Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you have gotten involved?

• 16-11-2005 11:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭

This is to do with the "Gangland" killing yesterday.

Chief Superintendent Peter Maguire said the driver of the car tried to get into a number of houses in the area as he made a desperate attempt to flee the attackers.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/2005/11/16/story230452.html

If he had been banging on your door, would you have let him in?

I'd like to think I would have, but faced with the reality, I probably wouldn't have. I wouldn't want to make my family a target.

Caimin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Willymuncher

Absolutely not, wouldn't want to risk bringing harm to myself or my family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

if i woke up to the sound of gun shots and someone banging on my front door, i'd probably pull the bed covers over my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Absolutely not, wouldn't want to risk bringing harm to myself or my family

Pighead was about to rant there but has calmed down and shall ask a question first.Willy are you saying you wouldnt let him in even if you knew he was an innocent non threatening man or are you saying you wouldnt let some random bloke banging you're door in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Depends on the house. If I had looked out the windows, and seen what was going on, then probably. As ferdi says, if I had just heard gunshots, then someone banging on the door, I may not. I'd guess the guy was probably screaming "OH SWEET JESUS SOMEONE ****ING HELP ME", which would encourage me a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

caimin wrote:

I woulda held him hostage and made the killer pay ransom for him!

if there was just some dude screaming for help i'd let him in but if i knew it was gangland related, why would i put my family at risk by opening teh door?

Pighead wrote:
    Pighead was about to rant there but has calmed down and shall ask a question first.Willy are you saying you wouldnt let him in even if you knew he was an innocent non threatening man or are you saying you wouldnt let some random bloke banging you're door in.

I guess both, I wouldn't let him in even if he was an innocent non threatening man because of the dangerous people after him, if they have guns, I won't play hero and risk the lives of my family, who are most important to me in life (I'm assuming you mean innocent as in a guy who was involved, but not the direct target of the shooting). I wouldn't let some random bloke banging on my door inside....especially after hearing gunshots (at which point I'd have no idea if hes innocent or not)

seamus wrote:
    Depends on the house. If I had looked out the windows, and seen what was going on, then probably. As ferdi says, if I had just heard gunshots, then someone banging on the door, I may not. I'd guess the guy was probably screaming "OH SWEET JESUS SOMEONE ****ING HELP ME", which would encourage me a little.
    Exactly.It totally depends on the circumstances and how aware you are of whats going on.If you were sure it was an innocent man banging on your door then it is only right you let him in.Any other action is selfish and cowardly.Pighead has a feeling that there are going to be a lot of posts stating"Under no circumstances would I let him in,I have to protect my family"Count to 10 Pighead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Not a chance. You let him in and he could be followed(i.e they kick the door in) in by the killers and you yourself and/or your family could be shot.Not worth the risk imo.

I guess both, I wouldn't let him in even if he was an innocent non threatening man because of the dangerous people after him, if they have guns, I won't play hero and risk the lives of my family, who are most important to me in life. Also, I wouldn't let some random bloke banging on my door inside....especially after hearing gunshots (at which point I'd have no idea if hes innocent or not)

I seriously doubt you would let a man face certain death outside your door because you thought you're family might get hurt.I understand family is the most important thing to everyone but in that situation I'm sure human instinct would kick in and you'd open the door for him.The gunmen would most probably shoot a few rounds at the door but its pretty unlikely they'd try and force entry into your house.

side note/ i dont like the way this **** is spreading out across the city, this last one was just outside the Yacht on the 'tarf road. keep your show in gangland i say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

ferdi wrote:
    side note/ i dont like the way this **** is spreading out across the city, this last one was just outside the Yacht on the 'tarf road. keep your show in gangland i say!

Becasue obviously there are no criminals or gang members living in Clontarf, ah bless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Pighead wrote:
    I seriously doubt you would let a man face certain death outside your door because you thought you're family might get hurt.I understand family is the most important thing to everyone but in that situation I'm sure human instinct would kick in and you'd open the door for him.The gunmen would most probably shoot a few rounds at the door but its pretty unlikely they'd try and force entry into your house.

I agree Pighead, but...

