Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shams CD!

• 26-01-2006 1:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

Anyone heard that Shams CD?, They are a Limerick based comedy crowd. I went to buy one yesterday and they were Sold out. Is it good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,310 ✭✭✭irishguy

Anyone heard that Shams CD?, They are a Limerick based comedy crowd. I went to buy one yesterday and they were Sold out. Is it good?
    the rubber bandits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

Yeah, ... is it another crowd??
    That isnt in shops (i'd imagine they'd have said here if it was!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Carlito Perez

That isnt in shops (i'd imagine they'd have said here if it was!!)[/QUOTE]

good point Limerick man, I bought the shams cd thinking it woz the rubber bandits. And I woz so disapointed its very poor. They are a bit of a rubber bandits rip off just without the humour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭kyp_durron

Who are the Shams?

Do they do prank calls like the Rubber Bandits?

I wouldn't like the idea of paying for their cd if they're not as good as the Rubber Bandits. Especially seeing as the Rubber Bandits cd is free.

I just went and listened to the shams cd more. It is a disgrace they are stealing Lines from Rubber bandits fonecalls and everything. They are clearly bjust rubber bandits fans who are trying to be like them. they dont have any talent anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

The rubber bandits were funnier in my opinion. I have the CD here and it is mostly sketches involving RLO presenters. one of "the shams" is an RLO newsreader whose name escapes me at this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

Have to agree with all here.... got a copy of the shams cd and it is very disappointing. It could only be mildly humourous to those who are from limerick.... basing the whole thing around RLO is a complete farce to be honest. I mean, (however funny he is), who outside the reaches of the broadcast area, would know who the fcuk Gerry Hannon or Jim from Oola are?

That is the main difference between these hacks and the Rubber bandits... Rubber bandits humour for the most part transcends the localisations. Ok, if you know what a limerick knacker sounds like for example, you'll find it even funnier, but nevertheless, you dont have to be familiar with what goes on to enjoy it,... the humour and wit is still there.

It is first and foremost a money making scheme - the cds are being flogged for 7 lids (last I heard). But the overall product is at best, a half-smile tinged 40 minutes of brain drain. Very disappointing stuff, and a poor effort at an attempt to rip off some of the finest home-grown improvised comedy around.

Sounds rubbish, all the same wherre can you buy it?

Bob, Roper rock, keep it up, great band. ROCK!! a.m.c. Rule.

Just outa da Icon.

Langers!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Rubberbandits

Yes we have heard the shams Cd, Yes we acknowledge that they are very heavilly influenced by our work. Yes I cry with embarrassment when someone thinks "the shams" is our new CD. I ask all to dispell any rumours that the Rubberbandits were involved in the creation of "the Shams" CD.
    We also apologise to those who mistakenly purchased "the shams" CD thinking it was the Rubberbandits.
    Our new CD is completed, Getting someone to sell it is another story. If our CD ever gets into a shop the public will be informed.
    Thank you friends.

Would empire not sell it?

kyp_durron wrote:
    Would empire not sell it?
    Or just sell it on ebay, Itunes or your own website

The problem is that it is illegal to record phonecalls, therefore it is illegal to sell. We are less likely to get in trouble if we distribute it freely like the first cd.

Ye should put up a few of the phonecalls on your website, generate a bit of interest, Then flog it out of the back of a van.

The problem is that it is illegal to record phonecalls, therefore it is illegal to sell. We are less likely to get in trouble if we distribute it freely like the first cd.
    Get peoples consent, mabey offer them somthing to get there consent.

Just an idea.

If you were to seek people's concent to publish the phone calls, also they might be more willing to agree to this if a percentage of what you made went to a good cause, i.e millford hospice or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

ya good idea Billy, id say that would work, donate some of the proceeds to a local charity

Just an idea.

If you were to seek people's concent to publish the phone calls, also they might be more willing to agree to this if a percentage of what you made went to a good cause, i.e millford hospice or something.

Savage idea Billy, that just might work.

Just an idea.

