Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What did you do on your 18th birthday?

• 01-12-2005 8:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭

What did you do for your 18th birthday? I am curious. Obviously if you did nothing on the particular day of your 18th, what did you do on the day you CELEBRATED it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Actual birthday is on Christmas Day so about 2 weeks later when I was back at college, group of 6 or so of us went to the pub, then to Captain America's for cocktails and dinner and then on to another pub. Had a great night actually, really good bunch of friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I went to work then went out to dinner with my family and boyfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

On the actual day, I went to the pub with my Dad and Sister. Then that weekend I had some friends up to my house, and we got smashed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I can't remember at all, I assume I just hung out with my friends as per usual because three of us have the same birthday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

got twisted drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

worked in the pits.
    Came home ate dinner.
    back to work at the pit.
    came home ate supper and went to bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Went into town with all my friends (nearly all my friends were 18 already or older). Started in Major Tom's aka down under and then some girls dragged me to the red box telling me it was actually good. It's the only time I've ever been in there and I don't intend to go again, sh*thole. Wasn't a great night in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I think I'd given up celebrating birthdays by the time I was 18...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Mossy Monk wrote:
    got twisted drunk

Me too... High five, high five! :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭largerthanlife

i didnt do anything birthdays are sooo over rated!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

My then girlfriend brought me out for dinner.
    a candle lit dinner.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Was about a month ago.. party up the house. Craziness - how many can you fit in a downstairs bathroom is a game all should play :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

woke with a hangover and proceeded to get drunk again.
    don't remember much after 3pm that day.

had this picture taken somewhere between hungover and drunk.

i can't believe i still have it 12 years on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

Few people down to the house and a few beers. Then out at the weekend for a meal in the Hardrock cafe where I discovered that I'm not to only one with a birthday on September 11, made me feel a little less special:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

Didn’t know anything about this but.....
    On my 18th which was only 3 months ago was woke up at 5am ****ed into a car, got off at Dublin Airport, got a plain to West Midlands Airport and ended up in Alton Towers with all my mates was a great laugh never **** my self so much. Flew back the same day and went out for dinner with my family the next day and after that I went to the pub & to a nite club with my mates. Still went to school the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Went for dinner with my mom,brother and one of my friends whos basically a brother, then had a few drinks and headed home. Got home,people arrived over for a few pre-club drinks and then we all hit town and got plastered.
    It was a great day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

it was last day of college exams, so we went up to the student bar, got twisted. then the thurs night we went out to college ball, it was one of the lads 19th the day after my birthday so a big group of us went to the ball, great craic, from what i can remember!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Played a round of golf with my dad at some fancy course, then had dinner at home. Was not really what i had planned but then i didnt plan on being in ireland :o .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

My 18th was that long ago i can barely remember :o i do recall getting pis*ed though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Nothing because I had exams all that week. I drank loads when it was over. ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I think I qualify for the worst 18th birthday award - I was in Maths and Chemistry grinds for my Leaving Cert. Bastards! But I celebrated it two days later by going out and getting hammered with two of my best friends, my feet hurt so much the next day from all the dancing but it was so much fun!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I went out and got absolutely langered. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I can't remember.

Thats either due to my current old age, or that I got drunk on my 18th. Probably both though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I can't remember at all, I assume I just hung out with my friends as per usual because three of us have the same birthday.
    Oh now I remember, it was the day after my leaving cert finished \o/
    Was a great time! then went to two concerts in the hungover aftermath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 BerigWielbark

Went out to Termights (Spermites, even) in Limerick, smuggled in a bottle of buckfast, locked lips with a Amnesty chugger from south Dublin (had some outrageous name like Yseult or something similar), went back to a friend's house, smoked a doob, listened to lots of loud music and woke up the following morning without a hangover or a stomach ache.

Bloody good night, eh what?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Few people down to the house and a few beers. Then out at the weekend for a meal in the Hardrock cafe where I discovered that I'm not to only one with a birthday on September 11, made me feel a little less special:(

To make you feel even less special, mines sept 11th too! :v:

On mine, I got totally langered on Cider, and ended up nearly falling asleep in a puke-ridden toilet.

I had a blast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Mine's on January 16th :) I doubt I'll be doing anything special on the DAY (although might go out for dinner with the family), but I'll probably just go into town with some friends on the weekend before or (most likely) after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I spent most of my 18th birthday sleeping... it was a couple of days after I finished my Leaving Cert. Went out, got drunk and had fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I don't have birthdays.

like Chuck Norris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

6 months before birthday...Lyonsfest 2002, party at my house few drinks happy times etc.

on birthday Went out with a few mates had a few drinks saw a few bands went back to school next day.

