Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

irish girls.

• 24-11-2005 12:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭

this might have been posted..and I know I'm not gonna be popular for saying this..
    but why do the irish girls dress like sl*ts?
    everywhere I go, everywhere I look, there they are. all look the same with their miniskirts(sometimes they dont even have a skirt but only a sweater? :O) and their golden penneys purses.

what happended to havin a bit of style?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭kittenz

dont tar us all with the one brush, i wouldnt be seen dead wearing that kinda gear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 ***Truss Rod***

bit of a problem with the female of the species then??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

Uh....
    You're obviously not Irish so please dont come onto an irish forum and slag our women, people have been killed for less.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

javelin wrote:
    everywhere I go, everywhere I look, there they are. all look the same with their miniskirts(sometimes they dont even have a skirt but only a sweater? :O) and their golden penneys purses.

Maybe its the places you're going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

obviously, OP, the only option you have is to go out with the guys then ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭javelin

kittenz wrote:
    dont tar us all with the one brush, i wouldnt be seen dead wearing that kinda gear!

ok, sorry for that. I know you don't all dress like that ofcourse. maybe only the girls who hang around temple bar with the tourists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭kittenz

definitely have to agree with silverfish, it must be the places you are hanging out in......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

so we're ALL the same, thanks!!

though i admit the french girls dress a lot less 'sluttily' here, on nights out, they just wear college clothes (its great) whereas i feel like i should be puttin the warpaint on, dressing up to te nines!! i guess its peer pressure, some girls feel that they have to dress like this cos all the other girls do?? me personally im not as bad as waering really slutty clothes, im more a comfort gal..dont waer loads of makeup, and tie my hair up most of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

javelin wrote:
    this might have been posted..and I know I'm not gonna be popular for saying this..

Well maybe you going to the wrong places, and looking in the wrong direction.

You are a woman, how do you dress?
    How does your mother dress? You sister?

Assuming they are Irish of course, if they dont dress like sluts then it rubbishes your view, and if they do dress like sluts why not ask them instead of posting crap like this?

All women do not dress the same and most of them in temple bar are not Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure that's fashion for you. Give it a few years and ankle lenght skirts will be all the rage, just like back in "the good ol' days"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

GaRtH_V wrote:
    Uh....
    You're obviously not Irish so please dont come onto an irish forum and slag our women, people have been killed for less.

your not irish...you said yourself that your from bat country...

well ey I'm not a guy people.

and now that you all know I'm a girl. don't come and say 'your just jelaous' not the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

javelin wrote:

You're either too old or going to the wrong places. We're not quite at a french standard yet, but overall I think Irish women dress reasonably well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Rcuomo

yea its true, not all irish women do this, but i'd have to agree that quite a proportion do. it seems to be mostly younger girls who feel they need the attention (see barcode in Clontarf on a thur/fri/sat night for evidence of this)
    i dont think its all that bad, some girls can still have class while they're wearing short skirts and revealing tops, they're not all skanks....
    i think it really depends on the way they carry themselves...

javelin wrote:

Okay, my other idea might be that when you see a girl not dressed like that, you assume she must be foreign?

Because I would never, in a kingsize fit, even at halloween, leave the house dressed like that. So I musn't be Irish. How about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭wavin

javelin wrote:
    maybe only the girls who hang around temple bar with the tourists?
    prostitutes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

javelin wrote:

What? Where? How dont I know about these places???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

what nationality are you? as i mentioned the french girls (that ive met) have a better, classier sence of style in my opinion

well, I'm from Sweden. so belive me I am used to slutty people. I though it couldnt get worse. but obviously I was wrong..

/leaves to go to Sweeden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Cungi

Yeah, I hate it when women wear miniskirts(sarcasm);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

javelin wrote:
    well, I'm from Sweden. so belive me I am used to slutty people. I though it couldnt get worse. but obviously I was wrong..

i think it really has something to do with girls from the cities, they all look like clones of one another....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Actually I agree with the OP, Irish people (not just girls) have no sense of style (me included). Most of us Irish assume that wearing a label will make us stylish, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,260 ✭✭✭MrVestek

javelin wrote:
    ok, sorry for that. I know you don't all dress like that ofcourse. maybe only the girls who hang around temple bar with the tourists?
    What, you mean Temple Bar at night, the area surrounded by English hen parties and skanger girlies? One question... are all these 'classy ladies' wearing hoopie earings aswell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Well I love the way the girl I hang around with/meet out dress. Perhaps it's an age thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

can't say I've noticed, but I do always appreciate a good mini-skirt, when the owner's legs are nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Best thread ever.:v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

Silverfish wrote:
    Maybe its the places you're going?

Exactly the only problem with meeting classy women is that aren't that many classy places to meet them although there are many drink marts(clubs).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

It seriously must be the places you go. All the girls I know dress stylishly and non-sluttily.... so, ahem, where can I find all these scantily-clad ladies?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Its winter now so you're a bit safer regarding bare flesh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

I've been in many many countries all around the world and I can safely say that the girls in Ireland are the best, full stop.

