Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

talk about getting jacked

• 25-01-2006 12:56am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 244 ✭✭

was driving through drumcondra today to drop my gf to work, on the way some woman driver clipped the side of me and so i stopped and flipped at her. she tried saying it was my fault, anyway cops where driving by a minute or two after and pulled in. they got us to pull around the corner and toke our details. well i have only got my car a few weeks( well actually months but was not driving it until the start of xmas). i didnt have tax on the car so they took it away and let that damn woman driver go....

anyway a few questions

1. can she claim off my insurance even though she clipped me?

2. will the fact i had no tax go against me in the decision of who was in the wrong

3. who else thinks women and o.a.p's(peopel over 65) should not be allowed to drive

oh actually i think o.a.p's should have to take some kind of test to make sure their reflexes and sight and what not are up to scratch in order for them to drive. also women should have to take some special test to make sure they are not idiots

PICK YOUR CHOICE 56 votes

am i screwed?
    0%
    should women be banned from driving
    39%
    D-GenerateSupercellRobertFosterBigEejitaphex™tintinr35lucernarian0utshinedTirielFranknFurterDonkeyStyle \o/GandhiTerrorFirmerhullaballooUmiq88scuba steveblahblah06bikoDoctor FellST* 22 votes
    should o.a.p's have to take a super duper test
    23%
    RobertFoster0utshinedsportswearDonkeyStyle \o/Eniibounty[Jackass]hullaballooUmiq88BinomateChopperdogEOA_Mushyskink 13 votes
    ATARI JAGUAR :)
    37%
    TomTomthe GuruRabiesRobertFosterThe_B_ManmodularUser457010utshinedthemolekirvingDonkeyStyle \o/Bettyboop[Jackass]RoadSweeperhullaballooUmiq88scuba stevetripperAardSetun 21 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

tails2 wrote:
    3. who else thinks women should not be allowed to drive
    WHAT?!!
    For that comment i wish:
    1:she can claim off your insurance even though she clipped you!
    2:and the fact that you had no tax go against you in the decision of who was in the wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Dont Ban Me

I think that they are not going to care who was right or wrong, you've got no tax your screwed!!

As for the O.A.P stance, I agree they should have to d osome sort of test as some of them are a hazard on the road and lead to accidents.

But as for the women issue, your just looking for trouble there so lets forget you mentioned that!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

a OAP ran a red light and nearly ran me over, so yeah a test for them is needed, they have bus passes FFS, they should use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

tails2 wrote:

3. who else thinks women and o.a.p's(peopel over 65) should not be allowed to drive
    Couldn't agree more. (Why don't you put up a poll :v: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

tails2 wrote:
    was driving through drumcondra today to drop my gf to work, on the way some woman driver clipped the side of me and so i stopped and flipped at her. she tried saying it was my fault, anyway cops where driving by a minute or two after and pulled in. they got us to pull around the corner and toke our details. well i have only got my car a few weeks( well actually months but was not driving it until the start of xmas). i didnt have tax on the car so they took it away and let that damn woman driver go....

anyway a few questions

2. will the fact i had no tax go against me in the decision of who was in the wrong

oh actually i think o.a.p's should have to take some kind of test to make sure their reflexes and sight and what not are up to scratch in order for them to drive. also women should have to take some special test to make sure they are not idiots
    question? who else thinks your an asshole?

yea there really shud be a blanket ban on women drivers and older people.......get a grip read your post again and you will see how ridiculous it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

tintinr35 wrote:
    question? who else thinks your an asshole?

yea there really shud be a blanket ban on women drivers and older people.......get a grip read your post again and you will see how ridiculous it is

i bet at least 80% of OAP's (both men and women) would fail a driving test if they had to do it again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

tails2 wrote:
    Couldn't agree more, Bravo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

<slaps Binomate...again!!>

:v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭JimmySmith

As for the O.A.P stance, I agree they should have to d osome sort of test as some of them are a hazard on the road and lead to accidents.

