Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good looks, Good looking people, praise etc.

• 13-11-2005 11:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭

I'm think I'm good looking, I'm not praising myelf :D
    but does anyone think there is pressure amongst Good looking people of both sexes? growing up, do you think you get more chances in life, I didnt have an easy life, just the norm I guess. I'm not special and there are of course better looking people out there.

At times its hard to take praise from people "you're so good looking" all the time, I Myself would go for the best looking women naturally,
    Other times I take it for granted knowing a girl would come up to me,and get a dat without to much effort, nor is it always the case. i don't mean this to be cocky.
    but its not always succesful, Not all god looking people are succesful with date either I'd put myself into this category ,A lot of people say good looking people are successful all the time , Its about confidence and attractiveness .

I also find that people of the same sex can be very envious and jelous.
    I'd even say most good looking people are insecure.
    Sometimes to me anyway , its hell pressure. Finding out why people say that or whatever it is other times i dont even be aware of, My Parents never told me I was good looking, but all my Aunts and Parents friends did and some mates do, My sister who is also very good looking too and she gets a lot of attention too.

anyway just thought i'd start a big thread for people who love themselves
    just kidding.. :D

what are your views on looks etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Post your picture and WE'LL tell YOU if you're good looking:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭mysterious

LOL, very good caimin, I was tempted but yeh People on this site will no me and how much of cocky arse I'd be for posting it. Anyway ;) I don't need to prove it :D
    I don't want to get carried away about me, this is a thread for people to say what they think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭jptk

I think your far too cocky! I mean come on!, a thread about how "good looking" you are!? Must say I laughed when I read this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

mysterious wrote:
    I'm good looking, I'm not praising myelf :D
    but does anyone think there is pressure amongst Good looking people of both sexes? growing up, do you think you get more chances in life, I didnt have an easy life , lol, just the norm I guess.

At times its hard to take praise from people "you're so good looking" all the time, I Myself would go for the best looking women naturally,
    Other times I take it for granted knowing a girl would come up to me,and get a dat without tio much effort, nor is it always the case. i don't mean this to be cocky.
    but its not always succesful, or well the way average people say it must be easy for you getting a date etc. or any good looking person fot that matter.

Sometimes to me anyway , its hell pressure. Finding out why people say that or whatever it is other times i dont even be aware of, My Parent never told me I was good looking, but all my Aunts and Parents friends did and some mates do, My sister who is also very good looking too and she gets a lot of attention too.
    I'm not saying I'm special or get it every day lol, just the comment here and there.

what do you ya think.

Sorry in advance....

shut the f*ck up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I have to say that in my experiences most of the very very good looking people I have come across seem to have their head right up their arse. Maybe they face the pressures of becoming like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

Dude everyone is good looking they just need exercise.
    Get over yourself you must have little to think about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

not a problem in my opinion, if your good looking , ur good looking etc, whois to say your better lookin than other people...yea u might have been told u were all your life, but different horses for different courses!! we might all think your ugly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Ag marbh wrote:
    shut the f*ck up.

Bitter anyone?

Being the object of other people's envy is a very real psychological burden, particularly for women. Unfortunately it's difficult for people who suffer this burden to be taken seriously about it, precisely because of this envy.

To the OP: check out www.beautifulpeople.net to join a community of similar people (you have to be voted in by existing members based on a photo). They charge for forum access after a while if you get accepted, but you get a few weeks free. There are a few arrogant narcissists on it, as to be expected, but they're easy to ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

One of the most beautiful things for me, is when a really hot girl is humble about her looks and realises that it's all temporary.Character and personality will always outlast looks.

People who feel themselves to be a 'victim' of their looks are utterly narcissistic, people generally won't dislike you for looking well, but they most certainly will dislike you for assuming you're any better then them because of your bone structure.

Simply,it's the vibe that you give off that would cause the negativity, not your looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

daRobot wrote:
    .Character and personality will always outlast looks.
    totally agree, ive fallen for guys who had great personality, that werent models, but they grew on me..far easier to like someone thats not hung up on their looks, and u think that everyone's lookin at u, sayin what is she doing with someone like him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

wow. Don't know what to think of this thread. I was going to just say STFU but it is something i have wondered before. It seems to be treated as "big headed" etc to think of yourself as good looking but surely, if you are good looking you are good looking.
    Take models for example, who's job it is to be beautiful. It's undeniable that they are pretty/handsome, so why is it so bad for them to say it themselves?

In saying that, i do dislike people in love with themselves as much as the next person, but i don't know why.

It's fine to recognise that you're attractive, and even say it ,but putting yourself on a pedestal and expecting some kind of demi-god worship is what's nuts imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

StephenInsane, keep it on topic and useful
    Ag marbh wrote:
    Sorry in advance....

shut the f*ck up.

Same for you Ag marbh.

daRobot wrote:
    people generally won't dislike you for looking well

There are lots of people out there who will begrudge you for anything you have that they don't, whether it's looks, money, success, happiness, whatever. I find women to be particularly bitchy about better-looking women (behind their backs, of course).
    daRobot wrote:
    putting yourself on a pedestal and expecting some kind of demi-god worship is what's nuts imo.

Who said anything about expecting worship? In fact, it seems to be quite the opposite that's the case in this chap's life.

