Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to get free condoms??

• 11-12-2005 1:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hey,
    I am 16 years old and was wondering where could I get free condoms? I heard that you can get them in Family Planning Clinics, is this true? Where are they? And can I just walk in and ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I am unaware of any of the family planning clinics have comdoms to give away free, they can be bought in any chemists or in Boots with very little fuss.
    But you have stated that you are only 16 and the legal age of consent for sexual intercourse in this country is 17. Legally your not old enough to be having sex.

• Thaedydal wrote:
    I am unaware of any of the family planning clinics have comdoms to give away free, they can be bought in any chemists or in Boots with very little fuss.
    But you have stated that you are only 16 and the legal age of consent for sexual intercourse in this country is 17. Legally your not old enough to be having sex.

article in newspaper this morning, age of consent for boys is 15, age of consent for girls is 17.

if this is a boy, they're fully within the law to have sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

i dont think his issue is with the actual getting them, its more the money thing. for someone who doesn't work they can be quite expensive. i think there should be some sort of free condoms for younger people who are showing maturity in looking for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

rugbug86 wrote:
    i think there should be some sort of free condoms for younger people who are showing maturity in looking for them.

That is the most sensible thing I've seen posted here in a long time.
    Free condoms would cost the State a lot less than the un-married mothers allowance.

Hagar wrote:
    Free condoms would cost the State a lot less than the un-married mothers allowance.

especially because condom companies are practically giving them away if you buy in bulk, and they give 1000's to students for free. i dont see why people who are young and responsible shouldn't be given the same treatment as most students.

it wouldnt cost the governement that much to give free condoms but i think they worry that if they give them for free it'll just encourage young people to have sex. but just because you have a condom, doesn't mean you have to use it!

i think some well woman clinics give them out for free, you should contact them directly. there's links all over the board for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭the Guru

Just go to a Chemist and pay for them they're not that expensive , if your old enough to have sex you're old enough to pay for them, with sex comes responceability. An though showing that you want to use them is a great start.

http://www.ageofconsent.com/ireland.htm

unless the changed the law when i was not looking that age of consent for sexual intercourse is still 17.

Travis Ripe Thunderstorm can you show a link to the paper and to where the law was amended ?

Yes there should be free condoms, yes condoms are expensive and are taxed
    as luxary items at 21% VAT which is insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭alantc

I hear heroin addicts get free condoms, try telling family planning you're a junkie.

alantc wrote:
    I hear heroin addicts get free condoms, try telling family planning you're a junkie.
    yeah, cos that's productive :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 729 ✭✭✭crazy angel

alantc wrote:

lol :D :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

They are not that expensive. Do you get pocket money? Well then save up. Buy them in a chemist. Boots do 3for2 offers on Durex condoms, so you'd already be saving money buying them that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Thaedydal wrote:
    unless the changed the law when i was not looking that age of consent for sexual intercourse is still 17.
    You are correct, the age of consent for intercourse is still 17. However it only applies to the woman. He (assuming he) would have full right to have sex with his partner if she was 17. If she's younger he could face possible criminal charges.

It's similar for buggery. Basically if the person on the receiving end of penetration is under 17, it is illegal.

There has been a push to lower it to 15 by the law reform commission, yet to bring it to 17 in the case where the man is more than 5 years the girl or buggeree's senior.

http://www.justice.ie/80256E010039C5AF/vWeb/flJUSQ5XTK3V-en/$File/discusspaper.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

15 year old's flogging off their condom allowance to the third level student population at discount prices....Mark my words....Mark my words.... :D

We're not alone and for obvious reasons, third level students unions have been calling for action through the USI. Don't know what the craic is these days, whether they've had any minor victories or not.

I know that one of my friends who was responsible and mature enough to make sure he used a condom still wouldn't walk into a chemists to buy a holiday supply for him and his girlfriend when he was 18 and had tried avoiding the inevitable by dropping a fortune in the pub for two-packs. I went to the chemists instead and loaded up with 3 x 18 packs of Durex for him while he waited up the road....The look I got from the oul' lad behind the counter was priceless but the smile and wink from the fine lass who got them down from the shelf was a real bonus! :D

I'd imagine it's still not the most popular shopping trip a 16 year old lad might make this Christmas and can understand why you might want to find other places to pick them up on the cheap and without the risk ANYONE you know might spot you mid-purchase. If you'd rather get them without showing your face, why not look at getting an older brother/friend to either buy them for you or maybe pick up a 3V card (see the PermanentTSB site) and order them online yourself. Go get a job if you have to or cut back on your mobile credit for a while - Even packing shelves for a couple of hours on a Saturday morning will buy you enough to do you for the week....Wash windows, whatever you have to do within reason. No doubt you'll also need to pay your way when you're out with the missus, eh? ;)

In the interim - Maybe the following would help:

http://www.condoms4free.com/

Fair play to you for making sure you pack your raincoat when heading into a stormy night. Such a pity more people won't do the biz when they're doing the biz.

