Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You're 'cute'

• 11-01-2006 2:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I hate the word cute. When someone calls you cute, you never know what they mean. A puppy is cute, a baby is cute, a man with no legs trying to function in everyday life is cute...

What do girls mean when they call someone cute ? I barely think its a complement. Or maybe im wrong?

thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

tusky, your so cute when you get angry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭C_Breeze

Tusky wrote:
    I hate the word cute. When someone calls you cute, you never know what they mean. A puppy is cute, a baby is cute, a man with no legs trying to function in everyday life is cute...

What do girls mean when they call someone cute ? I barely think its a complement. Or maybe im wrong?

thoughts?

well its better than "youre as dumb as a muel and twice as ugly"

and theyre hardly gonna tell u that youre a f'n bang staright to your face , are they?

just take the compliment and go from there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Cute generally means you're really nice. Nice though, not necessarily sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

oh, I would think that cute was a good thing, I'd mean it as a compliment anyway.... unless it was 'ooh you're sooo cute!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

yeah cute means "i'd give ye a quick fumble but dont expect breakfast"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Depends on the context really. If you've just poured your heart out to a friend of the opposite sex telling them you're madly in love with them or something and the reply is 'youre cute' then you're rightly fooked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

I fockin hate that too. I think it means you can be nice to look at but they wouldnt want to ride you. You're like the little donkey from the crib, doesnt matter how big your micky is they just want to give you kisses and scruff your hair... must go to the gym more in 06, youd never hear of somebody capable of lifting a monster truck over his head get branded cute!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

oh, I would think that cute was a good thing, I'd mean it as a compliment anyway.... unless it was 'ooh you're sooo cute!'
    embee wrote:
    Cute generally means you're really nice. Nice though, not necessarily sexy.

exactly...it CAN mean a number of things. Its a head****.
    ferdi wrote:
    tusky, your so cute when you get angry

grrr

- I know its not a bad things...its not an insult...its just not much of a complement. Or maybe it is, I suppose it depends on the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

a female friend just told me this.
    When used on guys, "Cute" roughly translates to 'You aren't good looking, but I like you just enough to give you a generic compliment'.

Dont think thats everyones point of view though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

When I say a guy is cute, I usually mean he's really good-looking. Wow, I didn't know guys got so upset over the "cute" word. I always take it as a compliment when someone calls me cute!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

When I say a guy is cute, I usually mean he's really good-looking. Wow, I didn't know guys got so upset over the "cute" word. I always take it as a compliment when someone calls me cute!!

A girl should take cute as a compliment.. A guy on the other hand......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

Onkle51 wrote:
    A girl should take cute as a compliment.. A guy on the other hand......

haha yeah.. I guess it just depends on the type of girl she is and what's going on when she says it. i usually intend it to be a compliment; maybe other girls are using it to get out of saying what's really on their minds... idk.. never thought of it before.. hehe. interesting. :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

It's an ambiguous term. Generally a woman calling a man cute is simply displaying interest, but it's up to him to play his cards right. It would all depend on the context though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Cute means many things. The exact meaning can only be gauged by using social apptitude to judge the context.

Good luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

My Girlfriend always calls me cute!
    At the start i didnt understand it at all, actually tbh I still dont. I suppose it's one of the many mysterys of women.

See they are allowed have different meanings for the same word! :p

But when I say she's a sexy bitch she takes it as a big insult and doesnt talk to me for days...................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

My girlfriend and i always call each other 'cute', usually implying thatya just wanna wrap your arms round said person an squeeze the life ouut them! At which point some sort of sexual inuendo toddles along and we take it from there... :D

However from experince outside of relationships Tusky, what your friend said is bang on, thats usually the case! But as most have said, there's no rule of thumb here, it's all open for scenario-based interpretation! Women... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Like everything it depends on who says it and how it's said. If said by someone you who would have to stop and think before crossing the street to save your life then most likely it's that person drawing a direct comparisson between you and their pet bulldog. Depending on whether this person is a zoophile or not, this could either be very good or very bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

I refresh the AH page to find 3 morning fresh lockings! What's that? nesf's awake? Everything's making more sense... :D

So is that pronounced zoo-file or is it zo-o-file??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Cute can, of course, also mean "smartarse"... as in "oh you cute hoor!"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

'Cute' is like 'sweet' in that women think its a very useful term to use on guys they aren't interested in where as guys incorrectly read it as some kind of gambit.

