Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rag Week

• 27-01-2006 5:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭

So the rag week line up came out today, what does everyone think?: same old- same old? or good potential to get everyone involved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

What happened to the beer and spagethi race and dodgeball tournament? And ow do you enter the iron stomach (which I'll win hands down if I fidn out how to enter).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

First off, you dont post twice. secondly you just enter on the day. it takes place in front of the camponile and they'll ask for people to enter - and i doubt you will - but i'll cheer you on anyhow :D

dec you and dave(isnt it?) going in for it again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

anyone going on the mystery tour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

The line up of stuff looks like fun - i'm just wondering where the fundraising bit will be, well, except for the VdP street collection (v good idea giving a free t shirt to people doing that).

Will there be buckets passed round at things like the iron stomach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Oirthir

cuckoo wrote:
    Will there be buckets passed round at things like the iron stomach?

So many jokes, not enough time............ :rolleyes:

Oirthir wrote:
    So many jokes, not enough time............ :rolleyes:
    I took up smoking again at the iron stomach last year to ward off the vomit smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

What happened to the beer and spagethi race and dodgeball tournament? And ow do you enter the iron stomach (which I'll win hands down if I fidn out how to enter).
    Pfft right.. you might win this year (depends on the competition), but you wouldn't have come close the last 4 years. Not with myself and dave there the last two (dave especially), or the guy who won it two years in a row before that. He was simply amazing.

My mate actually has a recording of last years iron stomach. I'll be getting it on dvd. Some very depraved stuff happened on that, any chance someone could help me (neil? even hint me in how to do it) put together a short montage of said depravity off the dvd and make it available for download? Show bartronilic what he has to live up to?

Unfortunately myself and dave will likely not be entering this year. Both tempted but jayzus it takes it's toll, and we've done it already, twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

tried to organise dodgeball or touch american football but the sports people wouldnt allow it. beer and spaghetti has been changed to the pub crawl lunch thing.

to enter I.S. be at campanile at 1 prize this year is one hundred euro and iron stomach 2006 champion - SciFi hoodie. and all entrants technically get a free lunch!!

there will be people collecting at all events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Yay Damo! yay Kíla!
    That is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭nosmo

yay Kíla!
    Best looking part of the week for me tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭sleepingbeauty

i heard kila (buttery, friday) are supposed to be good so might go to that. well maybe...meh ill see :) might do see iron stomach thing for first time if i remember! other than that im guessing its just normal boring rag week really, havent read the flier thingys but sure thats prob a good enough guess!

nosmo wrote:
    Best looking part of the week for me tbh

hmmmm, the music's good and all but i wouldn't see them scoring all that highly on 'hot or not' - they sort of look a little dishevelled.

100 euro? Will be the easiest 100 euro of my life.

Do you have any idea of the stuff they've been made to eat?

:confused: What on earth do you normally eat that the vile dishes presented to IS contestants don't faze you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

shhh, he's young, i wanna see his attempt.

Yeah, seriously, i'll be there chanting "BARTONILLIC, GWAN!" - if i feel in the mood i might even give it a shot this year.

You know what the comp is about right? It's not like most of this sort, the idea isn't to keep the food down..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=185313

i wonder could someone make it right the way through without vomiting - that'd be amazing.

When I was in first year there was a chap who came second (maybe third?) without vomiting. He really didn't look healthy at the end. I just remember him lying down on the stage, unable to fit any more "food" into his stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

there was a guy who had to be brought to hospital a few years ago, he was grand in the end!

betcha he just needed to go to the loo (hell, its what my mom always suggested when i complained about stomach problems)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭air_vent

Unfortunately I will not be able to whip any bodys ass this year in the Iron Stomach, because if I did there would be a good chance that my stomach will inplode and I will bleed to death.

Some how I do not think that last years spectacle will be beaten ;some nasty ****e went down last time and I would only have to better it this year.

To that bulltronic lad or who ever you are best of luck enjoy puking vinegar up for the hour after its over, now thats the fun part nobody sees.

Stop trying to scare me, it's not working! As long as it doesn't give me food poisining I should be grand (I want to have lunch afterwards). Do you have to eat the eyes of the rotting fish? Or do you actually eat rotting fish?

Vinegar? Pah easy.

we're not trying to scare you actually - if you pm me your name i'll cheer yeh on all the way :D

the stuff that'll win you isnt just eating stuff, its showmanship - yeh gotta be the weirdest person up there (or in tracy's case, cover yourself in cooking oil and rub your breasts apparently).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Damn, I'd love to go but I can't. This will be my second year missing the RAG week iron stomach competition. Ah well..maybe next year..

