Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grand Slam on paddypower

• 06-12-2005 11:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭

ok who else on this site won a seat in this well i know ocallagh did to he came first i came 2nd anyone else here:) anyone can give me more info on the game time etc would be great
    thanx david

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

I think it was a ticket into another satellite tournament on Paddy Power Poker at 10pm 28th December. The winner of which will go on to represent Ireland in some tournament in January..

wp btw! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

If karlh or Pitboss are reading when are the Swedish qualifiers and are they also being run exclusively on ppp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭davidgti

ok tx m8 thats great wp to u too talk soon anything else just let me know thanx again and gg m8;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

right now ppp is just doing qualifiers for ireland, n. ireland and england.

other teams will be hand-picked as things stand.

i will let you know if anything changes.

all info can be found on the site:

http://www.paddypowerpoker.com/grandslam/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Just saw I've been confirmed as a member of the Irish team for this thing! I'd heard it was a possibility but didn't know it had been finalised, sweet!:D It will be a bit intimidating playing against all those sharks but will be a great experience too. Hopefully a couple of boardsters can sneak in as the qualifiers too.

karlh wrote:
    right now ppp is just doing qualifiers for ireland, n. ireland and england.

other teams will be hand-picked as things stand.

i will let you know if anything changes.

all info can be found on the site:

http://www.paddypowerpoker.com/grandslam/

FFS its almost as if PP dont like me, theyre holding their christmas tournament in a club that Im not allowed to play in and now they arent giving me a chance to qualify for the world cup.

Right, thats it SSF is back to Saturday:p (not really) (except for shortstack and karlh)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

bohsman wrote:

Right, thats it SSF is back to Saturday:p

Nice one Oscar, see you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

bohsman wrote:
    FFS its almost as if PP dont like me, theyre holding their christmas tournament in a club that Im not allowed to play in

Why not ????
    Where ???

jem wrote:
    Why not ????
    Where ???

Im not allowed play in the SE as I work for the Fitz, its very similar to the way Tesco staff arent allowed shop in Dunnes

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Probably equally similar in that they probably do shop in Dunnes now and again.

musician wrote:

Yes but they would be out of a job if they were in the media for being Dunnes millionth customer

Also Desmonds not getting my fingerprints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

FFS its almost as if PP dont like me, theyre holding their christmas tournament in a club that Im not allowed to play in and now they arent giving me a chance to qualify for the world cup.

You mean you haven't been selected/hand picked Oscar??? :eek: :eek: Don't they know who you are??

ollyk1 wrote:
    You mean you haven't been selected/hand picked Oscar??? :eek: :eek: Don't they know who you are??

Right you are, just clicked on Karls link again and there I am.
    Oh wait thats the FOS link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭xtrac

bohsman wrote:

It's good to see I'm not the only one who won't be giving Desmond my fingerprints, how many others out there feel like this? I am presuming we are in the vast minority?

-Roy

p.s. Also I don't plan on giving them to the US government either for that matter.
    p.s.s. Never say never, its a long time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bmc

xtrac wrote:
    It's good to see I'm not the only one who won't be giving Desmond my fingerprints, how many others out there feel like this? I am presuming we are in the vast minority?

-Roy

p.s. Also I don't plan on giving them to the US government either for that matter.

Not going to disagree with anyone but, what's the difference between giving the SE your fingerprints and giving the Fitz your photo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

You'll be paying for pints in 15 years time with your fingerprint, so you better get used to it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

bohsman wrote:

I bet you had no problem giving US customs your fingerprints on your way to that little tournament you played back in June (cant remember the name of it WSOP,or some stupid name like that):)

bmc wrote:
    Not going to disagree with anyone but, what's the difference between giving the SE your fingerprints and giving the Fitz your photo?

To me its quite a big difference, everyone can see your face, there is not much you can do to hide it. You can grow a beard, tash, wear coloured contacts, shave your head, grow your hair long, to disguise yourself, you can do none of these things with your 'prints. Fingerprints on the other hand (sorry!!:D ) are not noticeable in everyday life. They are also an unchanging characteristic of a person. I suppose you could acidburn them off!

They are not "needed" to identify myself to enter a club, a photo, and card is enough. Desmond owns/part owns the bio-metric company and is using it to show people this "wonderful" technology to try and get some business.

