Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Robert Plant in dublin this weekend!

• 08-12-2005 12:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭

anyone going?

I cant wait :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I have tickets, but Unfortunatly I can't go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭showtime

are these tickets for sale man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Im gooooooooooooooooooooing! woooo. I only hope that he plays loads of zeppelin stuff. Whats his solo stuff like ?

Tusky wrote:
    Im gooooooooooooooooooooing! woooo. I only hope that he plays loads of zeppelin stuff. Whats his solo stuff like ?

his new albums brilliant!!

the new band are called

"Robert Plant and the strange sensation"

funny though all the UK gigs on ticketmaster say robert Plant and the strange sensation but the two Dublin gigs just say Robert plant with support from the legendary shack shakers. so i dont know what he's going to do, i got some of the legendary shack shakers stuff to see what their like and their a bit weird but all the reviews ive read of them say that their the best live act you'll ever see!! so im getting there early

you goin fri or sat?

http://www.robertplant.com

check it out, pretty well designed site, you'll need flash plugin to fully enjoy it though

showtime wrote:
    are these tickets for sale man?
    I wish I could sell them, but the concerts tomorrow, and the tickets are in London with me.

ouch!!!

email them to me!!! LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

I'm dying for Friday night. Should be one of the best gigs ive seen.
    Blisterman thats a shame, cheers for selling the tickets to me last time tho.

hey roddy, come back here on sat morn if you can and say what he was like, cos im not going unitl sat

If im in a fit state, i will no problems.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Woooh!! Aaaargh!! I cannot wait!! Oh my good golly gosh I am soooo excited!! woooooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhh!!!! :D Blisterman you have my sympathy...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Evil Sausage

I may have 3 spare seats in the circle, row I I think I got. I'll let you know if they're free. Obviously face value + booking fee!

free bobby plant tickets?? do you have connections?

i'll be standing front row, wouldnt miss it for the world

No no, not free. As in free/available!

oooooooooooooooooooooo

i thought you were up in the world there. oh well nevermind. i know a bloke who might buy one off ya if there's one going. fri or sat?

Tomorrow night, Friday..........that is tomorrow right?!!

yeah thats tomorrow alright, but im going sat

Im going saturday.

evil_sausage I would gladly take one off your hands for Friday night, early christmas present for a massive Led fan. I have a thread going in the Wanted Tickets section. PM me if you have one for sale.
    Thanks Roddy

Wont bother PMing you, best to do it on the boards!

It was 45 for the ticket excluding booking fee. But sure we'll leave it at 45. You based in Dublin? Can you meet up during the day?

Evil_sausage is thats ticket sitting? Ye i can meet up with ye in the city center this afternoon.

Yup, row I, seat 15. You can get the seating plan from ticketmaster to get a general idea of where it is.

Plant Seating Chart

I'll PM you my details so we can meet up!

grand job.

Woohoo...I'm going to see Robert Plant in less than ten hours!!!! :D

i'm not going till tomorrow, make sure you come back here and say what he was like, what he played ect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

who's supporting? i'm heading in an hour or so:D

was it good ? What did he play?

it was good... lots of new stuff, he played black dog, when the levee breaks, going to california, what is and what should not be and whole lotta love, as well as gallows pole... His new stuff is pretty good, but the crowd went wild when the zeppelin came on!!!

Support band were *ok*, they had a diabolical sound, but the harmonica was excellent!!!

Yeah, the Zep stuff was great, but Im still not sure on his version of Black Dog. They took the riff out, and thats pretty much the song!!

And a rather suspect version of Hey Joe. But I do like the new album and he can still get a good wail going. Far more Zep tunes than I was expecting I have to say. Great show altogether!

Thats was quality. These are all the tracks i remember:
    shine it all around remix
    Black Dog
    Let the 4 winds blow
    hey joe
    what is and should have been
    tin pan valley
    when the levee breaks
    gallows pole
    shine it all around
    whole lotta love

That shine it al around remix before he took the stage was pretty good. Hey joe was probaly the worst tune, but it was still a cracking gig. Whole lotta love - what an ending.
    Sausage did ye sell yer ticket in the end, sorry bout the whole ticket thing.

his voice was fantastic though i have to say!!!!

he proves that ye can have a perm and still be cool.

