Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Introducing a new kitten?? Help Please...

• 30-11-2005 12:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭

:) I have a kitten,about 3 and a half months old, feisty little thing. Thing is we got a new kitten yesterday, she's 8 weeks and pretty small. We brought her home and slowly introduced her to the maniac who is Rascal....initially all was ok, they just had a bit of a sniff of each other and stared at each other etc.... Then the new kitten just started hissing at him and growling... Rascal was none too impressed with this so he started pawing at her, possibly just playing but she didn't like it at all...He got a bit rough with her then so I took her away and put her into her bed...Then I swapped them around to let the new kitten have a good look at the place and check everything out, just to settle in...
    Kept them apart last night thinking that maybe today they might settle a bit but no way, Pixie (the new kitten) is a mental patient, she just wont stop hissing etc...

Can anyone please help me or just give me some advise as how to help them get to know each other...Its doing my head in...:rolleyes: :confused:

Thanks... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Pinx

Hi Shinners21 - congrats on the new kitty! Cats are territorial by nature, so it's probably best to make your introduction a gradual process. It's definitely a good idea to let Pixie roam around the house on her own (while Rascal is safely tucked away). You could try swapping their bedding (blanket, etc) so that they get used to each other's scent. Feed them in seperate dishes and keep them in different rooms while doing so. Then try leaving door open between rooms so that they can see each other while eating. Gradually move bowls closer to each other and hopefully things should improve. Hope this helps, and good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Shinners21

That's great thanks, I'll try it anyway. I'd say this is going to take up the best part of my time for the next couple of week's.. :rolleyes: :D

Shinners21 wrote:
    I'd say this is going to take up the best part of my time for the next couple of week's.. :rolleyes: :D

:) I imagine so! Also, remember to give Rascal plenty of attention on his own as well in case he gets jealous! You could also consider "conditioning" him -- ie, every time you introduce Pixie into the room, you could give Rascal a treat, like a cat biscuit. Then he'll learn to associate something nice with Pixie! You'll have to gradually wean him off this habit though when relations improve!

That's a great idea actually...I'll try it anyway!!! 'll let you know how I get on! Cheers, very helpful! ;)

You're very welcome - hope all goes well! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Sigma Force

Here's a link that might help http://www.kittenadoption.ie/language.htm some cats take longer than others to get used to each other but in the end if they don't get on they generally learn to tolerate each others company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭lphchild

We went through the same thing introducing a new kitten to our 1 year old cat.

Both are house cats (v. small house), never allowed roam outside, and both are male. We found a couple of ways of breaking the ice. Keep the new kitten in it's own room most of the time but feed the 2 cats at the same time either side of the door. Give the resident cat loads of attention and occassionally 'posh' cat food. Also put a bit of string or some toy either side of the door so they can play with it without seeing each other.

After a couple of days of this open the door a small bit (not enough for either the get through). It takes a good bit of patience, we found it took about a week. Also, if they are male make sure both are neutered at as young an age as possible. Don't be tempted to give the new kitten free rein until the older cat is comfortable and the sense of threat has subsided.

Long term if they tolerate each other, they'll get on grand, they mightn't be completely comfortable with each other in ways you think they should, like sharing the same chair etc. but they will get on fine eventually, with no defensive or aggressive behaviour.

:) lph

Rascal is male and Pixie (the new kitty) is female so I think they have other issue's, more than just a jeasousy thing ha ha :rolleyes:
    All these post's are great, I'm trying everything,jut really want them to get on because when they r apart they are both so sweet but when they see each other they both freak.
    My boyfriend is off all day today so he's attempting to get them used to each other!! Slowly but surely.
    Thanks again ;)

It'll take time, but I'm sure they'll be fine! Perhaps you should think about getting them both neutered? Be sure to keep us up to date with your progress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭silvo

Hey Shinners21 - was just wondering where you got your new kitty? - one of my friends is looking for some kittens as her cat died recently - she has tried lots of shelters but no luck yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

There's a bunch of lovely cats for adoption on that good link Guineapigrescue posted.

Maybe your friends might consider taking in an adult cat. Some of the nicest cats I've had came to me as adults - one had been abandoned by its owner when she moved away; another was an almost-adult cat that had been nesting in my local area; one was a cat that had obviously been rehomed several times - a spoilt old rotter who loved his own way, and was dying when I got him, but ended up living to 22!

People tend to think in terms of a cute little kitten, but very often there are lovely cats available that belonged to a loving owner who grew too old to mind them and was moved into a nursing home, say, or whose owner has died.

I'm still haunted by an ad on irishanimals some years back for a bichon frize (sp?) which had belonged to a little girl, in Limerick, I think, and the child had been killed in a crash. The ad said the dog had been returned several times because it just barked and barked inconsolably. I've always wondered and hoped it found a happy loving home.

