Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Who's Up For A Team Event***

• 05-01-2006 7:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭

I'm putting together a team event

Here's the plan:

Date: Sat 4th Feb
    Venue: Anglers Rest, Chapelizod, Co. Dublin.
    Reg time: 12pm untill 1pm
    Game starts: 1pm

General info:
    I'm looking for 10/12 teams of 8 (80/96 players). This tournament is strictly a non-pro event. All teams must have no more OR less than 8 players. All teams must be part of an established recognised club/association entering under the name of that club /association. All entries will be veted to ensure they fit the profile. The type of entries we are looking for are.........

college poker societies, etc,

varius websites such as Boards, poker.ie, etc,

repitable pub tournament organisers (staff are allowd play however teams must consist of minimum 5 members)

established recognised poker clubs etc,

Finances:

Entry: E20 + E2 reg per person. (E160 +E16 per team)
    Food suplied
    Perpeptual trophy suplied
    Cash prize for winning team and top 9 individual players

This tournament is absolutely non-comercial.

Game Type:
    No limit texas holdem. Freezout

To start- 8 players per table. No more than one player from each team per pable. Tables will be closed in reverse numeric order (ie. table 8 is first to be closed etc.) If a player needs to be taken from one table to fill an empty seat the player to be moved will be the next big blind on the highest no. table. We will use cards with the table and seat no. for each player throughout the tournament..............if a table is being closed the cards representing the empty seats will be put face-down on the table and each player will draw a seat. The only position a player cannot come into on a new table is "small blind". If a player comes in as "big blind" it's unlucky but so be it. Tables will be kept at an average and as close to 8 players as possible throughout the tournament.

Starting chips
    5,000 per person

Blinds:
    Every 30 mins as follows

1pm 25/50
    1:30pm 50/100
    2pm 75/150
    2:30pm 100/200
    3pm 150/300
    3:30pm 200/400
    4pm 300/600
    4:30pm Break incl food
    5pm 400/800
    5:30pm 500/1,000
    6pm 700/1500
    6:30pm 1,000/2,000
    7pm 2000/4000
    7:30pm 1,500/3,000
    8pm 2,000/4,000
    8:30pm Break (Estimated 12 players remaining)
    9pm 3,000/6,000
    9:30pm 4,000/8,000
    10pm 5,000/10,000
    10:30pm 7,000/15,000
    11pm 10,000/20,000
    11:30pm 15,000/30,000
    12am 20,000/40,000
    12:30am estimated time of finish

Prizes
    Winning team.......15% of total prize money

Individual cash prizes.........The following % of remainding cash
    1) 33%
    2) 20%
    3) 15%
    4) 12%
    5) 10%
    6) 4%
    7) 3%
    8) 2%
    9) 1%

How a team scores points:
    Points will be awarded to the top 18 players as follows:
    1st 18pts
    2nd 17pts
    3rd 16pts
    etc,
    etc,
    17th 2pts
    18th 1pt.

The team with the highest accumilitive score wins the cup.

If it is succesfull and interest is there I intend to run it quaterly with the winning teams name engraved on the cup and kept by the team untill the next event.

I'd be greatfull for any feedback or comments anyone has in relation to this. I'd also ask that individuals do not try to enter......... you must be part of a team.

Ps: It would be great if we could stick to the point........lol

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

so if someone isn't in one of the afforementioned clubs/groups etc, then they couldn't organise a group of 8 lads (from a home game, say) and enter?

Why the 'you have to belong somewhere' criteria?

Personally I think it's daft, and exclusionary. Will you get 12 teams from casinos/boards/college socs? good luck if you get it.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Im in. I'll play for FOS :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

roryc wrote:
    Im in. I'll play for FOS :)

Good idea.....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Legend_DIT

I believe DIT Poker society will be most definitely providing a team... I don't think I'll be able to be on this team though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

i'll play. very small chance that i'll have to work, i will know tomorrow. i will put together a team but i want to be known as team Emperor rather than captain. or else i'll happily play in someone elses team.

btw, why not make it fifty quid instead of twenty, it'll be a hell of a long day to take seriously if the prize money is tiny.

but 20 is fine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭jacQues

I'm putting together a team event
    Date: Sat 4th Feb
    Venue: Anglers Rest, Chapelizod, Co. Dublin.

