Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help me with a present!

• 02-01-2006 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭

Hi There

So my hubbie is going to get a dinghy for his 40th. He has done a number of courses and has sailed in toppers and lasers. I want to buy him a single handed dinghy for practice in - that will last him a few challenging years. However I have no idea what to buy or where to get it - willing to spend 4k on it!!

Any pointers would be wonderful!!

Pitsy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Silver Breeze

Lucky man!

A few questions before pointers:
    1..where does he sail, does he want to race or just potter about?
    2..will he want to tow the boat to various locations, or keep it in one place?
    3..does he have wetsuit, spray top, booties, gloves, buoyancy aid, etc?
    4..what size is he?

If he wants to race, he wants a Laser. Toppers are grand at sailing schools, but in the real world they are boats for children.

Lasers can be sailed with a full rig, as at the Olympics, needs a fit and sizeable man in a breeze. Lasers can also be sailed with a smaller 4.7 rig. Once I could sail a full rig Laser in force 5 or 6. Now, I am an older and less fit feller, wouldn't be able for it, so I use the 4.7 rig in a strong breeze, larger rig in lighter winds.

If he just wants to fooster about, then maybe the Topper, easier to carry on a roof rack, fun to sail, but a bit small, and dare I say a bit naff for us adults.

If he wants a Laser, he'll need a trailer/trolley combi, unless there will always be three people to lift the Laser onto the car roof rack.

For an idea of second hand Laser prices, visit the Irish Laser website and look in the for sale section.

But, you'll need to know what to look for when buying second hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭JamesM

Laser Pico might be a compromise between a Laser and a Topper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭pitstop

Hi Lads

Thanks for the replies - has really helped actually - as I think I have narrowed it down to a Topper Uno (brand new with trailer from Viking Marine) - for the following reasons:

he has already sailed them and thought it was OK
    With a change of rig, he can progress to racing this by changing from Uno to Uno Racing - did I read this right??????? (http://www.toppersailboats.com/topaz.html)

To answer your questions:

1..where does he sail, does he want to race or just potter about?
    West Cork mostly - we live there and have our own mooring!! He wants to practice and potter about.

2..will he want to tow the boat to various locations, or keep it in one place?
    No towing required but I will get the trailer just in case as it's only a few bob per the above

3..does he have wetsuit, spray top, booties, gloves, buoyancy aid, etc?
    Yes - he has done quite a bit by renting all the time (he never felt he could spare the cash to treat himself

4..what size is he?
    Is of slight build and prone to back problems so needs something light enough (I know - this is probably a bad sport for this but I'm only the wife - so only need to care for the crippled not prevent it:D

So would you agree - interested in your thoughts and also how the hell do I get it to West Cork??? (it's a surprise so can't ask himself!)

Thanks again

Pitsy!

Hi Pitsy,
    It's the Topaz you are looking at - it is bigger than the Topper and probably more suitable. The Topaz upgrades can cost a fair bit. I would still say check out the Laser Pico - both about the same size.
    You might also get a good second-hand Pico from Westcork Sailing in Adrigole - save you transporting too far, they would deliver.
    If you have already hired from someone in the area, you could ask them if they are upgrading their fleet and get them to order an extra boat - that would solve your delivery problem - probably get a good price too.

Jim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭pitstop

Thank James

I live in Adrigole!!! small world!! They only have toppers and no Picos which is a pity - good to know about the cost!

Thanks for all your help

Pitsy

pitstop wrote:
    Thank James

I live in Adrigole!!! small world!! They only have toppers and no Picos which is a pity - good to know about the cost!

Thanks for all your help

Pitsy
    I thought of Niall & Gail when you said Westcork. I have found them very friendly - maybe you could ask them for advice - they would get discount for you no matter what boat you decided on - and could get it delivered.
    He's a lucky guy - your fella.
    Jim.