Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The get rid of Ronaldo thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Gegerty

The Muppet wrote:
    While we're on the subject of useless players I think United should sell Silvestre for £30 million and buy Terry as his replacement. Fletcher has to go for £35 million, Gerrard being the replacement here.:)

ar eh now lads ckkkkalm down yis divvies :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭BillyBoy

Out of all the new wingers out there.....at this moment in time would you rather?

A)Arjen Robben
    B)Shaun Wright Phillips
    C)Joe Cole

I think I'd take Ronaldo anyday to be fair. He has technical ability to put these three to shame.

I'd have Robben. I'm not going to disagree that Ronaldo is very talented - I look at his skill sometimes and think 'this guy is amazing' but most of the time i cant stand it when he gets the ball (or especially when he goes to take a corner or free kick). I know he has had a hard time of late but he just isn't performing. Robben isn't back to his best but IMO he is performing better than Ronaldo at this moment in time (and would also have robben in my team even if they were both performing brilliant - i think he has just as much technical ability as Ronaldo and is an all round better player)

I'm not an anti-united man either before u ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

he is a fustrating player. theres so much of his game i despise. however i think he has way too much potential to be off loading just yet.

my question would be, do people think the system at united is affecting him? in this system hes not an out and out right winger, hes encouraged to roam. maybe because of this there isnt enough focus on beating the left back, or crossing. maybe he is working at it, but his crossing from play and set pieces does not look like its coming from a guy spending hours on the training ground perfecting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭robz150

I am a Leeds United fan, but ws united back when i was like in primary school.

Anyway, I think Ronaldo obviously has talent (the goal he scored against Middlesboro) but it seems to me he is getting far too much leeway he consistently makes the same mistakes, and then 30 sec late repeats the same mistake again. He doesn't seem to be learning off the more experienced players for example when is the time to play a simple ball, and when to try something different. I was shocked that he didnt bother to track back against Benfica and more shocked that he wasn't told by the other players or the management to track back like everyone else

robz150 wrote:
    I was shocked that he didnt bother to track back against Benfica and more shocked that he wasn't told by the other players or the management to track back like everyone else

If I'm thinking about the same game then even Rooney was having a go at him. And wasn't that the game when Giggs was taken off he shouted "what about that fecker over there (or something similar :) )" referring to Ronaldo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,094 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Cant stand Ronaldo. Tries to run with the ball at every chance and it very rarely comes off. Sure, when it does, its nice to watch...but then he has to cross it, which again, rarely comes off.

He also completely disregards his defensive duties. His tricks are nice to watch but tricks dont make a player world class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,752 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

I am a Leeds United fan, but ws united back when i was like in primary school, and of al lthe wingers united ever had in my time, Giggs is the only one, and Beckham perhaps who I think out do Ronaldo.
    What about the best right winger United had .Kanchelskis ?
    He was a true winger,fast,good dribbler,2 good feet,and clever.
    That guy Ronaldo is a waster.
    'Give him time,give him time' I hear people say.
    He will never be any good because he is a brainless child.
    He has no footballing brain and that is something you either have or dont have,it cant be coached.
    Let it not be forgotten that his true value when United bought him was 6m pounds not the inflated 12m they paid,half of which was tacked on.
    He can be good at times but its about consistency and he doesnt have it.
    Worth 10m max.

"despite comparisons with the likes of former favourite David Beckham and Brazilian star Ronaldinho"

LOL!! Exactly what has he got in common with Beckham? I suppose you could call him a crap version of Ronaldinho :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭chiller

he plays on the left he plays on the right that boy ronaldo makes beckham look ****e take that ronaldo haters give him a year or too milan got rid of vieira when he was young arsenal got rid of cole one of the best strikers to grace the premiership. five premierships with united and a champions league medel to his name and he his still going strong and now vieira is playing for juve. big mistake if united sell him give him a year or two. he will have the last laugh and hopefully so will united

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

He does my head on when he just goes to round the whole opposition team ,when everybody know he cant do it at that time. He is agreat player but needs to learn to play WITH the team as against playing FOR the team. He does have bags of potential but maybe he should be rested more often to keep him fresh. That said,united dont really have rplacements at the minute to rest Ronaldo as much. After the passing away of his father, he was starting to get back on form again but in the last 2games or so, hes just stayed at the same level again, and now with that red card against him from Saturday who knows how it will affect the lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

He needs to learn how to cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

he is looking bad cause when he loses the ball there is a big soft centre in the middle behind him where a scottish international and irish left back fill

he is young and inconsistent ..i wonder what a 21 yr old figo was like?? he was still playing for sporting lisbon

Ronaldo was the best winger on show at the last european championship(19 years old)...Robin was the worst....Yet robin has such a good midfield covering him he can afford to play crap like against arsenal but score on the break and look class. Also Ronaldo has a free role for his national side but can never have that for man utd unless they have quality in d centre and play 4-3-3 like Chelsea.

Ronaldo is class and i bet my bottom doller he would look world class in the current barcelona team as would Rooney and Van Nistelroy. And before you say it Peter Crouch wouldnt!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭dr zoidberg

Gegerty wrote:
    "despite comparisons with the likes of former favourite David Beckham and Brazilian star Ronaldinho"

LOL!! Exactly what has he got in common with Beckham? I suppose you could call him a crap version of Ronaldinho :p
    He's the antithesis of Beckham - pacy, full of tricks, but can't cross for his life and has no football brain.

