Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top 100 must have Alternative/Indie Albums.

• 02-12-2005 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭

Ok it would be great to get boardsies to make suggestions for the boards "Top 100 must have Alternative/Indie" albums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

The Stone Roses - first album
    My Bloody Valentine - Loveless
    The Smiths - first album
    Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures
    Radiohead - The Bends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Placebo - Without you im nothing

placebo - Black Market Music

Muse- Origin of Symmetry

Muse - Absoulution

Ash - Meltdown

All the Oasis albums up to Be here Now

Kings of Leon - Aha Shake HEartbreak

kings of Leon - Youth and Young Manhood

Pixies - Sufer Rosa

pixies - Dolittle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Godspeed You Black Emperor - Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven
    Radiohead - OK Computer
    Betaband - The 3 EP's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

weezer - the blue album
    weezer - pinkerton

everyone should have them two

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭ratboy

Velvet underground lads, how can yous forget?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Neutral Milk Hotel - In an aeroplane over the sea
    Belle & Sebastian - If You're Feeling Sinister
    Modest Mouse - Moon & Antarctica
    Elliott Smith - Either/Or
    Pink Floyd - DSOTM
    The Flaming Lips - The Soft Bulletin

and lots more :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Fidelista

Indie? Alternative? such vague words. i like to think of it as rock without the glamour, U2 without the 125 foot screen, or Keef without a stupid headband.
    Anyway heres my top 5

1 The strokes- Room On Fire.
    Bigger, slightly less rough than Is This It( still afantastic album though). great melodies from the uncrowned kings of the world, roll on jan 19.

2 Yeah Yeah Yeahs- Fever to Tell
    Great to hear a female voice with a bit of balls.

3 Interpol- Antics

4 Eels- Blinking lights and other revelations
    Fantastic, great lyrics, a wide scope, overall a warm feeling inside.

5 Kings of Leon- Aha Shake Heartbreak
    this band will fight it out with the strokes over the years to attain the title of worlds greatest band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