6 months after birthday Lyonsfest 2003: Offical 100% celebration. Bouncy castle, live band, drinks, barbecue, drunkin rugby match etc.

When i Celebrate i make it a proper full on celebration.

funnily enough i'm approaching the midpoint of my 21 celebrations. (had a party 6 months before hand Lyonsfest 2005) actual birthday in feb.

then LYONSFEST 21 in april.

ONE MUST Celebrate in full with his friends.

i always end spending more on my friends them myself at birthdays...thats the way it should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I was sick on my 18th. Doped up on morphine, but my friends celebrated for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

kaimera wrote:
    I don't have birthdays.

like Chuck Norris

Chuck Norris's tears cure cancer. Pity he doesn't cry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I did nothing. I don't like making a big deal out my birthday. I end up feeling guilty about it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Mossy Monk wrote:
    got twisted drunk

^^
    what he did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

I just had mine a few weeks ago. I went to see Ireland vs. All Blacks, then had friends over to mine for a few hours, and after that we went into town. It was a fairly eventful night, after the club most of my friends were involved in a mass brawl on Grafton St. and after that we met loads of the All Blacks outside Lillies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Funkstard wrote:
    ..... after the club most of my friends were involved in a mass brawl on Grafton St.
    Classy mates you have there.....

I think for my 18th all those years ago in 1998, i went out and had some drinks... and my mates didn't get involved in street brawling :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Ferror

Had a few drinks and got a train down the country with my then girlfriend.
    Ended up Spending a three day weekend in an apartment down there.

Didn't sleep much :p

I think i had one of the better 18th's, here's hoping my 21st'll come close to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

cant remember!!! went on a 48 hr bender.... got quite quite drunk as you can imagine... great nights well i think so anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭*Oul_Doll_Cork*

For my 18th Birthday I was pissed drunk and went around showing all the bouncers in the clubs my fake id that they had been letting me in with for the past 3 years!!! :o hehe, I thought it was funny at the time but i woke up crindging the next morning!!!
    Ahhh well! Young and Foolish!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

A lot of my friends wanted me to have a party ... but that didn't happen .. haha. Instead, we just had a dinner at my house and that was fun. Something simple but it was nice.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Cant remember I was too drunk... I had been going clubbing since I was 15 so I doubt it was anything new...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I have no idea....wierd. I imagine I went on the piss........

Oh no! I remember now, I am unfortunate enought to have a birthday in early summer. Every year exams would fall on my birthday, and that year was the mother of all exams. Yes, I either sat a leaving cert exam or I pretended to study on my birthday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Mine was bollix. Out of 8 of us who went out, only me and another managed to get into the nightclub that night (like Xzanti, Ive been doin it since I was 16, but we had particularly bad luck that night)

Got locked, seperated from my mate, had no money for a taxi, nearly froze to death and my mam ended up picking me up at a petrol station at 6am, convinced I was on drugs (it was actually the brutal cold that was causing any jaw twitching)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I went to with a group of friend Luigi Malones and we got a few pitchers of cocktails. They would serve us with no id there you see. I was the first of the group to become 18 so we couldn't really go out properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Got twisted drunk within an inch of my life!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DBK

Spent the night in cells in Pearse St. Garda station. Some scumbag hit out at my girlfriend on Westmoreland St. So I hospitalised him and his mate, the third just ran.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

DBK wrote:
    Spent the night in cells in Pearse St. Garda station. Some scumbag hit out at my girlfriend on Westmoreland St. So I hospitalised him and his mate, the third just ran.

And the medal goes to.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Nedermeyer

I was in slovenia with my girlfriend and a load of mates.met a big group of slovenians and a load of boys from Derry. Mighty night. Stayed up all night and got the train to Zagreb the next morning! The joys of a summer birthday....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭kittenz

Finished my leaving cert exams the day of my birthday. I must say the day didnt start off too well having to sit an economics exam but as soon as it was over, hit the pub with all my mates and then there was a club opened that night for all student finished their exams, so got absolutely smashed and had a great night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DBK

joejoem wrote:
    And the medal goes to.......

Ha ha..thanks. Wasn't the worst birthday night ever though. My 25th I went outside Dublin for the night with a couple of mates and I got into a bit of a barny with some bloke. Words of advice for him : 1. Don't start a fight just because someone's accent is different to yours. 2. If you hit like a girl, don't get into a drunken brawl with a teetotaller and 3. If you're only doing it cause your mates said they'd back you up, always make sure you've more mates with you than the bloke you've picked a fight with. My first(and last) bar fight.