That’s a good idea there is a great level of support for Milford hospice in Limerick and you would also be doing some nice for the community. I couldn’t see how anyone could refuse you, now you just have to find all those people you rang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭radioman

well it's not like they don't have their phone numbers or anything ;)

radioman wrote:
    well it's not like they don't have their phone numbers or anything ;)
    Well it was done a few years ago and i am guessing not all those people are working in the same place any more

To be honest we dont have any of the phone numbers from the first CD, but we do have the numbers for the new one. But does anyone know is it ok to ask for consent after the call, should you not tell them the call is being recorded first?

as long as it has not been published it is ok to the best of my knowledge.

it wouldnt be genuine if they knew they were being recorded before the call was made.

i would say it would be fine after, look at any of those prank shows on tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭sioda

Most of those shows are american and the privacy laws here are a lot stricter

sioda wrote:

This is correct, I think it has something to do with Charlie Haughey.

Does anyone think there would be a public interest in a Rubberbandits sketch CD? All the Familiar Characters in scripted situations, or do people just want to hear us prank call?

Yes indeed, I would love to hear that.

ya id like to hear that too

sioda wrote:

Gareth O'Callighan's wind up calls were not breaking the law. Remember them during his Gareth O'Callighan in the Afternoon program in the early nineties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

Gareth O'Callighan's wind up calls were not breaking the law. Remember them during his Gareth O'Callighan in the Afternoon program in the early nineties.

I remember those very well, one in particular springs to mind, where he phone a guy up and told him the results from his medical exam were back and revealed that he was in fact homosexual.... your man lost it, saying how could this be.....very distressed. When Gareth revealed the gag, your man threatened him with "You'll be hearing from my solicitor" and hung up.
    Kyp, metal to the kettle bro!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 CarewParkAFC

Is there any more RB CD'S available? I have a cassette of ye're original stuff eg. Child minder, hidden hearing guy, etc.

Get back if u can

From CPAFC

We have 2 brand new CDs that are just lying around doing nothing because of legal things. To be honest, if we could just properly copyright the ideas and characters we would have no problem with them circulating freely like the first CD. There isnt that much money to be made from CDs anyway, what with CD burners, file sharing and that carry on.

cheapest way of copyrighting something is posting a copy of it to yourself, and leave it in the sealed envelope. that way the date on the envelope is proof that it was created before anything that comes after it.

say you post a copy of the CD to yourself in February 2006 and someone tries in May 2007 to sell something you done as their idea, you have proof that you did it first because of the circle date stamp on your sealed envelope.

Does it cost much to copyright your work? I'm not up to speed on corpyright law but it couldn't cost that much could it?

Two CDs you say! Are they all prank calls?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Airblazer

kyp_durron wrote:
    Does it cost much to copyright your work? I'm not up to speed on corpyright law but it couldn't cost that much could it?

costs a couple of hundred euro at least..

as for the rubberbandits..remember cork96fm released their cd of prank phone calls so i presume once you get people's permission u should have no problem

kyp_durron wrote:

Yes two CDs, one of them is entirely prank calls and the other is a sketch cd with prank calls that revolve around a central story.
    We also write plays and make avant garde classical music but those projects will never grace the public ears as the work is bereft of aesthetic beauty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭jay_haych

im jay, one of the shams. sorry to hear none of ye seemed to like our cd but i want to clear up one thing

i hadnt even heard of the rubber bandits until after we made our cd.

we made a few skits just having a laugh and gerry hannan liked it and played them on air. people wanted to buy a cd so we made one and we sold 300 (exactly) copies in december alone at 7 bucks a head. it paid for our christmas and we had a laugh

so some people must have liked it.

most of the skits were directed at the RLO audience but thats because they were the ones who wanted the cd.

having never heard a single rubber bandit skit any plageurism is entirely coincidental.

if they were impersonating the hooded fraternity then obviously the ideas would overlap.

if you want to hear some of our skits go here
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=K589K9HB
    we're not professionals dudes, we're just having a laugh.

*to download, click on the link and and on the right of the "MEGAUPLOAD" logo there should be a clock counting down from 45 seconds. At 0 seonds you can download*

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=K589K9HB

jay_haych wrote:
    im jay, one of the shams. sorry to hear none of ye seemed to like our cd but i want to clear up one thing

i hadnt even heard of the rubber bandits until after we made our cd

your uncle was caught by the rubber bandits JH.
    http://www.livinghistory.ie/~billy/RubberBanditsGerryHannon.mp3
    we made a few skits just having a laugh and gerry hannan liked it and played them on air. people wanted to buy a cd so we made one and we sold 300 (exactly) copies in december alone at 7 bucks a head. it paid for our christmas and we had a laugh.

