Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strange quirkes

• 23-11-2005 1:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭

Me and a few mates were sitting round after a long night of staring into mirrors, talking about all kinds of crap, like ye do and we got talking about the weird sort of quirkes and things people have.

Like a guy I went to school with that couldn't let any of his fingers from his left hand touch his right hand because it made him feel sick. He was perectly normal except for that. Or my mates girlfriend cant cant touch cotton wool balls (whatever thats about). And one guy said his ma used to have to flick a light swith off then back on, if it was on already in the room she was walking into.

I couldn't stop laughing all night listening to the weird **** ppl do.

Any 1 got any?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

I knew someone who got freaked out when you bend your ear in front of her.The Cotton wool balls is a fairly popular quirk tho.

For me. The quilt on my bed, the fasteners always have to be at my feet. I'm a freak I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

slipss wrote:
    after a long night of staring into mirrors,
    Is that a euphemism for doing cocaine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Beer is Life

My uncle cant stand the feel of cement in powder form

When i was a kid, i used to make little challenges for myself like "If i dont hold my breath until i pass this house, that person across the street will die" etc. Yes, i was a very strange child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

When i was a kid, i used to make little challenges for myself like "If i dont hold my breath until i pass this house, that person across the street will die" etc. Yes, i was a very strange child.

LOL! I used to do stupid stuff like that while watchin soccer matches when i was young! Like if i didn't cross my fingers till de end of a game we wouldn't score,lmao. So i'm not alone then,lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

i have a mate who gets really freaked out about tomato ketchup, even if he hears that farty sound that them plastic bottles make he freaks out.

Another mate will only eat half of an ice pop because if the wooden stick touches his mouth he loses the plot completely.

Myself, well ive a lot of quirks but the main ones would be that i dont like anyone(even my girlfriend) touching my nipples, it just feels weird. I also dont like putting anything in or anyone putting their finger in my bellybutton. i also cant drink out of a bottle someone else has unless i'm fairly drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I have to post in this thread or the OP will die.

(just saved your life man)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭soph

OMG im not alone !!!! i totally used to do things like that too, i used to torment myself!, like saying prayers at a certain time orsomeone would die !! terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

I cannot STAND to watch anybody blowing up a balloon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I freak out if people start messing with their finger nails. I get really uncomfortable for some reason.

another hate of mine .... when im working if i can hear anyone slurping on a bottle of water, it drrrriiveeeees me CRACKT !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

I cannot bear anything sticky or greasy touching me, especially touching my hands. Things like glue are alright (ironically) but even the thought of something like fizzy drinks or any item of food that leaves some kind of residue terrifies me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

Awe, I must be the weirdo!!!

I've been wrecking my brain to think of strange things i do or hate but I can't think of any!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

when a freind of mine sawa magpie, she always blessed herself, slapped her cheek 10 times then saluted the bird, who was usually long gone by then.
    i always just wave at them, she went a bit over board.

there's also a particular word i cannot bring myself to ever say.

when i turn on the light switch in our back kitchen, i dont press the switch with my fingers i just punch it wit my fist.i'm afraid of getting a shock off it,even though i never have or never heard if anyone had. the other switches around the house are ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

BoozyBabe wrote:
    Awe, I must be the weirdo!!!

I've been wrecking my brain to think of strange things i do or hate but I can't think of any!!

Me neither!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Femmy wrote:
    i always justy wave at them, she went a bit over board.

LMAO Levels of lunacy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

I sometimes feel compelled to work out whether or not a number is divisible by 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭dahooligan

God I have loads.. I can't stand the noise of when someone is pouring a liquid into a cup ie. filling up a tea cup. I can't let anyone touch the two bones above me ribcage (can't think of the proper name of em..). I hate when people crack bones in front of me.. and when walking along the sidewalk I make a point of either standing on all the cracks in the pavement or missing them completely - depending on the mood. God, I'm a madhouse candidate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I can't let my ankles touch or even come to close to each other, the thought of banging my ankles together horrifies me, and it really freaks me out when other people bang their ankles together (usually to take the p*ss outa me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

dahooligan wrote:
    ..and when walking along the sidewalk I make a point of either standing on all the cracks in the pavement or missing them completely - depending on the mood. God, I'm a madhouse candidate

I think every has done that at some stage in their lives.. makes walkin more fun :D
    --Kaiser-- wrote:
    I can't let my ankles touch or even come to close to each other, the thought of banging my ankles together horrifies me

Thats really sore!... and it does freak me out a little.. havent done it in a while though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