Everyone no matter what age should have to retake their test every 2 years as some of them are a hazard on the road and lead to accidents.

In fact i think anyone under the age of 30 should do a test every year. These are the most hazardous people on the roads.

I bet 80% of people posting here with a full license would fail the test if they did it now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

tails2 wrote:

Don't forget to put in your poll "OP is a bollix".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

got stuck behind a red 96' micra with 2 fuzzy granny heads, going 20mph on that road with the british embasy today, during rush hour traffic, their left indicator was on for about 5 minutes...

i have never beebed at a car so much in my life, im considering getting one of those megaphones just in case it happens again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

It depend a lot of who is in the wrong. At a guess your making it sound like you are. For starters you mention you are only driving a couple of months if that, how many professional driving lessons have you taken to this point?

If she is a full license and your a learner then it would certainly go in her favour unless you have a witness to the fact.

It is illegal for you to drive without Tax+Insurance. You can actually have your car taken off you (one of the few times Revenue Commissioners can step in).

Doesn't really help your argument. No gender has the monopoly on stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

tails2 wrote:

anyway a few questions

AHAHAHAHHA, I hope they screw you on insurance and then arrest you for not having tax. One of the reasons Ireland is so expensive (insurance, Tax etc) is because so many people don't pay their tax.

John

JimmySmith wrote:
    In fact i think anyone under the age of 30 should do a test every year. These are the most hazardous people on the roads.

I bet 80% of people posting here with a full license would fail the test if they did it now too.

Something like 1 in 5 drivers are still waiting to pass a driving test. Add to that some years back that a lot of drivers got an amnesty to get thier license and not a test.

Most of the moronic drivers I have seen have been old'ish (30-60) range and tend to totally ignore the rules of the road + speed. *

For example (what I see every day)...
    - driving on the hard shoulder full speed is not only illegal but immensely stupid
    - tailgating at high speeds.
    - accelerating while someone is trying to over take you
    - Crossing three lanes of traffic in one go so you don't miss your turn off.
    - Changing lanes without signalling or leaving enough braking distance for the car behind you.
    - Flashing your lights in some form of moronic code that the other driver is supposed to know.
    - Speeding in general.

I would wish these people would win Darwin awards except that they would probably take some innocent person out with them.

* Moronic in that they are actively ignoring the rules of the road. Younger drivers (mainly L drivers) tend to be less confident which is also annoying but if your driving safely you can be aware of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭pontovic

A woman in her late 50's reversed into my mothers car I was driving, while i was waiting in line to get out of the dart station car park. She was parked and she backed into my car and hit the rear passenger door. Luckily for her the door was damaged from a previous incident, so she didnt really make it any worse. She should have looked where she was going, and she didn't, the dumb bint. I pulled my car over out of the way while the girl I was picking up approached her and informed her she had just hit our car. I took out my camera phone and photographed her reg and her car at the scene of the accident, and let her go because the case would not have been worth pursuing. I gave her a fair warning to look where she was going.

If I had been driving my own car ( which was in for a service ) and she damaged it, then a different story altogether. A truckdriver working for Mullens Hauliers, based in Kilcullen, Co Kildare, sideswiped my car on the Northside of the Quays in Dublin City Center. He drove off, but I followed him and got the reg on the vehicle and the phone number on the side. I rang the company, trying to sort it amicably, but they wouldnt have any of it. They ignored my calls, and the calls they recieved from the insurance company and even the guards. Because I had no witnesses, it was basically my word against his. I had evidence, the paint from the truck was on the side of my car, but the guards didnt want to know. They ended up getting away with it.

So everyone, the lesson here is to carry a camera in your car at all times, use a disposable one with a flash, because it will come in handy one day. To the OP, I hope you catch her and get your dues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Boggle

Notice you never mentioned anything about provisional drivers or unlicensed drivers...

(Have you a full licence??)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I think you should sit your test every 10 years and after the age of 65 every 2 years.

I think in some States in America you have to reset your test as you get older but I can find which ones.