• Eels - Daisies of the Galaxy
    • The Smiths - Strangeways, Here We Come
    • Badly Drawn Boy - The Hour of Bewilderbeast
    • Suede - Suede
    • Stereolab - Cobra And Phases Group Play Voltage In The Milky Night
    • Richard Hawley - Late Night Final
    • Nick Drake - Pink Moon
    • Belle and Sebastian - The Boy With The Arab Strap
    • Pete Yorn - Musicforthemorningafter
    • Nada Surf - Let Go
    • The Smoking Popes - Born To Quit
    • The Music - The Music
    • Ben Kweller - Sha Sha
    • Brendan Benson - The Alternative To Love
    • Morrissey - Vauxhall and I
    • Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures
    • Magnetic Fields - 69 Love Songs
    • The Hidden Cameras - Smell Of Our Own
    • Interpol - Turn On The Bright Lights
    • Grandaddy - Under The Western Freeway
    • Elliott Smith - Figure 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Ok, here goes, my top 100 (in alphabetical order):
    1. A Hawk And A Hacksaw Darkness At Noon
    2. A Perfect Circle Mer De Noms
    3. A Silver Mt. Zion This Is Our Punk Rock
    4. Angels Of Light, The Everything Is Good Here/Please Come Home
    5. Antony and the Johnsons I Am A Bird Now
    6. Devendra Banhart Rejoicing In The Hands
    7. Birthday Party, The Mutiny/The Bad Seed E.P.
    8. Black Flag My War
    9. Black Sun Productions Operett Amorale
    10. Bonnie 'Prince' Billy I See A Darkness
    11. David Bowie Ziggy Stardust
    12. Jeff Buckley Grace
    13. Can Tago Mago
    14. Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds Tender Pray
    15. Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds Let Love In
    16. Coil Horse Rotorvator
    17. Coil Astral Disaster
    18. Coil Musick To Play In The Dark Volume 2
    19. Crime And The City Solution Shine
    20. Cure, The Disintegration
    21. Current 93 Earth Covers Earth
    22. Daft Punk Homework
    23. Depeche Mode Violator
    24. Dirty Three, The Whatever You Love, You Are
    25. Dylan, Bob Blood On The Tracks
    26. Einstuerzende Neubauten 1/2 Mensch
    27. Einstuerzende Neubauten Silence Is Sexy
    28. Einstuerzende Neubauten Grundstueck
    29. Fall, The Grotesque
    30. Faust IV
    31. Fennesz Venice
    32. Flaming Lips, The Zaireeka
    33. Flaming Lips, The Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots
    34. Serge Gainsbourg Histoire de Melody Nelson
    35. Garbage Garbage
    36. Michael Gira and Dan Matz What We Did
    37. Godspeed You Black Emperor! Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven
    38. Hafler Trio, The Kill The King
    39. P.J. Harvey To Bring You My Love
    40. Jesus And Mary Chain, The Psychocandy
    41. Jimmy Cake, The Dublin Gone, Everybody Dead
    42. Joy Division Unknown Pleasures
    43. Joy Division Closer
    44. King Crimson In The Court Of The Crimson King
    45. Kraftwerk Autobahn
    46. Larsen Play
    47. LCD Soundsystem LCD Soundsystem
    48. Low and the Dirty Three In The Fishtank 7
    49. Low Trust
    50. Mars The Complete Studio Recordings: NYC 1977-1978
    51. Melvins, The Bullhead
    52. Mogwai My Father My King
    53. Muse Showbiz
    54. My Bloody Valentine Loveless
    55. New Order Substance
    56. Nine Inch Nails The Fragile
    57. Gary Numan The Pleasure Principle
    58. Nurse With Wound Soliloquy For Lilith
    59. Pitchshifter www.pitchshifter.com
    60. Placebo Without You I'm Nothing
    61. Presidents Of The United States Of America, The The Presidents Of The United States Of America
    62. Primal Scream XTRMNTR
    63. Prodigy Music For The Jilted Generation
    64. Prodigy The Fat Of The Land
    65. Public Image Limited Metal Box
    66. Queen Adreena Taxidermy
    67. Queens Of The Stone Age Rated R
    68. Radiohead Amnesiac
    69. Rage Against The Machine Rage Against The Machine
    70. Damien Rice O
    71. Sigur Rós Agætis Byrjun
    72. Sigur Rós ( )
    73. Smashing Pumpkins Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness
    74. Smiths, The The Queen Is Dead
    75. Sonic Youth Daydream Nation
    76. Spiritualized Let It Come Down
    77. Swans The Burning World
    78. Swans Swans Are Dead
    79. Matt Sweeney and Bonnie "Prince" Billy Superwolf
    80. The The Dusk
    81. Thighpaulsandra I, Thighpaulsandra
    82. Throbbing Gristle Throbbing Gristle Bring You 20 Jazz Funk Greats
    83. Tindersticks Curtains
    84. Tool Ænima
    85. Tool Lateralus
    86. Tricky Pre-Millennium Tension
    87. Velvet Underground, The The Velvet Underground & Nico (Deluxe Edition)
    88. Velvet Underground, The White Light/White Heat
    89. The Virgin Prunes A New Form Of Beauty
    90. Tom Waits Rain Dogs
    91. Weezer Weezer
    92. White Stripes, The White Blood Cells
    93. Brian Wilson Smile
    94. Wire 154
    95. Wolf Eyes Burned Mind
    96. Neil Young After The Gold Rush
    97. Neil Young Harvest
    98. Neil Young On The Beach
    99. Neil Young & Crazy Horse Weld
    100. Neil Young & Crazy Horse Greendale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Scratch Acid

Microphones - The Glow Pt. 2
    Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation (Also the best album ever, incidentally.)
    Elliot Smith - Elliot Smith

I could go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Anything by the Pixies
    James Blunt Back to Bedlam
    Definitely QOTSA Sons for the Deaf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

muletide wrote:
    Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation

excellent album, never gets old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Scratch Acid

Atrocity wrote:
    never gets old

This is true. This is about the only album I've listened to for many years and not gotten sick of, even in the slightest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Bip

