Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nice people finish last.

• 19-01-2006 7:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

They say that nice people finish last and "they" are right.

Its common knowledge that to get ahead in this world you must possess at least partial **** tendencies. Look around the place and you'll see nice blokes answering to nasty bastards and hateful fcukers.
    Nearly every manager Pigheads had has been a spanner. Nice people are pushovers and don't seem to have the ruthless streak to get ahead in life.

Even on boards all the nice posters(Pighead etc) are just regular posters while all the scary intimidating lads get the sought after mod jobs. Turn on the telly and you'll see Wayne "fcuk you ref" Rooney being idolised while lovely Niall Quinn gets lampooned for his niceness. Even all the ebst looking chicks seem to be attracted towards the bastards.What the hells going on.

Is it possible for nice lads to get ahead or should Pighead just cut his losses and become a cnut.

Do the nice people finish last? 83 votes

Of course they do,they're stupid pushovers.
    0%
    Fear not Pighead God shall reward the nice people..
    38%
    D-GenerateazezilcournioniScruffferdiJohnKKur4mABelle EndechumpjimmycrackcormChris P DuckmadmorphyMr. CooL ICERbomb0wyn5ehpij9CerebralCortexcooperguyDiarmsquidPigheadReaver772 32 votes
    Nearly the weekend Thank Christ.Nice
    39%
    OzzyThorbarZascarRuaidhriBlistermanbizmarkjoe_chickenholly_johnsondentHugh HefnerMr.Nice GuykirvingPeteeeSteffano2002Sparkyfranksmpbsuxok1znja4rhepcatDaelusskye 33 votes
    I dont really care for the topic but i love polls.
    21%
    MoriartyBeruthielCrucifixcregserSuaimhneachErinGoBrathShabaduHealioNotMehullaballooAmazotheamazingKinetic^Endurance ManFergusFSiogfinscealSomnusNalzLady_Macbeth 18 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

I think Pighead should quit being a psusy and begin being a true cnut!

Embrace your new aroma and live life in the fast lane along with the other fishy cnuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

dar83 wrote:
    I think Pighead should quit being a psusy and begin being a true cnut!

Embrace your new aroma and live life in the fast lane along with the other fishy cnuts!

Yeah its definitely an option dar83, only problem is Pighead is a really really nice fella. I honestly dont know if i could pull off the whole Nasty Nick thing. I'm 28 now and people would see through the faux cnutishness immediately. Suppose i could move abroad and start afresh where nobody knows me but that sounds like hassle to be honest. Are u a cnut dar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Certain things you need to be a **** in, to get things, but being polite and nice works in other things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

I'm a pushover but im not a very nice person. I'm actually a bit of a bas**rd!!!

Sparky-s wrote:
    Certain things you need to be a **** in, to get things, but being polite and nice works in other things

Sparky-s you are a perfect example buddy. You seem like a lovely lovely lad, you've been trying for ages now to get a moderators job but continually get ignored when ever a vacancy arises. It stinks to the high heavens and quite frankly Pighead thinks you deserve more from boards.

Never have i seen you abuse another poster and it must make you vomit when you see the likes of WWM become mod of about 15 forums. Something is rotten in the state of boardsland.

The only employer I've ever had were absolutely lovely. They could be harsh when necessary, but otherwise weren't.

There's a difference between being nice and a pushover - that might be the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Pighead wrote:
    Are u a cnut dar?

I'm not really actually. I'm more of a nice person too, but I can be a cnut if I have to. ;)

I'm sure there are a fair few people who just think I'm a cnut in general too, so thats good. Once you have a certain amount of people that you know dont like you, you've filled you cnutish quota. Thats how I like to look at it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Im no pushover but im not a **** or asshole to anyone who isn’t one to me and what’s more i refuse to become what seems to be accepted today a moraly bankrupted ****er who’s only out for number 1.

bluewolf wrote:
    The only employer I've ever had were absolutely lovely. They could be harsh when necessary, but otherwise weren't.

There's a difference between being nice and a pushover - that might be the problem.