I also agree with the OP, i'd like to think i'd let him in... but faced with the situation, i dont think i would

as long as they all stay away from leitrim!im ok!

Pighead wrote:
    I seriously doubt you would let a man face certain death outside your door because you thought you're family mightget hurt.I understand family is the most important thing to everyone but in that situation I'm sure human instinct would kick in and you'd open the door for him.The gunmen would most probably shoot a few rounds t the door but its pretty unlikely they'd try and force entry into your house.

I think my gut reaction would be to hide.

Getting involved in gangland killings makes you a target, if they fired a few shots through the door, theres a pretty big chance they'd come back at a later date, no one wants to let a man face certain death, especially on their own doorstep but if it really meant that my own life could be in danger...and lets be honest, theres a pretty high chance of it being in danger, then I would not open any door, as selfish as that may be.

Bluetonic wrote:
    Becasue obviously there are no criminals or gang members living in Clontarf, ah bless.
    did i say that? get bent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

No one will be allowed to die on my watch !
    TK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Pighead wrote:
    Probably? Unlikely? How can you presume to know?

I probably would have opened the door before I had a child, but now that I have a toddler's life to protect as well as my own, it becomes a different story.

Maybe if my son was in bed and the victim was a fair distance away from the killers i'd have let him in. As others have said, it all depends on the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Live by the sword die by the sword.

Don't think there is much chance of me ever being chased by gunmen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭*Oul_Doll_Cork*

Pighead wrote:
    The gunmen would most probably shoot a few rounds at the door but its pretty unlikely they'd try and force entry into your house.

Pretty unlikely?... If i thought the chances of something happening were "pretty unlikely" there is no way i would have opened that door!!! I would want to be 100% certain that my family would be safe.... and its something you can't be sure of in a situation like that!!
    ... Sure we all think that we would like to be the hero and open the door for the guy... but in reality if we were all in that situation very few of us would be stupid enough to open the door.... not knowing for certain what would happen if we did!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I think most people's reaction to that type of situation would be to freeze and do nothing, it's impossible to say for certain what you would or wouldnt do .

I think my gut reaction would be to hide.

Getting involved in gangland killings makes you a target, if they fired a few shots through the door, theres a pretty big chance they'd come back at a later date, no one wants to let a man face certain death, especially on their own doorstep but if it really meant that my own life could be in danger...and lets be honest, theres a pretty high chance of it being in danger, then I would not open any door, as selfish as that may be.

Pighead makes a mental note not to go running down your street if i'm ever being chased by blood thirsty criminals.I actually think a lot of people would be of the same opinion as you Willy and I understand you're concerns for your familys and your own well being.Sadly its indicitive of todays selfish ME ME ME society.I don't think the same attitude would have been around 50 or 60 years ago.

Pretty unlikely?... If i thought the chances of something happening were "pretty unlikely" there is no way i would have opened that door!!! I would want to be 100% certain that my family would be safe.... and its something you can't be sure of in a situation like that!!
    ... Sure we all think that we would like to be the hero and open the door for the guy... but in reality if we were all in that situation very few of us would be stupid enough to open the door.... not knowing for certain what would happen if we did!!!
    Its also very easy to say you'd do nothing and leave the door shut.Pighead guarantees you'd at least think about letting him in upon hearing him beg for his life to be saved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭techie_2006

caimin wrote:
    This is to do with the "Gangland" killing yesterday.

Chief Superintendent Peter Maguire said the driver of the car tried to get into a number of houses in the area as he made a desperate attempt to flee the attackers.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/2005/11/16/story230452.html

I'd like to think I would have, but faced with the reality, I probably wouldn't have. I wouldn't want to make my family a target.

Caimin
    If he had enough for a joint.

/joke

Bambi wrote:
    I think most people's reaction to that type of situation would be to freeze and do nothing, it's impossible to say for certain what you would or wouldnt do .

Yep... that's it really isn't it?... It's fine for us to sit here and go on about what he should and should't have done... but nobody know's what it was like to be there... knowing what went through his head at that moment in time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

... Sure we all think that we would like to be the hero and open the door for the guy...

