Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gonna join any clubs or socs?

• 22-01-2006 5:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭

I'm pretty sure it's Refresher's Day on Monday so are you gonna join any clubs or socs this year?

Any plans to join any of the events on the day?

Speed dating maybe?;)

I'll use this time well to "fulfill my New Year's Resolution".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

oh and just to remind ya's its womens week this week also.
    There is a breast cancer presentation on in the blue room upstairs in the student centre at 1-2 tommorrow. Will be very informative talk on a very serious topic!
    I'm gonna join eng soc so i can cheapo tickets to the ball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Join Comedy Soc, it's the bomb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

What the hell is Refreshers Day?!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

RE.........FRESHERS..........DAY:rolleyes:

Fresher's Week had a big tent where all the socs got you to join. So you're saying they're doing that again tomorrow? Bastards tell us nothing :(

/EDIT - Just checked the SU website, absolutely nothing on it. Was it publicised much in Belfield?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Slippers

I think it's in the Asrta Hall of the Student Centre, not a tent, this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

There's some info on it in an email we all got from the college:
    Just a reminder too of the Refreshers Day on Monday next, 23
    January, in the Student Centre from 12.00 p.m. onwards. There will be
    entertainment in the Atrium, Clubs and Societies stands in the Astra
    Hall and FM 104 will be present. In the evening, there will be events
    in the Centre Club. It is a very good opportunity to get involved in
    new activities and to meet new people.

Something to occupy ourselves with I guess.
    panda100 wrote:

Feckin' sexists. Bloke power!
    panda100 wrote:
    There is a breast cancer presentation on in the blue room upstairs in the student centre at 1-2 tommorrow.

Will we get to see breasts?;) :v:

*Mental note* - check UCD email more often

That's a good idea though, people who wished they had joined something before now get a second chance. Good for people who are only here for 1 semester too. Might trek out to it for a change of scenery!
    panda100 wrote:
    Soon to be equality week ;)
    Will we get to see breasts?
    Not sure breasts with cancer are my thing to be honest :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

JOIN the Kevin Barry Cummann!!!! Wooooo! OGRÁ Fianna Fail all the way!!!!!

I'm ready for the onslaught of jeers and abuse from various leftys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

Jeer.

Abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Vainglory

*seconds the jeers and abuse*

So, what HAVE the KBC done this year exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭zap

there were posters all over campus. Speed dating in the centre bar 7-9 tomorrow night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

JOIN the Kevin Barry Cummann!!!! Wooooo! OGRÁ Fianna Fail all the way!!!!

:v:
    YFG is much better.

Also, if we get a Women's Week, when's Men's Week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Obligatory TKD pimpage :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Pythia wrote:
    :v:
    YFG is much better.

Also, if we get a Women's Week, when's Men's Week?
    it's ok we get the other 51 weeks a year:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

humbert wrote:
    it's ok we get the other 51 weeks a year:D
    HIIIIYYYYOOOOO!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

JOIN the Kevin Barry Cummann!!!! Wooooo! OGRÁ Fianna Fail all the way!!!!!

*Refuses Bait* ;)
    YFG is much better.

You mean a party with its roots in facist blueshirt movement, who asisted the overthrow of a democratically elected government in spain back in the 1930s whos party leader refers to people of colour using the 'n' word.

I joined the KBC about 3 years ago to get into a free hot whiskey/tuborg session. Paid my 2 euro and got 4 cans for my trouble. They've sent me stuff till this day, I get newspapers, fundraising letters!! They shouldn't bother wasting their money!

It's not their money. They get grants.
    Ans when the only bad thing people can say about FG is something that happened 70 odd years ago, I don't get too worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Fresher's Week had a big tent where all the socs got you to join. So you're saying they're doing that again tomorrow? Bastards tell us nothing :(

/EDIT - Just checked the SU website, absolutely nothing on it. Was it publicised much in Belfield?

It was publicised so well that they didn't even officially tell the societies - not any of the small ones I've been talking to anyway!

Come to the ELS stand and maybe you'll get some lollies, if you're nice to me. I'm Úna, by the way...

Blush_01 wrote:
    It was publicised so well that they didn't even officially tell the societies - not any of the small ones I've been talking to anyway!

Come to the ELS stand and maybe you'll get some lollies, if you're nice to me. I'm Úna, by the way...

Not in the Terrace, as usual! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

heh, hadn't heard a thing about this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Join DutchSoc, we rock TBH :)

why isn't there beer soc, dutchsoc would be great if it wasn't centered around that horrible beer, like a more organised craicsoc:)

We *are* a more organised craic soc. We buy cider, wine, and other beers beside dutch gold. Just DutchSoc is a kewl name. And Id prefer to have DutchSoc than Beer Soc on my CV :p

interesting:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Pythia wrote:
    It's not their money. They get grants.
    Ans when the only bad thing people can say about FG is something that happened 70 odd years ago, I don't get too worried.