Sounds like good craic. I'll ask the lads here in Galway. :)

jacQues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭VEGAS NIGHTS

5starpool wrote:
    so if someone isn't in one of the afforementioned clubs/groups etc, then they couldn't organise a group of 8 lads (from a home game, say) and enter?

Why the 'you have to belong somewhere' criteria?

Personally I think it's daft, and exclusionary. Will you get 12 teams from casinos/boards/college socs? good luck if you get it.......

The reason is this tournament is for clubs etc. There are endless tournaments out there for a group of lads to play in. There are many players out there who do not get to play in a tournament of this kind (ie, 30 min blind structure, lots of chips and a reasonable skill level) for E22.

Maybe your right and it is daft??? I think alot of not so experienced poker players will enjoy it and will gain alot from the experience of playing in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I'd play that, not far away at all... don't know what team .... have you a Culchie team?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Culchie wrote:
    I'd play that, not far away at all... don't know what team .... have you a Culchie team?

Maybe a guest appearance for FOS...if we cannot get 8 free that day.

50 would be good but again 20 is ok.

btw, why not make it fifty quid instead of twenty, it'll be a hell of a long day to take seriously if the prize money is tiny.

but 20 is fine too.

I can see where you are comming from.........I know some people will criticise it as a low payout for the amount of time invoved........I ask, "is it all about the money????" I'm trying to provide this tournament for people who don't regularly get to play a quality game.......Alot of people don't play casino games for a variety of reasons. This means they are usually playing in a game with small number of players, short blind levels and low stating chips...... This tournament is not about the cash!!!!! It's about the cup and the bragging rights that come with it.

Culchie wrote:

We do now!

I'm on Culchie's team!
    who else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Very good idea especially 'the trophy' part, im all about the trophy. I love the start time aswell. Could everyone from the winning team get a small plaque each because no individual will be able to keep the trophy and passing it around for a couple of weeks each wouldnt work for me?.
    Anyone fancies making me an offer to play in their team im listening:)

too late! ur now on Culchie's team! congrats.

is that rounders123 who used to be a dealer in the Merrion and was involved in the charity in Blackrock?

We do now!

I'm on Culchie's team!
    who else?

I don't mind where the team has come from so long as it has come from some sort of recognised association. If you all meet on boards maybe you could be "Boards culchies" but there must be some sort of association involvement.

I'm just trying to provide this for what would be concidered novice to intermediate skill level. It will go against the ethos of what I'm trying to do if a load of players show up who would be considered good casino type players.

too late! ur now on Culchie's team! congrats.

is that rounders123 who used to be a dealer in the Merrion and was involved in the charity in Blackrock?

Thanks Emperour id be glad to serve. No im the guy that came up to you to say hello several weeks ago in the fitz €30 f.o while you were dealing remember?.

ok, i understand.

i better have a think about it. i cant speak for boards so i''l have to think of another way for a bunch of us to play as a team. maybe a poker bloggers team? maybe not.

Thanks Emperour id be glad to serve. No im the guy that came up to you to say hello several weeks ago in the fitz €30 f.o while you were dealing remember?.

i think so man but my short term memory is shot to hell from the Erdinger.

anyway, i don't think that we're allowed to play now.

Could everyone from the winning team get a small plaque each because no individual will be able to keep the trophy and passing it around for a couple of weeks each wouldnt work for me?.

I'm trying to run this on a budget of max E200. I've to pay for the food, cards, transport of tables, the cup and some other small expenses that will be encured. However, leave it with me and I'll see what I can do. Would it be better to arange a medal for each player on the winning team as it is a team event instead of everyone on the final table???

ok, i understand.

i better have a think about it. i cant speak for boards so i''l have to think of another way for a bunch of us to play as a team. maybe a poker bloggers team? maybe not.

As I said.......... perhaps you can arange one or two teams from the boards forum. And run it by the boards administrators before stating you are representing boards??????

