weekends usually Sundays depending on the location and type of training the duration can be from around four hours to six/seven hours, these are called Field Days.

For retention in the RDF a member must have 48 hours attendance during the year. In the case of a recruit he will be expected to attend at least twelve training parades or the equivalent in hours during the first six months of service. If he fails to attend this number of hours, chances are he will be discharged. For recording purposes a parade night is counted as two hours and a Field Day four hours. Attendance at Annual Training Camp will be counted as 24 hours. You'd think it should be more but thats what the higher-ups have ordained.

Training activities can involve many things depending on the unit you enlist in. But basic training would include at a minimum the following:
    • Drill, Marching etc.
    • Weapons training (includes live firing)
    • Navigation
    • First Aid
    • Field Craft,
    • Tactical training
    • Communications
    • Sports this is mainly Orienteering
    • Confidence Training Survival etc.

God I want to join this, how would I go about joining the RDF?

Decide which corp you want to join

Artillery
    Cavalry
    C.I.S.
    Infantry
    medic's
    air defence
    etc

Then ring your local military barracks and they should tell you where the nearest unit you want to join is to you

Here's a website that will help

http://www.1bderdf.com

It's a new site about 1 southern brigade RDF.

Good info on that site, obviously it's only relevant to people living in the 1 Southern Brigade RDF area which covers roughly a line from Wexford across to Clare. It gives a visitor an idea of the different units and corps in the Brigade.

This is an unofficial site, not authorised by the military authorities. But it’s much better at providing info than the official one!!
    I just wondered why the person that registered the site (Sean from Scarrif, Templemartin) would make so much of his personal information available right down to his mobile phone number. It’d be a shame, but the military authorities could make him shut it down.
    Anyway good effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Fionn wrote:
    Good info on that site, obviously it's only relevant to people living in the 1 Southern Brigade RDF area which covers roughly a line from Wexford across to Clare. It gives a visitor an idea of the different units and corps in the Brigade.

This is an unofficial site, not authorised by the military authorities. But it’s much better at providing info than the official one!!
    I just wondered why the person that registered the site (Sean from Scarrif, Templemartin) would make so much of his personal information available right down to his mobile phone number. It’d be a shame, but the military authorities could make him shut it down.
    Anyway good effort.

You will find that this site is an official site, and has been sanctioned by 1 S Bde RDF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Highlander

DaveMcG wrote:
    Hey folks,

I've been reading some of the threads on the RDF, but I thought I'd go ahead and make one myself.

I'm 18, in my first year in UCD, and am looking for something interesting to do in my spare time, so I've been thinking that the RDF might be a good idea. I'm eager to do something physical and different, and love the outdoors (although I never get a chance go camping or anything like that unfortunately), so it should suit me.

Anyway, I've just got a few questions...

1. What are the different...'types' of recruitment that you can choose from? Sorry I don't know the lingo, but I saw a list a few days ago that mentioned medic, engineer, infantry, and others... Are each of these types available in each barracks? I think I saw a mention that only specific barracks train specific troops. Are all of these different types given the same basic training, or would medics only do medical stuff and leave say weaponry to the others? I ask because this site gives a list of a load of things that I'd be interested in like survival training, fieldcraft, combat training, etc., but it doesn't mention things like electronics, which I'm also interested in; so do only infantry do that training, and engineers do completely seperate stuff?

If it's relevent: I'd be going to Rathmines most likely, since that's the closest to me.

2. Are the current members welcoming to new recruits? This is a bit of a concern to me! I'm not expecting to be 'bullied' or anything, but I mean, is it very cliquey, and groups stick with each other, making it hard for new-comers to penetrate (jeez, nice innuendo!)? I'm interested in the training aspect, but I'd like to meet some new people too! Kinda related to this; are there any times of the year that recruits all join at the same time, en masse? Like do people join all through the year or is there a specific time to join? Ideally I'd like to be joining with a group, but most people I know wouldn't be too into this kinda stuff...!