Yeah but bluewolf is that employer still in a job? Is he fcuk, he was thrown on the scrapheap with all the other nice guys. You'll probably end up denying this and claim that he is still in fact in employment. We both know the truth though. Niceness is a sham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Nice guys finish last but we make the breakfast the morning after... have to give kudos for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭boardy

Pighead wrote:
    while all the scary intimidating lads get the sought after mod jobs.

That's funny. So this is the underlying personality trait required to become a mod? I thought that it was sarcasm (for some of them anyway).

Regarding the poll:
    Stick to being a nice person as it will stand to you in the long run (of life). It will be unnatural if you try to change.
    And screw the begrudgers - they are a sad lot.

Pighead wrote:
    Yeah but bluewolf is that employer still in a job? Is he fcuk, he was thrown on the scrapheap with all the other nice guys. You'll probably end up denying this and claim that he is still in fact in employment. We both know the truth though. Niceness is a sham.
    Um, she runs the place. Yes, I'm pretty damn sure she's still there.

You're weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I'm a cnut but I'm also far too lazy to get ahead in life. I'm perfectly happy to let life pass me by while telling everyone else how they're all a pack of cnuts.

bizmark wrote:
    Im no pushover but im not a **** or asshole to anyone who isn’t one to me and what’s more i refuse to become what seems to be accepted today a moraly bankrupted ****er who’s only out for number 1.
    So Bizmark do you really expect us to believe that you got a job as a moderator on boards by being nice? No fcuking way. Nice lads just dont cut it as mods. Its like the whole Metallica situation, Jason was bullied and left out from the group, but he cared about the music and he was nice, that's why he stayed in. Constantly bullied and treated as an other because of his niceness. The lad was eventually forced out. Good luck, Jason, wherever you are, you deserved better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

bluewolf wrote:

I worked with you, and she wasn't lovely. She was an absolute bitch.

Nala wrote:
    lol hi nala
    well I thought she was! *shrug* They all were, especially John, pity he got transferred

edit: though I will admit the woman who ran the place before her was scary and stuff =/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

Ah john was great. no Herself was just a bloody wankshaft I thought. She had really bad favouritism issues. If she liked you, she'd be nice to you but if she didn't like you she'd try to make your life hell. She took an instant dislike to me from day 1, despite me being relatively competent and actually sticking the job for more than like 2 weeks, which made me a minority! She just wasn't professional.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Pighead wrote:
    while all the scary intimidating lads get the sought after mod jobs..

bite my shiney metal ass pighead

I'm nice to nice people

assholes get treated accordingly

as for your comment on managers, well to a degree that can be true sometimes, but not all.
    My boss is a manager, he's one of the nicest blokes you are likely to meet. I wouldn't want his job, too stressful, too difficult, too everything.
    If you really wanted a managers job pighead, you could have it and you needn't loose your soul in the process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Pighead wrote:
    Its common knowledge that to get ahead in this world you must possess at least partial **** tendencies. Nice people are pushovers and don't seem to have the ruthless streak to get ahead in life..

Theres a time and a place for niceness. trying to get ahead in your career is no time for it. Doormats never make it.
    Pighead wrote:
    Is it possible for nice lads to get ahead or should Pighead just cut his losses and become a cnut..

Class starts at 9pm Pighead. be late and I will take it out of your pay cheque.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Dont become another faceless asshat. The world has too many of them already, and it doesn't need any more of 'em.

To be honest I'm incredibly nice to everyone...until they cross me or f**k me over. Then it's gonna be hard times for them.

Saying that though, nice people do get the s**tty end of the stick. What can you do? It's MUCH harder to be a nice person than to be a c**t.

bluewolf wrote:
    The only employer I've ever had were absolutely lovely. They could be harsh when necessary, but otherwise weren't. Um, she runs the place. Yes, I'm pretty damn sure she's still there.

You're weird
    Nala wrote:

Pigheads not one to brag but I did try and tell you. bluewolf me and you are of the same ilk. We're too nice. Nala called a spade a spade and called her a bitch. You have to respect the girl for that.

