Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drive By Egging

• 28-01-2006 12:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭

Yeaterday, whilst waiting for the last bus home, a car drove by any suddenly an egg came flying at me and smashed all over my jacket. You cannot chase a car down and beat the **** out of the perpetrators so I was left there feeling pissed off and filthy. Has anybody else had recent experiences such as this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Yeah, a few times. I got hit once in the face.
    My friend threw a rock at them and broke one of their lights.
    Serves them right, pricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Why would someone do that unless they are fcukin 7yrs old???
    A friend of mine told me a few months back that while driving she waved at the odd stranger on the street to confuse them. I seriously had to question her sanity after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

hmmm... when I was in school, I was walking in a crowd through the corridor, and someone threw a full orange full-force in that general direction, and by luck it hit me in the eye

:(

It hurt. But also, my little cousin was coming home that day, so I was in a very happy mood before it happened! Then I had to cycle home with half of my face red and my eyes on fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

If I were there at the time to see that I wouldn't have been able to stop laughing. Maybe it was someone who didn't like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

If you dont mind me asking, what kind of car was it? i know alot of idiots that do that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

where about did it happen?
    I heard about a "drive-by egging" on Kielys in Donnybrook once after a rugger match... pelting all the fans outside have a smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Yeah, it happened my friend a few weeks ago in the Rathmines or Rathgar area (can't remember where she said she was).

And these idiots are allowed drive cars?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

During one of the summers 'hot days' in Skerries someone drove by with a water pistol... friendly chap cooling us down ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

i was standing outside donaghmede shopping centre once, talking to a friend, a car pulled up (this is in the car park like) rolled down the window, fired about 2gallons of water at me out of one of those uber soakers, and drove off laughing....i was so moist. :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

A friend of mine told me a few months back that while driving she waved at the odd stranger on the street to confuse them. I seriously had to question her sanity after that.
    Ah lighten up!
    I beep and wave at random strangers all the time. makes for some light-hearted fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Ruaidhri wrote:
    I beep and wave at random strangers all the time. makes for some light-hearted fun!

:rolleyes: If you say so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Funnily enough.. was on my way to work yesterday morning and saw a load of smashed eggs all over the ground

- it's becoming an epidemic!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I am deathly allergic to eggs, and any contact with them has me in hospital for a couple of days.......so thats something to look out for...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

If you can, get the number of the car and go to the garda. It's assault, they take it very seriously and will prosecute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

blorg wrote:
    If you can, get the number of the car and go to the garda. It's assault, they take it very seriously and will prosecute.
    Didn't get the reg and it wouldn't be worth the hassle anyway. Better to just bitch about it on Boards.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Yeaterday, whilst waiting for the last bus home, a car drove by any suddenly an egg came flying at me and smashed all over my jacket. You cannot chase a car down and beat the **** out of the perpetrators so I was left there feeling pissed off and filthy. Has anybody else had recent experiences such as this?
    I'd say that was WWM*

*See location

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

blorg wrote:

Take it seriously? Prosecute?

I was forced off the N4 on my motobike by a car full of scum. Caught up to them, and thought about putting their windshield through but instead got the reg and left it with the gardai. Checked back tw weeks later. They said they were still trying to track down the car! They had the reg the muppets. The only way you'll get justice here is your own kind of justice (The chuck Norris Kind!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Litcagral

blorg wrote:

No doubt they will scramble some hard boiled detectives to poach these evil yokes. I'm sure these small fry will crack under questioning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭sportswear

throwin eggs is great craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

They should track them down and put them in stocks on O'Connell street for a public egging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Thigs like this happen on the looser-cruiser.

*I bet my car will break down now that I said that*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Shake your fist and shout jibberish. That will show those bad bad men!!!!

lol, or pretend like youve been shot in slow motion, fall back real slowly arms wailing going "noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Flex

joejoem wrote:
    lol, or pretend like youve been shot in slow motion, fall back real slowly arms wailing going "noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo"

or just carry a tray of eggs around with ya everyday so if it happens again youll be armed and ready to fire back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

They should track them down and put them in stocks on O'Connell street for a public egging.

