Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you pull while sober?

• 16-01-2006 08:41PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

Obviously, this relates more to guys than women :D For the sake of the thread, say pulling is a kiss or getting a phone number. I can't remember the last time I pulled while sober. I generally wouldn't be hammered but would need about two pints to get more sociable.

I think for me that a few drinks brings out my inner asshole:) . For instance I was out in Boston at the weekend and the Patriots had lost a big match. The waitresses were wearing the Patriot jersey. My thinking while sober was not to say anything because they probably didn't care about the match. A few drinks later and we taking the piss out of them and having great craic. Does anyone get by without using alcohol as a social lubricant?
    Failed to load the poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

vorbis wrote:
    Obviously, this relates more to guys than women :D For the sake of the thread, say pulling is a kiss or getting a phone number. I can't remember the last time I pulled while sober. I generally wouldn't be hammered but would need about two pints to get more sociable.

I think for me that a few drinks brings out my inner asshole:) . For instance I was out in Boston at the weekend and the Patriots had lost a big match. The waitresses were wearing the Patriot jersey. My thinking while sober was not to say anything because they probably didn't care about the match. A few drinks later and we taking the piss out of them and having great craic. Does anyone get by without using alcohol as a social lubricant?

I don't have any problem when sober, but wouldn't be as brazen about it, I guess. The problem with using alcohol as a social lubricant is that there's a 'golden window' during drinking, and once you pass that, you end up a slurring, gibbering, drunkard.. and that can cause you to blow a potential lay.

Happened to me many times, and the worse part is, many times I know it's going to **** things up but I choose to get drunk anyway! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I cant pull when drunk, being sober rarely helps me fare any better.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I can and have. A lttle bit of alcohol for both of you definatly helps though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

I cant pull while drunk cos I honestly dont think I notice if women are goodlooking or not after a few drinks. I just get excited when I get drunk, and extremely hyper and nonsensical, it brings out the two year old in me and I dont have time for girls at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,007 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

yes...yes I can

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

What a silly question, id say most ppl have

Eh yeah usually do o.O
    I don't tend to change much when drunk anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,925 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

i love chattin up women wen im sober. and by sober i mean not even in the pub.

i used to always go up and down grafton st chattin up them charity collector birds. used to love it. u get more of a buzz out of it than just gettin sum drunken yoke and eatin the face off her for a while or watever. last girl i was wit, i was quite drunk, but since new yrs i've asked 2 girls out while i was sober. i prefer it definately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

Hmm I think its just weird use to think needed some "dutch courage2 but found its much easier if you build up confidence (how I dont know it just happens) and stay sober..

although when sober and in a pub you tend to notice how slopy drunk some of the women are and its a complete turnoff. Lately getting pretty damn disillusined with the whole pub/club scene

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

i'm never really that drunk at all when i pull. tip from when i was a cripple: use pint-of-drink, pint-of-water sequence - it's like a drunk-thermostat! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭dr zoidberg

I cant pull while drunk cos I honestly dont think I notice if women are goodlooking or not after a few drinks.
    :D I thought that was the point - get drunk, standards disappear - > easier to pull. Pulling quality now thats a different proposition ;)

TBH I tend to talk ****e when drinking so I find it easier when I'm sober.
    Red Alert wrote:
    i'm never really that drunk at all when i pull. tip from when i was a cripple: use pint-of-drink, pint-of-water sequence
    Very good idea. Hangovers are actually caused by dehydration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I like it much more when I'm drunk though, it's more fun!

Actually screw it, it's the drink part thats fun. Females are an added and inferior bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

Never whilst sober. Never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

The last girl I was "seeing" I met on a dart stone cold sober on a Sunday afternoon. Within an hour of meeting we were on Killiney Hill kissing and hugging. It was really great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,768 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

The_B_Man wrote:
    i used to always go up and down grafton st chattin up them charity collector birds.
    Who are paid to be chatty and friendly....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I've done it. But it is so much more simple when locked!

I actually have a rule:

If I'm drunk enough to puke (and do puke) I'll pull a hot girl.

It's strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

I dunno, I've never tried when sober.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Binomate wrote:
    I dunno, I've never tried when sober.

My friend calls it daytime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Talaghn

Didnt think i could before but now i can and i perfer being sober while doing it!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

dublindude wrote:
    My friend calls it daytime.
    I call it everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭Tchocky

no i'm dead inside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Flex

I have never pulled when Im sober. Iv even missed easy pulls because I was sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Yep I remember the last time I pulled sober, it's a great added bonus pulling sober. Only problem is you'll remember everything, which could have it's downsides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

frobisher wrote:
    The last girl I was "seeing" I met on a dart stone cold sober on a Sunday afternoon. Within an hour of meeting we were on Killiney Hill kissing and hugging. It was really great.