Beruthiel wrote:
    bite my shiney metal ass pighead

I'm nice to nice people

assholes get treated accordingly

as for your comment on managers, well to a degree that can be true sometimes, but not all.
    My boss is a manager, he's one of the nicest blokes you are likely to meet. I wouldn't want his job, too stressful, too difficult, too everything.
    If you really wanted a managers job pighead, you could have it and you needn't loose your soul in the process.

Beruthial you are not nice come on! You're sharp with people you are a member of the league of bastards, you have absolutely no patience with newbies and your a mod. Your about as nice as a 3 week old loaf of bread. Hard and full of bitter blue mould. THis is not an attack as I am in fact very attracted to your character, Pigheads merely telling it like it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

are the bastards before they do well or does doing well turn them into bastards?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Pighead wrote:
    Even all the best looking chicks seem to be attracted towards the bastards.What the hells going on.

Its a half true myth that bastards are best in bed. I think a healthy combination of been respectful to others, ambitious (but not arrogant) and not taking anyone's shiite is best.

PS - what are you wearing Pighead?

are the bastards before they do well or does doing well turn them into bastards?

Ah casanova_kid to be honest I think you have to have a bit of bastard in you to start with. Remember that kid who put itching powder down your pants when you were 7? Remember that girl who you kissed when you were 12 but she denied to everybody that anything ever happened thus making you a laughing stock in front of your friends? And remember that fcuker who punched you on the nose in 5th class and stole your egg and onion sandwiches? THey're all managers now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I'm sick of moany bollixes whinging about 'finishing last'. Grow a pair of balls and spare the rest of us please. Being nice and being confident are not mutually exclusive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Pighead if you want to be a mod then why don't you just come out and say it?

Pighead wrote:
    Ah casanova_kid to be honest I think you have to have a bit of bastard in you to start with. Remember that kid who put itching powder down your pants when you were 7? Remember that girl who you kissed when you were 12 but she denied to everybody that anything ever happened thus making you a laughing stock in front of your friends? And remember that fcuker who punched you on the nose in 5th class and stole your egg and onion sandwiches? THey're all managers now.
    You've reduced me to tears at those painful memories, can't believe i got passed over for promotion again before that fcukwit who robs my ideas while sleeping through the staff.

Sico wrote:
    I'm sick of moany bollixes whinging about 'finishing last'. Grow a pair of balls and spare the rest of us please. Being nice and being confident are not mutually exclusive.
    Told you that the mods were cnuts.

Pigman II wrote:
    Pighead if you want to be a mod then why don't you just come out and say it?
    Pighead wants to be a mod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Pighead wrote:

Any board in particular?

Pigman II wrote:
    Any board in particular?
    Make him a super mod.

IvaBigWun wrote:
    Its a half true myth that bastards are best in bed.

you must be faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaantaaaaaaaaaastic so :v:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Good thread Pigread.

I am very nice. Too nice sometimes. But why would you want to be otherwise? I treat people accordingly and always get on really well with other nice people. I am usually very cooperative, generous and helpfull, up to a point. If people go over the line or take advantage, no more mister nice guy, you can go fcuk yourself and there's no going back. Works for me. Do it once and they generally won't overstep the line again. But people who are just cocks from day 1 are not worth the hassle, they are usually that way for a reason..

What really irritates me is women who just can't get enough of d1ck head guys. It seems the bigger the bastard the more female attention they get. Why is this? Personally if I am Not nice to a girl and she respondes in a positive way, I loose interst. I don't want a girl who is asking to be treated badly. Out of all my guy friends, they are great lads but they are all complete and utter bastards when it comes to women. The type you would not let anywhere near your sister. Women know this yet despite this they are somehow unable to resiste and head face first to be treated badly and come back for more... I don't understand it... men are from mars etc...

I don't think that just because you are nice you are a pushover... As Sico says its all about confidence. Be very nice and very confident and you will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Pighead wrote:
    Told you that the mods were cnuts.

I'm perfectly nice. I even said 'please'.