He does have massive potential but he needs to sort his head out, try to look at the overall game, and work on his crossing. I think he has Robbie Keane syndrome at the moment, he's undroppable because there is no-one really to replace him (Park is still unproven) and this is going to his head - dropping him for a few games could give him a wake-up call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

Park has also been injured since he got injured in the warm up against Burton and Scholes is still out with blurred vision (could move Fletch to the right and scholes in centre)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Lemlin wrote:
    Dream on. Even if he was worth 25 million, that wouldn't get two wingers of the calibre United need to challenge in Europe.

12 million would get you Gamst Pedersen and about 6 million change ;) There would be one player fit for United.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

KdjaC wrote:
    12 million would get you Gamst Pedersen and about 6 million change ;) There would be one player fit for United.

kdjac

Mark Hughes wouldn't swap Gamst Pedersen for Ronaldo and a few million. And if United were to bid for Morten, they'd need 15 million IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Yes, a thread will accomplish lots. Maybe Sir Alex browses boards in disguise and finds your idea brilliant.

Well Eamonn Dunphy seems to ;)

Lemlin wrote:
    Mark Hughes wouldn't swap Gamst Pedersen for Ronaldo and a few million. And if United were to bid for Morten, they'd need 15 million IMO.

Would love to agree with you but ....well football doesnt work like that , its 15 if Chelsea want him (which they may if Robben goes) otherwise it be 6 or 7. Great player and one worthy of playing on the wing for United.

kdjac

KdjaC wrote:
    Would love to agree with you but ....well football doesnt work like that , its 15 if Chelsea want him (which they may if Robben goes) otherwise it be 6 or 7. Great player and one worthy of playing on the wing for United.

kdjac

It would be 6 or 7 if Mark Hughes would let him go for that. He wouldn't though. Any team wanting MGP would have to pay the guts of 15 million, whether its Chelsea or not. He's the closest to Duff that a Blackburn supporter ever could of wished for, and look how much Duff went for.

I have to laugh at how you say "worthy" of playing on the wing for United. I agree that United are a huge club and should only be signing players of a high calibre, like MGP, but with some of the donkeys playing for them at the minute, it doesn't appear that it takes much to be "worthy" of playing for United.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I'd be delighted if United flogged him off to some team on the continent, because he is awesome when in the mood and is going to be a great player.

He's terribly inconsistent and very frustrating (for United fans) to watch at times, but he has the pace, power and ability to open up pretty much any defence. His decisions regularly let him down, but that will improve over time.

As for Pedersen, he may be the next coming, but he'd want to produce the goods over a much longer period before earning such a large transfer tag.

I'd be delighted if United flogged him off to some team on the continent, because he is awesome when in the mood and is going to be a great player.

He's terribly inconsistent and very frustrating (for United fans) to watch at times, but he has the pace, power and ability to open up pretty much any defence. His decisions regularly let him down, but that will improve over time.

As for Pedersen, he may be the next coming, but he'd want to produce the goods over a much longer period before earning such a large transfer tag.

United payed 12 million for Ronaldo when he was unproven. They payed that for potential. MGP is now more proven in the PL than Ronaldo was when SAF shelled out that for him.

Pedersen had a phenomenal end of season last year and, so far this year, has been one of the best wingers in the PL, and is still improving. He's a player who can change a game and can score and setup goals. He's still only 24 as well.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Pedersen is 24, and has had less than 1 full season. Ronaldo was what, 18? when United signed him. They paid £12m (which was OTT at the time) because he was one of the brightest young talents in world football.

Lemlin wrote:
    He's still only 24 as well.

Ronaldo only 21 and sadly is playing for a team where he must deliver every week thus any misplaced pass in a game where the whole team is fairly **** he is under immense pressure and abuse. Tbh if Utd were winning as well as in the late 90s Ronaldo would be a god only as his skill produce goals and assists in winning football.

/Same also for Rooney and the opposite for Pedersen where his workrate (lack of)would be noticed more in a team playing for survival 1st success 2nd.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

TonyD79 wrote:

Ronaldo is class and i bet my bottom doller he would look world class in the current barcelona team as would Rooney and Van Nistelroy. And before you say it Peter Crouch wouldnt!!!

haha, stop. Ronaldo wouldnt get close to starting on the barcalona team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

why oh why does he step up to every free kick. he is absolutely terrible at shooting from a dead ball. cant understand why the others dont tell him. gary neville could take a better shot tbh.

WHOOOOSHH OVER THE BAR!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

haha, stop. Ronaldo wouldnt get close to starting on the barcelona team

STOP

Not in his current form but I remember last season when manu beat d pool he destroyed you and dont blame it on your dodgy spanish right back...on form Ronaldo is world class.

His still young..a long time before his career is wasted like kewell...a european cup medal but no respect. Nice to see a rare goal by the aussie "winger" has all the KOP patting themselves on their back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,752 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

haha, stop. Ronaldo wouldnt get close to starting on the barcelona team
    To be honest he wouldnt even get into the Cork City team on current form.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

TonyD79 wrote:
    STOP

Not in his current form but I remember last season when manu beat d pool he destroyed you and dont blame it on your dodgy spanish right back...on form Ronaldo is world class.

His still young..a long time before his career is wasted like kewell...a european cup medal but no respect. Nice to see a rare goal by the aussie "winger" has all the KOP patting themselves on their back

Yeah i remember the time when the feared warrior Ronaldo tore Liverpool apart.:rolleyes: United were the better team, thats it. I think ive heard United fans mention 11 players who destroyed us from the same game so far:D.

And what has Kewell got to do with anything? Youve picked a stupid time to start slagging off Kewell, just when he starts producing great form.