Arcade Fire - Funeral
    Antony and the Johnsons - I am a bird now
    Devendra Banhart - Nino Rojo
    Kate Bush - The Kick Inside
    Captain Beefheart and his magic band - Safe as Milk
    The Coral
    Death Cab For Cutie - Transatlanticism
    Leonard Cohen - Greatest Hits
    Interpol - turn on the bright lights
    Lambchop - Nixon
    Modest Mouse - The moon and antartica
    Mum - Finally we are no one
    Muse - Absolution
    Pixies - Doolittle
    Radiohead - Kid A / The Bends
    Royksopp - Melody A.M
    Sigur Ros - Agaetis Byrjun
    Talking Heads - Stop Making Sense
    Rufus Wainwright - Poses
    The Libertines
    Babyshambles - Down in Albion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 MsMolko

Placebo- Either "Placebo" or "Without you I'm Nothing"
    QOTSA-Rated R
    Regina Spektor-Soviet Kitsch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

the beatles - the white album
    the beatles - sgt peppers...
    the beatles - rubber soul
    the beatles - revolver
    bob dylan - blood on the tracks
    lou reed - transformer
    david bowie - hunky dory
    the smiths - meat is murder
    the smiths - hatful of hollow
    the smiths - strangeways here we come
    the smiths - the queen is dead
    the jam - all mod cons
    the jam - setting sons
    the stone roses - the stone roses
    Morrissey - Vauxhal and i
    morrissey - bona drag
    morrissey - you are the quarry
    oasis - definitly maybe
    oasis - whats the story morning glory
    blur - blur
    blur - the great escape
    pulp - different class

jesus there are millions i just don't have the time to put the in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

damn how could i forget artists like

elliot smith
    ben kweller
    death cab for cutie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 sad_professor

The Afghan Whigs - 'Gentlemen'
    The Stooges - 'Funhouse'
    American Music Club - 'California'
    Sugar - 'Copper Blue'
    Fugazi - 'Repeater'
    The National - 'Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers'
    Deus - 'The Ideal Crash'
    Mark Mulcahy - 'Fathering'
    Swervedriver - 'Mezcal Head'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

John2 wrote:
    Ok, here goes, my top 100 (in alphabetical order):

Please tell me you have a Foobar plugin or something that did that for you, rather than thinking about it :)

PiE wrote:
    Please tell me you have a Foobar plugin or something that did that for you, rather than thinking about it :)

I have no idea what a Foobar is. However I do (rather nerdily) have an excel file of every CD I own and I just went through that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

As much as I like Bob Dylan, Neil Young and the Beatles - they're hardly indie / alternative.

Some that come to mind:

At The Drive-In - Relationship of Command - I really mean this - everyone should listen to this album - its among the best ever made.

Beck - Odelay
    The Pixies - Come On Pilgrim
    Husker Du - Zen Arcade
    Sugar - Copper Blue
    Gomez - Bring It On
    Meat Puppets - Meat Puppets II
    Morrissey - You Are The Quarry
    REM - Murmur

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    At The Drive-In - Relationship of Command - I really mean this - everyone should listen to this album - its among the best ever made.

I agree with most of your other suggestions but this is band is so overated it's unreal. I cannot see the fascination with them or any of the bands they spawned. Truly mediocre stuff.

And Dylan and Neil Young would be more alternative than the likes of Q would have you believe. They have some mainstream albums but come on, how many people do you know with a copy of Neil Young's Arc or Re*ac*tor on their shelf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I don't want to play this game at the moment, mainly because there are so many good choices to be made and so many bad ones already made...

(Eg. only Goodshape mentioned a Beta Band Album, and nobody at all mention the Swans album Love Of Life...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

John2 wrote:
    I agree with most of your other suggestions but this is band is so overated it's unreal. I cannot see the fascination with them or any of the bands they spawned. Truly mediocre stuff.

And Dylan and Neil Young would be more alternative than the likes of Q would have you believe. They have some mainstream albums but come on, how many people do you know with a copy of Neil Young's Arc or Re*ac*tor on their shelf?

I owuldn't class any of the spin-offs of ATDI as anything truely amazing, nor any of their albums prior to ROC. You need to listen to that album again though, it is perfect and is a peer of other complete albums like OK Computer, or On The Beach.