They are also not-infallable (even though they are perceived by the majority of people to be) read this -> http://www.newscientist.com/article.ns?id=dn8011

I suppose mainly, its the whole OTT-ness of it all that bugs the hell outta me, I don't see the reason for it, and I really do need to see a reason before I do anything like this. Anyone got a good reason? <rabobank ad voice> I'd love to hear it </rabobank ad voice>:D

-Roy

I'm sure others out there can put it much more eloquantly, but that a rough idea of why I dont want to do it. I am sure there are better reasons than the above.

p.s. I sure I come across as a complete crazy for this :)

p.s. cluchie, I dont see it happening like that, I could be wrong though, just dont see it.

p.s. for dub13, thats the main reason why I wont be going to the states again

Hmmm... I'm fine with your principles on this in relation to the states perhaps.

We know that those finger prints will be used for all sorts of investigations and checks and shared around all sorts of US government departments.

The SE though don't have any reason to use them other than to open doors. They are legally obliged to protect your data from others unless it relates directly to their own business and that includes the Gardai (without a warrant).

Why are the SE doing this? 1. because it would suit Dermot if the public were more comfortable with the idea of using fingerprints. 2. Because you could turn up wearing a fake beard and coloured contacts and then the photo ID would be no good. They're not perfect security but they are better than a photo!

It is OTT on their part but personally I think it's probably OTT to refuse to go there because of it.

Meh...

I have to start getting back on topic with the poker stuff... So...

Eh...

Vote Oscar for team Sweden!!! (Come on, it won't hurt Ireland's chances!)

(On a side note it seems a bit silly to go to the States, give them your fingerprints and then never go again. Surely they already have your prints?)

xtrac wrote:

p.s. culchie, I dont see it happening like that, I could be wrong though, just dont see it.

Already there are several supermarkets and convenience stores in the states where you pay for your shopping, petrol, get your loyalty points etc... with your fingerprint.

You just link the fingerprint to the bank account/credit card number and that's it.

Daon (Desmonds Co.) also have biometrics in place at London City Airport as well.

bmc wrote:
    Hmmm... I'm fine with your principles on this in relation to the states perhaps.

We know that those finger prints will be used for all sorts of investigations and checks and shared around all sorts of US government departments.

The SE though don't have any reason to use them other than to open doors. They are legally obliged to protect your data from others unless it relates directly to their own business and that includes the Gardai (without a warrant).

Why are the SE doing this? 1. because it would suit Dermot if the public were more comfortable with the idea of using fingerprints. 2. Because you could turn up wearing a fake beard and coloured contacts and then the photo ID would be no good. They're not perfect security but they are better than a photo!

It is OTT on their part but personally I think it's probably OTT to refuse to go there because of it.

Meh...

I have to start getting back on topic with the poker stuff... So...

Eh...

Vote Oscar for team Sweden!!! (Come on, it won't hurt Ireland's chances!)

(On a side note it seems a bit silly to go to the States, give them your fingerprints and then never go again. Surely they already have your prints?)

I agree, lets get back to poker (well lurking for me anyway)

I dont trust the SE, no reason not to, but in the long run I dont think they will have my interests at heart. And them being legally obliged means very little to me, "its easier to seek forgivness than to ask permission" is the main tenet of most businesses :D

I dont think its OTT for me to refuse, but meh, thats cause its me :D

As for the side note, i've not been to the states since they brought in the fingerprint at immegration, and while I never say never, wont be going there again, unless it changes.

Back to poker, case closed, I'm guilty as charged of being a stubborn bast**d :D

-Roy

I was not happy giving the states my fingerprints but it was the world series.

bohsman wrote:
    I was not happy giving the states my fingerprints but it was the world series.

So your price is $12,000....:D

Dub13 wrote:
    So your price is $12,000....:D

Yes, Im willing to sell Desmond my fingerprints for 12k

bohsman wrote:
    Yes, Im willing to sell Desmond my fingerprints for 12k

What does that say about me....I sold mine for a 20 euro chip.:mad:

Dub13 wrote:
    What does that say about me....I sold mine for a 20 euro chip.:mad:

You gave your fingerprints free. You paid a tenner for the €20 chip!

so did I... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

xtrac wrote:

-Roy

Trust me, Dermot is not doing anything dodgy with your fingerprints. They are only being used as an extra security measure so that you cannot use somebody else's card to get into the building.

Every time you touch a surface you are giving away your fingerprints...
    If you don't plan on giving them to the US government, then forget about visiting the US again. Same goes for most of europe over the next few years as EU passports will soon have biometric data also.

Biometrics will be the next generation of banking solutions.

In the same way as the banks determined when they would roll out 'chip and pin' cards. When the banks make their move, the retailers and business follows, and then we all have to move with them.

e.g Have you tried to hire a car or book a hotel room lately without a credit card.

In a year or two, you won't be able to carry out any credit/debit card transaction with chip and pin authority. (It's hard enough now after less than a year)

Then it will be Biometrics, which will be the next big banking rollout.
    It will get rid of the hundreds of millions of plastic cards, all the printing administration, jobs etc...
    It probably will signal the beginning of the end of 'cash' as we know it.