Fortunately I never get called either due to being a such good looking bastard (with the emphasis on bastard).

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I don't like the word said to me either. I am a confident chap, I can take praise, but I just hate being called cute. I just don't understand how someone tall and built like myself can be seen as "cute". Yes I know the girls mean well but it wrecks my head.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Women deliberately say ambiguous things like this so that if we ever actually manage to figure out what they mean, they can just change the meaning to something else and keep us confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 sweety4uall

stevenmu wrote:
    Women deliberately say ambiguous things like this so that if we ever actually manage to figure out what they mean, they can just change the meaning to something else and keep us confused.
    exactly.heehee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

I hate it when girls take "cute" to mean anything other than a compliment.I mean what is wrong with you people?
    You'd swear someone just called you hideous.When I say cute it can mean cute cause of something they said or did by way of gesture or just looking cute.This does not mean...aw she's cute like a baby's cute,or like my little sister is cute,or like a puppy.I mean get a clue.You can be cute and look gorgeous.Personally to me it would mean that;being cute is being gorgeous but in a shy/subtle kind of way as opposed ot being sexy gorgeous.
    But then again girls will go ape making out that you're saying they aren't sexy.So there's no winning.Just cause you can be cute gorgeous doesn't mean you aren't sexy gorgeous another time or that you aren't sexy anyway.
    I tell my girlfriend that she's cute all the time.And she gets what I mean by it.She has the cutest run you've ever seen!And when i say she's cute,the run in particular,she gets so shy which just makes her ten times cuter.
    *sighs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Cute is often taken as meaning nice.. which is possibly the ****test compliment ever. But I actually like the word cute and used to use it a lot but have kinda refrained from using it for fear of it being taken up the wrong way.

Two situations, one word, two completely different meanings..

#1. I think that if you are referred to as being cute by a third party ie. "I was talking to Mary last night and she said you're cute" - then you can take it as a compliment cos it would have been just as easy for Mary to say nothing.

#2. If you and Mary end up going on a date and at the end of said date you lean in for a kiss, she looks the other way and says "I really think you're cute" - you're fooked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Don't know if its been said yet, but cute has two meanings.
    You are cute - you are attractive to the complimenter
    You are cute - cute as a fox, a smart one etc

Depends on the context of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

centipedes in a vagina are cute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I don't really liked be called cute but I have noticed a male friend of mine always says the girls he likes are cute. Or he would say 'she's not the best looking woman in the world but she's cute'. I don't think I would to hear someone say that about me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

C_Breeze wrote:
    well its better than "youre as dumb as a muel and twice as ugly"

and theyre hardly gonna tell u that youre a f'n bang staright to your face , are they?

Well if they did tell you that then att least you knew exactly where you stood with them.

There is nothing worse than to be lead along like a fu*king idiot. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Bard wrote:
    Cute can, of course, also mean "smartarse"... as in "oh you cute hoor!"...

A lot of things tend to change when you put a hoor next to them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

skywalker wrote:
    A lot of things tend to change when you put a hoor next to them though.

LOL. For example.. lanky, expensive, slutty, funny, cheap, inbred and so on.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

As far as I'm concerned there's two meanings for cute from my point of view. I think des bishop summed it up best:
    "They were right cute feckers... And I don't mean in a nice and cuddly sort of way either!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Yeah a huge difference being called 'inbred' and 'inbred hoor'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭jptk

This is all really confusing! So girls have said im cute before, origionally I took that as a compliment, but now, im thinking, maybe that meant they think Im an ugly bastard or I look like a babys arse or somethin???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Depends on the context of course.

Depends on the girl too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Before Pighead became mysterious and broodingly handsome he was also known as a cutie
    It was a fcuking curse being cute. All the girlies rubbing Pigheads hair and pining over him going
    "whos the cutey wutey manny wanny"
    I was the human equivalent of this feline cutie
    http://tarapfeifer.com/albums/stuff/428128bc6e368.jpg

Anyway thankfully the cuteness developed into sexiness and the rubbing of the head area turned into the rubbing of the groinal area.
    My sincerest condolenses go out to the cute lads out there.Lets face it dogs are called cute. And I doubt any girls who have called Pighead cute are sexually atrracted to doggies. Well apart from that one chick i met in Fibbers a few months back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Cute meaning attractive is an american thing that has come over here fairly recently. As mentioned it has the meaning sharp/clever like "he's a cute hoor". 10 years back I never would have heard a girl describe a guy as cute, if a guy called a girl cute, I would not have taken it to neccesarily mean attractive, but maybe have a baby face. Babies would be the only thing I would call cute.

