Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone in The Palace Tonight ??

• 01-01-2006 9:29am
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭

well now Im not one to give out when I see someone having a good time.. But was anyone in The Picturehouse (Formerly The Palace) Tonight.. ??

The DJ was absolutely out of his head on either E or A LOT of Coke.. I'll probably get banned for mentioning those two words/letters.. I dont know what the policy is on it here...

BUT.. I was sooo suprised he was allowed to play in that state..

How do I know he was out of his head I hear you ask

Well Clue No 1.. He was standing at the DJ box doing the COME ON wave to an empty dance floor.. Like creamfields tent DJ.. Get your whistles out style...

Clue No 2.. He was chewing the jaw off himself.. He could have run the ESB off his Jaw for the few hours he was up there..

Clue No 3.. He left the DJ box at least 5 times to go to the dance floor to have a serious bop... And dance with an imaginary person who apparently was egging him on by looking at his actions... I cant really describe what he was doing but imagine someone a dance floor who has ppl dancing around him cheering him on... Thats what he was like.. Only... Like I said.. There was nobody on the dancefloor..

Now Im by no means a party pooper.. But the bouncers where just standing there beside him chatting to him (I think they MAY have been in a similar state?? Although Im not 100% sure**) Which is where my bone of contention lyes...

BECAUSE.. Iv been in there a few times over the last few months and Iv seen a few fights break out on the dance floor.. One of which sticks in my mind where two lads started to have a bit of a scuffle which ended in one of them getting a glass in his face... which was horrific to look at.. but these bouncers where nowhere to be seen.. and one would be forgiven for thinking that had they been on hand when this scuffle broke out.. this lad wouldnt have ended up in that state... I just think the level of security in the place could be a lot better.. And people are also allowed bring glasses onto the dance floor.. Which in other clubs Iv been in, theres a bouncer standing at the steps to stop you (Iv tried it myself many a night, bring my glass on the floor that is.. :rolleyes: ) Obviously to stop incidents such as the above from happening...

Im sorry if I sound like a prood here.. I love a good night out as much as the next person.. But I find it hard to feel safe in the place.. Which is a pitty because its such a good place, full of nice decent people... But I always stay on the edge of the dancefloor.. Just in case.. Specially after seeing how long it takes for the bounchers to actuallly get to the scene of a bad situation... (at least 5 minutes... which is way too long when fights break out and drink is involved)

Rant over... Thanks for reading..

So if you where in the Palace tonight or any other night.. What do you think?? Is it just me and the bf who think this???

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Ok... So I guess there was no boardsers in there tonight... but anyway... trust me... Not great for security at all :o And a girl lost her bag and went up to the "Security Guard" and they didnt even make an announcement (sp) to try and help the girl...

If you are that girl.. Hope you found it :o :eek:

Hope yis all dont think Im mental for posting the above.. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

You're not painting the place in a good light, I wouldnt be tempted to go there.

No I dont suppose I am... I wouldnt be sending my kids there anyway... If I was old enough to have kids going there...

But like I said there is always a good crowd there... Its just a pity about the staff :o

Well like I said its full of lovely people but where theres drink being served theres always gonna be agro... So you need good security... Which unfortunately doesnt seem to be on offer in the palace :o

Like I said... Hate to sound like a granny.. :o Which I probably do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

oh my god that is so wierd cos i went there bout 2years ago and havent been back there since. Since its under the new managment it is seriously dodgy. I went there with my boyfriend at the time and my best friend and i NEVER NEVER get really drunk-i always get merry but never so much that i dont know where i am.Anyways that night there was these really strange girls sitting beside us and they seemed to know everyone in there and the next thing i remember is waking up the next morning back in my bed. My boyfriend told me i had got hammered and had started doing flirty dances with those girls.This is totally out of charachter for me so he took me home but i didnt have a clue what i was doing apparently.This scared the bejesus out of me the next day as theose girls must have put something in my drink-i havent been back to the palace since-it is dodgyville.I stay safely in flannerys on the other side of the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

oh no, someone giving out about the quality of a nightclub in Dublin, shock horror. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

only thing I remember about the palace is that the average age seemed to be about 17 (in 2000)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Firesuite

Erk, that sounds horrible. I always thought the DJs there might have been on drugs, but only because of the woeful music they played.

I don't think complaining about the quality is quite the same as complaining about the security being non-existent and having your drink spiked.. :eek:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

its a big trinity place on a fri night, walk in there ans its like the arts block in trinity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

xzanti wrote:
    well now Im not one to give out when I see someone having a good time.. But was anyone in The Picturehouse (Formerly The Palace) Tonight.. ??

The DJ was absolutely out of his head on either E or A LOT of Coke.. I'll probably get banned for mentioning those two words/letters.. I dont know what the policy is on it here...