Good luck young buck,

Gil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭radioman

condoms are not free in family planning clinics afaik they are 50cent each

my advice would be to go in there anyway and they'll give you all the info you need

alantc
    crazy angel

off topic and unhelpful posts will get you banned for this forum.
    Do read the charter
    have a nice day.
    Thaedydal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

LOL, in SA they where falling from the sky :v: , suppose its needed that side though.

LOL, in SA they where falling from the sky
    But they don't even sell them in pub bathrooms there or anything? When my SA friend came over to visit he was actually appalled. Called it a moral travesty etc..

I was surprised by his attitude to say the least. Never got these vibes off him when we were kids. And he wasn't even religious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭alantc

Thaedydal wrote:
    alantc
    crazy angel

off topic and unhelpful posts will get you banned for this forum.

I'm deadly serious. One of my friends takes heroin and told me that they're given condoms because they're more likely to have stis. So far I'm the only one to have told the guy where to get free condoms. I know plenty of people that would chance their arm at something like that.

For a more helpful post...
    http://www.freedoms-shop.com/index.html
    I bought 50 off them a while ago, sold 30 to my friends for cheaper than they could get them in shops and ended up with 20 at no cost to myself. It's run by the NHS in England to supply them as cheap as possible.
    They arrive at your house in a brown envelope with nothing to indicate what's inside.

You could always just pull out in time.

• Thaedydal wrote:

Travis Ripe Thunderstorm can you show a link to the paper and to where the law was amended ?

i cant supply a link, sorry, it was the news of the world, and it was regarding a 19 yr old who was charged with statuatory rape of his girlfriend (16), and the subsequent pressure to lower the age of consent (for females) to 15.

I cant supply a link to the newspaper article, and i'm not that bothered to go looking for it in the law.

back on topic, free condoms are availible upon entering music festivals (oxegen, electric Picnic), i have never seen free condoms otherwise.

alantc wrote:

Alantc banned from this form for unhelpful posting.

This dangerous and can result in getting or passing on an sti or a pregancy.

alantc wrote:
    I'm deadly serious. One of my friends.....Blah blah blah

Either the most tragic attempt at a helpful contribution I've ever seen or we're dealing with a very serious situation indeed.

[EDIT: Thaed - Still typing as you marched in....]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Thaedydal wrote:
    Alantc banned from this form for unhelpful posting.

Ah yes unhelpful so and so.

Not to defend him, but don't dismiss his whole post. This site seems pretty damn good. I'm glad he posted it
    atlantc wrote:
    For a more helpful post...
    http://www.freedoms-shop.com/index.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah condoms should be free... I'm sure there's people who would be too afraid/embaressed to go into the chemist or shop and buy condoms, and would rather take the chance than face it. I've not actually had to do this, but if I did I wouldn't be looking forward to it, to say the least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

lol.

I worked in superquinn. After passing a MILLION things over the counter (beep), do you really think I noticed if that guy bought tampons, or that girl bought razors or that 14 yo bought beer...

The point is, dont be embarrassed, they sell a hundred of them a day. They probably wont even notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

People shouldn't be embarrassed to buy condoms, If you are responsible enough to be using them, there shouldn't be a big fuss in getting them!

I was actually in the same situation, being 16 and going to get my first pack of condoms. A nervous rack, i went into Boots and bought loads of deodrants ect. that i didn't need to disguise the fact that i also had condoms in the pile!

Though tbh you will get over that very very quickly after you realize that it is nothing to be embarrassed about! (17 now and still buy them in boots!)

