Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your 3 most hated pubs in Limerick and why

• 31-12-2005 7:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭

1st prize: Nancy's - absolutely unbearable on fri/sat nights. total overcrowded and music totaly to noisy. shouting and standing like a sardine in a tin makes a good night?
    2nd prize: costelloes - a dirty sh*thole upstairs. wont be there if there is a fire...
    3rd prize: clohessys - 25 TV screens making communication impossible. people staring to a screen with soccer and calling this "socialising"

in memoriam: highstool - weird people. nothing to add.

IB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

The davin arms! cuz i hate it so so f00ken much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭Inge Binge

gimme a hint - where is davin arms? heard about it. is it in somewhere ennis road?

IB

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

three worst pubs

Tom and Gerrys. last time I was there the pints tasted like metal

Punches - No music anymore and they demolished the nice roomy lounge. the bar is a sardine can

Smyths - the bouncers are ****, and the music they have is muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭hobie

gimme a hint - where is davin arms? heard about it. is it in somewhere ennis road?

Just across the road from Dunnes at the Jetland ..... yep, right on the Ennis road :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭Inge Binge

Been once there. i remember. and we changed to SuperMacs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Not a massive fan of Smyths, just something not right about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,676 ✭✭✭Chong

I no this sounds crazy but Mollys wrecks my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,178 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Checked out Harris' Bar the other night for a pint and didn't like it at all. Very small especially on the ground floor. Noticed alot of posers wearing blazers ording wine. It actually felt more like a posh wine bar than a pub.

Definately not my cup of tea anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭radioman

three worst pubs

Tom and Gerrys. last time I was there the pints tasted like metal

Punches - No music anymore and they demolished the nice roomy lounge. the bar is a sardine can

Smyths - the bouncers are ****, and the music they have is muck.

Agreed on all 3 counts. I was in T & G's lately (don't ask why), but the barman was actually sipping away on a pint himself behind the bar. Always a bad sign.

Anybody remember Patrick's? It's now the Polish bar but when it was Patrick's it was the biggest dive in the country

• Registered Users Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭irishguy

bazz26 wrote:
    Checked out Harris' Bar the other night for a pint and didn't like it at all. Very small especially on the ground floor. Noticed alot of posers wearing blazers ording wine. It actually felt more like a posh wine bar than a pub.

Definately not my cup of tea anyway.

i quite liked it actually the upstairs is very nice, the crowd is a bit old its just like the bank. The balcony would be cool in the summer looking out over the river

• Registered Users Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭sioda

1. The Steering Wheel in The roxboro shopping centre scariest place I've ever been.

2. O Riardas was a hole when it was 2 pubs is an even bigger hole now

3. The bank had better atmosphere and probably better drink when it was a bank.

Special mention to souths for completely F#@!ing the place up I mean Frank and Angela on the jacks need we say more

Yeah Souths used to be great, now it's just..... bad, can't really explain it. It isn't that the new place is awful, it just seems awful when you think of how it used to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

am loving the new ladies toilets in souths though-there gorge!

I just cant stand aubars!!i really do!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭s8n

Weird vibe in "stanleys - the stab inn". Bit too local for my liking.

Admit it, even as you wrote that you knew it was painfully unfunny.

s8n wrote:
    Weird vibe in "stanleys - the stab inn". Bit too local for my liking.

I have warned you before about this bull****. permenent ban.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

Agree with every place said so far. I have a special place in the pits of my mind for mollys on Catherine St (is that what its called?). Full of absolute scumbags. Mate of mine tried to run a rock/metal lounge downstairs there, and had to close it up after a week or two, from the aggression and trouble shown by the clientele.

Also, Magregors... full of all sorts of colourful nicky nack noo's. They tried to run a rock night there, out in their beer garden about two years ago, but it failed miserably, once again, because the ordinary gig going public, weren't too partial to being threatened on a night out. Lovely!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭gaf1983

Inge Binge wrote:
    3rd prize: clohessys - 25 TV screens making communication impossible. people staring to a screen with soccer and calling this "socialising"

in memoriam: highstool - weird people. nothing to add.

IB

I'd definately agree with you on Clohessy's. Michael Noonan was on the Ryan Tubridy radio show a few weeks back giving out about the very same thing - they have a section were they ask some public figure what phenomenon they would like to consign to history and he said pubs that have TV on 24/7 but play music completely out of sync with the events on the screen with the result being a completely disoriented clientele who can't hold a conversation. Actually I was only ever in the Sin Bin once - I stayed there for only about 2 minutes, dunno just didn't like the place, queued up to put my jacket in and then when I queued up to take it out again some of the people who were behind me in the queue the first time were in front the second time round.