3. What's the average age of the members, roughly?

4. I have a bit of damage to my ear-drums, which means I can't swim under water :( Would this hinder me at all, or would it be a problem? ie. does any of the training involve swimming under water? And would it be necessary to do it or could I get off that particular part?

That's all!

Thanks alot if you're able to help me at all :)

(sorry for the length by the way...!)

There are also 2 Coy of An Slua Muiri (Naval Reserve) in Cathal Brugha Barracks Rathmines since other posters concentrated on Army

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭IrishAirCorps

Im in the Reserve in Galway City, we were 25th Inf Bn "A" Coy until the Re-Org, now we are the 51st Support Coy.

I have served in it for six years now and i am still currently active i woudnt change it for the World, Camps are Brilliant especially the newer Camps like the 81mm Mortar and 0.5 Heavy Machine Gun etc, its well worth it joining the RDF, i dont know about other Units but we are active every weekend shooting the Bren LMG and Steyr AUG on the Oranmore Range Area, if your seriously thinking of it then do it you get a chance to serve your Country and also it looks great on a CV as it people have found out that it shows the person is of good character, all i can asy is do it and just be good to yourself and enjoy it, they take anybody as long as your fit enough and competent and drug free, so if your the above then go and enjoy!:D

Oh and dont forget in time you will train with the Regular Army and the Irish Naval Service doing sea landings and the Irish Air Corps doing anything from Insertions by Helo etc so go on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭FuzzyWuzzyWazza

I would recommend joining, I spen 3 years (well 2 active) in the 2nd Field MP's, great crack. The only reason I left was tha I started doing shift work and would miss half the year.

I would suggest going for something other then basic infantry, you will still get to do all or most of what they do in the other units. I spent a week or so on basic Infantry training in an active barrics in Dundalk and I was a MP. But where as the infintary lads where just training on the FN rifel, we trained on the FN, Browning automatic pistol (BAP), Gustaf Sub Machine Gun and some others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭woody

Why Dont you consider joining the PDF as from past experience the training and attitude of the RDF is much to be not admired.

If you are considering a career in the army stay away from the RDF as we had to deprogram a lot of "Walter Mitty Commando's" from Bullsh1t mode to being a real soldier and finding out it is not so glorious or drink fuelled as the RDF is.

Although away from the negatives if you have an option to stay away from the Infantry units which are full of wasters, look at the Engineers or CIS as they seem to be a little more professional even in the RDF capacity...

I have trained the RDF on one or two camps and to be honest it is a joke and if the resources and proper training was put in place maybe they would be up to the British TA standard even for going oversea's which will never happen.

Most of the time the RDF is a cheap drinking club, more or less...And for some people to play a game, which in reality is not and is very dangerous and time consuming if you do it for a living...

Grrr.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

woody wrote:
    Why Dont you consider joining the PDF as from past experience the training and attitude of the RDF is much to be not admired.

If you are considering a career in the army stay away from the RDF as we had to deprogram a lot of "Walter Mitty Commando's" from Bullsh1t mode to being a real soldier and finding out it is not so glorious or drink fuelled as the RDF is.

Although away from the negatives if you have an option to stay away from the Infantry units which are full of wasters, look at the Engineers or CIS as they seem to be a little more professional even in the RDF capacity...

I have trained the RDF on one or two camps and to be honest it is a joke and if the resources and proper training was put in place maybe they would be up to the British TA standard even for going oversea's which will never happen.

Most of the time the RDF is a cheap drinking club, more or less...And for some people to play a game, which in reality is not and is very dangerous and time consuming if you do it for a living...

wasters, walter mitty's and binge drinking bums are not the norm in my unit.

None of the above is encouraged. What is encouraged is listening to your NCOs and commanding officers, carrying out every single task from section attacks to cleaning the kitchens to 24hr guards to the utmost of your ability.

Woody, calm down, you cannot paint the entire organisation with the same brush.