Hey Silvo where about's are you??
    We rescued our first kitten from a lady who rehomes cat's for the ISPCA.. she has rehomed over 2000 in the past 2 years, some going eh? :D
    I can give you her number if you are anywhere near Carlow I'm sure she'd be glad to help. We got Pixie from my friend in work, her cat had kitten's and they couldn't find homes for them so I took one...

Picture of Rascal on www.pigsback.ie/pets

Check out www.ispca.ie for info on rehoming pets. ;)

Pinx wrote:
    It'll take time, but I'm sure they'll be fine! Perhaps you should think about getting them both neutered? Be sure to keep us up to date with your progress!

I will of course, you've been a great help, thanx... ;)

Shinners21 wrote:

Just had a look at Rascal on Pigsback - he's a real cutie alright! A worthy winner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭silvo

luckat thanks for the info - awful story about the bission freise

Shinners21 - unfortunately my friend is based in Dublin and doesnt drive so she is looking for one a bit closer to home but i do think your cat is ridiculously cute. Thanks anyways!

Ah thanks..he's a cutie alright! He's know's it aswell :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Keating

I have a five year old male cat and I got a three year old male cat last Saturday. I kept the new cat on his own for Saturday cos he was very nervous. They met on Sunday a couple of times but the new cat kept hissing and my cat was afraid of the new cat. Monday was much the same and Tuesday morning I thought it wasn't going to work out and maybe the new cat would have to go back! Tuesday evening I came home from work, let the two cats meet. The new cat was darting around the house and kept going up to my cat sniffing him. My cat got annoyed with this. He didn't show any aggression or hiss but he did sit up suddenly to his full height and faced the other cat. The new cat cowered away. This happened three times and there has been no hissing since. They are now both asleep on the couch 18 inches apart!!! I have kept them separated during the night and while I was out at work but I think I won't keep them separated anymore.

The new cat had a lot to deal with - new house with new smells! New human and new cat!! So, the two cats had several short meetings until Tuesday evening and so far so good!!

:confused: Went home yesterday evening and my boyfriend told me that Pixie had been sick all day, vomiting and diarrhea...I was worried sick so put her in her travel box and up to the vet's only to find that it was closed. (enter the tears!!!)
    Brought her back home and out to her room, I made her drink some water so as not to get dehydrated...she perked up a small bit after that, played and purred for a little while. I went for my shower etc...and when i came back she was asleep.
    When I went to go to bed she cried and cried (b/f said she had been crying all day) so I got her a big blanket and put her on the end of my bed where she slept until b/f got home!!Put her back out then and she was non too impressed, but she slept for the night all the same.
    Went down this morning and she still has diarrhea, I'm just so worried that she will get dehydrated, which I know can be really dangerous for kittens.
    I know I have rambled on a bit here but I'm so worried about her.... and then theres Rascal who b/f said wasn't himself y-day, very quiet and slept alot..he is usually a mental case. I just hope he doesn't catch anything from Pixie...
    Maybe I'm just being over worried but you know how it is, she's so small and can't really look after herself yet. I had a look on the net and it says that sometimes kittens can be sick etc.. from change in surroundings.
    So at the end of it all...should I bring her to the vet to get checked anyway? I dont get home from work on time, all vets close at 7 o'clock or if like yesterday 6.45...really don't know what to do!!! Sorry for the long post I just wanted to give you the background!! :(

Straight to the vet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I dont get home from work on time, all vets close at 7 o'clock or if like yesterday 6.45...really don't know what to do!!!
    Where are you based? If it's Dublin, you could take her to the Pet Emergency Hospital at the vet college on the UCD Belfield campus. Open 7pm to 7am every weekday and 24hrs outside of this including bank holidays. Phone 1890 564 036.

If not, maybe you could just ring your vet and ask for advice, or could the b/f maybe take her in during the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

If they are territorial, try getting them to interact where neither is at home. Say, if they are always indoors, do it in the garage or garden.

Alun wrote:
    Where are you based? If it's Dublin, you could take her to the Pet Emergency Hospital at the vet college on the UCD Belfield campus. Open 7pm to 7am every weekday and 24hrs outside of this including bank holidays. Phone 1890 564 036.

If not, maybe you could just ring your vet and ask for advice, or could the b/f maybe take her in during the day?

No I'm in Carlow, no vet's open late here...I really don't know what to do, and I'm working tomorrow aswell so I can't bring her then. I'm going to have to ask someone else to bring her for me I think! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

Shinners21 wrote:

Check out www.ispca.ie for info on rehoming pets. ;)

Rascal is so cute!!!!!

Asking someone else to bring her is a good idea; you might also ring the vet and see if there's any pooled after-hours service.

Make sure the person who brings her keeps her in a basket at all times except when the vet is actually examining her. You don't want a lost sick kitten.

