Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE Liverpool Pre Match coverage debacle!

• 23-11-2005 7:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭

Anyone watching this?!?...Dunphy is going mad defending Keano! Took his microphone off and was going to walk out! He called Niall Quinn "An Idiot"....Classic RTE Scandal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Aye, its brilliant t.v - wasnt expecting much from the coverage but its turning out to be a riot.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

my god

Dunphy - a man possesed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Damn I missed it. Will it be repeated later on tonight?:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

"Who wrote it?I know who wrote it,the guy who walked out on his wife and kids for some young one"-Dunphoo.....classic television

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭HarryHoudini

Damn missed this! A friend called me to tell me to put it on but I just missed it.....

Did anyone happen to tape it? If so any chance of uploading it?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

and now where is he?
    Ahahaa
    brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

hopefully someone can upload this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Damn I missed it. Will it be repeated later on tonight?:(
    I very much doubt they would repeat it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Twas superb. Best thing I've seen on RTE for years..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Eamon Dunphy, first Pope of the Church of Keano.

Virtual rep to the first decent 'Shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

Dunphy you legend.

He finally loses the plot and I have to be in another country. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I'm sure this belongs in the tv forum...or the soccer forum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭radiospan

Damn I missed this. Surely someone was recording the match?

I hope someone can post a video of this.

I don't have much respect for Dunphy, tbh. He'll follow Keane no matter what he does.

But he sure makes good TV!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MrSinn

Here's my theory(s) on Dumphy

I think eamo is Roy Keane in disguise because of the similarities in behaviour

Keane was sent home from saipan by Mick McCarty - Then RTE sent eamo packing because he didn't turn up for work
    Keane walked out of Man Utd - eamo hangs up his mic on RTE

Or maybe Roy Keane is just a bad influence on Dunphy

Think about it...Could Dunphy really be Roy Keane?

Which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Idioteque

rb_ie wrote:

I was going to post in the soccer forum...but then I remembered how much effort it is to post on that forum(2 reccomendations etc) - besides, no one else seems to mind...

I'd say someone has prob recorded the game with pre-match, I upload if one of my mates has....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Dimitri

Twas very good alright. Good ole eammo he had good points to raise but i think he should start shouting more like that twas the best pre match coverage i ever saw, pity the game was so poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Was brilliant! he seemed pissed to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Idioteque

Can never understand why he gets paid so much money. He reminds me of any oul fella sitting at the bar in a pub day after day who has no time for any opinions other than his own....yeah he's good for the entertainment factor but there's only so far that will go....
    Anyway, nice to see their all friends again..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Yea this was excellent. I didn't know what he was going to say next. Fair play to bill for letting it go on and defending himself about the whole journalist thing.

This happened before after Brian Kerr got the sack. They were giving out about Kerr coming on Pat Kenny. Dunphy said that "Saddam Hussein could walk onto the Late Late show and get a standing ovation" he's the best thing on tv. They should get him on the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭RefulgentGnomon

One of Dunphy's lines tonight:

"Roy Keane is right about everything! in this context"

Brady was giving out about Keane publicly looking for a new contract through different things and Dunphy said that Vieira did the same and Henry seems to be doing the same. Missed the start but what i saw of it was very entertaining!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

I was stuck in traffic. Somebody upload pweeeeease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Missed it too, gutted. I'm a big Dunphy fan. Someone please upload it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

Please tell me someone vidcapped this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

The one thing that annoys me about RTEs panel is that they are so negative about everything. They never seem like they enjoy the matches and spend 90% of the time criticizing games. If you compare them to BBCs coverage who seem to really enjoy the games and have a laugh rather than look gloomy and moan about the game, tis a sad sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭nl

Yep one of the funniest things iv seen. Dunphy is like a stick of dynamite when it comes to Roy Keane!! He is ultra defensive.
    once again id like to reiterate
    SOMEONE PLEASE UPLOAD THE FOOTAGE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

It was funny, but i can see either nial quinn or the times writer bringing some legal action. He said the writer ran out on his wife with a young one!!! Classic dunphy, he was not drunk though.
    Also he said Roy Keane is a better player than the two sitting beside him, Brady (Edit: originally said Stapleton by mistake) and Giles!! They two boys were quite after that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

Classic - could not believe i was watching it - can't beat live TV :)

If anyone in Cork has this on VHS, I'm offering my vidcapping services to put it up here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Gandalf23

Please please please upload this someone. Anyone!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

murfie wrote:
    Also he said Roy Keane is a better player than the two sitting beside him, Stapelton and Giles!! They two boys were quite after that one.

erm that was irelands most sklled ever player...liam brady

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

murfie wrote:
    Also he said Roy Keane is a better player than the two sitting beside him, Stapelton and Giles!! They two boys were quite after that one.

because they probably dont see the point in arguing with a rambling arsehole :D

someone has to have this recorded!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

MrSinn wrote:
    Here's my theory(s) on Dumphy

I think eamo is Roy Keane in disguise because of the similarities in behaviour

Keane was sent home from saipan by Mick McCarty - Then RTE sent eamo packing because he didn't turn up for work
    Keane walked out of Man Utd - eamo hangs up his mic on RTE

Or maybe Roy Keane is just a bad influence on Dunphy

Think about it...Could Dunphy really be Roy Keane?