FOS mofo

I'm heading into the emporium now so keep posting and I'll check them later.........hopefully in the early hrs of the morning and not 10pm

Cheers

As I said.......... perhaps you can arange one or two teams from the boards forum. And run it by the boards administrators before stating you are representing boards??????

ach,

i'll have to be on my best behaviour and the boards administrators are sexual deviants.

i tell u what, if Tom says that I can represent boards for the gaame on this thread then we will go ahead with organising a team or two. Its up to devore (the head perv).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

fos. not in the least bit interested in trophies tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

Legend_DIT wrote:
    I believe DIT Poker society will be most definitely providing a team... I don't think I'll be able to be on this team though. :(
    we'll have a team... trying to get nick to change it to sat feb 11th cos myself and anto are away on the 4th. we might put 2 teams in, team anto and team jeff, or team good and team bad! hehe!

if its on the 4th i'll have a word with shoutman and let him be team emporer, but if he doesnt bring home the gold he'll be punished!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

FOS ftw, even with me playin!

i think so man but my short term memory is shot to hell from the Erdinger.

anyway, i don't think that we're allowed to play now.

lol i dont think you remember me because a few weeks later you turned around from your adjacent table and looked over in the general direction and i gave the old salute but you looked through me!. I said to myself "Forget it mac its not an insult he just doesnt remember you. I'll let him off with a hiding next time i find him".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

20 euro is far too low a buy in for this type of tournament. I think you should make it 50 a head minimum. Also it might be better to make it a shootout.

I'm trying to run this on a budget of max E200. I've to pay for the food, cards, transport of tables, the cup and some other small expenses that will be encured. However, leave it with me and I'll see what I can do. Would it be better to arange a medal for each player on the winning team as it is a team event instead of everyone on the final table???

Ah no i can see youve enough expense. My vanity only goes so far!. The cup is enough(or no cup but a plaque(miniture) each?. Or a Shield that stays in the Anglers that gets engraved on with each tournament that takes place and a plaque each?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

NickyOD wrote:
    20 euro is far too low a buy in for this type of tournament. I think you should make it 50 a head minimum. Also it might be better to make it a shootout.

You're just jealous cos you're not allowed play. phlblblblblblblblblblbl. :D
    ... Could everyone from the winning team get a small plaque each because no individual will be able to keep the trophy and passing it around for a couple of weeks each wouldnt work for me?...

Now that's confidence.

If Culchie Boards has a team can I play on it even though I'm not a culchie and I would promise not to slag off my culchie team mates and would definitely not wear the Arnotts shirt on the day and anyway I'm due to open a shop near Kells at the beginning of February and I'll probably have to move house so then I'll be a kind of a culchie so I might qualify and I'll call the leader of the team anything he wants. [/pant][/grovel]

Why do you need to transport the tables, I thought they were there permanently, Id much prefer a 50 buyin - dont mind if its shootout or normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

im a poor student that cant afford that kinda buy in, the reason why the other lads are going on ski trips and all that is because they steal from old ladys, muggings etc.

honest

I'll play either way but its a bit small for our celeb member to be travelling up for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

i dont think he is allowed anyway, it says non-pro players only.!!

DubTony wrote:
    If Culchie Boards has a team can I play on it even though I'm not a culchie and I would promise not to slag off my culchie team mates and would definitely not wear the Arnotts shirt on the day and anyway I'm due to open a shop near Kells at the beginning of February and I'll probably have to move house so then I'll be a kind of a culchie so I might qualify and I'll call the leader of the team anything he wants. [/pant][/grovel]

yeh, and we take all your women and jobs as well.

lol ... this is gonna be fun .... and it's going to be in a pub ... and it's the day before shortstacks big tourney in Drogheda .... good weekend in store.

What size welly do you take, with thick socks on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

Culchie wrote:

What size welly do you take, with thick socks on?

Holy Crap. Magazines, Poker sites and now footwear. Dermot Desmond had better watch his back.

eh ... would they be the wooly ones or the scratchy nylon ones? Cos the wooly ones make me feet sweat something awful. :o

NickyOD wrote:

Hi Nicky,

Don't know if you remember me I met you in the fitz during the poker.ie live game. I saw you on tv3.......well done and best of luck for the weekend. I'll be playing the E250 on sunday. E1,100 is a bit out of my leage.

