Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nicknames/Pet Names - The worst you've ever heard?

• 19-01-2006 1:14pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

I heard an American woman last night call her husband "wookams" and I felt like ordering a double vodka and coke just to block her out.

Do Irish still go on like this?

"Sugar Pie", "Sugar Plum", "Baby Cakes", "Cuddle Buns"

Baby talking in public should be viewed as a federal crime, which will be punished to the fullest extent of the law.

Baby talking in private is just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Apple pips....

has to be one of the worst/best ive heard...although i do know it has a couple of meanings.. :rolleyes: :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

I've heard someone refer to the Bf's as Cuddle Monster ...

Course she decided to let this slip out infrom of the football time he plays in =)

I had one from a ex , but now every calls me it so it isn't as bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Mines Foxy, I like it. Years ago I had thought of getting it tattood on my back. I'm glad I didnt, that would have looked so camp

Edit - universal nickname, not a lovey dovey nickname

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Megatron wrote:
    I've heard someone refer to the Bf's as Cuddle Monster ...

Course she decided to let this slip out infrom of the football time he plays in =)

I had one from a ex , but now every calls me it so it isn't as bad.

Did you just randomly pick out words and type them? Read not understand bananna?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

my sister calls her fella Pookie & he calls her Pebbles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

"Dirty Den"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

puddin-face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Peanut-butter-cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

rubadub wrote:
    puddin-face
    Ha! thats what i call my 3 yr old nephew! Well puddin-head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I had an ex-girlfirend (American) who used to call me Baboo. Which was pretty cool as it's like Baboon.

I used to call my last girlfriend 'Package' or 'Lobster'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 fruitcake

me smidget
    him bear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

IvaBigWun wrote:
    I felt like ordering a double vodka and coke just to block her out.

Didn't I tell you to get help with that? :rolleyes: pfft any excuse these days. Right, to answer your question.
    My ex called me 'pussycat' (cringe) and worse still 'jaws' (not a word..)

I had none for him really. once you start calling him 'you', and 'him' to your mates its time to pack his suitcase and drop it outside his mammies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Shnuckums.. Dunno how to spell it?! Feckin hate it though..

Oh and babyface, nothing worse than seein a 6'4 guy bein called babyface by his missus.. *shivers* :o

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Worst pet name Iv ever heard a guy call his gf...

Rashers...! ?? :eek: :v:

And no it wasnt me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

When i'm cybering with IvaBigWun i call him hamburger head. He loves that one. He calls me The Lord Of His Pants.

Pighead wrote:
    When i'm cybering with IvaBigWun i call him hamburger head. He loves that one. He calls me The Lord Of His Pants.

lmao :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Pighead wrote:

*Adopts giggly school girl voice*

Oh you :o

*swoon*

IvaBigWun wrote:
    *Adopts giggly school girl voice*
    Oh you :o
    *swoon*

but.. but.. you said to me last night me and you.. :(:(:(

:v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

chicken

Dear god I hate it so much, every time I hear someone say it I want to deck them!
    Very common with camp guys... ugh

*leers at ber* ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Baby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

bah-bah..........
    makes me cringe! my friend and her boyf call each other this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I was called stumpy for a long while because i got naked and streaked at the rocky horror show. Thank god that ended. Now its just grimes.. There was no truth in the stumpy rumor I assure or at least my girlfriend assures me :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

I overheard a couple near us last night constantly refer to each other as "silly moo"

Whats wrong with these people?? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

an ex used to call me "dear" which made me feel very old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I have heard "schnuckems" or whatever way you spell, either way it is just a loada bolleex. *punch* :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

I agree that they're stupid and sometimes disgusting. But then again, what can you call someone when you need to be affectionate/compassionate/caring?
    Eg
    "I just fell off a cliff and broke my back"
    "Feel better chicken/honey/petal/mary???"

It's a problem i have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I've had:
    Foxy (don't ask.)
    Gigantor
    Sass.
    Chief (from one flew over the Cuckoo's nest)

My friends went around calling me Sass for about two weeks, before they would tell me what it meant. Turns out it comes from Sasquatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

IvaBigWun wrote:
    I overheard a couple near us last night constantly refer to each other as "silly moo"

Whats wrong with these people?? :(
    Pighead bets your lady calls you "The Thread-Resurrector". You call her "My Imaginary Friend"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

i worked in America for almost a year ... for recreation i played soccer for a local team during the summer months

back then, soccer was a minority sport and hispanic people made up the largest percentage of players, after the first game i played they bestowed on me the nickname 'gaucho', apparently for my robust style of play ...

i thought it was kinda cool, right up until i left the team, at which point they told me it was spanish for asshole!

thanks guys ...

also ... i knew a chap in primary school who soiled himself, and became known for evermore as 'gicky'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

"Naked Níl"

Níl - Irish for Niall

Naked - At a house party after a 5th year social, woke up dyin for a drink half way through the night in me boxers, go down stairs thinkin all will be quiet, fall into a room full of girls. Bit embarassing considering we were all at 'that' age... Funny thinking back on it though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

the gf calls me Xiao Gou Gou (because Im born the year of the dog)
    I call her Xiong Mao (she loves pandas*) or Hou Zit (or however monkey is spelled in chinese), she was born year of the monkey.