Drivers Education like they have in America should be a compulsory here .You shouldn’t be allowed any where near a car as well until you've had say 10 professional driving lessons and the instructor gives you the ok.

Driving is a privilege not a right and that privilege should be taken away if you abuse it.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Well alot of you are lucky that you don't have to put up with some of the drivers on country byroads.

Some ****ing eejit ran into me in his ESB pickup on a country byroad because he was doing around 80 km/h on the road and he couldn't stop. Because the road was so narrow he couldn't avoid me either. So the end result was that he put a huge dent all along the side of my car, and minimal damage to his pickup because of the bull bars (aren't they supposed to be illegal?).

But what pissed me off the most, and pissed off is a bit of an understatement here, was when the Gardai were called to the scene. They reckoned that it was 50/50, even though I had pulled over and slowed to a halt when the ****in tool hit me. They said that he was "not travelling over the speed limit" (80 km/h is far too fast for a road like this), and that I could not prove that I had stopped on the road. So it ended up I had to pay for the repairs to my own car that I only had for about two weeks even though I wasn't in the wrong.

Load of bollocks. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭pontovic

Boggle wrote:
    Notice you never mentioned anything about provisional drivers or unlicensed drivers...

were you talking to me ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Agrees with the OP about OAPs but finds it funny he gives out about drivers when he shouldn't have been driving an untaxed car in the first place. Smart aren't ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

tails2 wrote:
    who else thinks women should not be allowed to drive

Im willing to bet its actually your fault. I can understand you being angry at having your new car hit, but that comment is well out of order.
    I don't think its any mistake that womens car insurance is cheaper. In the exception that they may have some hearing or sight problems, OAP's make for careful drivers. In conclusion, this is from me and her:

http://i1.tinypic.com/mjw9ds.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭squibs

i bet at least 80% of OAP's (both men and women) would fail a driving test if they had to do it again

Assuming they started driving early in life, no O.A.P. on the road today had to sit a test for their license - they just paid their fee and got a license. I agree that periodic assessments (of ALL drivers) would help put the incompetent off the road, but we'd need a support structure in place for thise proven to be incompetent - i.e. a decent public transport system. People need to get around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

A. You shouldn't have been on the road at the time (no tax)

B. If you've only been driving a coupla months then I can only presume you're a learner in which case you should've had a fully licenced driver with you.

C. It sounds like the guards will let it fall into the 50/50 catergory, in which case you'd have to cover your own damages (I'd strongly suggest you don't claim on your own insurance for this)

D. If you are a learner driver and had no licenced driver with you, you've less of a right to be on the road than her in the first place!

E. Everyone should be made resit the driving test every 2-3 years.. this will of course happen when everyone becomes fully licenced drivers in the first place, which won't happen until well into the 2020's (average 52 week waiting period for a driving test)

*This all coming from a guy with no tax, insurance, licence or NCT.. or car :D

Boggle wrote:

I'm guessing you might be referring to me. L Drivers are provisional drivers. As for unlicensed drivers there probably aren't that many. You are more liable to get pulled for Tax/Insurance then you are for dangerous driving (or maybe its just me).

Yep.

connundrum wrote:
    B. If you've only been driving a coupla months then I can only presume you're a learner in which case you should've had a fully licenced driver with you.

D. If you are a learner driver and had no licenced driver with you, you've less of a right to be on the road than her in the first place!

That is one of the most unenforced laws in Ireland at the moment. TBH if it was enforced it would be great as it means that the roads for the most part would be empty.
    E. Everyone should be made resit the driving test every 2-3 years..

If it wasn't for the fact you normally have to wait 10months to a year+ I'd agree with you. Should have to sit the exam at least anyway.

connundrum wrote:
    Everyone should be made resit the driving test every 2-3 years.. (average 52 week waiting period for a driving test)

*This all coming from a guy with no tax, insurance, licence or NCT.. or car :D

Easy to tell you have no car with the above comment. fyi, they are bringing that list down pretty quick. I'm waiting for that letter in the post, and not looking forward to it. I've been on the road a year, no accidents or near misses - but I'm sure I've some bad habbits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

connundrum wrote:
    !