I really really hate it when someone is eating with a metal fork and they close their teeth on it and slide the fork along their closed teeth. Makes me squirm even thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭kittenz

i cant drink out of a carton of milk if it was opened already, i will go for a new carton. the strange thing is, even if i open a carton and drink some of it, place it back in the fridge, i wont go back in 5 minutes time and drink out of that one, i will have to open up another one! dont know when all this started, its been going on years, but it drives my folks mad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

when closing a car door i have to close it with my jumper over my hands, i dont let myself touch the door with my hands, in case i get a shock.i am slightly claustropihc causing me to freak out in dark, enclosed spaces. when going in somewhere that the door is locked (eg a toilet) i always make sure i can open and close it easily before locking it
    if i fix something on the left hand side of my body i have to do the same on the right, i am obsessive bout my hair sitting just right, and after i leave my house ill triple check my bag to check iv everything (nightmare when flying anywhere :o)

as i think of more ill post em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

when closing a car door i have to close it with my jumper over my hands, i dont let myself touch the door with my hands, in case i get a shock.i am slightly claustropihc causing me to freak out in dark, enclosed spaces. when going in somewhere that the door is locked (eg a toilet) i always make sure i can open and close it easily before locking it
    if i fix something on the left hand side of my body i have to do the same on the right, i am obsessive bout my hair sitting just right, and after i leave my house ill triple check my bag to check iv everything (nightmare when flying anywhere :o)

as i think of more ill post em
    Sounds like OCD to me :p

I have an innate fear of losing my phone as when I did before it caused me absolute grief!!! so I have to check where it is (and other stuff) like every ten mins im a scatterbrain as well
    also I easily leave my keys in the car door etc etc etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭TheStrandRoads

As a kid, while watching Saturday morning cartoons, I would find myself turning my head around to look towards the top corner of the living room, and blinking at it. This would happen a few times during the morning.

As that was pointing away from where my school was located. Really strange now that I think of it. For some reason I felt better when looking in that direction.

Somebody lock me up!

John.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

As a kid, while watching Saturday morning cartoons, I would find myself turning my head around to look towards the top corner of the living room, and blinking at it. This would happen a few times during the morning.

hehe, thats just weird.

mine was, whenever i used to say things, i'd repeat it, under my breath...dunno why, but im glad i dont do it anymore.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Like a guy I went to school with that couldn't let any of his fingers from his left hand touch his right hand because it made him feel sick. He was perectly normal except for that. Or my mates girlfriend cant cant touch cotton wool balls (whatever thats about). And one guy said his ma used to have to flick a light swith off then back on, if it was on already in the room she was walking into.

That sounds like an obsessive compulsive dissorder to me?

Just saw someone else made the same comment above... does sound like that tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

--Kaiser-- wrote:
    I can't let my ankles touch or even come to close to each other

Apparently a lot of blonds have that problem too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

a lot of these things can be classed as obsessive compulsive disorder. When I was a kid I used to have to have 3 or 7 or 9 items on my window sill at night. I also had to pray 7 times. lol. My mate is terrified of feet which is wierd. Im not as bad as I used to be but I have to say hello to magpies, I have to eat crisps with pizza and im covinced coke tastes better from a can than a bottle. I also talk to my self constantly which can freak people out. I can have a full blown conversation with an imaginary person like yer man from the commitments did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I knew someone who got freaked out when you bend your ear in front of her.The Cotton wool balls is a fairly popular quirk tho.

For me. The quilt on my bed, the fasteners always have to be at my feet. I'm a freak I know.

Oh my god, i thought that was just me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I chant, honest to God, if I want something really badly I mumble to myself, chanting "please let me get the job, please let me get the job, please let me get the job". And if I am sitting near people and get say it out loud I mumble it in my head.

Maybe I am the biggest nut?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I chant, honest to God, if I want something really badly I mumble to myself, chanting "please let me get the job, please let me get the job, please let me get the job". And if I am sitting near people and get say it out loud I mumble it in my head.

Maybe I am the biggest nut?????

I actually do that too. Jesus i didnt think i had any untill i read all your answers guys :)

My friend cant watch or listen to people brushing their teeth. She says she's afraid of them biting the toothbrush :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

When Im closing the fridge I have to hold the door count to four and then push it once with my hand which makes 5 and I do this everytime I use the fridge and before I leave the house , Its weird I know why dont i just not do it?Well Because bad stuff would happen if i didnt:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Did anyone watch that hypnotisim program on E4 last night? They hypnotised a guy and found out one of his fears was elvis impersinators.

They then tied him up in the middle of a field and let loads of elvis impersinators loose to dance towards him. He went mental, he didnt know what was happenng to him. Hilarious.

