Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is it possible to be camp and not gay??

• 06-01-2006 4:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭

had a conversation about this at lunch with a mate. he thinks its impossible but i know two lads like that, i'm free and all that, one of whom has a girlfriend, evidence to the contrary.... anyway.. am I just being idiotically naive here??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Richelieu wrote:
    had a conversation about this at lunch with a mate. he thinks its impossible but i know two lads like that, i'm free and all that, one of whom has a girlfriend, evidence to the contrary.... anyway.. am I just being idiotically naive here??

It is possible, nothing is impossible. Apart from a hangover cure Goddamnit! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Richelieu wrote:
    but i know two lads like that, i'm free and all that

Sort of on topic, do you pronounce your name Richy-loo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dutchboy

The term 'metrosexual' springs to mind........;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭koolkat

well there is just been a bit camp and then there is been VERY camp in which case i think they are lying to themselves as well as to others

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Oh god yes, metrosexual was invented for one of my brothers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

yes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

maybe they swing both ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Oh god yes, metrosexual was invented for one of my brothers.

Can you be both metrosexual and from the weiste?;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I didn't think it was possible but the dude is a walking fashion shop and has more clothes, accessories than any gil I have ever seen.
    Most of us however, loike our lives simple, potatoes, beer and [strike]sheep[/strike] women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

And what of Maud Gonne?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭bagdaddy

yup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

Of course it is, I'm camp as Christmas but I'm also straight. I love Are You Being Served, Carry On and other saucy humour.

Sure only one of the Village People was actually gay!

simu wrote:
    And what of Maud Gonne?
    I wear a chain with her effigy on it around my neck :D
    May spillane* bless you.

*false saviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,543 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

If it talks and squaks like a girl..then it wants to be one..gay imho.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Camp straight men? There is no bigger turn on for me than a good looking straight guy that's a bit camp (not too camp though, don't want him stealing my nail varnish!). Love it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Ofcourse it is!
    That's why we have the word camp.

ClareBear wrote:
    Camp straight men? There is no bigger turn on for me than a good looking straight guy that's a bit camp (not too camp though, don't want him stealing my nail varnish!). Love it! :D

Hmm bear..yeah I can see the comfort zone.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Richelieu wrote:

Tbh you are free to ask one of your friends out, sounds like you guys already have a little gang going already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

there is nothing wrong with wanting to look good, wear nice clothes and taking care of urself

i do all of the above but im not gay or camp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

taking care of yourself vs. getting a manicure is what camp is in my mind. someone with "that" voice and "that" attention to detail. that's camp.

though it's harder to see who's camp these days as all the little knackers wear pink shirts now for some reason :s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

Dutchboy wrote:
    The term 'metrosexual' springs to mind........;)

bingo....you can be gay without being camp, so why not be camp without being gay....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Ajnag

One camp mother****er I know has loads of children all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

my boyfriends pretty damn camp,not the wearing pink tshirts / taking care of his appearence kinda camp but all the little camp flourishes and gestures-its hilarious! but he's definately not gay. so yup, ya can be camp without being gay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Atrocity wrote:
    Sure only one of the Village People was actually gay!
    I think two of them were...

But back more on topic, they're gay, or at least bi. Even the dreaded metrosexuality only takes into account looking after yerself a bit like a girl would. Which isn't necessarily campness.

Azureus, you've got a gay boyfriend. (Are you male or female? :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭masteroftherealm

Nope fraid I aint gay man! ^^^ Im her boyfriend in question!
    Im camp as hell, Im worse than some gay people i know, many people mistake me as gay. But Im as straight as they come long term loving relationship with my sweetie.
    And before ya say well its repressed. Nope been there tried the tshirt and it didnt fit ;-p

So yup Im living proof that its possible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

On the other side of the coin, one of my best friends from school and college is gay, hes not camp really, but hes deffo gay, the strangers at brekkie always follow the same male pattern:D I think camp is just a personality feature that isn't always specific to straight people or gay people.

Camp people can be funny but they can be headwreckers too. hey can girls be camp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

yes, it is. Know lots that would be considered "camp" and aren't gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

And before ya say well its repressed. Nope been there tried the tshirt and it didnt fit ;-p

you tried the tshirt?? what tshirt? :confused:

i really hope we're not gonna discover some underlying ( repressed maybe? ) sexuality issue on boards!! :rolleyes: .....

Despite being very camp, youre pretty much guarenteed straight so ill let ya away with trying on ill fitting tshirts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Anyone catch a programme on E4 a while back,it was called "Playing it straight".The show was about a group of lads(12 I think) who had to woe a girl called Zoe.She in turn had to pick one at end of the day who she thought was gay.Until the last one were they either shared the lot(£100,000)but if she picked a gay guy she got nothing.

There was a guy on it who I had nailed down as gay, as he was unbelievably camp.He turned out to be straight as an arrow....

She picked a guy in end who I thought was straight, but ended up admitting to be gay.Anyway he shared the money with Zoe.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

ClareBear wrote:

you and I should mate
    Camp people can be funny but they can be headwreckers too. hey can girls be camp?
    this feature comes with a lot of women as default. Women being tom-boys or butch would have been more of a comparison to be honest.

Im camp as hell, Im worse than some gay people i know, many people mistake me as gay. But Im as straight as they come long term loving relationship with my sweetie.

so youve batted for the other side but are in no way gay.im confused

No I experimented and didnt like at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Eddie Izzard is straight... and as camp as a scout jamboree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

It's possible i believe, i've known 2-3 blokes that were camp as Julian Clary but totally straight... strange ain't it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

Patrick Stewart is really camp but straight.
    Many people have experiment with their sexuality and are not gay. The truth is most people are actually bi to an extent. Confine any one sex with only each other and it is apparent. Straight and gay is not black and white in the same way the sex of a person is not simply black or white. Homophobes are just afraid they will express their own desires. How somebody elses sexuality is a threat has never made any sense to me any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Alan Hughes on TV3 in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

rubadub wrote:
    Alan Hughes on TV3 in the morning.

I thought he was gay. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭zoro

Apparantly I'm gay and don't know it.
    I've been told by my friends (almost all of them), aswell as my girlfriend of 4 years...

There's nothing wrong with not liking soccer, and enjoying a bit of Gloria Gaynor or Shania Twain every now and then is there? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

It's true - he is. It's not the soccer thing - but the choices of music that he foists on the rest of us has caused some serious gayness suspicions. Gloria Gaynor is the least of it ... :D

PS - this is probably more of a PI thread ;)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Of course it is! I've played pat-a-cake with my straight friend in the middle of the street and he most certainly is not gay. The labelling sheesh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

ixoy wrote:
    I've played pat-a-cake with my straight friend in the middle of the street
    say what now? pat-a-cake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Camel

Message from Dave for ya Dan:

You're a fag, everyone knows

Message from from me:

Read above

Camel wrote:
    Message from Dave for ya Dan:

You're a fag, everyone knows

Message from from me:

Read above
    ?? personal abuse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

No. zoro is gay :v:

Whoooookayyyy... *steps away*
    Ill leave ye too it then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

I couldn't help it:

Gay-The_Court.jpg

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

there is nothing wrong with wanting to look good, wear nice clothes and taking care of urself

i do all of the above but im not gay or camp

if u cant see it... well.... u must be gay!
    I think you have some closet issues that need tending to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

ixoy wrote:
    Of course it is! I've played pat-a-cake with my straight friend in the middle of the street and he most certainly is not gay. The labelling sheesh...
    say what now? pat-a-cake?

It's like push-a-stool but they made it even gayer!