Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

After hours house party: cover charge and open late. Would you go?

• 22-11-2005 1:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭

Hello,

I'd like your opinions on this!

We all know having to go home at 3am sucks. Sometimes the night is just getting started and all you want to do is keep drinking... (etc etc.)

If there was a large house/apartment in the City Centre which opened at 1 AM, had a cover charge to get in (€10 - includes 3 cans of beer?) and was full of decent non-scumbag people, would you go?

It would stay open until 7 AM.

There is a DJ.

(I don't even know if this is legal.)

Opinions??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

I can't imagine why it'd be illegal unless you sold alcohol to people (without a license etc.)

I'd go to the after hours house party... if I lived in Dublin! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

Take away the free drink (when advertising anyway) and it might be legal.. I'd go anyway! :v: :v: :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

doubt the drink thing would be legal. But have you considered the neighbours opinions on the matter? or how would you propose only allowing "non-scumbaggy" people in? would you have a bouncer?

and to answer your question, No I wouldnt pay for a house party

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

LOL I can imagine it now saying to ppl in a club 'Do u wanna go to a house party afterwards.. it's ehh €10 in..' :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Yes, I'm not saying it's a great idea, but I'm trying to think of some kind of "legal" way to stay out late.

There must be a solution to our wretched drinking laws!! :)

Well, I think it's a good idea, the only problem is the filtering out of the 'scumbag' element and if a fight broke out or whatever... I doubt it'd entice randomers on the way home from clubs if they were old there's a house party on, €10 in... but maybe it could be a Boards users thing?, that might work?, like if all the boardsies texted each other when on a night out to see if there could be a houseparty arranged in someones gaff that night?.. ah I dunno

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

boards hostel. mucho booze \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

make the party BYOB and have no cover charge. if you asked me for 10 euro to visit your house i would tell you where to go. but that is just me.

There needs to be a motivator for the organisers though. And a lot of the time it's too late to go get your cans...

Maybe they could sell beer there? You know, have a little bar, making a euro on each drink...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

dublindude wrote:
    There needs to be a motivator for the organisers though. And a lot of the time it's too late to go get your cans...

Maybe they could sell beer there? You know, have a little bar, making a euro on each drink...

you have to have a licence to sell beer though.

your only option is to meet up before you go out, or decide who is going before you go out, buy the booze before hand, leave it in the house and then go back after the night out

if it were to be an after hours house party, the person offering the free house would ahve to start the thread seeking expressions of interest, then arranging to meet up somewhere central during the day. before finally heading out together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

well if you all want to come to my place after whatever you all are up to this saturday night i usually have parties every saturday when we get back from clubs or gigs. all of us play instruments, have huge cd collections and aren't scumbaggy(but if you did something out of order you would know about it). we have the party anyway so if anyone from boards wants to come along sure why not. just dont turn it into a sausage fest.

i'd go to your party also and the E10 cover charge is a good idea, mates of mine used to do this and got kegs. any money left over was a sort of kick in for rent etc...

we could make an unofficial meet up in a venue in the city and have an unofficial beers with a view to some late partyin maybe? its early in the week and i get paid tomorrow so partyin is def what the doctor ordered this weekend.

oh and make it byobb(bring your own bin bag). when you leave throw some emty cans etc... in your bag. saves a lot of clean up the next day.

funk-you wrote:
    just dont turn it into a sausage fest.

LOL, you better post this invitation on fashion.ie quick!!! :)

im not lookin to sleaze onto girls or anything(i have a gf) but nobody wants to go to a complete pudding party.

funk-you wrote:
    im not lookin to sleaze onto girls or anything(i have a gf) but nobody wants to go to a complete pudding party.

Of course! Couldn't agree more.

My house party idea is based on your not knowing the people who run the party. So it's kind of like an unofficial party, like those ones in the abbatoir on Dorset Street sometimes...

if you build it, they will come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

This should... nay MUST be done.

As long as no one goes metal and jumps out a window or drinks a bottle of vintage brandy and trys to jump through a wall it could be quite successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

Unless you have no neighbours within earshot you are not going to get away with this on a regular basis, you will end up with much Garda attention, particularly if you try selling booze.

If you are that desperate to drink all night and most of the next day then your best bet is to move to culchie-land and avail yourself of the local lock-in.

