Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Private profiles - please note that profiles marked as private will soon be public. This will facilitate moderation so mods can view users' warning histories. All of your posts across the site will appear on your profile page (including PI, RI). Groups posts will remain private except to users who have access to the same Groups as you. Thread here
Some important site news, please read here. Thanks!

Insane NTL speeds

  • 01-12-2005 5:12pm
    #1
    Registered Users Posts: 13,710 ✭✭✭✭ JPA


    I came home from college today I noticed today and noticed my downloads were going quite fast so I ran a spped test. These are the speeds I have been getting for the last half hour or so.

    This is for real. I tested it again by downloading a large file from unreal.ie and I am getting speeds of over 1100 kb/s!! :eek:

    Is this some kind of glitch or what? I'm in Waterford by the way.
    If you have any other tests I can run let me know and I'll see what results I get.

    By the way, it won't let me upload pics to demonstrate to boards.ie at the mo. What hosting site should I use?


«13456789

Comments

  • Registered Users Posts: 3,812 Drapper


    JPA wrote:
    I came home from college today I noticed today and noticed my downloads were going quite fast so I ran a spped test. These are the speeds I have been getting for the last half hour or so.

    This is for real. I tested it again by downloading a large file from unreal.ie and I am getting speeds of over 1100 kb/s!! :eek:

    Is this some kind of glitch or what? I'm in Waterford by the way.
    If you have any other tests I can run let me know and I'll see what results I get.

    By the way, it won't let me upload pics to demonstrate to boards.ie at the mo. What hosting site should I use?

    me too D15 !! wtf !!


  • Registered Users Posts: 8,822 qz




  • Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,182 Mod ✭✭✭✭ Cabaal


    Download a Linux iso from ftp.heanet.ie and let us know what speed your getting
    screenshot also :)


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 paulm17781


    Testing for upgrades???


  • Registered Users Posts: 13,710 ✭✭✭✭ JPA


    could you give me a direct link to a linux iso. I don't know where to find them


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 13,710 ✭✭✭✭ JPA


    http://img161.imageshack.us/img161/1807/speedtest5ex.jpg

    Download from unreal.ie:

    This is a screenshot from within opera's download manager.
    http://img161.imageshack.us/img161/8209/downloadspeed2em.gif


  • Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭ garlad


    What NTL package you on?


  • Registered Users Posts: 13,710 ✭✭✭✭ JPA


    On 3 meg. Free 3 months finished yesterday. Was about to ring up and downgrade to the 2 meg package.


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,812 Drapper


    Get about 6 meg down 600 up !!

    I'm on 3meg too !!

    but I got a download running at the same time !! :D

    http://img219.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled0uk.gif


  • Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭ garlad


    Will test when I get home.
    In Cabinteely on the 1 Meg Package


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 3,812 Drapper


    garlad wrote:
    Will test when I get home.
    In Cabinteely on the 1 Meg Package

    well if its true the BB battle is truely on !!! :D:D:D:D


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 DingDong


    My 3meg is normal at the moment :(


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,812 Drapper


    DingDong wrote:
    My 3meg is normal at the moment :(

    power cycle your modem !


  • Registered Users Posts: 16,973 ✭✭✭✭ Tusky


    whats a good website foe testing my connection ? Im on ESAT 2mb. D15.


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,812 Drapper




  • Registered Users Posts: 16,973 ✭✭✭✭ Tusky


    ** An error has occurred while testing **
    Speed test server is busy, or test limit reached.
    Please try again later.
    Speed test stopped.


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 DingDong


    Tusky wrote:
    whats a good website foe testing my connection ? Im on ESAT 2mb. D15.

    check here: http://www.irishisptest.com/myspeed/

    7.35Mbps down 500 up :) cheers Drapper


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 Mutant_Fruit


    the best possible test is to get a (large) file off Heanet and leave it download for about 2-3 mins and see what speed it settles at.

    Such as this 600meg image for FreeBSD.... http://ftp.heanet.ie/pub/FreeBSD/ISO-IMAGES-i386/4.10/4.10-RELEASE-i386-disc1.iso. Give that download a shot and see what speed it settles on.


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,812 Drapper


    now 8 meg 500 up !!

    23rw.th.gif

    getting a stiffy !!!


  • Registered Users Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭ RangeR




  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 16,973 ✭✭✭✭ Tusky


    well my 2mb connection is certainly not shattering any records. Makes me want to switch to different isp.



    True Speed (estimated)
    Downstream 666 Kbps (83.3 KB/sec) 719 Kbps (inc. overheads)
    Upstream 108 Kbps (13.5 KB/sec) 116 Kbps (inc. overheads)


  • Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭ s_gr


    Just checked my 3meg connection.....still the same D9


  • Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭ spooky donkey


    Bugger this will kill IBB if word gets out they will think they have to follow suit and connections will go to hell again. Not BB speeds improving in ireland again this is all in need. Give me a 512 that works.


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,918 Steffano2002


    To all you ntl BB subscribers:
    I HATE YOU!

    Signed: an IBB subscriber


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,918 Steffano2002


    Give me a 512 that works.
    I guess I agree with you because I'm also with IBB...


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 38 ✭✭✭ tigerbalm


    My Cable Modem Config Page is showing the following info after I rebooted.

    Can anybody decipher this at let me know that it means in kbps ?

    Cable Modem Operation Configuration
    Network Access : Allowed
    Maximum Downstream Data Rate : 10240000
    Maximum Upstream Data Rate : 512000
    Maximum Upstream Channel Burst : 1600
    Maximum Number of CPEs : 1


  • Registered Users Posts: 13,710 ✭✭✭✭ JPA


    This is the speed I'm getting downloading that iso from Heanet.


    http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/6417/downloadspeed7fu.jpg


    Yowzer!!


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,918 Steffano2002


    Meanwhile, on Steffano's 3MB IBB connection costing him €84 EUR a month:

    IBB%20is%20crap.JPG

    Anybody got vaseline?


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭ DonkeyStyle \o/


    Tusky wrote:
    well my 2mb connection is certainly not shattering any records. Makes me want to switch to different isp.
    Me too, I wanna get NTL :(
    What annoys me is that I've got worse upload on my 2MB adsl (esatBT) than I had with my ISDN (both lines active)... about 2 or 3 KB/sec slower.
    I'm shopping around for a decent upload speed tbh.


  • Advertisement
  • Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭ Vadrefjorde


    WOHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO:D

    There is a GOD


Advertisement