Which is it?

LMAO! Gift Grub thought that too, they had a sketch where Keano started morphin into Eamo.
    rb_ie wrote:

:eek: Quick, find a mod! For the love of god will someone please think of the ramifications of this!! Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

RuggieBear wrote:
    erm that was irelands most sklled ever player...liam brady

I meant Brady instead of Stapleton, it was Liam Brady and Jonny Giles on the panel with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

rb_ie wrote:

It was only a matter of time...

I missed it, I hope someone recorded it :o

Trainwreck TV..

Dunphy was totally out of order. Bill mentioned an article in the sunday times calling Roy a thug and Dunphy took this to mean that Bill was saying it.

It was comical at times with Dunphy getting more wound up with each passing second and blatently getting his facts totally wrong and getting angrier when Giles and Brady called him on it.

I think when Siapan was mentioned intitially Dunphy called Quinn a creep.
    Later he called Niall Quinn an idiot. Oh Dunphy :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭finlma

murfie wrote:
    but i can see either nial quinn or the times writer bringing some legal action. He said the writer ran out on his wife with a young one!!! Classic

The Times can't bring legal action cause its the truth. Liddle is a useless journalist who is extremely anti-Irish so I'm glad Dunphy slated him.
    Quinn is a bit of an idiot too - he's a goody goody two shoes.

I'm a big Dunphy fan but by name calling and getting angry he loses what point he has.

Still made for excellent TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 GerryHatTrick

'And wheres Niall quinn now? In I Keano, thats all hes good for'

Classic dunphy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Dunphy was on Gerry Ryan earlier. He was saying that even though he is not a close friend of Keane he got upset cos they were talking about his family...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Why oh Why did I watch the Chelsea match? :(

There's no way RTE will rebroadcast it, the only chance is somebody who's
    taped it doing the decent thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

keane and dunphy are both eejits if ya ask me. sure keanes a good player but he has such an attitude problem

This is like the time Dunphy threw a pencil at Bill.
    And like the time he came into the studio locked.

Makes for great TV.

Does anyone have any other classic Dunphy moments to upload?

The pencil-throwing at Italia 90? The time he came in hammered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

That was classic stuff last night i got a good aul laugh!!! Can't believe he called Niall Quinn an idiot though, that was a bit out of order but there you go thats Eamon Dunphy for ya!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Sidane

This sounds classic - please god somebody, somewhere upload this!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

Steve_o wrote:
    That was classic stuff last night i got a good aul laugh!!! Can't believe he called Niall Quinn an idiot though, that was a bit out of order but there you go thats Eamon Dunphy for ya!!!
    thats gas, gift grub portray him as an idiot and noone says they are out of order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭CountryWise

Absolutely Brillaint TV, Dunphy made for the best RTE coverage of a match in years!
    That journalist deserved what he got for the article he wrote!
    Also fair play to Bill for not backing down and clarifying that it was not his opinion but a journalists!
    The comments on Quinn were a bit harsh though im sure he does as much fundraising as anyone for good causes and he has had a good career and served his country well and doesnt deserve that from a pundit!

But still great TV even if Dunphy doesnt let anyone elses opinions be heard

thats gas, gift grub portray him as an idiot and noone says they are out of order.

It is fairly tounge in cheek with gift grub.

Dunphy said it with venom.

RTE went as far as getting Bill to read out emails and calls of support for Quinner after the Liverpool game. It was unprecedented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Twas brilliant last night!

"He was the guy who left his wife and kids for some young wan!"
    Now Eamon, you can't be saying things like that -> response from other fella.

"Niall Quinn's an idiot!"

Oh he was getting so thick at the other fella, twas brilliant!!! :D Ahhh .... good man Dunphy. He had a point though! They said Keane was in the wrong in the whole contract issue, and he was like Viera did it last year, Henri is doing it this year - why should Keane be slated for doing the exact same thing!?

Best though was when he went on about that journalist, ha ha, he shamed him! Bet his ex-wife was sitting at home thinking "serves you right for leaving us!"

I wonder was same journalist watching it last night? :) Ha ha, while he was eating dinner or something - probably choked on his food with the shock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The journalist who wrote the "thug" comments and Dunphy are going to be on with Joe Duffy on Liveline, RTE Radio 1, 1:45pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭JimmySmith

Did Dunphy go missing at half time?
    I seem to recall looking to see if he calmed down and he wasnt ther.
    I though Bill was going to smack him at one stage. Never saw Bill so confrontational.