(If you don't like mini skirts and bare flesh AVOID GOING PAST OLD WESLEY RUGBY CLUB ON A FRIDAY NIGHT.
    You have been warned)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭TwistsAndTurns

Quote:
    Originally Posted by javelin

You say Swedish? ohh

Well Crossdressers should never line their own bedroom wall`s with mirrors because you`ll always be jealous: :D:D go on post us all a photo;) :eek:

Exactly the only problem with meeting classy women is that aren't that many classy places to meet them although there are many drink marts(clubs).

Ha. I always find this hilarious. Whenever I go out, possibly the only parts of me visible are my hands / arms , nexk and face.

Men whine on about meeting 'classy' women, yet whenever I'm out, I've noticed its always the scantily clad women who have men hanging out of them. Men in general, in clubs, don't want the classier girl.

ravenhead wrote:
    i think it really has something to do with girls from the cities, they all look like clones of one another....

yeah its called the skanger trend
    always recognisable!!

gives the rest of us a bad names though I purposely stay away from trends to avoid bumping into some awful common looking girl wearing something similar
    I would die:eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

whoever said it was the younger girls hit the nail on the head, it tends to be young girls from as young as 14-18 that shock me with the way they dress, i'm only 27 and i find myself saying "i can't believe their da let them out like that" it's quite shockin.
    but overall dublin women dress very well from the 18+ range (of course theirs fall over into either sectors, terribly dressed 18+, and well dressed under 18's), maybe they just get better dressed when they get a job and can afford more material for their dresses. ;)
    i find irish women well dressed on the whole, but do notice the sad state of some young ones at the weekend.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Got any pics to prove your point? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Roxy*

ye i have to say, somthimes(definitally between ages 14-17) girls can look quite like prostatutes, myself included... an irish thing i guess, ah well

eh... seriously, d4 girls dress SOOOOOOOOO much worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

to be fair to irish girls a lot of irish young lads are worse, they dress like d12 or something and hang around in gangs thinking they're cool, whats with this modern hoodie rap culture, making shapes with their hands and talking like yanks, are they ashamed to be irish.
    and why are the kids from the richer areas talking like they've never had any education, my young cousin is at this and it bugs me, he's from castleknock he went to castleknock college and yet puts on a howaya bud accent all the time

Roxy* wrote:
    eh... seriously, d4 girls dress SOOOOOOOOO much worse

You are SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Right like

to be fair to irish girls a lot of irish young lads are worse, they dress like d12 or something and hang around in gangs thinking they're cool, whats with this modern hoodie rap culture, making shapes with their hands and talking like yanks, are they ashamed to be irish.
    and why are the kids from the richer areas talking like they've never had any education, my young cousin is at this and it bugs me, he's from castleknock he went to castleknock college and yet puts on a howaya bud accent all the time
    Your spot on there!

But if I am to be fair, there are some very smart young lads about, unfortunately it is the D12 type that stand out/

eh no posher areas always talk like, TOTALLY ross o carol-kelly, roysh!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

If you ask me Irish birds dress some of the best in Europe. Ever seen Spanish or Italian women? Or Japanese? Fcuking brutal fashion sense, an awful lot like wearing those large square black rimmed glasses for starters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Krook

Irish girls are ugly IMO. - too chubby , too pale , no style (the majority)
    the only hot ones , im sorry to say, are mainly the D4 ones that you get in places like bondi and club92.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭dahooligan

Roxy* wrote:
    eh no posher areas always talk like, TOTALLY ross o carol-kelly, roysh!!

They do.. 90% of em. But there is a good 10% of lads (mainly) who feel that they wanna connect with their northside bretheren when they come within 200 yards of the Liffey.. kinda funny actually. It'll all turn out to be like what Tommy Tiernan said - in 10 years time the new "cool" thing will be to talk like a traveller.. have a collection of gates and always know where to get good carpet prices.

Oh and I can guarantee that black leather jackets and leather caps will come back into fashion!:D

Krook wrote:
    the only hot ones , im sorry to say, are mainly the D4 ones that you get in places like bondi and club92.

Oh god........:v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭dahooligan

Krook wrote:

Wanna take a trip down to spec savers there Krooky! There are great lookin girls wherever you go, southside girls can be as much if not more of a fashion disaster than your average girl. FAAAR too much make-up to begin with.. and whats the story with wearin them bleedin moccassins with tracksuits?!? It bugs the hell outa me!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

javelin wrote:

I think Iv seen all of about 20 girls walking around with those golden bags and yes they are rotten IMO but Id hardly say they're "everywhere I look" and I dont know where your hanging out that you girls with nothing but a sweater on??? In this weather?? Ooooooooo.... K

Out of interest what age group are you refering to here? Are you talking about outside the Wesley or somewhere like that??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Krook

well of course theres nice girls wherever you go , im just saying that we as a nation have not been blessed with too many of them (in comparison to others)

just to give you my perspective;
    Im studyin in college abroad and there are many nationalities from all over Europe and USA and Mexico.

i hang around with some american guys and they all think that the irish girls are the ugliest.

even when sittin in a lecture , its easy to spot which ones are irish.

trust me they are the last ones you would wanna go for.

but yeah , there are some hot ones too - but too few - which in turn causes them to act like complete and utter Bi**es.
    So Ireland and girls is basically , a no wiun situtation.

Krook, I find it hard to believe that these "ugly women" you describe had any interest in you somehow.
    I have no idea what you look like, but you are ugly to me.