Do you know a fella called paul tighe pythia?he' a good mate and always telling me to join fg!fraid its just not for me though and am quite happy in my little labouryouth world.
    You should all join world aid soc and do your bit for charideee

Yep, he's also known as Tommy for some reason.
    World Aid Soc? The Lord Mayor talked to them when she visited at Freshers' Week.
    http://www.yfg.ie/modules.php?set_albumName=album10&id=freshers5&op=modload&name=NS-gallery&file=index&include=view_photo.php

I don't get the appeal of all this youth politics stuff. Is it like following a football team or something? What is it that one does once a member?

Did anyone join anything today? I had a look around but nothing caught my eye.

It seemed small and uninteresting this time around...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

PatSoc all the way baby!!

Wasn't in today so I couldn't join anything but no point really since I'm hardly a student this year.

I didn't join anything... yay! Were the clubs recruiting again, or just the socs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭HappyCrackHead

i went, had to do my stint at the Belfield FM stand, joined LGBT (not im not gay but i hear they have classes if you wanna learn), Rifle Club, Dutch Soc. and signed up to work for the Observer. I hear they've got serious staffing problems.

Has rifle started back yet? I joined in Freshers' week, went once, and haven't been since! I shall give it a shot again soon... Although I've started working on tuesdays and thursdays! so it'll have to be wednesday...

Ignore me :)

The main reason for going is the delicious sweets they have on offer! All the old-school munch you can eat! Polo chocolate biscuits = top notch! And those cola sweet things...

yum :)

Any word about them organising paintballing again? They tried earlier in the year, and I rang yer man up and he said that only 3 people had paid him, so it was cancelled :( I'm dyin to give paintballin a go!

I'm tempted to say boards paintballing, but I won't, because even suggesting it might mean I'd have to organise it which is a nightmare for a group of internet randomers (well, to me anyway :))!

If the rifle club try to organise another one, then I'll post a thread here and get some people to come!

Would you have to be a member to go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

As far as I know, the last one was for members.

As for going down to the range, myself and rasher have gone twice since we got back after the christmas holidays. I must say that it's a great laugh and the guys down there are very friendly. I'm quite terrible at the moment, but after a bit of practise I'll (hopefully) get better!
    You should definitely head down again some evening, Dave. We could organise a boards rifle night :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭BKtje

Was looking for the scuba crowd as their stand was empty during freshers week but didnt see them. Must contact them really.
    Whats this riflesoc? It any good? Whats involved?

B-K-DzR wrote:
    Was looking for the scuba crowd as their stand was empty during freshers week but didnt see them. Must contact them really.
    Whats this riflesoc? It any good? Whats involved?
    Well it's on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday I think, from 6-9pm. When I say it's "on", I just mean that the range is open. You can just mosey along whenever you like, put your name down, wait for a gun to be free (eat biscuits and sweets, and drink tea or coffee, while you're waiting ;)), then shoot I think it's about 30 shots at your target, take the target, and wait for your next turn!

The guns are pretty nice, fairly new and stuff.

I bet you can get hurt with those guns. Every time I used those ones they have at amusement parks, the bloody thing would always recoil and hurt me.

Jayzus, you'd have to make quite the effort to hurt yourself with one of these! I was a bit nervous that the pellet would hit the wall and bounce back, destroying my eyeball, but I was assured that it would never do that... :o

But no, no recoil on these... They're heavy though, which sucks.

One of the lads mentioned that it can backfire on you if you put the pellet in incorrectly, but as long as you're careful I doubt you'd have any trouble.
    Either of the times I've been down there have been only a few other people which meant no waiting and no pressure to finish up quickly :D

cost anything or is it just the membersip fee?

Waltons wrote:
    One of the lads mentioned that it can backfire on you if you put the pellet in incorrectly, but as long as you're careful I doubt you'd have any trouble.
    Either of the times I've been down there have been only a few other people which meant no waiting and no pressure to finish up quickly :D

Feckin hell, if I hada known that I wouldn't have done it! :D

I think it's like €7 to join, is it? If you just go down to the range one night, they'll probably let you take a few shots to try it out, anyways

They have a price notice there (50c for 20 pellets) but I haven't been charged at all down there. In fact, I even got my EXTRA pellets for free.
    One of my friends came down and joined the other evening and it was only a fiver to join down there. You'd be mad not to!

i went, had to do my stint at the Belfield FM stand, joined LGBT (not im not gay but i hear they have classes if you wanna learn), Rifle Club, Dutch Soc. and signed up to work for the Observer. I hear they've got serious staffing problems.

Yay! Can you remember who signed you up?
    Were you harassed relentlessly by someone in a grey hoodie (between hours of 1 and 3)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Orisha

I wandered by the LGBT stand. I mean, I know what LGB is, and I have lots of gay friends, but is the T what I think it is? Transsexual or transgenital or whatever the hell they call themselves.

Does that mean you can you REALLY find that sort of person on UCD's campus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

T = Transgender.