I heard methyled spirits were used one time in UCD. Em doesn't that kill you?! If they give us anything poisonous or killer I will step off the stage. Bugs, pig heads, vinegar, butter, cavier, grass, grapefruits, cookign oil etc is grand. But metyled spirits rotting fish heads is not.

ah the lads who run it have more sense...then again barry is involved in making the food so yeh never know :p

Wasn't there also live goldfish at the UCD one a few years ago, and there was a big fuss about it?

Live anything would be disgusting, and also i think waaaaay out of line. I like watching goldfish swimming around happily, not dangling over some green tinged IS contestants mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

cuckoo wrote:
    Wasn't there also live goldfish at the UCD one a few years ago, and there was a big fuss about it?

Live anything would be disgusting, and also i think waaaaay out of line. I like watching goldfish swimming around happily, not dangling over some green tinged IS contestants mouth.

You haven't seen the state of my aquarium then... :eek:

Live animals would not be nice... but freshly prepared live grass wouldn't be against anyone's conscience right? People never think about the poor vegetables! :mad:

*edit* typooooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Thirdfox wrote:
    You haven't seen the state of my aquarium then... :eek:

Live animals would not be nice... but freshly prepared live grass wouldn't be against anyone's conscience right? People never think about the poor vegatables! :mad:
    I saw recently on television (gettin old so it could have been anything up to five years ago!), Jeremy Clarkson was doing a feature on french food, and to cut a long (and superlative filled) yarn short, there's a funky delecacy thing that involves some sort of sparrow being cooked whole in some class of leaf and then eaten. Whole. We should show those UCD fools something similar to this by making the contenders eat a live rat. Whole. That'll take the whole jackass fool thing up a level, up to the classy level.

a live rat eh? John2, willing to sacrifice any for the good of mankind? :)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

my stomach Hurts..... its punishing me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

a live rat eh? John2, willing to sacrifice any for the good of mankind? :)

I sacrificed 14 of them today for the good of mankind. I miss the poor bastards.

:(:(:(:(

92772691_e94f6e46ce.jpg
    Pinky: Thinker, artist, friend.
    2005-2006

Dead Ed wrote:
    I saw recently on television (gettin old so it could have been anything up to five years ago!), Jeremy Clarkson was doing a feature on french food, and to cut a long (and superlative filled) yarn short, there's a funky delecacy thing that involves some sort of sparrow being cooked whole in some class of leaf and then eaten. Whole. We should show those UCD fools something similar to this by making the contenders eat a live rat. Whole. That'll take the whole jackass fool thing up a level, up to the classy level.

Nope, I saw that too!

It is an illegal delicacy in France where they keep a baby sparrow-like bird in a darkened box and feed it all the time (the bird will keep eating as long as it's in the dark).

Then they drowned the bird in a vat of wine and eat it, bones and all!

Slugs for dessert anyone? :D

I'm quite nervous. Milk put through a rugby player's sock? wtf

No way I'm not nervous about eating anything. Just nervous that I might get second and not first ;)

cuckoo wrote:
    At the competition.. I'd well swallow a goldfish. Pales in comparison to rubbing a ketchuped gateaux cake in somebody else's vomit on the ground and then eating it. Still think you're up for it bartronillic? eh? eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭air_vent

ApeXaviour wrote:
    At the competition.. I'd well swallow a goldfish. Pales in comparison to rubbing a ketchuped gateaux cake in somebody else's vomit on the ground and then eating it. Still think you're up for it bartronillic? eh? eh?

Must try and get some clips off will to show off the spectale that was last year, for some reason I think this year will pale in comparison. ME and Apex got worse as time went on trying to out do each other in vile acts.
    I wonder where my half eaten t-shirt is love that thing!

While your up there its really easy to eat anything, live fish would be a great laugh, french kissing and playing battenberg tounge hockey with a pigs head is a different story.............................

I have my video camera with me - tempted to record a bit of it tbh.

I got my camera... wanted to bring the SLR but that would be a bit OTT I thought...

say hi when yeh see me recording then thirdfox :)

Board finished, and as I left one of the first things I saw was the Iron Stomach. Classy.

Hahah classic timing :)

say hi when yeh see me recording then thirdfox :)

I saw your post too late! :(

Were you the one with the handheld video camera?

Any chance of getting the highlights posted up?

That would've been me alright - i'll have a look at it at the weekend and see what classic moments there are :)

Only one girl... and no rubbing oil on herself... *sigh* can't have everything I suppose - the vomitting was good, especially the bit why the runner up vomitted into his cup and drank it back down... :)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

<--- Official TCD milk challange Champion

choc milk and Butter milk are not a good combo....

That was you??? Congrats man!

So, did bartronillic actually enter i wonder?