Anyway, I understand that this is a big tournament for that type of buy in. But that's the whole piont. Most tournaments of this kind are aimed towards well seasoned players who are more than likely full-time workers who can well afford a E50 buy in. Let me be the first to say (because it's only a matter of time befor some one else says it)........ Vegas Nights is the Dunes Stores of poker. We provide cheap quality games. Due to the number of events and the low buy in our tournaments are accesable to everyone......that's what we do.

A E50 buy in will exclude alot of student type players who rarely (if ever) get to play in an event like this because the buy in is usually E50+ People who are prepared to pay E50+ have a huge variey of tournaments with a quality structure to choose from on a weekly basis.......We provide E50 one rebuy OR top up tourny once a month. We also had a E100 one rebuy OR top up 2-day event with 45 min levels in Dec. This tourny is being provided for pub-players, students non-pro poker clubs etc.........

It's not about the cash...... it's about the cup!!!
    The experience of playing in a game like this will help peoples poker skills.

I got a bit long-winded their.....sorry. I respect your opinion and would welcome any more feedback you may have.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I've no problem with people who regularly post here (or even irregularly!) forming an official Boards team for this. Ecksor and Regi both play too and would be interested I think though Ecksor is in the UK for a good while.

I'm sure Mike and I will grab a few people and throw together an Antesup team if we can.

DeV.

Why bother? FOS is gonna take it down, just like the charity game. Watch out for J7o Tom :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

I'd love to play and I'm a genuine culchie (hint hint) although I'd have to go to Tralee first to collect the wellies. Anyone stuck for players can put me down. Ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

ionapaul wrote:
    FOS ftw, even with me playin!

Okay enough already what is FOS ftw short for......... does me bleedin head in. Now I know WTF means (I used to think lol meant Lord Oh Lord) IS FOS (Full of Sh*t)..........

Full of Sh*t.....

FISTFUL OF SHAMROCK ! ! ! ! !

smurph, where have you been?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

The type of entries we are looking for are.........

college poker societies, etc,

varius websites such as Boards, poker.ie, etc,

repitable pub tournament organisers (staff are allowd play however teams must consist of minimum 5 members)

established recognised poker clubs etc,

What exactly constitutes a recognised poker club, do you have to have heard of them?
    Also, I dunno many poker clubs who dont have casino players in them.
    Finally, whats stopping 8 lads showing up and saying we are "the poker paddies" or whatever?

DeadParrot wrote:
    What exactly constitutes a recognised poker club, do you have to have heard of them?
    Also, I dunno many poker clubs who dont have casino players in them.
    Finally, whats stopping 8 lads showing up and saying we are "the poker paddies" or whatever?

Im assuming the Fitzwilliam club etc can have a team

smurph wrote:
    Okay enough already what is FOS ftw short for......... does me bleedin head in. Now I know WTF means (I used to think lol meant Lord Oh Lord) IS FOS (Full of Sh*t)..........

FOS for the win (I think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Nick, do you know if the submarine are having a team, not sure how I would get on a team, would be interested in going... play the sub every other week and the odd time in some of the other tournaments.

Should be a good laugh anyway hope it works out.

Any word on the sattilites for the joeshow game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

FOS for the win (I think)

Not if "The House of The 8 5" has anything to say about it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

roryc wrote:
    Full of Sh*t.....

FISTFUL OF SHAMROCK ! ! ! ! !

smurph, where have you been?!

Moved house just before Christmas, so it was bit hectic. If you are going to city West tonight i might see you there. I am talking myself into going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Room for one more on team culchie?

Waylander wrote:
    Room for one more on team culchie?

reading through the thread in order .... we now have 8 good Culchies ready for drink and poker.

Captain ... Doc Farrell

Culchie
    Rounders123
    Dub Tony
    Shoutman ? (if no other team)
    Careca
    Joey JJ (if no other team)
    Waylander

As Captain, Doc will be buying the drink. As (enforced) Founder member by Doc, I insist that all team members must wear their county colours to tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭charlesanto

I was hoping there would be a "Team Waylander" !