Yup, we are all on the banks timetable folks, when they put a pin in the calendar for the month of February 2012 (or whenever), that will be the beginning of the Biometric era.
    So if you've a few bob after a good night on the tables, buy a few shares in the Banking/Biometric sector, I don't think you should be look at any plastic card manufacturers though.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

To be fair Pokertroll, there is a difference between "giving away your fingerprints" on a surface and to a computer system.

A surface doesnt know or record your D.O.B, address, age etc.

A surface can't do a cross reference with any of Desmonds other businesses to connect a bigger picture of your private life (market groupings anyone?)

A surface can't do a select out of 100,000 record subsecond...

I gave my fingerprints because it was jumped on me at the launch. I could have turned on my heel and walked out on the 5 people I was having a business meeting with but I thought it would be rude and while I'm a vocal opponent of this sort of thing being in the private sector (or public for that matter!), its unlikely I'll be living a private life any time soon with the way boards is going. I'm already on FBI lists as it is (they send me black-tie invitations (several!) and on one occasion, a christmas card.... how f*ckin weird is that!)

Anyway, here's a nasty thought for those who see nothing particularly wrong with this:

Dermot Desmond owns a lot of financial institutions right? Suppose you look for a loan with one of them, one that also uses his biometrics (why wouldn't they... its the future of banking, right?). Now suppose they cross reference with (or better still, use) the SE database. Now they know you are
    G4MBL0R!!! Insto credit rating reduction.

I'm not saying they will, in fact it would be illegal (technically) as two companies can't share data. They promise. :)

Its not the tech or the systems or the theory I have a problem with Pokertroll, its the people who buy them I don't much trust.
    All the same it wont stop me from going to the SE but then I've nothing left to lose heheh...

DeV.

Well said DeV,

Summed up my worries nicely and better than I ever could have.

When it becomes the "norm" then I will have no choice, but hopefully some other poor schmucks will have been through all the bad shíte that will happen and there will be some controls in place.

Anyway, i'm off to put my tinfoil hat back on :D

-Roy

DeVore wrote:
    Dermot Desmond owns a lot of financial institutions right? Suppose you look for a loan with one of them, one that also uses his biometrics (why wouldn't they... its the future of banking, right?). Now suppose they cross reference with (or better still, use) the SE database. Now they know you are
    G4MBL0R!!! Insto credit rating reduction.

I'm not saying they will, in fact it would be illegal (technically) as two companies can't share data. They promise. :)

I don't see where fingerprints have anything to do with the concerns that you raised above. If you provided your passport as is generally the norm when you are dealing with financial institutions, they could figure out exactly the same information and also with a lot more ease.

I have seen these systems in practise as I do a lot of work on US government projects - you would be amazed what they can find out with just a name and address - forget about fingerprints - they don't even come into the equation - fingerprints are generally used to detect if somebody is claiming to be somebody they are not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

pokertroll wrote:
    I don't see where fingerprints have anything to do with the concerns that you raised above. If you provided your passport as is generally the norm when you are dealing with financial institutions, they could figure out exactly the same information and also with a lot more ease.

I have seen these systems in practise as I do a lot of work on US government projects - you would be amazed what they can find out with just a name and address - forget about fingerprints - they don't even come into the equation - fingerprints are generally used to detect if somebody is claiming to be somebody they are not.

Absolutely true. Anybody who objects to going in this club or the US because they have to give fingerprint ID is suffering from a terrible paranoia. (Or they are a sleeper :D ). In this day and age it is far too easy to lose your identity to a scam, anything that decreases the likelyhood of that happening is welcomed by me.

I may be wrong but recreating someones fingerprints is probably a hell of a lot more difficult than obtaining someones pin or creating a forged credit card, passport or driving licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

bohsman wrote:
    Im not allowed play in the SE as I work for the Fitz, its very similar to the way Tesco staff arent allowed shop in Dunnes

Now that's interesting but childish of the SE. :confused: Does Dermot Desmond have you on a blacklist?

I must pay my first visit to the SE before it closes.:)

kincsem wrote:
    Now that's interesting but childish of the SE. :confused: Does Dermot Desmond have you on a blacklist?

I must pay my first visit to the SE before it closes.:)

I think its more a case of the Fitz not allowing their staff play in other clubs but I could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

pokertroll wrote:
    I think its more a case of the Fitz not allowing their staff play in other clubs but I could be wrong.