God that sounds great but i have to admit im always a bit scared when a bloke chats me up on the bus or on the street. Its silly really its no different then being chatted up in the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i think the real question is, can you pull when the other person is sober.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

i can and have done, but feel so much more conscious and nervous when not drinking. its funny cos there's this guy that ive kissed a few times, the first night i met him we both had a few drinks in us, the next time he wasnt drinking, i was (even got a lift home ;)) the next night i was sober, he was drinking ans so on..its s bit of a joke now between us, cos one of us usually isnt drinking! he's been sober, ive been sober, we've both been drunk and both been sober.

i have pulled (or been pulled (?)) when sober or the other person was sober...ah still got it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

Pulled is such an Brittish expression.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

get your coat you've [strike]pulle[/strike] made a stupid comment.

Yes whilst sober, but em, usually they aren't. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Sometimes, with difficulty (difficulty overcoming my shyness, not any other obstacle ya may be thinkin of).

As for the birds themselves... Mostly they're sober, yeah.
    Wait, lemme work this out in my head.

50% drunk in some form or other, 50% sober. Exactly. That's actually amazing that it worked out like that, I'm staggered...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭MarinoMark

I Have pulled many a time whilst drunk and have never slept with an ugly girl, I have woken up with plenty though !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

vorbis wrote:

anyone can pull anyone else given the right circumstances.

to paraphrase Sun Ztu 'never engage the enemy on their terms, make them meet you on your terms'

that would equate to 'if you cant get someone while they are sober, get them drunk and score them'.

clever fellow that Sun Tzu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I never really have the opportunity to pull shile sober simply because whenever I may get close or intimate with the opposite sex it's usually in a pub or a club. However I'd say I could pull while sober in the right circumstances (ie If I'm more one on one with a girl in a non alcohol environment without my mates around)

I'm actually amazed that I even pull while drunk since I come across as such an utter pisshead with alcohol on me........ the women should be running away when I'm pissed! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

i've done both but around 99% of the time its when I'm sober

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Dunno if i could myself but my mate in Dubai has been off the gargle now for 8 months he's gonna do a year off it,he told me he's actually better scoring birds when he's sober then is he drunk,depends on the person,ill talk to birds when im sober but id say id need a few gargles in order to try score them not that i bother trying to go out scoring birds in this country anyway moaning cows:rolleyes: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

i've done both but around 99% of the time its when I'm sober
    your only 14, of course your sober 99% of time..lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

well??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,297 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I really have no desire to score random girls in nightclubs when I'm sober. I do sometimes when I'm drunk but by that stage I'm in no state to be attracting any sort of feminine interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

PlayGirl wrote:
    well??

Hey Playgirl, how you doing. You sound cool in your posts baby. x.
    :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

n00b* stealin other people's threads... :rolleyes:

n00b status verified by lack of atari jaguar option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

pull what:D

i posted a "can you pull while sober" POLL.. please vote as i would like to know percentages & numbers as i'm sure others would too! still post opinions here as i am not trying to steal this threads viewers as it was obviously here first & came up with the idea, i just took it one step further! ;)

n00b* stealin other people's threads... :rolleyes:

n00b status verified by lack of atari jaguar option.
    if you read the origional "can you pull while sober" thread than you will see that i told people to still post opinions on that thread but i just wanted to see exactly how many people could/couldn't pull while sober! :p

Kernel wrote:
    Hey Playgirl, how you doing. You sound cool in your posts baby. x.
    :cool:
    grand & yourself??, ;)

bein realistic, it must be most of the population of the world that can pull sober! how else would we meet and procreate etc? drunken flings dont really end up in much serious relationships (some do) but i would say that most serious ones would have been started outside pubs, ie friends of friends or met at a function of some sort or even in ur class in college.

lol will this turn into a "Can u pull a girl off boards?" thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

The_B_Man wrote:
    Isn't that every thread?

(My PM box is open btw.)

The_B_Man wrote:
    i think your onto something there... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

PlayGirl wrote:
    if you read the origional "can you pull while sober" thread than you will see that i told people to still post opinions on that thread but i just wanted to see exactly how many people could/couldn't pull while sober! :p

Then learn to count, its not an excuse for a new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Kulgan

Hmmm can't remember ever trying !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Then learn to count, its not an excuse for a new thread.
    YORE an excuse for a new thread.