John R wrote:
    If you are that desperate to drink all night and most of the next day then your best bet is to move to culchie-land and avail yourself of the local lock-in.

Culchie-land?. Mate, do you think Dublin is a great place and the rest of Ireland is full of culchies?, Dublin is a big town to me.

Right does someone want to suggest a meeting point and a day and i'm sure people who are online durin the day can give their opinions too. garda wont be a problem if you alternate gafs often enough(thats what myself and my mates do anyway and we've had some major parties throughout the year). if we can decide on a meeting point and there is enough interest this week we could get something together. just trying to push this along a bit dublindude. if there is no available place for you to host this weekend i'll throw mine up for destruction but if peope come to the party have high spirits and open minds and dont just turn it into groups of depressed students sitting around trying to get three out of enough for a jib and looking down on other partygoers who arent bothering anyone and arent doing gear or crack or some **** like that etc......

Ahh, if people start doing gear and other **** count me out thanks..

no not at all, definitely not but dont give out to someone for rolling a jib and smoking it outside if someone doesnt want it around them is what i meant. not people actually doin gear, i was saying that its NOT like they're doin that sh1t if they are havin a jib or the like.
    just to reitterate: NO GEAR

just a party with nice non scumbaggy people and NO GEAR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

Gear AND jib? Let's not go mad...

Seriously though, I'd use my place but could be a bit small if a big crowd turns up. Wouldn't bother neighbour either, bástards are always partying away like the busy little beavers they are.

so anyone wanna suggest a meeting point and a day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Sounds like a good idea, your always getting those threads asking what to do after 3 when everything closes up. We would usually just all go chill on the beach but not really an option here :). Perhaps make it 5 euro if the people dont want any more beers, but rather a little banter with some friendly folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Really really good idea BUT you would have to inforce the no scumbag rule as im such alot fo them do be looking for a place to go after club M...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Just get a t-shirt with:

PARTY IN MINE: 123 FAKE STREET, 10 euro in, with maybe the chance of getting some free beer

and walk around every club in town....

or better yet get some models to do it for you!

sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

[QUOTE=dublindude]full of decent non-scumbag people, ?[/QUOTE]

then im guessing you wont be there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

TBH, i'd stay away from the idea DublinDude. Its cool to just hang out with some good friends,back at someones flat or house after the club.
    I reckon a proper house party with people you dont know could be very messy. You really have no idea what some people are like with drink taken. If it were your house and someone got really f***ed up,be it because of drugs or booze, you'd be in right trouble. They'd become your responsibility :( !
    Just stick to a few mates hangin out, everyone stays over, drink till whatever time in the morning, and use everyones spare change to go to the shop the following and rustle up a savage breakfast for all. Best night you'll ever have :v: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

bobmeaney wrote:
    TBH, i'd stay away from the idea DublinDude. Its cool to just hang out with some good friends,back at someones flat or house after the club.
    I reckon a proper house party with people you dont know could be very messy. You really have no idea what some people are like with drink taken. If it were your house and someone got really f***ed up,be it because of drugs or booze, you'd be in right trouble. They'd become your responsibility :( !
    Just stick to a few mates hangin out, everyone stays over, drink till whatever time in the morning, and use everyones spare change to go to the shop the following and rustle up a savage breakfast for all. Best night you'll ever have :v: :p

agreed!
    it could be good... but it only takes one stood on toe or spilt drink to end the night quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Yes you are better with mates. You will get lads pissed looking to get their "€10 worth" back off you, be it robbing booze from the fridge - leading to a fight/argument, taking a cd (especially copies, I have lost lots of copies, people look at them like they are worthless since they are so cheap, so a person who would never rob a "real cd" may nick a copy as it is only a few pence), or just general disrespect- puking on carpet, pissing out front in view of neighbours.

Serving booze is illegal and I think even charging in would be, if it was a blatant afterhour club. I am sure there could be some loophole though. Call it a bible meeting and the money is going to charity, your own beer fund. We all meet first thing sunday morning officer, for prayers and jesus juice

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Id go to that... Sounds great, used to go the White Horse on a Saturday morning after a night out, havent been in ages, great atmosphere.. Like being out in the club all over again.. They'd have the curtains closed and a DJ playing.. Great craic altogether.. Opened from 7am to 12pm..