Oh and just some advice regarding condoms, if you going to rely on them as your only method of contraception...maybe try Durex Extrasafe for some more peace of mind ;)
    I know that one of my friends who was responsible and mature enough to make sure he used a condom still wouldn't walk into a chemists to buy a holiday supply for him and his girlfriend when he was 18
    That is ridiculous! :D

Gazza22 wrote:
    People shouldn't be embarrassed to buy condoms,
    Except these ones http://www.freedoms-shop.com/ishop/950/shopscr136.html

Ah no seriously though I agree with you on principal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Except these ones http://www.freedoms-shop.com/ishop/950/shopscr136.html
    Ah no seriously though I agree with you on principal.

haha :v:

Well for those who do have that problem so to speak, i would understand their bashfulness

ApeXaviour wrote:

lmao :D

:(

Anywho, yeah if you're mature enough to use them you shouldn't be embaressed, etc. etc. -- fact is, lots of people are, and I'd prefer if some of my taxes went towards condoms rather than supporting a 16 year old mother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

DaveMcG wrote:
    lmao :D

:(

Anywho, yeah if you're mature enough to use them you shouldn't be embaressed, etc. etc. -- fact is, lots of people are, and I'd prefer if some of my taxes went towards condoms rather than supporting a 16 year old mother!

It's certainly cheaper in the long run!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

for anyone thats interested, britishcondoms.com do dirt cheap condoms etc if you buy in bulk , me and a mate got 800 durex in bulk, in like industrial size packs and got 864 for E80 or roughly 10c each instead of E1.50 its actually a disgrace the margin that is on them considering if they were cheaper and more accessible that there would be less spread of stds and unwanted pregnancies! Can you imagine if i got them for 10c each what boots get them for!

Are you wearing 3 at a time? :D

Just kidding of course. That's a great idea man....Would the university students unions not set something up through their campus shops if that's the sort of deal they could get? Or do they do that already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Snowbat

Thaedydal wrote:

Travis Ripe Thunderstorm can you show a link to the paper and to where the law was amended?
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2091-1892635,00.html
    Likely to be the same case that was reported in the News of the World.
    The Sunday Times - Ireland
    It is illegal to have sex with a girl under the age of 17, but for boys the age of consent is 15. The gender disparity leads to curious anomalies: had the accused in last week’s case been 15 and his girlfriend 19, no crime would have been committed.

the student union in galway hands them out free!ive some for when me and my gf think we are ready!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

Thaedydal wrote:

Heres a link to todays paper which states the legal age for boys is 15:
    http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1525036&issue_id=13403

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Deffo heard on the news this morning that for boys it is 15, for girls 17.

Why the difference??? Girls get pregnant, boys do not. And for a state that is already paying quite a large bill for single mothers, you can see why they operate more in favour of the boys on this one.

As for free condoms, type "free condoms" into google.ie and it will bring up all sorts of sites offering free samples of various brands, so with a little bit of typing you can have yourself a little stash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Most of them only deliver to the USA though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Boots are doing 3 for 2 on all Durex at the moment.. or indefintly.. I can't remeber when they didn't to be honest.. AND some of the Durex packs come with free 'Heat' and 'Tingle' Lubes !
    That's value for money.

TK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Dammit.

Sorry bout that!

kc66 wrote:
    Heres a link to todays paper which states the legal age for boys is 15:
    http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1525036&issue_id=13403
    For homosexual boys it's 17 however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

alantc wrote:

yeah, thats really helpful advice to be giving a kid.

presuming the op has older brothers or sisters, rummage in their drawers and steal their condoms... sorted :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Ahh it was shag week this week in college, so they were giving out loads free.
    I nabbed myself a schoolbag full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

it was on the front of the metro today as well. mcdowell saying he might drop the female age to 15 because its 15 for boys and its a stupid inequality... something like that.
    the free condoms if you're a junkie comment may have been a serious attempt to help but the "just pull out" one is an absolutely terrible thing to say to a 16 year old, even in jest. even to put it in their mind is so ****ing irresposible.
    as for the free condoms at the clinic thing: friends of mine have gone to get checked out for stds and they got 24 free condoms. not sure if they had to pay for the tests but i doubt it.
    and condoms ARE expensive. i think they're expensive and i'm an adult with a job so i can imagine how expensive they are to a 16 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Markham

condoms ARE expensive. i think they're expensive and i'm an adult with a job so i can imagine how expensive they are to a 16 year old.

Unless you go onto www.smartpaddy.ie. Then they're damn cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

The SU centre in UCD belfield gives away free condoms Afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Markham wrote:
    Unless you go onto www.smartpaddy.ie. Then they're damn cheap
    yeah thats really smart.
    Except for the one blindingly obvious flaw;
    how many 15 year olds have credit cards?
    how many would ask their parents to use theirs to buy condoms online?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Lidl have condoms - 12/24 for 7 euros (i think).
    But do you trust them? Might have to double up just in case!

I presume they have to go through some sort of durability test though.

I don't trust anything from Lidl -- not since my mother bought some spaghetti sauce from there and it tasted exactly like puke! :eek: