Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mario Smash Football Gamecube Bundle

• 09-12-2005 10:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭

Argos are selling the Mario Smash Football Gamecube Bundle for only €59.99. That's the new white gamecube and the game. Nice present for someone over Christmas (or just get it for yourself).

Argos code is 5680676

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

so tempted to get that and zelda !
    dang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Toy

Mario Smash Football on play.com for €53, so that's a Gamecube for €7!!!

Now if only I didn't already have one...

*edit* It's £80 on argos.co.uk so definitely a bargain here, and I'd just like to point out it comes with a memory card and one controler, so you're al set up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭belmulletman

so it's defo 60euro here? yeah?
    does anyone know if the Mario cart bundle is the same price??? it's also 80 pounds sterling on the uk site!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

so it's defo 60euro here? yeah?
    does anyone know if the Mario cart bundle is the same price??? it's also 80 pounds sterling on the uk site!!

Yes price is correct. I'm calling into Argos in swords at lunchtime to collect mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭the corpo

tempted, just for the snazzy whiteness of it, my black one is getting a bit battered looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭ondafly

call reserved one from Argos. Cheers Darren. I have one already, but sure dammit I can't let a bargain pass.

Just collected 2 from Argos and can confirm it is the console with the game. Girld on the counter in Argos couldn't believe the price either so was getting one herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭JDxtra

Good price, but it is a cube afterall. Expect to see all sorts of crazy discounts on cubes while Nintendo and retail stores try to shift them.

i dont really play games but this cheap, there practically throwing them out !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

would you say this is worth buying?how much are GC games on average?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

besty wrote:

Are you serious ? OF course its worth buying. Gamecube has a rakeload of fantastic titles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

besty wrote:
    Games are usually priced at normal console game prices (€30 - €50 iirc). Definitly worth it for the price.. mario smash football seems good enough craic and as Tusky says there's loads of other classic games for it.

Would nearly buy a second one for the price.

Just picked mine up from Blanch. Also was given a free €5 euro voucher with it. No memory card though, luckily I have 2 already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

That seems like an offer too good to pass up on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

I would only be getting it for the game as santa is bringing it then i can maybe sell the gamecube on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

does it come with a controller?

Its a bundle with a controller and a memory card. Ordered mine today. Delira.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

ondafly wrote:
    Just picked mine up from Blanch. Also was given a free €5 euro voucher with it. No memory card though, luckily I have 2 already.
    Its a bundle with a controller and a memory card. Ordered mine today. Delira.

Well one of you has to be wrong.

I wouldnt be so sure youll get a better offer after christmas they will surly have stopped making them at this point and if not then in the very near future so they will only go so cheap before they run out and 60 euro with a game is really tempting even if ive no interest in playing football with mario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭cosgrove80

If you look at the bundle on the Argos UK site

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5680676.htm

if you scroll down there is an offer where you can add two more codes and get a free controller and memory card.

Am I right to assume that offer is valid here too?

defo no memory card. same setup as the prime pack a few years ago. i haven't even taken it out of the box, but read the side of it for whats contained etc. memory card ain't listed.

what game cube games are good, besides zelda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

Pikmin, Super Monkey Ball, Mario Kart : Double Dash, Super Mario Sunshine, Donkey Konga. There are loads. Plus there are titles available that are also available on PS2 and Xbox like True Crime, 007, etc.

Ah feck no memory card?? Oh well just, have to pick one up so.

Metroid Prime 1 & 2 (!!!)
    Super Monkey Ball
    Resident Evil 0, 1 & 4
    Mario Kart
    Viewtiful Joe
    Pikmin 1 & 2
    F-Zero GX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Placebo wrote:
    what game cube games are good, besides zelda.

Eternal Darkness.

Tusky wrote:
    Eternal Darkness.
    Was trying to remember the name of that. Great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭shortys94

hey

really want to get this bundle but i have an american(NTSC?) tv which i want to use with it but i am not surework with the gamecube as its PAL, would it? or no? and is there a component cable which u can get for it to hook into a component input on a tv

basically will the gamecube work on my american tv
    and is there a component wire for the gamecube

Memory cards are only €2.49 in argos.

has anyone played this game before or know if its any good?

shortys94 wrote:
    basically will the gamecube work on my american tv
    and is there a component wire for the gamecube
    Component wire ? Don't know what you mean.