Recently her friend keeps calling her JiaJia (her name twice, in china its used on a young person or child), I think its cute so I use it too sometimes.

I dont mind using those names when in the west and nobody understands, but I have to admit I felt a little embarrassed using them in china.

Its the only relationship where I have had petnames with my partner.

*edit: oh and because she says chinese people refer to rings under you eyes as panda eyes, and she didnt get much sleep for a few weeks last year because of exams, so I got stuck calling her panda from that too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 MadGolfer72

I have a friend who calls his girlfriend "Chicken". I think he often does it without realising. I was out for a meal with them once and overheard him say - "eat your chicken, chicken"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Kilkenny

trout wrote:
    back then, soccer was a minority sport and hispanic people made up the largest percentage of players, after the first game i played they bestowed on me the nickname 'gaucho', apparently for my robust style of play ...

i thought it was kinda cool, right up until i left the team, at which point they told me it was spanish for asshole!

thanks guys ...

They were just winding you up, it means "cowboy" ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

Kilkenny wrote:
    They were just winding you up, it means "cowboy" ...

oops! i've been bearing a grudge against all spanish-speakers for over ten years ... better let that go!

cowboy eh? that's not so bad ... cheers! you've made my night:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Kilkenny

trout wrote:
    oops! i've been bearing a grudge against all spanish-speakers for over ten years ... better let that go!

cowboy eh? that's not so bad ... cheers! you've made my night:)

De nada, hombre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭liamo

Most insensitive ever : A chap I used to work with years ago had a very bad case of all-over-body acne (requiring major drugs to keep it under control). He was called "brunch". Ouch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

trout wrote:
    i worked in America for almost a year ... for recreation i played soccer for a local team during the summer months

thanks guys ...

also ... i knew a chap in primary school who soiled himself, and became known for evermore as 'gicky'

An Argentine Gaucho named Bruno
    Said "Fcuking is one thing I do know"
    Now women are fine,and sheep are divine
    but Llamas are Numero uno!

There ! that proves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

trout wrote:
    they bestowed on me the nickname 'gaucho', apparently for my robust style of play ... i thought it was kinda cool, right up until i left the team, at which point they told me it was spanish for asshole!

Ha ha ha ha ha oh I had a good laugh at that! I suppose you could be an arsehole of a cowboy :D

Petal is one that really gets me. My cousin calls his missus petal and I just wanna beat his head in everytime he says it :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

A friend of mine refers to his gf as 'snugglebuns'.

Another friend calls his gf 'c*nty' :eek:...apparently it has a different meaning to them (I don't know?) but they don't seem to care how it makes them look when he calls her that in public...

I once referred to Mrs. r3nu4l as 'her indoors', seeing as how I now live in Engerland...won't be doing that again anytime soon, at least not within earshot :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I used to call my last girlfriend 'Package'

So this 'girlfriend' had a penis then??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

My nick name, for the last 9 years is Pup.
    My boyfriend calls me by my surname, which is Lucey, so its not that bad. i actually hate hearing him say my first name now..it just sounds...wierd.
    I hate "cottonsocks"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I am getting 'honey pie'. I mean, what the hell is a honey pie? :P
    I get dear, honey, pi.
    I like pi...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

IvaBigWun

I also heard a girl call a guy "grahamers" (in a extreme D4 accent too) :(
    IvaBigWun wrote:
    I heard an American woman last night call her husband "wookams" and I felt like ordering a double vodka and coke just to block her out.

Do Irish still go on like this?

"Sugar Pie", "Sugar Plum", "Baby Cakes", "Cuddle Buns"

Baby talking in public should be viewed as a federal crime, which will be punished to the fullest extent of the law.

Baby talking in private is just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I like affectionate insulting. Bitchface, fcukface, ya big smelly knacker... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

liamo wrote:
    Most insensitive ever : A chap I used to work with years ago had a very bad case of all-over-body acne (requiring major drugs to keep it under control). He was called "brunch". Ouch!

Just embarrassed myself in the library laughin!

Jesus that's harsh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Lil Kitten wrote:
    I like affectionate insulting. Bitchface, fcukface, ya big smelly knacker... :D

Ah very much like John and Mary from Father Ted then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,881 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

in terms of individual ones (not the usual, like baby, sweetie etc)

she calls me goggly bear (monsters inc) and Paulus.

i call her Wench and Pedanticus. in a cute way of course. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Captain Corelli

The word 'pet' has been retired from my every-day lexicon: it is reserved for my current gf(maybe I can use that as my xmas present this year).

She calls me either 'sexy Irish bartender' or 'f*ckface', depends on her mood is I guess.

Overly-luvey names are kinda weird. The weirdest 1 I have heard is 'soupy'. I heard a guy call his gf that. I lost all respect for him...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I love pet names! I like babytalk too. I think it's nice to see coupleas all loved up. I hate to see couples who don't even seem to like each other much, especially couples in restaurants who don't speak and eat their food really fast.

I called me ex fatty because he was built like a twig (over 6ft and something ridiculous like 10 stone)

I call my current bf pet. He likes that because he's not from Ireland and he thinks it makes me sound exotic and Irish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭NextSteps

I've a friend who calls his girlfriend 'Princess'. Bleugh.