As for Dylan and Young, perhaps Neil Young has made ventures into indie/alt with the aformentioned albums and some others. So maybe that could be allowed, but Dylan? and someone else mentioned the Beatles...

I think the point of a thread like this, should be for albums that are unamiguously indie/alt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

John2 wrote:
    I have no idea what a Foobar is. However I do (rather nerdily) have an excel file of every CD I own and I just went through that.
    That's even worse! ;x

Though I do agree with you on the ATDI front, they never did anything for me.
    (Eg. only Goodshape mentioned a Beta Band Album, and nobody at all mention the Swans album Love Of Life...)

Nobody mentioned Dispatch, Menomena or 65daysofstatic either but hey... just because we're all talking "indie/alternative", doesn't mean we all have to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

look at the beatles in relation to their time, the were amazinly alt!! beside the white album is still an alt album there a very few albums that can be near that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Mickah

Beta Band - Three EP's

I fookin love this album. Have been trying to find similar artists without much success. Any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

[QUOTE=RE*AC*TOR
    Meat Puppets - Meat Puppets II
    [/QUOTE]

Sweet a Meat Puppets fan, lets not forget Up on the Sun also.

Dinosaur Jr - Bug
    Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation
    every album from the SST label....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

operation ivy - operation ivy
    bikini kill - cd version of the first two records
    dance hall crashers - the old record

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Mickah wrote:
    Beta Band - Three EP's

I fookin love this album. Have been trying to find similar artists without much success. Any ideas?

the new king biscuit time album (steve from beta band) is out soon-ish i think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 sad_professor

Explosions in the Sky - 'The Earth is Not a Cold Dead Place'
    Shellac - 'At Action Park'
    The Go-Betweens - '16 Lovers Lane'
    The Chills - 'Soft Bomb'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

I am quite amazed that no one mentioned any Nirvana album, so I'll propose 'Nevermind'.

Anyway, here's my top 5 alternative / indie album of all time as of today:

Sonic Youth - Experimental Jet Set Trash & No Star
    PJ Harvey - Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea
    Massive Attack - Mezzanine
    Radiohead - Ok Computer
    Beck - Odelay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭odhran

i'd say:

arcade fire- funeral
    p.j. harvey- rid of me
    the breeders- the last splash
    the pixies- pretty much everything
    yeah yeah yeahs- fever to tell
    cibo matto- sterotype*A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Smog - Knock, Knock
    Smog - Dongs of Sevotion
    Smog - A River Ain't Too Much to Love
    Mercury Rev - Boces (forget their later stuff - this album rocks)
    Dinosaur Jr. - Where You Been
    Smashing Pumpkins - Siamese Dream and Gish
    Bonny Prince Billy - I See a Darkness
    Pavement - Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain
    Sebadoh - Bakesale + Bubble and Scrape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Arcade Fire
    Modest Mouse
    The Ark
    British Sea Power
    Dogs Die in Hot Cars
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs
    Futureheads
    SoundGarden

Off the top of my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭tywy

Arcade Fire - Funeral
    Stars - Set Yourself on Fire
    Devendra Banhart - Cripple Crow
    Rilo Kiley - Execution of All Things, Take Offs and Landings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Theremin

In no particular order:

1. The Pixies – Surfer Rosa
    2. Nirvana – In Utero
    3. Ryan Adams – Heartbreaker
    4. Elliott Smith – Either/Or
    5. Brendan Benson – Lapalco
    6. Therapy? – Troublegum
    7. Whipping Boy – Whipping Boy
    8. My Bloody Valentine – Loveless
    9. The Smiths – The Queen is Dead
    10. Ben Folds Five – Whatever and Ever Amen
    11. The Fall – Perverted By Language
    12, Wire – Pink Flag
    13. The Replacements – Tim
    14. Sonic Youth – Dirty
    15. Soundgarden – Badmotorfinger
    16. The Auteurs – New Wave
    17. The The – Soul Mining
    18. The Associates – Sulk
    19. Smashing Pumpkins – Siamese Dream
    20. Manic Street Preachers – The Holy Bible
    21. Husker Du – Candy Apple Grey
    22. Sugar – Copper Blue
    23. Depeche Mode – Violater
    24. Beck – Mutations
    25. Black Box Recorder – The Facts of Life
    26. Talking Heads – Stop Making Sense
    27. Eels – Daisies of the Galaxy
    28. The Dandy Warhols – Come Down
    29. Interpol – Turn On the Bright Lights
    30. giveamanakick – Is it Okay to Be Loud, Jesus?
    31. The Lemonheads – It’s a Shame About Ray
    32. Mercury Rev – Deserters' Songs
    33. Flaming Lips – Clouds Taste Metallic
    34. Pavement – Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain
    35. Richmond Fontaine – Post to Wire
    36. Whiskeytown – Stranger’s Almanac
    37. Steve Earle – Copperhead Road
    38. The Shins – Oh, Inverted World
    39. Spiritualized – Ladies and Gentlemen We are Floating in Space
    40. Ladytron – 604
    41. The Stooges – Funhouse
    42. The Wildhearts – PHUQ
    43. Weezer – Pinkerton
    44. Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
    45. The Sleepy Jackson – Lovers
    46. The Cure – 17 Seconds
    47. Tom Waits – Rain Dogs
    48. Belle & Sebastian – The Boy with the Arab Strap
    49. Teenage Fanclub – Bandwagonesque
    50. Sparklehorse – vivadixiesubmarinetransmissionplot
    51. Queens of the Stone Age – Songs for the Deaf
    52. The Only Ones – The Only Ones
    53. The Mars Volta – De-loused in the Comatorium
    54. Echo & the Bunnymen – Ocean Rain
    55. Alice in Chains – Dirt
    56. Sparks – Kimono My House
    57. Beth Orton – Trailer Park
    58. The Breeders – Pod
    59. Kristin Hersh – Hips and Makers
    60. Captain Beefheart – Trout Mask Replica
    61. Deus – Worst Case Scenario
    62. The Clash – The Clash
    63. Faith No More – We Care A Lot
    64. Rival Schools – United By Fate
    65. Gang of Four – Entertainment
    66. Public Enemy – Fear of a Black Planet
    67. The Grateful Dead – American Beauty
    68. The Pogues – If I Should Fall from Grace with God
    69. Jane’s Addiction – Ritual de Lo Habitual
    70. Jeff Buckley – Grace
    71. Jesus and Mary Chain – Psychocandy
    72. Kerbdog – Kerbdog
    73. Massive Attack – Blue Lines
    74. Mazzy Star – She Hangs Brightly
    75. Sisters of Mercy – Floodlands
    76. Billy Bragg – Don’t Try This at Home
    77. Patti Smith – Horses
    78. PJ Harvey – Rid of Me
    79. Smog – Dongs of Sevotion
    80. Stiff Little Fingers – Inflammable Material
    81. Stranglers – Rattus Norvegicus
    82. Velvet Underground – The Velvet Underground & Nico
    83. New Order – Substance
    84. Joy Division – Closer
    85. Cat Power – You are Free
    86. Big Star – Sister Lovers
    87. Beta Band 3 Eps
    88. Stone Temple Pilots – Core
    89. Guided By Voices – Bee Thousand
    90. Apples in Stereo – Tone Soul Evolution
    91. American Music Club – Everclear
    92. Dinosaur Jr – You’re Living All Over Me
    93. The Ramones – Rocket to Russia
    94. Super Furry Animals – Fuzzy Logic
    95. Throwing Muses – The Real Ramona
    96. Primal Scream – Screamadelica
    97. Luna – Luna Park
    98. P.I.L. – Metal Box
    99. Television – Marquee Moon
    100. Minor Threat – Out of Step

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

wilco - yankee hotel foxtrot... amongst others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 musing

Little Ed Harcourt - let there be monsters...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Jim10000

For Micah who likes the Beta Band.... I think The Earlies have a kind of similar sound.

Theremin - Sir, I salute you for your great taste. And for you ability to not get bored while writing out such an extensive list.