Gamecube uses the three-colour AV wires and comes with a scart adaptor. So if you've got either of those inputs on your telly then you should be grand.
    besty wrote:
    has anyone played this game before or know if its any good?
    Played it for about ten minutes in HMV. It's a silly game of football with the mario chractors and various power-ups and things. Not exactly PES but seemed like good fun. I wanted to play more after my ten minutes anyway.

yea thanks good shape, but will it work on my american tv

If you have av or scart inputs then it should do, yea.

Try out an irish / english dvd player or vcr first if you want to be sure. same job.

just played it for the last hour - great fun, think mario kart football.

other great cube titles are the Donkey Konga series, and if you are a sadist, try Ikaruga. People don't believe me I got that for 10 euro last year in HMV

yea problem is good shape only dvd player i have is region free and works with NTSC tvs as it states in argos catalog:P and my ps2 is american lol, so i wonder whether i should go ahead and buy or not, as i dont really want it if itdoesnt work on my american tv, would argos take it back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭JDxtra

shortys94 wrote:
    i dont really want it if itdoesnt work on my american tv, would argos take it back?
    I doubt it. This is Europe man! :) Stores assume you have a PAL tv - it certainly would not be there fault if it didn't work on your American TV. :v:

yea but i think retailers are getting smarter

well maybe someone else here can confirm (-?!) but I would've assumed that the region coding in games consoles has to do more with artificially locking game discs to a particular region than the capabilities of your TV. Most modern TV's will handle both NTSC and PAL input anyway (I know I've had US gadgets running on my EU TV at least).

I'd be suprised if it didn't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 jukka

are those special offers valid here also? controller + mem card + one game free or mem card + controller for free

are the product codes in argus uk and ie are always the same?

I dont think the offers are valid cause they are for the orignal price and not on the brochure that has the cube for 60.

Got the last one today in blanch with the mem card for 2.50 and a 5 euro voucher to spend so you could esentially get the cube and buy 2 mem cards with the voucher.

Yea the game is a bit of fun not my cup of tea but the gf thought it was gas.

As for the cube it will work on ntsc or pal tvs but game has to support ntsc 60hz the game you get with it does im not sure if they all do it actually says on the back of the box.

Kristok wrote:
    I dont think the offers are valid cause they are for the orignal price and not on the brochure that has the cube for 60.

Got the last one today in blanch with the mem card for 2.50 and a 5 euro voucher to spend so you could esentially get the cube and buy 2 mem cards with the voucher.

Yea the game is a bit of fun not my cup of tea but the gf thought it was gas.

As for the cube it will work on ntsc or pal tvs but game has to support ntsc 60hz the game you get with it does im not sure if they all do it actually says on the back of the box.

awwwwwww :(

does anyone know if there are any of these in dun laoighre argos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭psicic

besty wrote:
    does anyone know if there are any of these in dun laoighre argos?

No, they don't, but you can ring and reserve and order one in. It should be there around 15th. (I ordered last night)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

i just keep getting engaged tones on the ring and reserve number, thought it was automated?

It's still 2161616, isnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭psicic

Still 2161616 - but you haven't too much hope in getting through during the day - it always seems busy. Wait til about 11pm before trying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭savemejebus

i found that ringing the stores directly was much more effective. got through really quickly and picked up one in limerick yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

There sold out in the Wexford and Waterford branches, there expected between Wensday and Saturday. That ring and reserve thing is pretty handy.

If they had have sold it for this price last year they would be no. 2 in europe not no. 3 now does anyone know where to get cheap games from or even just games ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭trance2004

Ordered one yesterday in Limerick city centre.Will collect it on Wednesday :D.Can't wait:D .Never played on the gamecube and never seen it work,but I'm looking forward to play mario games on it and resident evil,too.:cool:Great bargain!!!-me think:eek: :cool:

the controller is suprisingly good feels better than ps2 or xbox in my hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Ooo I feel like picking this up. Such an impulse buy though. What to do...