E. Everyone should be made resit the driving test every 2-3 years.. this will of course happen when everyone becomes fully licenced drivers in the first place, which won't happen until well into the 2020's (average 52 week waiting period for a driving test)

eh no...no no no no no no no no no no and no. In 2020 we'll all have built in transporters on our nokia 9900i's and cars will be no more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Easy to tell you have no car with the above comment.

Was it the fact that I said I had no car at the very bottom that gave it away? ;)

I was a driver for about 2 years, and I have been involved in 2 serious rta's, hence I feel kinda up on the subject. The waiting lists for the driving tests have been at +/- 50 weeks for about 2 years now (I know cos I applied for one then and I've applied for one now). Someone seriously needs to pull the finger out lads.

:v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

connundrum wrote:

Legally he had no right to be on the road, both for no tax and having no licensed driver in the car.

Also to the person who claimed we should be tested every 10 years.... Great!

Lets try and sort out the current problem first, ie the massive waiting lists for tests. Is it really that hard for the governement to hire a shed load of testers?

John

connundrum wrote:
    Was it the fact that I said I had no car at the very bottom that gave it away? ;) :v:

Eh connundrum.. have a look at what I included in the quote of yours.
    #28 (if that helps) :D

*Kisses innocent forehead*
    *then runs as she sees SS running at her*

:D;):D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

*Kisses innocent forehead*
    *then runs as she sees SS running at her*

:D;):D;)

*SS Does best Vicky Pollard impression - "Eh, bovered? Do I look Bovered? I aint bovered! Not Bovered!"

Seriously though, it is perfectly acceptable for you to talk to, or refer to connundrum without having to consider or mention me.

aww thanks.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Boggle

Sorry Hobbes - meant the OP!

Seeing you were making suggestions as to how to change our roads for the better I was wondering why you hadn't mentioned the obvious...

Ive seen this time and time again.

Maybe if you didn't flip the lid she wouldn't have any reason to try and screw you.

If you had been polite and calm maybe you could have resolved it like adults.

Is it possible that the Insurance company wont pay up to get the cars fixed because he was breaking the law by driving with out tax?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Binomate wrote:
    Is it possible that the Insurance company wont pay up to get the cars fixed because he was breaking the law by driving with out tax?

My understanding of my car insurance is that I'm insured to drive the car regardless of everything else i.e once the car can get you from a to b you are insured.

But I could be wrong.

Has any one got any suggestions of getting the testing done faster. More people who passed their test would suggest save roads so should quicker turn over for tests be the answer to road safety?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

JimmySmith wrote:
    Everyone no matter what age should have to retake their test every 2 years as some of them are a hazard on the road and lead to accidents.

Are you for real. Theres already a years backlog at the moment, so if EVERY driver ssuddenly had to retake their test every two years, youd need a few thousand testers working 24/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

tails2 wrote:
    i think o.a.p's should have to take some kind of test to make sure their reflexes and sight and what not are up to scratch in order for them to drive. also women should have to take some special test to make sure they are not idiots

What kind of fool are you?

Look at the stats of who causes accidents and you'll find that it's young drivers that are the problem

Theres a very good reason that insurance is cheap for over 50's and expensive for under 30's.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I love those polls that let you pick all the options at once. So conclusive in their results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭JimmySmith

Hobbes wrote:
    Most of the moronic drivers I have seen have been old'ish (30-60) range and tend to totally ignore the rules of the road + speed. *

For example (what I see every day)...
    - driving on the hard shoulder full speed is not only illegal but immensely stupid
    - tailgating at high speeds.
    - accelerating while someone is trying to over take you
    - Crossing three lanes of traffic in one go so you don't miss your turn off.
    - Changing lanes without signalling or leaving enough braking distance for the car behind you.
    - Flashing your lights in some form of moronic code that the other driver is supposed to know.
    - Speeding in general.