In american films etc you may here a bunch of girls swooning "oohhh he IS cute" meaning attractive, whereas "ahhh he is soooo cute" would mean babylike (to me anyway). There would be a different inflection on the way cute is said in the 2 cases, the second would be the way you talk to a small child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Well Pighead if you are hanging around in Fibbers you are bound to meet the odd bestial woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

In Ireland cute should mean smart or tricky or sly. Young people now use the Americanism that is cute to describe something cuddly and sweet. You're all watching too many Yank sitcoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭The Clown Man

I tend to growl threateningly at any girl who calls me cute until they take it back and find something more masculine and I usually add "and hard as nails" when they have run out. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Gegerty

I don't know I've always ended up snogging or riding the girls that tell me I'm cute so I take it as a compliment even if its not meant as one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

ferdi wrote:
    yeah cute means "i'd give ye a quick fumble but dont expect breakfast"

Who expects breakfast in this day and age?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Gegerty

Maybe the double meaning is intentional so that they can save embarrasment when they get rejected. "Jesus I only meant you're cute like a puppy dog, I wasn't hitting on you"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

I think if a girl describes a fella as cute to another girl... it may mean she fancies him even though he may not be conventionally good looking

If a girl calls a bloke cute to his face, in my experience, it means she thinks you're a SWELL guy but would have more interest in playing pocket soccer with a hobo than getting dirty with you

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Well I get called cute all the time. I bloody hate it.

"Awww pete, your so cute' she said 14 times in an hour.

God I hate it. I nearly hit someone who called me it a few weeks ago.

A kitten is cute, a puppy dog is cute.

They tend to like rustling up your hair, and giving you big hugs saying things like 'I love you to bits, pete'

Its a pure head****. Some girls mean it to say 'Yes, you are really nice, and I'd love to **** ya' these are few and far between (No2daybut2day seems to say it like that) but the vast majority of them are "Your nice" (Which is an even worse compliment)

If I said a girl was cute, I'd mean she was really good looking. Big compliment.

With a girl it can mean anything!

Please stop saying it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

i think it depends on the sound of your voice when saying the word..that make sense to anyone..?
    "he is so cute"..said it a cuddley,high kinda pitchd voice means hes adorable but u wont score with him or anything..want him more as a friend.
    "he is cute"..said in a kinda strong confident manner implies hes hot.

well thats my theory behind it..people will obviously differ..

and petee..u do live in Cuteopia after all, so get used to it..move location maybe..lol!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Fast_Mover wrote:
    i think it depends on the sound of your voice when saying the word..that make sense to anyone..?
    "he is so cute"..said it a cuddley,high kinda pitchd voice means hes adorable but u wont score with him or anything..want him more as a friend.
    "he is cute"..said in a kinda strong confident manner implies hes hot.

well thats my theory behind it..people will obviously differ..

Good theory!

Most likely true!

edit: Yes I do live in cutopia. All those guys who wanna come live here you can. You gotta be cute though! Lucily theres lots of 'cute' girls here (i.e. Really hot) so it's all good... I've made myself dictator for life, but I give everyone 10mb broadband. Anyone who disrespects me gets thown to the dogs. And these dogs are decididly not cute :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭liamskater

Its like the word meet. 'did you meet your one yesterday'................... ;) you know how it goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

In Ireland cute should mean smart or tricky or sly. Young people now use the Americanism that is cute to describe something cuddly and sweet. You're all watching too many Yank sitcoms.
    I'm sorry...it should mean?
    Some words have several meanings.Who are you to say they shouldn't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭NikNik

Tusky wrote:

thoughts?

ffs learn how to take a compliment. You're reading too much into it. Most girls would regularly use "cute" as a substitute for "hot" nowadays as it sounds more ladylike/innocent. They would just as easily bed a cute guy as they would a hot guy.