Just picked up a CD copy of Candy Apple Grey (only had it on tape before) - got me back into the rockin' sound of Bob Mould. Can't wait to see him live in February.

got me back into the rockin' sound of Bob Mould. Can't wait to see him live in February.

He was quite good at Electric Picnic I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Theremin

Theremin - Sir, I salute you for your great taste. And for you ability to not get bored while writing out such an extensive list.

Just picked up a CD copy of Candy Apple Grey (only had it on tape before) - got me back into the rockin' sound of Bob Mould. Can't wait to see him live in February.

Cheers, had a bit of time on my hands and nothing better to do.

Looking forward to Bob Mould as well. Missed the Electric picnic. Can't believe he's playing in Roisin's. Any idea how many tickets have been sold?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Theremin, you mention Dirty but not Daydream Nation??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Ok here's mine!

1.Mark Geary - 33 & 1/3 Grand Street
    2.Mark Geary - Ghosts
    3.Damien Rice - O
    4.Neil Young - Decades
    5.Violent Femmes - Add it Up
    6.The Eels - Electro Shock Blues
    7.The Frames - Set List
    8.The Frames - Fitzcarraldo
    9.The Frames - Dance the Devil
    10.The Frames - For the Birds
    11.The Frames - Breadcrumb Trail
    12.The Frames - Burn the Maps
    13.Mic Christopher - Skylarkin'
    14.Muse - The Origin of Symmetry
    15.Muse - Absolution
    16.Bob Dylan - The Essential Collection
    17.Bell x1 - Neither Am I
    18.Bell x1 - Music in Mouth
    19.Bell x1 - Flock
    20.Snowpatrol - Final Straw
    21.Elliot Smith - XO
    22.Elliot Smith - Either Or
    23.Future Kings of Spain - Future Kings of Spain
    24.The Pixies - Surfer Rosa
    25.Tom Waits - Rain Dogs
    26.Label - Tailspin
    27.Belle & Sebastian - Dear Catastrophe Waitress
    28.Rodrigo y Gabriela - Live in Dublin & Manchester
    29.Rodrigo y Gabriela - Re-fóc
    30.Jeff Buckley - Grace
    31.Jeff Buckley - Sketches for my Sweetheart the Drunk
    32.Jeff Buckley - The Mystery White Boy
    33.Pearl Jam - Rear View Mirror
    34.Josh Ritter - Hello Starling
    35.Josh Ritter - Golden Age of Radio
    36.Paddy Casey - Amen (So Be It)
    37.Paddy Casey - Livin'
    38.Ryan Adams - Heartbreaker
    39.Kerbdog - Kerbdog
    40.Coldplay - A rush of Blood to the Head
    41.Sigur Rós - Sigur Rós
    42.David Kitt - The Big Romance
    43.R.E.M. - In Time
    44.The Pixies - Dolittle
    45.The Eagles - The Greatest Hits
    46.The Reindeer Section - Can't remember the album title
    47.Rory Gallagher - Defender
    48.Rory Gallagher - Meeting with the G-Man
    49.Rory Gallagher - Against the Grain
    50.Franz Ferdinand - Franz Ferdinand
    51.Jack Johnson - Inaudible Melodies

Thats all i can think of!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Steve_o wrote:

Thats all i can think of!!

You got a goood list there, but I have to disagree with the Paddy Casey. Everyone should really have some Weezer and lots of Pixies. Weezer the blue album and Blur's Parklife are two very good albums everyone should have!! and of course never forgetting!! The Smiths, The Queen Is Dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Good God I've seen some horrible choices by some people so far. Stuff that's not even remotely in the vague category of Indie/Alt

I'm going off in a huff to write my own list. And probably give up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭Chong

I am looking forward to Jimi's list. :)

I'm worried that he thinks MY list is crap!

Theremin wrote:
    Looking forward to Bob Mould as well. Missed the Electric picnic. Can't believe he's playing in Roisin's. Any idea how many tickets have been sold?

Gugai told me they were selling pretty fast and he was expecting him to sell out alright. Got my ticket online a few days ago.
    Bob Mould on the Friday in Galway, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah on the Saturday in Dublin. Gonna be a good weekend.