Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Habits

• 18-12-2005 10:11am
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I dont mean smoking or drinking I mean personal bad habits like nail biting, nose picking, thumb sucking... Whats yours???

Me... I scrunch my nose up like a bunny rabbit sometimes if Im watching tele or concentrating really hard on something... :o

Kindly brought to my attention by my other half :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I don't see how arse scratching is a bad habit exactly. I'm sure everyone's arse gets itchy at some point. I actually had to duck into a put toilet when I was out shopping at one stage for a good scratch. It just happens I guess, unless you're talking about someone who scratches without actual need?

Don't really know of any bad habits I have though.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Thats true Karl...

Replaced with something else. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I don't think Humming is exactly viewed as a socially bad habit either!

But nonetheless, I bite my nails, alot. Other then that, I dunno really, guess you'd have to ask a third party to get a better response!

Changed again... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

xzanti wrote:
    Changed again... :o

And comically enough I mis-read your first post. I didn't see the nose part and thought you said you scrunch your entire body up when concentrating....! :v:

I was thinking that was a bit odd alright...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭Ozzy

Waking up at 5am when there is **** ALL TO DO!!!

and ****ing swearing

And comically enough I mis-read your first post. I didn't see the nose part and thought you said you scrunch your entire body up when concentrating....! :v:

I was thinking that was a bit odd alright...:p

:eek: :D :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I crack my toes. It makes my boyfriend feel sick, but I can't help it:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

I bite my nails alot....

Other than that I can't think of any other bad habits I have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I swear like a sailor, bite my nails and occasionally spit when I'm not keeping myself in check (trying to give that one in particular up - when I see someone spitting, I think they're a knacker).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Jaysus! I'd go mental, I can't hear people cracking their knuckles or <shivers> toes.

Bad habits = boards.ie

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

-I bite my nails
    -I burp.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I don't think Humming is exactly viewed as a socially bad habit either!
    Eh, think again, it's one of the most annoying things in the world when you're on the bus etc and someone starts to hum. Mind you, it's usually old and/or crazy people who do it.

I have a bad habit of pointing out bad habits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Rockiemalt

i've noticied a few people i know, when they are concentrating stick there tongue out a little bit...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Mine is always having to eat junk food while watching a movie, or a football match on tv. Terrible habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

xzanti when's the last time you had your eyesight tested?

That nose-scrunching things sounds like a squint to me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Cracking your toes is a bad habit? I crack my toes sometimes. I crack my right shoulder, right ankle, right wrist, knuckles and jaw on a regular basis...

Other than cracking stuff I supose leaving college work to the last minute is a bad habit I can't seem to get out of...next year I'll be organised! Promise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Scratch my arse
    Pick my nose
    Fart out loud
    Make the girlfriend scratch my arse

... Thats about it really

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Nose scrunching - It was a squint for me anyway, although I rarely did it.
    I bite my nails. It's not a bad habit to me. I Can't remeber actually doing it ever but unless they just don't grow, i do.
    My toes crack too. It's not a habit though..it just happens sometimes when i walk barefoot, I love the sound.

xzanti when's the last time you had your eyesight tested?

That nose-scrunching things sounds like a squint to me...

I had them tested last year for my driving licence.. 20 20 vision :) ..

I dont know why I do it, Im more aware of it now and I try not to do it as much but sometimes I just have to have a good oul twitch :o Im told it will give me wrinkles :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Yeah i do that too, also annoys my gf!....
    Apart from that, i don't think i have any bad habits that i know of. Don't bite my nails or anything like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

When I'm concentrating I start messing with my hair, and my tongue sticks out slightly from the side of my mouth, apparently it annoys other people. Oh, and I constantly say, "yeah, but, no..." and then carry on the conversation. That also annoys people. Not a bad habit though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭solicitous

Squirrel wrote:
    When I'm concentrating I start messing with my hair, and my tongue sticks out slightly from the side of my mouth

Snap, the hair & tongue bit.

although when i do it, it doesnt seem to annoy anyone..

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

solicitous wrote:

It's not annoying, it's attractive.

It's not, it's attractive.