I did Roddy, actually I had a few offers from the brother in law. He had snapped up all my remaining tickets before I was talking to you and when you passed, he snapped up the last 1. No bothers.

Yeah, superb show, the man still has it. Couple of moments, even with the new material, where the band just took off and he'd strike one of his poses and you'd get goosbumps. Ace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

If you hazed your eyes a bit, it was... Zeppelin! Live!

Mucho surprised by the amount of Led material, thought we'd only get Whole Lotta Love or something along those lines. His voice has held up extremely well; can still belt out them old tunes without a hitch.

For those going tonight support The Legendary Shack*Shakers are definetly worth seeing for their eccentric frontman. They put on quite a show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Sweetness!

Best gig I've been to all year. I still can't believe I saw Robert Plant live and I didn't think he would play that much Zeppelin, it was amazing! I thought the support were pretty good aswell

You're making me feel bad now.

Anyone at last nights show? Any reports? Same as Friday?

No, he didnt play gallows pole ( my favourite zeppelin song ) BUT he did play ramble on....which almost made up for it.

I saw him Friday. Robert Plant was truly amazing!! He had insense lighting on stage his voice is still brilliant and he played zeppelin stuff...I smiled so much during the gig that my face actually began to hurt!! I am so happy that I saw Robert Plant from Led Zeppelin it was sooo great....I'm still smiling about it :D

i was there on sat night, from the sounds of it, it was much the same as fri only he didnt play gallows pole or what is and what should never be on sat night but he did play, going to california and ramble on. lots of the songs had new arrangements, like the riff in black dog was basically the same riff with a tottally different time sig. and they took the riff out of no quarter which tottaly killed me. did anyone elese notice that the guitarist on the left was the spitting image of aragorn from lord of the rings??

the legendary shack shakers were an amazing live acted but their songs lacked and you could understand a word the singer was saying although he was one of the most energetic frontmen ive ever seen, and an awesome sight to behold. i was right up the front in the pit so that made it even better. deffenitly one of the best gigs of the year. the man has still got it.

the last thing he said was "look out for festivals in the summer" so this probably means they'll be back either at oxegen or electric picnic or something.

what a gig!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 moses_ulrich

Roddy23 wrote:
    Thats was quality. These are all the tracks i remember:
    shine it all around remix
    Black Dog
    Let the 4 winds blow
    hey joe
    what is and should have been
    tin pan valley
    when the levee breaks
    gallows pole
    shine it all around
    whole lotta love

That shine it al around remix before he took the stage was pretty good. Hey joe was probaly the worst tune, but it was still a cracking gig. Whole lotta love - what an ending.
    Sausage did ye sell yer ticket in the end, sorry bout the whole ticket thing.

dat set list accurate for fri nite?im not fully sure

I got my pictures back from the gig today and they're ****e, I can barely make out Robert in them. If anyone has any good pictures please post them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭magicspatula

dat set list accurate for fri nite?im not fully sure

He did going to california and four sticks at some stage too.

yeah he did california and four sticks and celebration day on sat night, finnished up with whole lotta love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Sweetness! wrote:
    I got my pictures back from the gig today and they're ****e, I can barely make out Robert in them. If anyone has any good pictures please post them :)

Here you go! Just a few of the ones I took -

b6473a2e.jpg
    f8824c82.jpg
    efa25822.jpg

el tel wrote:
    Here you go! Just a few of the ones I took -
    Ah thanks:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Cousin it

more more more! thanks, they're good quality too:)

ah, it's all coming back to me now, any saturday people out there, I hear reports some guy got naked in the pit up front? anyone see this, apparently the bouncers got him quickly enough anyway

Cousin it wrote:
    more more more! thanks, they're good quality too:)

ah, it's all coming back to me now, any saturday people out there, I hear reports some guy got naked in the pit up front? anyone see this, apparently the bouncers got him quickly enough anyway
    it would have been funny if he had tried to crowd surf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭JMArr

aw man I'm sooo gutted I missed him..and all those zep tunes ! Feck.
    I dont think Zep played When the Levee Breaks that much live AFAIK (if ever?) so that would have been amazing ..If he had played The Lemon Song I would have fainted I'd say ..or Since I've been loving you ...def one of the best voices EVER! ps was he wearing tight trousers ..could you make out the lemon????:-D

wwwwoaaaaaaaarrrrggggghhhhh ! I've been crying oh-oh ohh