BUT.. I was sooo suprised he was allowed to play in that state..

How do I know he was out of his head I hear you ask

Well Clue No 1.. He was standing at the DJ box doing the COME ON wave to an empty dance floor.. Like creamfields tent DJ.. Get your whistles out style...

Clue No 2.. He was chewing the jaw off himself.. He could have run the ESB off his Jaw for the few hours he was up there..

Clue No 3.. He left the DJ box at least 5 times to go to the dance floor to have a serious bop... And dance with an imaginary person who apparently was egging him on by looking at his actions... I cant really describe what he was doing but imagine someone a dance floor who has ppl dancing around him cheering him on... Thats what he was like.. Only... Like I said.. There was nobody on the dancefloor..

Comedy Gold!! :D Thanks for that, t'was a good 5 minutes of laughter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Any idea what the guys name was? I know the usual Sat. night guy in the Picturehouse... he's fairly 'manic' to say the least, your description could fit in with him somewhat...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Sounds like my type of place. I must attend it.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

used to be a good place on student nights back in the day.cheap drink and drunk girls! what a combination.

NoelRock wrote:
    Any idea what the guys name was? I know the usual Sat. night guy in the Picturehouse... he's fairly 'manic' to say the least, your description could fit in with him somewhat...!

May well be the same guy... somewhat resembles Robert Downey Jr ?? But tbh my main problem is the bouncers.. Like I said... USELESS

panda100 wrote:
    oh my god that is so wierd cos i went there bout 2years ago and havent been back there since. Since its under the new managment it is seriously dodgy. I went there with my boyfriend at the time and my best friend and i NEVER NEVER get really drunk-i always get merry but never so much that i dont know where i am.Anyways that night there was these really strange girls sitting beside us and they seemed to know everyone in there and the next thing i remember is waking up the next morning back in my bed. My boyfriend told me i had got hammered and had started doing flirty dances with those girls.This is totally out of charachter for me so he took me home but i didnt have a clue what i was doing apparently.This scared the bejesus out of me the next day as theose girls must have put something in my drink-i havent been back to the palace since-it is dodgyville.I stay safely in flannerys on the other side of the road.

Jees that sounds well dodgy too... You have to be soooo carefull where you leave your drink these days... And you know what, I heard it would be so easy for publicans to put "drink tests" on the bar so you could test your drink before you drink it... These are somewhat like a preggers test in that it changes colour if it detects drugs in your drink... Could save a lot of heartache imo :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I used to go to the palace but had my phone stolen there once, put it down to my own carelessness and too much drink, and so I went back.
    Next time I was there one of my friends phones was stolen, and being a bit more sober we reported it to the bouncer, only to find we had to get in line as about 10 other phones had gone missing. I swear to God, I honestly believe the bouncers were in on it.

With regard to the drink being spiked. Myself and my friends went to the redbox on halloween a few years ago, we were 17/18 years old.
    Anyhows, we ordered drinks, we were chatting away to the bar man who was about our age, everything was going well, about 10 minutes later one of friends is completely out of it, we only had two drinks and it just didn't make sense.
    Went up to the bar to ask for a glass of water, and the barman (same one we were talking to earlier) winks at me and says "you can settle up with me for the yolks later".

Honest to God, he had slipped some pills in the drinks and thought he was doing us a favour! The fact that none of us had ever taken any kinda pills made it worse because we didn't even know what we were dealing with, the whole night was a blurry mess.

Haven't gone back there since, although, if I did, and the same thing happened again, I would know to call in the gardai or something, because there is no way that we should have let him get away with that.

I used to go to the palace but had my phone stolen there once, put it down to my own carelessness and too much drink, and so I went back.
    Next time I was there one of my friends phones was stolen, and being a bit more sober we reported it to the bouncer, only to find we had to get in line as about 10 other phones had gone missing. I swear to God, I honestly believe the bouncers were in on it.

With regard to the drink being spiked. Myself and my friends went to the redbox on halloween a few years ago, we were 17/18 years old.
    Anyhows, we ordered drinks, we were chatting away to the bar man who was about our age, everything was going well, about 10 minutes later one of friends is completely out of it, we only had two drinks and it just didn't make sense.
    Went up to the bar to ask for a glass of water, and the barman (same one we were talking to earlier) winks at me and says "you can settle up with me for the yolks later".

Honest to God, he had slipped some pills in the drinks and thought he was doing us a favour! The fact that none of us had ever taken any kinda pills made it worse because we didn't even know what we were dealing with, the whole night was a blurry mess.

Haven't gone back there since, although, if I did, and the same thing happened again, I would know to call in the gardai or something, because there is no way that we should have let him get away with that.