I would wish these people would win Darwin awards except that they would probably take some innocent person out with them.

* Moronic in that they are actively ignoring the rules of the road. Younger drivers (mainly L drivers) tend to be less confident which is also annoying but if your driving safely you can be aware of.

I would have set that its almost always a male under 30 with passengers in the car that do those things you mention. Funny how young males dont seem as mad driving when they are on their own in the car.

Stekelly wrote:
    Are you for real. Theres already a years backlog at the moment, so if EVERY driver ssuddenly had to retake their test every two years, youd need a few thousand testers working 24/7.

Obviously the means to do the tests needs to be put in place. Just because funding isnt even there for whats needed now doesnt mean that lack of funding and facilities should be an excuse for a poor driver testing programme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

tails2 wrote:

anyway a few questions

Forget a ban on just driving!!! How about a blanket ban on women in general unsupervised by a male??!

Think about it, when we're at work, how do we know for sure that they're actually cleaning our house or ironing our shirts? It should be illegal for them to leave the house when we're not around, so they'll have to do their work or sit around in pure boredom...

As long as they do a good job, I'd have no problem bringing her for a walk when I get home from work, I mean everybody needs fresh air and exercise.

I think it's cute when women express an opinion, but when real people need to discuss issues, they can get in the way...so I believe a gagging order would be sufficient, or some other form of anti-nagging device...let's put it to a vote...it's still illegal for women to vote, right? lol, what am I saying, of course it is....

As for old people, it should be illegal to live over the age of 65, at which point you are brought to a field, put your legs up in the air and set on fire...just like those foot and mouth cows...awww, bless, felt sorry for them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

DubGuy wrote:
    I think it's cute when women express an opinion, but when real people need to discuss issues, they can get in the way...
    Anyone remember the Harry Enfield "Women, know your limits" sketches?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

i agree totally with oap's having to take tests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

as was mentioned earlier if your over 65 odds are you just ponied up the cash to get your liscense. but to TRULYscare the crap out of you if they had the cash they could get a FULL RANGE liscence, meaning the could drive truck without having to do a test. my dad got one in the fifties that basically said he could drive anything short of the space shuttle :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Strange how many o.a.p.s end up thwacking into walls and trees and gateposts between 0230 and 0435 every Fri/Sat/Sun.

This is a very serious concern and you are quite right..... o.a.ps are the total problem on our roads.... everyone between 20 and 32 wearing a baseball cap and an inane grin is quite a safe driver despite never having passed any test and of course the experience of driving for 30-40 years is totally useless to o.a.ps.

I fully agree that only people aged between 18 and 33 (no Women) are the only ones capable of driving in ireland and can control a 1994 Honda Civic at 167kph on a dark country road with 12 or 13 in the car.... Yes ..the evidence points to that... indeed it does...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Ahh, put a cork in it grandad!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 244 ✭✭tails2

yes yes i agree with what yyou are saying about scum teenagers or even in their twenties being a nuisance on our pockets when it comes to driving insurance. i understand that part. maybe they should have some klind of scanner that can tell a scumbag from a normal person lol.

anyway i think how you do on your test should take into effect the price of your insurance... no wait that mighten work..

but some info for everyone, i cant remember which company is doing it but one of the insurance companies has a very good idea. they install a device which tracs where you are and can check your speed against the driving limit when you are driving as well as many other things. if you are a good driver your premium goes down year by year. it does other stuff also... only thing is that the rate isnt great i think its about 2500 for the first or second year or maybe 3500 depending on your age etc.

all i can say is that my insurance was a bargin. i am paying 1361.00 a year for insurance i am on a provisional licence and this is my first car. whaooooooo.

*here come the replies about my nagging earlier about other drivers when i am only new.....

but to counter attack that, i am a good driver and learned very quick and easily how to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Binomate wrote:
    No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Stats from NRA, just find age. Interesting read http://www.nra.ie/PublicationsResources/DownloadableDocumentation/RoadSafety/file,1948,en.pdf