Slattery's used to be good too, is that still going??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

In concept its a good idea but there have been flaws pointed out by other posters.
    Unless you made it a somewhat members only thing and the only way you could become a member was by being brought by a member a few times and showing good behaviour.
    The €10 cover charge would be fine, personally wouldn't have a problem paying that. Keeping the scumbags out would be quite simple (if you used the member thing),a quick rule that said any member who brings scumbags with them won't be returning would probably stop them thinking about it.

Though, usually after a club or something I head into Moda for some wine and food...it'd be hard to beat that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

boards free gaff sounds great count me in.

rb ie....

What if everyone had to come with a badge with their boards name on it??? No badge no entry???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

How would mods cope with such a house?

"OMFG she's talking about xmas pressies!! right no talking from you for 10 minutes"

"I said NO talking from you!! You're banned now!!"

*cue mod huff* :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

yeah, they're powerless in real life! no mod would show up, they'd hate not being able to ban at will!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

xzanti wrote:
    rb ie....

What if everyone had to come with a badge with their boards name on it??? No badge no entry???

No 'cause that doesn't prove their character.
    If say at first a few people who the owner knew were given "memberships",then they could bring along a few people who after behaving themselves, showing respect for the owner and property etc would get a "membership" themselves. Then in turn they could introduce new people, should those new people behave themselves, they get a "membership". And it goes on and on and you'd have a load of "members" who you knew were well behaved and you could trust not to make a mess of the place.

Oh and whoevers commenting about the mods, meet nesf in real life, you'd be surprised how nice a guy he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Charging a cover charge and having no vetting (friends only etc) is asking for trouble....
    Insurance is just one thing that springs to mind... if anything goes wrong.... you are screwed.

Obviously one is commenting on the stereotype of mods, not all people who dress like mod's behave like that, I know some and they're decent people etc. Or maybe Im just racist against mods. Or Modist (modest? me?) :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

whiskeyman wrote:
    Insurance is just one thing that springs to mind... if anything goes wrong.... you are screwed.
    Yeah insurance if it is people that are not mates. I remember years back (after a few too many smokes) coming up with an idea of renting a small flat in town. This was 10years back when it wasnt so expensive. Get a small room for €100 a week. 10 of you pay €10 a week for the rent. We were brewing beer at the time so the flat would double up as a brewery (again 10 years back when the cheapest can was €1.27 but you could brew pints for pennies, now brew kits cost about 4 times more and beer is cheaper). The idea was that we would hit the flat after the pubs, the €10 rent would be offset by the cheap booze and the fact you could crash there rather than get a taxi home.
    The flat would have just a stereo and a few old chairs, nothing much to get broken, who cares what it looks like when you are sober!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Organise a bus out to Dollymount strand. Include alcohol with the bus ticket. Not fantastic during the winter, but it could be superb during the summer months, especially if you can get some music equipment organised.

I'm sure an Garda would clamp down on you eventually, but it would be class while it lasted....

Bambi wrote:
    How would mods cope with such a house?

"OMFG she's talking about xmas pressies!! right no talking from you for 10 minutes"

"I said NO talking from you!! You're banned now!!"

*cue mod huff* :D

rofl

lol

plyd

how cute.

Organise a bus out to Dollymount strand. Include alcohol with the bus ticket. Not fantastic during the winter, but it could be superb during the summer months, especially if you can get some music equipment organised.

I'm sure an Garda would clamp down on you eventually, but it would be class while it lasted....

Doesnt something like that happen out in Brittas Bay during the summer??.. Never gone but sounds great...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Mods are people too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

xzanti wrote:
    Doesnt something like that happen out in Brittas Bay during the summer??.. Never gone but sounds great...

Think our gang was accused of starting that a few summers ago. We were down at Brittas about 9am, only people on the beach and some guy went mad at us.

After Hours party is a great idea but like so much other things in life it could very easily get ruined by a minority. Pity tho, really would be cool. :cool:

then im guessing you wont be there?

Stop stalking my posts please! Get over it! :rolleyes:

nesf wrote:
    Mods are people too :(

:v: < only technically though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Bambi wrote:
    :v: < only technically though

Technically I'm an AI.

nesf wrote:
    Technically I'm an AI.

hay!

ive met you and youre only an A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

plyd.

People still say 'plyd'? How very 90's.

Party sounds like a good idea. Ill give you a 5er and bring my own beer.