Oh my god... Thats bizzare... Its rare that someone would actually own up to spiking you... A friend of mine went out to a club one night, slipped away half way throught the night and woke up in the early hours beside some scumbag... to this day she has no idea what happened... He had hidden her clothes... She had to pretend she needed to pee so he'd let her out of the bed and robbed his clothes off his line to get away... jumped over his wall and ran out onto the road and luckily a kind taxi driver stopped and dove her home... she cant remember which house or road he lived in cause she ran so far but I dont think she'd report it anyway... I reckon it was Rohypnol (sp) ??

Scary stuff... :o

xzanti wrote:
    Oh my god... Thats bizzare... Its rare that someone would actually own up to spiking you... A friend of mine went out to a club one night, slipped away half way throught the night and woke up in the early hours beside some scumbag... to this day she has no idea what happened... He had hidden her clothes... She had to pretend she needed to pee so he'd let her out of the bed and robbed his clothes off his line to get away... jumped over his wall and ran out onto the road and luckily a kind taxi driver stopped and dove her home... she cant remember which house or road he lived in cause she ran so far but I dont think she'd report it anyway... I reckon it was Rohypnol (sp) ??

Scary stuff... :o

Jesus, that is rape! That is really scary, the kinda thing that would haunt you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

ffuuuuckin hell man! That is some messed up stuff!! So glad im not a girl, i dont think lads have to worry about half the crap you lot do!!

A mate of mine though swears blind he was spiked one night with some crazy stuff...he went haywire and missing for about 12 hours...no one, including himself, knows where he went or what he did... he woke up in a field about 10 minutes from his house missing his shirt too :eek: He didn't have that much to drink either last time we saw him...it was still early in the night...

Apperantly lads get spiked by other lads so they can rob them...but that dosen't make any sence in this case...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

If someones drink gets spiked it theres own fault. Seriously cant understand how this happens to people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

If someones drink gets spiked it theres own fault. Seriously cant understand how this happens to people.

I fail to see your logic here Chucky, would you care to explain??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

there was coverage of "drink spiking " in the media recently and a doctor from a&e was on and said they rarely actually find rohypnol or any drug other than alcohol in the blood samples of people claiming to have had their drink spiked. i'd never leave a drink unattended not because i think it wud be spiked but because i've caught people robbing my pint before .the scientific evidence shows 90% of people who claim their drink was spiked were actually not spiked at all.

as for the story of the bar man who spiked drinks with yokes,why didnt the people involved report him to his manager/gardai and go to a hospital to get blood tests and treatment like any reasonable person would do if they had been poisoned???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

zomg!

DJ ON DRUGS.

HOLD THE FRONT PAGE.

as for the story of the bar man who spiked drinks with yokes,why didnt the people involved report him to his manager/gardai and go to a hospital to get blood tests and treatment like any reasonable person would do if they had been poisoned???
    Because we were stupid. I have the most ridiculous for not reporting the incident.
    We were 17/18 and not supposed to be in the Redbox in the 1st place, we had all made up stories about staying iun each others houses, and for some reason, the thought of angry parents out weighed the thoughts of seeing this guy reported.
    Completely fcuking retarded, I know, but that actually is the real reason.

there was coverage of "drink spiking " in the media recently and a doctor from a&e was on and said they rarely actually find rohypnol or any drug other than alcohol in the blood samples of people claiming to have had their drink spiked. i'd never leave a drink unattended not because i think it wud be spiked but because i've caught people robbing my pint before .the scientific evidence shows 90% of people who claim their drink was spiked were actually not spiked at all.

This is sad but true-i say hardly any drinks are spiked at all.I a man or women wants to get someone off their head so they wont remember anything they just but them lots of drink.spiking of drinks is extremely extremely rare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

panda100 wrote:
    This is sad but true-i say hardly any drinks are spiked at all.I a man or women wants to get someone off their head so they wont remember anything they just but them lots of drink.spiking of drinks is extremely extremely rare

I think you'l find its the exact opposite.
    Ive a couple of friends who'd be big into clubbing and all that goes with it.Some of them are positive them have had drinks spiked with ghb before but they would have just presumed they had a hangover had they not taken ghb themselfs in the past.

Because we were stupid. I have the most ridiculous for not reporting the incident.
    We were 17/18 and not supposed to be in the Redbox in the 1st place, we had all made up stories about staying iun each others houses, and for some reason, the thought of angry parents out weighed the thoughts of seeing this guy reported.
    Completely fcuking retarded, I know, but that actually is the real reason.

Retarded isn't even the word for it... that barman could have been doing that to dozens of girls, not just that night but every ****ing night... To be honest, because you didn't report it makes you just as bad as him:mad:

LundiMardi wrote:
    To be honest, because you didn't report it makes you just as bad as him:mad:
    Yeah it does:rolleyes:

that's what i said.