Before I jacked in work for studies, I was a financial controller. One of the guys from stores came up to see me, caught off guard he just looked at me, then said 'you had The Secretary look goin on there'
    I laughed, it was the first time anyone ever mentioned it to me :D

solicitous wrote:
    Before I jacked in work for studies, I was a financial controller. One of the guys from stores came up to see me, caught off guard he just looked at me, then said 'you had The Secretary look goin on there'
    I laughed, it was the first time anyone ever mentioned it to me
    Even your username says "seceretary look" to me. Your sig says "yeah, that type of seceretary".;)

:D Get out your dictionary sweetie.. it doesnt have anything to do with a solicitors secretary, it actually means beautiful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Masturbation when horny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

solicitous wrote:

Damn you, it always annoys people I know
    It's not annoying, it's attractive.

How you doing?*

*I'm a 16 year old guy

solicitous wrote:
    Get out your dictionary sweetie.. it doesnt have anything to do with a solicitors secretary, it actually means beautiful
    I am a dictionary honey-bunch.

I'd be having second thoughts on my username if I were you. Especially if you think it means beautiful.

/EDIT: linky

Squirrel wrote:
    How you doing?
    Just fine thanks. I'm a 21-year-old guy. Better luck next time bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

I peel the skin off my lips. I can't help it. I do it when I'm anxious about something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 The Lime

When nobody is looking i like to roll! I know, i know,its disgusting but what do you expect im a Lime !:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

i raise my eyebrows really high if i'm looking at something or reading, drives my father up the walls...

i crack bones all the time, but i hate when other people do it, eeh

i start talking about something then go off on a tangent

I am a dictionary honey-bunch.
    /EDIT: linky

*Hands in the air* Got you to look all the same ;)

solicitous wrote:
    *Hands in the air* Got you to look all the same ;)
    I also find winking and modesty attractive.

Ps. The linky was for you, not me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

Kablamo! wrote:
    i start talking about something then go off on a tangent

I'm the same, I rarely get to the point of a story...

I also have a very bad habit of texting when I'm drunk....

I have an overwhelming subconcious urge to tear up beer mats and flick them at people.

I also find winking and modesty attractive.

Ps. The linky was for you, not

I was honest about my error. When thinking of a username I didnt know whether to use a ref about life being 'beautiful' or to use a 'concerned' username, thats where the confusion arose from.

Own up time! linky wasnt originally for me was it?
    Get modest with me baby :D

It's amazing what you can get a man to do with a simple wink, and...

Ok ok, I doubted myself for an instant. But it turned out that I was actually right to begin with. Go me.

It's amazing what you can get a man to do with a simple wink, and...

Ok ok, I doubted myself for an instant. But it turned out that I was actually right to begin with. Go me.

Ladies and gentleman, next stop Upperhand St. :rolleyes:
    Ok.. I will let you away with it. if you thought my online winks were powerful... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

How the hell did she turn it around like that?

solicitous wrote:
    Ladies and gentleman, next stop Upperhand St. :rolleyes:
    Ok.. I will let you away with it. if you thought my online winks were powerful... ;)
    ;););););););););)

How do you like it?

Atrocity wrote:
    The answer's in the question.

She's a she, which gives her a prerogative to make illogical assumptions, without having them vetted by a him.

Atrocity wrote:

Because I'm lethal. ;);):D

She's got herself a fan, That was pretty impressive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

i have alot of weird habits when i come to think of it
    thumbsucking's probably the big one though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Seraphina wrote:
    i have alot of weird habits when i come to think of it
    thumbsucking's probably the big one though.

And nodding off in Dr. Dolly's lectures.... ;)

I get drunk a lot. That's becoming a very bad habit. Might knock it for a while.

Atrocity wrote:
    She's got herself a fan, That was pretty impressive!
    You post because you are impressed. bet you wish you were not ;) Cue the the wanna-be smart arse comment :rolleyes:

solicitous wrote:
    You post because you are impressed. bet you wish you were not ;) Cue the the wanna-be smart arse comment :rolleyes:

you dissin' me? but i like you!!