Sounds eggsellent.

Flex wrote:
    or just carry a tray of eggs around with ya everyday so if it happens again youll be armed and ready to fire back

wow, problemsolved. your good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Flex

joejoem wrote:
    wow, problemsolved. your good.

all those years in college finally paying off ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Repli wrote:
    Sounds eggsellent.
    Yar!

Some arsehole threw an egg at me and my mates a few years ago, completely missed so we started laughing. Next minute he stopped the car and chased us around the estate, with his mates in the car trying to corner us. Feck!n maniacs.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

whiskeyman wrote:
    I heard about a "drive-by egging" on Kielys in Donnybrook once after a rugger match... pelting all the fans outside have a smoke.

LOL they're all mad roight in donnybrook...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

i hear WWM like doing it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Litcagral wrote:
    No doubt they will scramble some hard boiled detectives to poach these evil yokes. I'm sure these small fry will crack under questioning.

I laughed my ass off at that :D Just because it is so crap it's good!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Nidge

whiskeyman wrote:

Am I the only one who has sympathy for all the other victims who've posted except for the ones involved in this post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

that happened to me before, i was all dressed up for a night out on the tiles. i turned around for a split second, all of a sudden i was coveed in yolk.. thankfully just my jacket which means i didnt have to change my pretty clothes =)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

A few years ago I was walking down Appian Way in the rain when a car drove full force into a puddle about 20 yards ahead of me which drenched a guy walking along in a suit.

He ran after the car and caught up with it at the traffic lights. He then proceeded to drag the driver out and start punching him repeatedly. After about two minutes he let him go and continued on his way.

From my vantage point I saw the car swerve into the puddle so it was deliberate on the driver's part.

Good enough for him.
    Drivers who deliberately splash pedestrians deserve to meet those mysterious walls in the early hours of the morning that end their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Happened to me twice. Once in Milltown, egg hit me but bounced off. Second time was around Ballsbridge, was drunk and didnt realise I was under fire, all three missed me and the car sped off. I wish I had a portable spike-strip. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Im not proud of this :o , but back in sa we would drive around with a baseball bat and take out people's post boxes :o .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    A few years ago I was walking down Appian Way in the rain when a car drove full force into a puddle about 20 yards ahead of me which drenched a guy walking along in a suit.

This is actually illegal, Driving without due care and attention. you can sue if this happens to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

This is actually illegal, Driving without due care and attention. you can sue if this happens to you.

Ye, lets turn ireland into the next america :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

it could be lethal what with avian flu and all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Im not proud of this :o , but back in sa we would drive around with a baseball bat and take out people's post boxes :o .

Did you do it while the driver was shouting "YEEEEEEHAW" and there was another fellow in the truck bed playing a banjo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Ruaidhri wrote:
    Ah lighten up!

agreed! thats great bloody craic! and sure they love it too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

I do that sometimes. If I bored I might give someone a beep and then a frantic wave as I flash past.

Their faces go from self-absorbed, to smily, to confused in about 0.3 seconds.
    Their wave very quickly loses velocity as they realise they have no idea who you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭toffeapple

Rather than carring a tray of eggs...carry a bottle of vodka in a brown bag(dress like a tramp if this helps) and this can be used as a molotov cocktail should this situation arise again....you can be garunteed someone on fire will think twice about throwing eggs.....either that or buy a car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

sportswear wrote:
    throwin eggs is great craic
    it certainly is, and anyone who has done it will confirm this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

it sounds pretty funny what happened to be honest! Anyway this is kind of sick, but about 15 years ago on a train back from Newry to Heuston or Connolly, my brother's mate shat into some toilet roll in his hand, and threw it out the window onto some poor unfortunate's face waiting at Harmonstown Dart station, as they whizzed by on the express train. He hit him BANG ON in the face, at a high speed. I think we were about 14 at the time. I can't stop laughing when I think back of it now, but imagine the horror that poor git went through!!