Pigman II wrote:
    Any board in particular?
    Well the plan is to petition a board of niceness and take it from there. Can't see these fcukers commisioning a Nice Board though. Its all about the nastiness these days. Pigheads in limbo at the moment. Seamus is the distant star that keeps my hope alive. Hes a mod yet hes nice. Hope springs eternal.

Pighead wrote:

Poll it. I want him to be mod too :v:

I think it's been done.

missed that. and he still isnt yet? :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I think it's been done.
    yes it was

Sico wrote:
    I'm perfectly nice. I even said 'please'.

Does it say yesterday on Pigheads birth cert? No way jose I know nice when i see it. You're about as nice as a dose of crabs. Your name is Sico, Your tagline says your an abuser and you make lurid insinuations about my Mother. Also you are a Mod of Japanese. Now i dont know much about the Japs but i've seen some of their pornographic material and it certainly isn't nice.
    All of the above leads me to believe that you are not nice but are in fact horrid. If i'm wrong i'm sorry. If i'm right i retract my apology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I am too nice for my own good. Especially towards women. I seem to be finishing last at the moment :(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,781 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Boards isn't a democracy, that's the way we like it. It keeps those PC Police (who are the others who purport to be "nice") at bay.

BrynW wrote:
    I am too nice for my own good. Especially towards women. I seem to be finishing last at the moment :(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

Fcuk it BrynW you sound so nice Pigheads gonna give you some advice. Right buddy grab a mate, head to club M and get violently obnoxiously drunk, pinch some arses, leer at the girls in the titty tops and grope the grannys on the dancefloor. Fair enough its not what your mother would expect from you but lets face it shes not the ones with testicles like watermelons. THis is only a short term fix tho, Pighead in no way endorses this kind of behaviour for the long term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Pighead wrote:
    Fcuk it BrynW you sound so nice Pigheads gonna give you some advice. Right buddy grab a mate, head to club M and get violently obnoxiously drunk, pinch some arses, leer at the girls in the titty tops and grope the grannys on the dancefloor. Fair enough its not what your mother would expect from you but lets face it shes not the ones with testicles like watermelons. THis is only a short term fix tho, Pighead in no way endorses this kind of behaviour for the long term.

Might have to try that on friday or saturday night, definately the violently drunk part anyway......none of my mates would go to club m so it will be some where else.

Im just sick of women at the moment, im too nice for my own good :( and even if try not to be so nice it feels unnatural and i revert back to my normal self :mad:

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,781 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

BrynW wrote:
    Im just sick of women at the moment
    Yeah, I'd say if a woman threw her naked body at you that you'd puke your ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Last people finish last.

Nice people finish nice.

Glad I could clear that up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

There was no atari jaguar option!

Perhaps if you are sick of being nice, then see if being a bastard gets results and vice versa.

Alter your approach to suit the situation - or revert to type...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Zascar wrote:

I am very nice. Too nice sometimes. But why would you want to be otherwise? I treat people accordingly and always get on really well with other nice people. I am usually very cooperative, generous and helpfull, up to a point. If people go over the line or take advantage, no more mister nice guy, you can go fcuk yourself and there's no going back. Works for me. Do it once and they generally won't overstep the line again. But people who are just cocks from day 1 are not worth the hassle, they are usually that way for a reason..

What really irritates me is women who just can't get enough of d1ck head guys. It seems the bigger the bastard the more female attention they get. Why is this? Personally if I am Not nice to a girl and she respondes in a positive way, I loose interst. I don't want a girl who is asking to be treated badly. Out of all my guy friends, they are great lads but they are all complete and utter bastards when it comes to women. The type you would not let anywhere near your sister. Women know this yet despite this they are somehow unable to resiste and head face first to be treated badly and come back for more... I don't understand it... men are from mars etc...

Fcking spot on!!!!! It's like someone is posting on my behalf!!!

I've actually gone out with birds who have complained that I don't get angry and start arguments with them for no reason. I mean wtf???!!! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

Cnut sounds funny and I am amoozed.