This is correct. The SE would be desperate for Oscar's action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

pokertroll wrote:

I'm confused . :v: :v: :v:

kincsem wrote:
    I'm confused . :v: :v: :v:

Pokertroll is correct, the Fitz wouldnt want their staff giving other clubs business. I did however invent the one about Tesco staff

Dev, that's a ridiculous argument. If they were that paranoid about your credit history do you not think they could make the connection with your photograph or your name?

Just read shortstack's reply. Bang on the money.

I'm on a mailing list for some different stuff, this came in today which is not Poker Related .... but relevant to the trend of this thread, and the general gist of the way things are going.

Pay By Touch expands into loyalty and cheques

Thursday December 8, 2005

The US-based biometric payment provider Pay By Touch has acquired reward programme outsourcing firm Capture Resource Inc., and has agreed to acquire biometric cheque-cashing service provider BioPay LLC for US$82 million in stock and cash.

Development
    Pay By Touch is to begin offering interactive gift and reward programmes

Pay By Touch will now assume responsibility for all of Capture Resource's assets and will manage the company's 120 million-plus consumer loyalty enrolment profiles, including more than 12,000 supermarkets and retailers. Pay By Touch will also begin offering interactive gift and reward programmes, customised reporting, design, production, and web access services to its retail clients, in addition to payment processing and database management services already provided. culchie This article is copyright 2005 TheWiseMarketer.com).

Pay By Touch has service agreements with two of the top five US grocers, and claims 55 of the nation's top 100 retailers as customers, with 7,000 retail stores under contract for its biometric payments service. The company's loyalty offerings aim to help retailers maximise customer lifetime value (CLV) by increasing consumer shopping frequency, average basket size, and customer retention on a one-to-one marketing basis. The company's core growth areas currently include grocery store chains, credit card issuers, healthcare providers, and financial transaction processing companies.

Rewards cards
    Capture Resource is essentially a data capture service provider, originally specialising in the processing of high volume, time-sensitive forms and documents in a secure environment. Capture Resource announced its acquisition of Catalina Marketing Corporation's card and data-entry services division (Reward Card Solutions) in March 2004. Until then, the company had serviced 99% of the division's data entry requirements (see 27 Mar. 2004). It was this acquisition that allowed the company to begin providing end-to-end solutions for reward and gift card programmes.

According to John Rogers, chairman and CEO for Pay By Touch, "Capture Resource's intellectual property, customisable loyalty programmes, technology and consumer-friendly kiosks will bring significant value to Pay By Touch and will help continue to grow our loyalty offering."

Biometric cheque cashing
    Pay By Touch has continued an aggressive expansion programme by announcing an agreement to acquire BioPay, which currently claims to have 2 million enrolled consumers, 1,600 retail implementations across 42 US states, and more than US$7 billion in processed transactions to-date. The acquisition is expected to be completed within a matter of weeks, subject to normal contractual closing conditions and regulatory approvals.

Under the terms of the agreement, Pay By Touch expects to acquire all assets of BioPay, including its patent portfolio, and assume responsibility for its retail customers and enrolled members. Both companies' retail clients will eventually have integrated access to their combined products and services. Rogers commented: "BioPay has perfected its cheque cashing solution, and Pay By Touch is making inroads in in-lane payments. We are hand in glove."

For additional information:
    · Visit Pay By Touch at http://www.paybytouch.com
    · Visit Capture Resource at http://www.captureresource.com
    · Visit BioPay at http://www.biopay.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

bohsman wrote:

What happens if the Dunnes staff arent allowed shop in Dunnes, or Tesco, or even aldi for that matter (no offense Merrion)

Thats the way it is for their staff at present

musician wrote:

Well understandably they prob do, lets hope they get away with it in the future aswell

Gota Eat Somehow

DocO wrote:
    What happens if the Dunnes staff arent allowed shop in Dunnes, or Tesco, or even aldi for that matter (no offense Merrion)

Thats the way it is for their staff at present

Now Im hearing that former Dunnes employees will never again be allowed to shop in Dunnes (not sure if this belongs on the poker forum anymore)

good luck ocallagh in this grand slam see you at the tables and or course anyone else in from here too....
    david

I am playing this aswell.

gl m8 see ya at table im davidgti;)

yea gl look to all boards players I hope one of us takes it down.

phew totally forgot about this, lucky i logged into PPP just after 10. gl all!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Yeah, just as well you did o'callaigh :p

DeV.

lol, just saw that tom! cost me $400... my AA was outdrawn by TT... ATT flop... lol :) then tom picked up AK every hand for an hour and knocked me out...

wd to FatboyDim, and hl Tom - 30% will be nice though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

C'mon, let's get this thread back off topic.

"Hey Mister. Wanna buy a thumb?"