Just because you trained RDF units "once or twice", suddenly you think you have enough authority to say that RDF infantry units are full of wasters???

Ive friends who have gone from our RDF infantry unit to PDF and yes of course thereis a different attitude in the PDF that hasnt yet been fully captured in the RDF,but it is changing. These ex RDF guys often come down to see us when theyre not on duty and the tell us that we are doing pretty good and covering quite a lot of the training syllabus that they cover.

Look CIS and Engineers are there and medics if you want.

Indeed the RDF Air defence and the Naval reserve are the most fully integrated reserve troops, but infantry have the most fun.

If fun is your idea of 3 nights in a forest,
    sleeping in pools of water, covered in muck and insect bites,
    crawling through sheep turds,
    no lights or sound when moving into or out of basecamps in darkness,
    no communication other than very very low level talking,
    split in twos and staying awake/resting off (not sleeping) hour on hour off all night.
    Marching for Kilometres,
    setting up ambushes and waiting in very uncomfortable positions for hours before finally putting in an attack in which you will probably have to wade through waste high pools of stagnant water!

I could go on, I love it, the fieldcraft is excellent, yeah were not PDF soldiers but were not FCA either, those days are fast being left behind.

PDF in our parent unit show us respect when we turn up on parade nights in the main barracks.

Our NCO's backed up by our PDF cadre staff are always quick help us out and ensure were dont clusterf*ck in the field on exercises or on duties.

There are more pros than cons to being in an infantry unit, but then thats just my opinion.

testicle wrote:
    You will find that this site is an official site, and has been sanctioned by 1 S Bde RDF.

nope it isn't, however it's being reviewed at the moment. Obviously if it becomes official it will be hosted in Ireland on the official military.ie website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 5s's

Considering Joining the RDF.

DON'T. It's full of moronic teenagers who for some reason think they have a purpose within the Defence Forces.

Just like the PDF then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Fionn wrote:
    nope it isn't, however it's being reviewed at the moment. Obviously if it becomes official it will be hosted in Ireland on the official military.ie website

You will find that you have been somewhat misinformed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

I've had an inclination to join the RDF for a while now; here's the website of the Dún Laoghaire Battalion- http://www.62infantry.com/. It's got quite a lot of info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭PDD

Hi Guys,

I was just wondering if anyone around mid-20's was in the RDF. A mate of mine is a 3* I think and he has been trying to get me to join for a while now.

I would be interested for the sake of physical fitness and also looking to learn about leadership and command. I was wondering if anyone out there around that age bracket is in the RDF and if they could shine a little light on this.

I work as an IT consultant so Im guessing that CIS would be obvious choice but I was wondering if there is anyone from CIS that can explain how the duties would be different to an Infantry battalion.

PDD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Moved to the Military forum as it is of most relevance there.

There are other threads in "volunteerisim" that are about the RDF too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

This was the one highlighted to me. I'm sure you can dig the other links up for me like a good chap :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I don't think there's any need to go back to 1998 and move every thread on the subject into the new forum... This was the only one on the first page, so I'm sure moving any more threads that pop their heads up in Volunteerism, and belong in Military, will be moved :)

Thanks for moving this BTW!

All ye RDF-heads can feel free to keep providing your insight, if ye like! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭deise_boi

Hey, been thinking about joining this for some time now. Just wondering if anyone here could tell me if there is any other options open to recruits in the Waterford Barracks? Is there only the option of being in the regular infantry or can you branch out into other areas (eg. medic, MP etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

For 3rd level students the Naval Service Reserve is a very good option to earn money, you can elect to go on patrol on board the ships for 2 or 3 weeks at a time up to a max of 42 days per year, this also attracts patrol duty allowance of €50 per day on top of line pay which means you could make €110 per day or €4620 per year, not a bad summer job but in practise a lot of students also go on mid-terms. There were 2 reservist aboard the Eithne when she went to South America this year so foreign trips are not ruled out.