Well, when you look at it like that, the skits were based on the station they were being broadcast on, so anyone who has never listened to Radio Limerick One would not have found them funny. I will be honest and say that I only found them mildly funny, except one or two, the Hell computers one particularly.

the other is a sketch cd with prank calls that revolve around a central story.

Is that the eagerly awaited "All hands on declan"?
    Does it have any characters from the first CD?
    Sounds like a good idea, look forward to their release.

JH I am having trouble downloading the files from megaupload.com I can see the files but am unable to find a link to download them. does one have to register with the website to hear the files?

No you don't have to register.

You just wait until the countdown timer thing in the top righthand corner reachs zero, then a pop up ad jumps in front of the timer(which turns into the link), kill the ad and click on the link, simple as.

kyp_durron wrote:
    No you don't have to register.

You just wait until the countdown timer thing in the top righthand corner reachs zero, then a pop up ad jumps in front of the timer(which turns into the link), kill the ad and click on the link, simple as.

thats the grandest grazzie

you have to wait 45 seconds then kill the pop up ad. it should be behind it

http://www.geocities.com/theshamslimerick/index.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Kipper Mac

Hi to all, bandit(s) and others. The shams first cd is a fair attempt at a good oul laugh at our own. It's fresh in the sense that there is no outside party involved,no phone calls to others, just a few lads with a fair oul grasp of scobes and how they act. The rubber bandits had a cd yeeeeeeears ago
    and about 2% of it was funny the rest was ok,if you're 13.
    If any shams are logged in, HURRY ON WITH THE SECOND CD!!!!

Kipper Mac wrote:
    Hi to all, bandit(s) and others. The shams first cd is a fair attempt at a good oul laugh at our own. It's fresh in the sense that there is no outside party involved,no phone calls to others, just a few lads with a fair oul grasp of scobes and how they act. The rubber bandits had a cd yeeeeeeears ago

The Shams skits are ok, but only ok, I hope they do a lot better with their second effort. I wouldn't call it fresh either in fairness as it's just a skit CD, which is hardly the most original medium for comedy. but still it's good to hear some local humor, so fair play in that regard.

I think it's the general consensus that the 'bandits are talented guys and would apeel to more then 13 year olds.

Kipper Mac wrote:
    Sounds like Kipper Mac is one of the Shams, promoting themselves!

Big time,

But benefit of the doubt and all that.

Well to give free reign to the rubberbandits to promote themselves and to not do the same for the shams would be unfair.

But I will say the same thing to the shams that I ahve said to the rubberbandits. I will not have you quoteing prices for any CDs here, nor will I have you trying to sell them through the forum.

It might sound hard, but I have to give everyone the same treatment, so don't think that I am picking on you.

If the shams have a website I can add it to the limerick Links sticky though.

as i said in my first post, im one of the shams and as the other 2 shams are computer illiterate i dont think its one of them and kipper is not me. anything i have to say i will say under jay haych.

billy our site link is http://www.geocities.com/theshamslimerick/index.html

our .tk link isnt working

quote "The rubber bandits had a cd yeeeeeeears ago
    If any shams are logged in, HURRY ON WITH THE SECOND CD!!!!"

first i wouldnt say a bad word about anyone and second
    i work in a radio station so all shameless self-promotion is done on RLO lol.

Ok, does anyone want to hear a brand new, unheard piece of rubberbandits material. Go to our website, the new one is called "ferrets". (dont worry Billy, this one is all legal). We encourage all to post their opinion of it on this thread.

Kipper Mac wrote:

Jesus Christ, what a ridiculous post, You are clearly one of the shams or a close friend. The fact that the shams cd is so influenced by the rubber bandits cd is a joke. Just admit it, and stop being a child throwing stones. the shams cd actually takes rubber bandits lines and reuses them. it is nothing to do with the fact that the shams and rubber bandits both take the piss out of scumbags. Bow down to the rubber bandits coz they are in my oppinion geiniuses.