LundiMardi wrote:
    that's what i said.
    Yeah you did:rolleyes:

i'm sure you don't agree with me... but sure doesn't the truth hurt?

LundiMardi wrote:
    i'm sure you don't agree with me... but sure doesn't the truth hurt?
    Well hit me with the truth and I will tell you.

I have already stated that I was quite young at the time, should it happen today I would certainly report the crime, although I am sure proving it would be difficult.

However, I do not agree that our not reporting this guy makes us as bad as him. Certainly, we were guilty of making a bad decision, but thats as far as it goes.
    What he did was calcuated and extremely dangerous, what we did was lacking in logical thought, and motivated by and unwarranted teen fear of folks reaction to our lies.

You said yourself it was *calcuated and extremely dangerous*, you could have prevented him repeating said action.. Sure how are we to know he hasn't killed someone from doing it since?

LundiMardi wrote:
    You said yourself it was *calcuated and extremely dangerous*, you could have prevented him repeating said action.. Sure how are we to know he hasn't killed someone from doing it since?

I don't, I can kinda see where your coming from, by reporting him we could have ensured that he never did it again, if we were able to prove it.
    I am sure he could have taken the angel that we were a gang of your girls, who experimented, got scared and pointed the finger in his direction.
    Leaving that aside, I agree that had we been able to prove it, we could have made a difference, but I disagree that by not reporting him it makes us a bad as him, it does not.

Many girls are raped and do not report for many reasons, that are not as bad as the evil bastard who raped him
    Many men are beaten by women and do not report, again, it does not make them as bad as the woman who beat them
    People can be afraid to tell for any number of reasons, it doesn't make them as bad as the person who carries out the crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Beta2

panda100 wrote:
    I stay safely in flannerys on the other side of the road.

Bad news for you they are owned by the same people!!

An old friend of mine (haven't seen hime in well over a year) works there as a barman, typically in flannerys sometimes in the palace. The bouncers are shared by both venues, if they have a big incident in either place the bouncers go across the road to help.

I used to go there when it was planet murphys, but its just a dive now, some of my mates actually still go there, don't know why :rolleyes:

My girlfriend works as a nurse, she has seen countless people coming in who have been "spiked", yet she has never seen a patient who has had rohypnol or any drug show up on the blood tests!!

It tends to be a case of "one of my sixteen pints was spiked".

I'm sure it does happen, but not half as much as people claim

eireal wrote:
    I think you'l find its the exact opposite.
    Ive a couple of friends who'd be big into clubbing and all that goes with it.Some of them are positive them have had drinks spiked with ghb before but they would have just presumed they had a hangover had they not taken ghb themselfs in the past.

no i think you'll find that the statistics speak for themselves.Maybe the clubbing scene is diferent but in your ordinary everyday nightclubs there is little or no evidence of drink spiking and there are huge statistics to back up this as stated previously on this thread.
    Also op can i just ask was this on new years night,im dying to know what the mad dj did for the countdown into the new year??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Too true. There are fewer actual incidences of drink spiking than people think. I often get random friends telling me the following:

1: "Oh I was just all over the place after 3/4 pints last night - I''m not normally like that"
    2: "Mmm..."
    1: "One of them must've been spiked!"
    2: "...what did you eat beforehand?"
    1: "Ah, nothing since the night before!"

Aha, and the answer generally lies therein.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Some guy died on the dance floor there once, not too sure of the details tbh.

Fairly dodgy place anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

dont mind people doing drugs in clubs provided they keep with their friends and dont start fights. Its part of club culture. The DJ I wouldnt be too annoyed about either once the music was ok but I agree with you on the bouncers they are being paid to protect the place and being off their head is dangerous and irresponsible. Was in a pub a few months ago and was watching 2 bouncers on the stairs. One of the lads handed a pill to the other and he ate it. Clear as day most people wouldnt have noticed. How the hell can you control the crowds and stop fights if your popping pills cmon lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Johnson

dont mind people doing drugs in clubs provided they keep with their friends and dont start fights. Its part of club culture. The DJ I wouldnt be too annoyed about either once the music was ok but I agree with you on the bouncers they are being paid to protect the place and being off their head is dangerous and irresponsible. Was in a pub a few months ago and was watching 2 bouncers on the stairs. One of the lads handed a pill to the other and he ate it. Clear as day most people wouldnt have noticed. How the hell can you control the crowds and stop fights if your popping pills cmon lads

Could it have been a caffeine pill? Glucose? Maybe the bouncer had a headache or a cold. Think about it. Out on the door. Late nights. Bound to take its toll sooner or later. Consider all the possibilities before you judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

best caffeine pills ive ever seen so!!