Last time I was in the High Stool one of those weird people stole my mobile, so that kind of clouded my view of that place.

Can't stand Smyths/The Icon - place just feels so overcrowded and the low ceilings make it feel like a carpark. Oh the music's crap too by the way.

I'd agree with the person who included McGregor's, just found it a tad too intimidating. Also the last time I went there I was underage, and the bouncer took the complete piss out of me - he had every right too, I was underage - he even asked my friends why they hung around with someone with such a crap ID. Still let me in though.

Presumably MacGregors is going to join that great brewery in the sky soon, when they build the new shopping centre there? I know they intend to re-open Quinns as a bar/restaurant thing, though I've a feeling they'll look for a different crowd. Back when I was 17 or so, Quinns was a great bar, it seemed to fall apart though, the crowd just left. It's a pity, really, it was a cool place, I went back a few times about 2 years ago, it was a ghost-town on a Saturday night.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 7,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭cee_jay

Went to the new Cornmarket Bar last Sunday night - did not like it at all - don't know what it was bout the place though!!
    Hate Molly's on Ellen Street too - way too many underage kids there for my liking and always too packed and its dark and dreary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

I think it's different for weekends than during the week. some pubs are more suited to a full environment (like on a friday/saturday) while others are nicer if they're quiet and practically empty.

1. MacDaid's - never any atmosphere whatsoever in there whether it's full or empty. absolutely pitiful pub.

2. Charlie's - eehhh....it's full of underage, full of....whatever. nothing nice about it except the cocktails.

3. Molly's - like a cattlemart when it's full, absolutely awful. plus they have the same soundtrack on every time in there - you know what song to next expect. and it's the same people in there the whole time.

and i'm also going to add the Stables in UL because its a total cattlemart when it's full; you spill half your drink and that's before you even get your change.

on a positive note, my top 3 pubs are:
    1. Molly's - i do like it when it's completely empty say on a sunday night or something over the summer - it's a nice place to go for a few drinks when you want to go out but nothing too fancy, but THE MUSIC IS TOO LOUD.

2. Mojo's - nice pub that you can sit down in and have a conversation without being drowned out by music or stampeded by other people. this is at weekends, mind

3. I'll get back to you on this one...

Limerick's night life needs a renovation. Trinity Rooms/Market/Icon/Sin Bin all serve a specific clientele and are all shíte. Molly's is the only other after-pub alternative, perhaps with the new addition of the Cornmarket. Hmmmmphhhh is all i say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭mimix

Steering wheel - never been i am afraid
    Russels - seats at the back Remind me of burgerland
    Clohessys - Dont fancy a pint in a place where Ronan O'Gara pissed all over the floor.

steering wheel can be dodgey at times. although I hear that it has been renovated in recent times. last time I was there it was manky.

Was in the cornmarket on Saturday nite is as real nice spot except in my opinion if the music is shaking the furniture and you need a megaphone to have a conversation its too loud.

Or maybe i'm getting old :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Lucious Sweet

1. MacGregors - Crowd of tracksuit wearing ****.
    2. Mickey Martins - Crowd of **** (various states of dress).
    3. Sin Bin - Crowd of pretentious, hilfigger wearing ****.

My least favourite used to be Bill Clintons until the closed it down. Man that place was crazy.

moz.

Bill Clintons, only there once or twice but it was a strange, strange place.

1. MacGregors - Crowd of tracksuit wearing ****.
    2. Mickey Martins - Crowd of **** (various states of dress).
    3. Sin Bin - Crowd of pretentious, hilfigger wearing ****.

Ok cant disagree with 1 or 3 but Mickeys is one of Limericks forgotten treasures and the arthurs in there stands up against any in town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭kyp_durron

moz wrote:
    My least favourite used to be Bill Clintons until the closed it down. Man that place was crazy.

Yeah, hated that place, only in there once when I was about 18 and got the **** kicked out of me, I wouldn't have minded but for once it wasn't my fault.

My most hated pubs.

1. Clohessys
    2. Russels
    3. Smiths/Icon

I dislike all of the above for the same reason, pretentious idiots and bad music.

Btw I'm not saying everyone who goes to these pubs are pretentious idiots, most of my friends do and sometimes myself, but there is a few thats for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭bobbly

sioda wrote:
    Was in the cornmarket on Saturday nite is as real nice spot except in my opinion if the music is shaking the furniture and you need a megaphone to have a conversation its too loud.

Or maybe i'm getting old :-(
    nothing but a bunch of oldies in the cornmarket if u ask me. mollys is the pub for me, although ur right about the same tracks being on all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Anon2006

limerick's a craphoel