Saving a criminal's life does not make you a hero imo.

Who cares let the scum kill each other all they want.

Lets face it, the majority of us are only going to start caring when an innocent gets caught in the crossfire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭N_Raid

Pighead wrote:
    The gunmen would most probably shoot a few rounds at the door but its pretty unlikely they'd try and force entry into your house.

Yeah cos trying to kill someone is one thing but if they were caught breaking and entering they'd really be in trouble. But seriously I think if they were so intent on killing him there's no way my front door would stand in their way and I wouldn't put myself or anyone else in the house in that position. I don't think they'd care whether you did it because of human instinct. You got in their way and I don't think they'd have any stab of conscience about getting you or anyone else in the house out of the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Pighead wrote:
    Its also very easy to say you'd do nothing and leave the door shut.Pighead guarantees you'd at least think about letting him in upon hearing him beg for his life to be saved.

How do you know he deserved to be saved?It could well be revenge for something he had done to someone else.
    Oh and along with not opening the door for him, I'd also stay well clear of any windows :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Pighead wrote:
    Exactly.It totally depends on the circumstances and how aware you are of whats going on.If you were sure it was an innocent man banging on your door then it is only right you let him in.Any other action is selfish and cowardly.Pighead has a feeling that there are going to be a lot of posts stating"Under no circumstances would I let him in,I have to protect my family"Count to 10 Pighead

Pighead should stop referring to himself in the 3rd person, its awfully sad :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

Pighead wrote:

TBH at the end of the day in all fairness i dont think anyone being chased by criminals around dublin city in fear of his life is that innocent..

I do however believe that you are :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

ballooba wrote:
    Live by the sword die by the sword.

I think that overrides everything. As somone said, even if you let the guy in, and he gets away, that just makes you a target - you'd be looking over your shoulder forever. These guys don't "play fair"

Caimin

ballooba wrote:
    Saving a criminal's life does not make you a hero imo.
    Oh yea i forgot about that!!! Yea feck him so!!! :D hehehehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭bullrunner

my understanding of what happened is that the guy in the passenger seat of the car got shot ..the driver wasnt...so why did the driver leave the car and start running away? surely it would make more sense to drive away??

also as he was getting out of the car if the gunmen wanted to kill him why didnt they do it then..why chase after him/even let him get out of the car??

As for people talking about not letting him into their house if they had heard gunshots...i live pretty close to the area in question and the first i knew of it was when i heard the garda helicopter out circling about...i didnt heard any gunshots

and if the guy had time to try to get into a number of houses ...then the gunmen (gunpersons...must be pc about it!) mustnt have been chasing him too hard!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

bullrunner wrote:
    my understanding of what happened is that the guy in the passenger seat of the car got shot ..the driver wasnt...so why did the driver leave the car and start running away? surely it would make more sense to drive away??

They probably shot his tyres out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭bullrunner

u can still drive a lot faster with no tires than you can run

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

bullrunner wrote:
    u can still drive a lot faster with no tires than you can run

Are you speaking from experience? ;)

TBH at the end of the day in all fairness i dont think anyone being chased by criminals around dublin city in fear of his life is that innocent..

I do however believe that you are :v:
    HaHa HeHE Ho.Prior of Taize(5/10,what does it mean?)thinks Pigheads innocent.You're an absolute scream buddy.This is why Pighead loves boards,the entertainment value alone is worth the subscription fee.Calling Pighead innocent is akin to calling Sarky a patient, clean shaving uncynical young man.Its like calling Ruggie Bear and Sarge a rebel faction group trying to overthrow the evil Moderators.Its AMP being nominated for "Mr Most Helpful Poster to Newbies 2005"
    Pighead got his first slap on the bum from his mam aged 3,told his first lie aged 4,kissed his first girl aged 8,felt his first booby aged 13 drank his first can of cheap beer aged 14,led his first gang aged 15 and got his first boards banning aged 27.
    As my ex girlfriend used to sing "I'm not that innocent"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

From previous experience of seeing a gangland type of attempt on someones life similar to what happened yesterday I will give you my point of view.