My quirk was that I couldnt wear flip flops. I couldnt even talk to someone wearing them. I got over it though, took me a few weeks to get comfertable with the idea. I love them now though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

I still do that tbh! LOL :)
    Also had a weird compulsion as a kid (and no, I don't have Tourettes), if I was at mass or school assembly to stand up and shout something really inappropraite, like F*ck, or B0ll0cks, or Sh1te at the top of my voice. Have monthly management meetings now, and always think I'm going to do it at a quiet stage in proceedings to someone like the MD!!!! :eek: :eek: :eek:

Nothing compared to my little brother though. He:

1. Won't eat ANY sweets that are coloured orange:confused:
    2. A certain brand of crisps have to be left open for 12 hours before eating them :confused:
    3. Lights in certain rooms have to switched on and off at requisite times :confused:
    4. He jots down mantras in a weird code :confused:
    5. About a million others, would take too long.....lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I always have to let the pac man smiley make comments in my posts

:v: <i told him that i'd spam people with hateful PM's from his account if he did'nt

see? the little p**ck :mad:

LOL miss fluff I used to have that feeling its awful i think I have a severe lack of self control I get the urge to do something and cant help it. If a button says 'do not push' i have to be physically held back from it. The worst was in school and mass I just couldnt stop laughing. I woul dlaugh until tears rolled down my face and the more I got givin out to the worse I got. I fell off my chair once in class cos I was laughing so much. I got thrown out o fanother class cos the teacher said i had mental problems

yea i do reckon i have OCD :eek:

yeah but its cool loads people have it i reckon. If im walking down th estreet and theres pavings like in a housing estate if by left leg goes over the line first then the next line - my right leg has to go over first madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭hoody

i can't have both lights on in the sitting room
    as in i go nuts when someone turns on the other light if the first one is already on

by the way ye're all nuts

a lot of these things can be classed as obsessive compulsive disorder. When I was a kid I used to have to have 3 or 7 or 9 items on my window sill at night. I also had to pray 7 times. lol. My mate is terrified of feet which is wierd. Im not as bad as I used to be but I have to say hello to magpies, I have to eat crisps with pizza and im covinced coke tastes better from a can than a bottle. I also talk to my self constantly which can freak people out. I can have a full blown conversation with an imaginary person like yer man from the commitments did.

coke DOES taste better out of a can, as does Lucozade, defo !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Ha! I always thought I was the only one with having to walk either on the cracks or between the cracks on footpaths. But I guess I'm not!!! :)

its not something i worry bout, its not like it takes over my life, its just the way i am ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

MadPatrick wrote:
    I really really hate it when someone is eating with a metal fork and they close their teeth on it and slide the fork along their closed teeth. Makes me squirm even thinking about it.

That gets on my nerves too, and sometimes if people are eating noisily it can make me uncomfortable...like the feeling you get when someone scrapes their fingernails, or something metal on a blackboard...

other times I can put up with it....its weird.

...that is when I am not confined to my padded room where I slowly rock back and forth with my knees to my chin, talking to myself and shouting out random words occasionally....:o :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

and i thought i was weird for doin that too! oh them bloody challenges, still i won most of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I only just recently was able to walk across the iron grilles on the street - that big drop underneath. No way man, I don't trust they'll hold under my weight.

Also I have this weird thing where I hate people stabbing me. Just can't stand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I cannot bear anything sticky or greasy touching me, especially touching my hands. Things like glue are alright (ironically) but even the thought of something like fizzy drinks or any item of food that leaves some kind of residue terrifies me.

God I hate that so much, I can't stand anything sticky or greasy touching me in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

I think im a bit superstitious aswell having strange quirkes, like hating feet, nails or chalk squeking on a blackboard, if someone touches my dinner plate, fork or knife ill put them back in the dishwasher & get clean ones from the cubboard then (i know freaky). If im away from my (home) bedroom & someone has been in there while im away ill know cause they'll have moved stuff.

Another one when someone is having Toast & they put butter on the toast & then put the knife back into the butter with all the little black bits stuck to it & then the butter i think is all yucky!!

Just a few quirkes i have thats all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Just thought of another one, I can't stand the noise of my family members eating, I'm not talking about eating with mouths open here (I also hate that) I mean just noises like breathing, food mashing, if you get me ? As a result I have to eat in another room, I can feel my face burning up with anger when I hear them. It's not as bad with other people though but it's still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I hate when people crack their knuckles, and I always have to triple-check my bag no matter where I'm going... even if I'm just going to college in the morning. Other than that, not much really.

And Coke *does* taste better from a can!