Yea my dad said he will bring her at 6 this evening. Bit of a load off to be honest. B/f said she is better today,no more getting sick, and she is playing a bit. I still want to get her checked though, and I'm keeping her well away from Rascal until maybe next week. Let her get a bit stronger before introducing them again. ;)

Yeah, good idea. Kittens can get *very* sick from things like cat flu - vet can tell you what's wrong and if it's serious, and give you medicine if she needs it.

Poor kitty! The main worry would be if she got dehydrated, so it's definitely best that she gets to the vets asap. Hope she's ok! :)

:p Thank you all so much, I'll let you know how I get on. Hopefully all will b ok, she's just as cute as Rascal,I'll post a pic sometime soon :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Alun wrote:
    Hi Alun - Is the 24 hour cover a new development? We used their clinic in the old building in Ballsbridge and the service was excellent, but they had no emergency cover at that stage. Do they handle all the routine stuff (vaccinations etc) as well?

:( I just thought I'd let you all know, we brought Pixie to the vet today, she has an disease in her intestine, passed on most likely from her mother. Vet gave us antibiotics for her and said he will give her until Tuesday but if there is no improvement she will have to be put down...
    I can barely write this I am so upset. I know that it is better for her to put down than to continue suffering but in the few shorts days that I have her i have become so attached and it will kill me to have her put down.
    Thank you all for your help etc...really appreciated. I'm hoping the drug's will work for her. I'll let you know anyway (hope I haven't depressed the hell out of anyone!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭Tabitharose

so very sorry to read that. will keep my fingers crossed for her & you

RainyDay wrote:
    Hi Alun - Is the 24 hour cover a new development? We used their clinic in the old building in Ballsbridge and the service was excellent, but they had no emergency cover at that stage. Do they handle all the routine stuff (vaccinations etc) as well?
    Well there was a 24 hr emergency vets clinic based at a vets surgery in Nutgrove that ran for a few years, but they were having problems, I believe, with insurance, and it recently moved to the new vet college at the UCD Belfield campus. I got a leaflet from our vets in Bray (Bairbre O'Malley) when I was last there.

This is in addition to the normal service provided at the vets college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Alun wrote:
    Well there was a 24 hr emergency vets clinic based at a vets surgery in Nutgrove that ran for a few years, but they were having problems, I believe, with insurance, and it recently moved to the new vet college at the UCD Belfield campus. I got a leaflet from our vets in Bray (Bairbre O'Malley) when I was last there.

This is in addition to the normal service provided at the vets college.
    Thanks Alun - Just to clarify, you reckon that the 24 hour service is run by a seperate team than the main clinic at the college?

RainyDay wrote:
    Thanks Alun - Just to clarify, you reckon that the 24 hour service is run by a seperate team than the main clinic at the college?
    I'm not sure. From what I've read elsewhere, the service is set up and sponsored by a number of veterinary practices, effectively meaning that the individual practices don't need to provide a separate 24 hr on-call service themselves. Who exactly mans it, I don't know. It could be staff or students of the vet college, vets from the individual sponsoring practices, or some other vets altogether.

If I remember, I'll ask Bairbre, our vet, next week as I have to take our two cats for their booster vaccinations.

Shinners21 wrote:
    Vet gave us antibiotics for her and said he will give her until Tuesday but if there is no improvement she will have to be put down...
    I can barely write this I am so upset. I know that it is better for her to put down than to continue suffering but in the few shorts days that I have her i have become so attached and it will kill me to have her put down.

:( Oh no, I'm so sorry to hear that, the poor little thing. I'll definitely keep my fingers crossed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭morgana

Fingers crossed too. Hope she has improved enough today

Hey all,
    You wouldn't believe the little fighter, she is so much better. She is much stronger and is eating now...and keepin it down thank God.
    Can't believe the vet wanted to put her down on Saturday, she is getting better by the day now. Even getting a fat little belly too...
    And even better news the two monsters are getting on like a house on fire. We gave them both a bath yesterday and they lay in the kitchen, in the sun, for about an hour licking each other...so they have finally decided they want to be friends...So Happy Days.. :D

Shinners21 wrote:
    Hey all,
    You wouldn't believe the little fighter, she is so much better. She is much stronger and is eating now...
    Fantastic news - I'm delighted to hear it!:)
    Thanks for keeping us up to date!

RainyDay wrote:
    Just asked Bairbre and she said that the vets who are part of the scheme actually employ three full-time emergency vets to man the clinic. they come on duty at 7.30 and leave the next morning, so this and the normal UCD vet college clinic are two completely separate operations. In theory any Dublin vet that isn't part of the scheme is assumed to make their own arrangements for 24 hr cover, although they'd be unlikely to turn anyone away in practice.

Also, they don't do any ongoing care, so if you take your pet to them, they fax the details through to your own vet so that they can perform any after-care that may be necessary.

She also said that they get quite bored when they've nothing to do, so they're quite happy if people just ring up with general queries or questions ... gives them something to relieve the boredom :)