I recently (in the last 6 months) seen a person on a motorbike pull up beside a car that was waiting at a tail back and when the guy pointed the gun (it jammed by the way)the 2 men in the car got out and ran for their life as there was no way the car was going anywhere fast in that traffic. Anyway the men got away across a bit of wasteland that a motorbike couldn't go into so I reckon they were right to run then to try get out in the traffic and try get past other cars.

Also the first time in my whole life my legs froze for like 20 secs.Until i seen the motorbike drive towards me when I legged it. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Pighead (0/10 - will call you Sherman, as you don't even deserve to be called The Shermanator), I think you protest your lack of innocence too much. I bet you're 15 and still live with your Mammy! :D

Would I let the guy in? If I didn't hear the shots and heard someone frantically banging on the door in the middle of the night, I'd probably check what was going on in case there was an accident outside. Fortunately, I shop in Maplin, so it'd just be a matter of looking at the screen (wouldn't even have to get out of bed!).

If I HAD heard shots, I think the first thing I'd be doing is dialing 999, and then trying to get anyone in my house to safety.

At the end of the day, it'd come down to instinct, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

Pighead wrote:
    Pighead makes a mental note not to go running down your street if i'm ever being chased by blood thirsty criminals.

Dont come down mine either, because I'll join in the bloodening. Quit being a devils advocate purely to garner attention on yourself.

Trust me GoneShootin(3/10,advocates violence)Pighead won't be going down your street anytime soon.You sound like a nasty young man who is in need of a good scolding.Oh and by the way quit posting negative comments about Pighead in order to garner attention for yourself.Ninny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭eefs

Have to say I wouldn't do anything. Who's to know the bloke is innocent? He's going to shout anything he can think of that will get him away from the mad ****ers with the guns. He could be running because he forgot his own gun! And if the lads running after him are determined to put a bullet in him, they're not going to let your front door stop them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭TheStrandRoads

caimin wrote:
    .....If he had been banging on your door, would you have let him in?.....

.......he got himself into the mess. Not a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Of course I'd let him in. I've let some emo kid in before because he was being chased by about 12 sumbags for being a "mosher/rocker". Called the gardaí, put on the kettle and gave the poor fella a cup of tea. I've also witnessed pleanty of people being robbed of bikes right outside my house. That's people just cycling along happily, and being kicked or pushed off by some scumbag hiding behind a corner. Gave them the use of my phone to call the gardaí. On one ocasion, I hoped into the car and went looking for the bike thief. Unfortunatly we never got him. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭horseflesh

Pighead wrote:
    I seriously doubt you would let a man face certain death outside your door because you thought you're family might get hurt.

I absolutely would, every time, no question.
    The risk that my family might get hurt would far, far outweigh any "human instinct" urging me to open the door.

I "seriously doubt" that you have kids, so don't presume to think that putting them even .01% at risk is an option.

P.S. it's "your", not "you're"

horseflesh wrote:
    I absolutely would, every time, no question.
    The risk that my family might get hurt would far, far outweigh any "human instinct" urging me to open the door.

I "seriously doubt" that you have kids, so don't presume to think that putting them even .01% at risk is an option.

P.S. it's "your", not "you're"
    Alright horseflesh,(2/10,username suggests a fondness for bestiality)answer me this.Are you saying to me you wouldn't answer the door for anybody at all?By anybody, Pigheads including the local butcher,the parish priest,your second cousin,an actor from Fair City.Is that a zero tolerance operation you're running there buddy or is there exceptions to your hardline stance.
    Oh and by the way hotshot can you try to put full stops after your final sentences in future.Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Binomate wrote:
    Of course I'd let him in. I've let some emo kid in before because he was being chased by about 12 sumbags for being a "mosher/rocker". (

I might have let that guy in last night but no way would I let an emo kid in under any circumstances. They deserve any rath they bring down on themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭TheStrandRoads

FX Meister wrote:
    I might have let that guy in last night but no way would I let an emo kid in under any circumstances. They deserve any rath they bring down on themselves.

...haha. Nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I got a punch in the gob today for interfering with some guy who was roaring racist abuse at some Asian girl. Still, worth it imo.