There are four training locations,
    Cork - Tuesday nights: Collins Barracks
    Dublin - Tuesday nights: Cathal Brugha
    Waterford - Wednesday nights: Waterford Military Barracks
    Limerick - Wednesday nights: Sarsfield Barracks

Potential recruits can turn up on a training night and ask to join, bring a birth cert and two passport photos - simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭theliam

im considering joining, how long does it take to join? whats the story with drug testing? can you enlist any time of year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

theliam wrote:
    im considering joining, how long does it take to join? whats the story with drug testing? can you enlist any time of year?

Drugs and firearms don't mix. If you want to do drugs, stick to bongs not bangs.

I don't think having a joint once a week is gonna distort his perception too much, for when he does get to fire a gun.

Perhaps someone can fill us in on the deal with drug-testing, though.

DaveMcG wrote:
    I don't think having a joint once a week is gonna distort his perception too much, for when he does get to fire a gun.
    I must have missed where he said what he used and how often he used it.:rolleyes:

NMM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

i just wondering how old you have to be to be able to join the reservers.

and also how do you get into the rangers do you have to be in the defence force and then they pick the elite or what ?????:D

Hagar wrote:
    I must have missed where he said what he used and how often he used it.:rolleyes:

NMM
    Well then the blanket statement "Drugs and firearms don't mix" is pointless.

random drug testing is done,
    you need to be 17 or over.
    Ranger's applied for a course to become a Ranger, you have to be a member of the PDF to apply. After applying you have to be accepted on the course and then you have to pass the course, i'm told it's not easy...

DaveMcG wrote:
    Well then the blanket statement "Drugs and firearms don't mix" is pointless.
    No it's not. Drugs, legally sanctioned or otherwise impair judgement.
    People with impaired judgement should not use firearms.

NMM

Obviously people would not be encouraged to do target practice while they're locked or stoned. I would imagine that theliam is more worried about that joint he smoked 3 weeks ago turning up on a drug test, than if he's allowed to get stoned in the barracks.

Anyway we're getting off-topic. According to OwenM, testing is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Note the word 'random', ie meaning ANY time, not just any person at a set time, soldiers can be picked at any time to do drug tests, so doesnt matter when you 'smoked your joint', the next day you could be picked to do a test and if there is drugs found in your system its bye bye to the army.

I agree with Hagar, drugs impair judgement, put others at risk and should not be combined with firearms!!

Except alcohol of course...:o

I presume you mean people shouldn't use drugs while intoxicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

awhir wrote:
    and also how do you get into the rangers do you have to be in the defence force and then they pick the elite or what ?????:D

Back to what someone said about Walter Mittys ... :rolleyes:

Not an expert on this by any means (just what I've read up on) - but I doubt you can just walk into the ARW because you did x amount of time in the RDF.
    OwenM wrote:
    Ranger's applied for a course to become a Ranger, you have to be a member of the PDF to apply. After applying you have to be accepted on the course and then you have to pass the course, i'm told it's not easy...

This makes more sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭theliam

DaveMcG wrote:
    Obviously people would not be encouraged to do target practice while they're locked or stoned. I would imagine that theliam is more worried about that joint he smoked 3 weeks ago turning up on a drug test, than if he's allowed to get stoned in the barracks.

Anyway we're getting off-topic. According to OwenM, testing is done.

yeah i could stop, easy! but how long is it from the time you sign up to the time you start training? and for that matter how long does hash stay in your system?

A habitual cannabis user can be detected up to four weeks after cessation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

there is random drugs test even in the rdf it works like a lotto system they draw a camp from a hat then 2 or 3 letters of the alphabet and who ever's surname starts with that letter they will be tested refusal will count as a negitive :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭skink

babybundy wrote:
    there is random drugs test even in the rdf it works like a lotto system they draw a camp from a hat then 2 or 3 letters of the alphabet and who ever's surname starts with that letter they will be tested refusal will count as a negitive :p

that is not how it works, i will post the system when i dig it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

thats how i have been told it works by PA's and officers well select who to test