Sico wrote:
    Who said anything about expecting worship? In fact, it seems to be quite the opposite that's the case in this chap's life.

That comment is in relation to how good looking people can be perceived as arrogant, and isn't about the 'op'

Yeah, people will begrudge you for anything sometimes, but for me, I think a lot of this 'looks envy' is brought on by the person themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

I think that sometimes confidence can make an average person far more attractive than a cocky good looking person. It's how you carry yourself moreso than anything else.
    A trophy g/f or b/f is fine when young, but you have to have the personality behind the looks to make it last I think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I think that sometimes confidence can make an average person far more attractive than a cocky good looking person. It's how you carry yourself moreso than anything else.
    A trophy g/f or b/f is fine when young, but you have to have the personality behind the looks to make it last I think...
    Truest thing said so far in theis thread.

What a reaction !:eek:
    I wanted other people's views, not about me I was just giving my perspective on it, If some people think I'm ugly thats fine , thats not a problem to me. Every ones tastes are different. I might of came across as up it, but didnt intend to in that way. hope it didnt put anyones shoes and feet flyin, thats all so will some of ye go get therapy, there are times i dont think i'm good looking, I was taking things a little lighty, obviously that is not the reaction. This thread is not about me and never intended to be either, and I don't care if you think I'm cocky are what else you might like to think, Opinions are like assholes at times

So lighten up,
    I wanted to talk about Good looks, praise and how people percieve themselves and how they see good looking people what else might spark off your brain , jeez
    Chill out the lot of ye...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

If this thread is not about you, then it is not a PI.

Moved to After Hours.

My apologies I was'nt aware of that, I ddint think where else to put it, But yes I see everyones point,:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭miss_gonzo

go piss up a flag pole, mr good looking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I find it a bit stupid that some people are getting so touchy about this.

If the man had put up a thread to start a discussion about how to cope with being "ugly" then everyone would be full of advice and tell him to find the beauty within etc. However,some people are reacting so bitterly that it proves the point that life's tough when you're pretty! And people can have bad attitudes towards those who are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

LadyJ wrote:
    I find it a bit stupid that some people are getting so touchy about this.

If the man had put up a thread to start a discussion about how to cope with being "ugly" then everyone would be full of advice and tell him to find the beauty within etc. However,some people are reacting so bitterly that it proves the point that life's tough when you're pretty! And people can have bad attitudes towards those who are.

i wonder how many of the eejits are "ugly" themselves and do it outta spite...

danniemcq wrote:
    i wonder how many of the eejits are "ugly" themselves and do it outta spite...
    I don't know about "ugly" but they're all clearly insecure!
    It comes down to people being unhappy with themselves and taking it out on others who look the way they wish they did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

If there's one thing I can't stand, it's a good looking guy who is so arrogant about his looks that it just blinds him and he thinks he's *that much* better than everyone else and everybody *owes* him something. It's totally sick.

Character is what matters in the end. And besides, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. What's beautiful to one person may be not so attractive to someone else ... so what is beauty? And what is ugliness? Just a person's perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

If I happen to meet a good looking girl in a social situation or in the workplace, I find myself distancing myself from her as I've found int he past that good looking people are all style and no substance and have developed little or no redeeming personality traits. Sure, I think both sexes like to look at attractive people, but would rather have a relationship with someone who has a fully formed personality, regardless of looks. Good looking people (like youself mysterious :rolleyes:), as you have stated, tend to know they're good looking, which in my book (if I meet a girl who is attractive), could not be any less attractive.

I wouldn't regard myself as good looking, I don't care though. If a girl is going to look at me and disregard me because I don't look like Brad Pitt/Tom Cruise, I'm glad; I wouldn't want to be with someone who is so shallow anyway. In my life, I've also found, people who come out and make statements of how good looking they are actually have no basis for this, they say these things in hope someone will echo them; a mark of insecurity. Why do people care what they look like?, to get more sex?, why?

Why is it in our society, that people who have well formed faces, bodies etc. are held in higher regard and are taken more seriously than say a person with a lovely personality who doesn't have stellar looks?, it's so unfair. I think for someone to start a thread about it is a bit silly really, it's like you're saying to us, hey - I'm really good looking, how about that?

All I can say is

GOOD FOR YOU MYSTERIOUS!

LadyJ wrote:
    I don't know about "ugly" but they're all clearly insecure!
    It comes down to people being unhappy with themselves and taking it out on others who look the way they wish they did.

That's a complete generalisation of the people who are replying here LadyJ, you must realise how farcial it sounds when someone starts a thread dedicated to their good looks. I'm in no way jealous of handsome/good looking men, I don't care if they get all the girls, what difference does it all make?. You say that we 'insecure' types wish we looked the way good looking people did, I don't, I'd rather be dumb and clever than pretty and stupid.

Laguna wrote:
    If I happen to meet a good looking girl in a social situation or in the workplace, I find myself distancing myself from her as I've found int he past that good looking people are all style and no substance and have developed little or no redeeming personality traits.

What utter nonsense!
    And then you come out with:
    Why is it in our society, that people who have well formed faces, bodies etc. are held in higher regard and are taken more seriously
    Clearly you don't take anyone seriously if you think they look good and that's just completely prejudiced!

Laguna wrote:
    That's a complete generalisation of the people who are replying here LadyJ, you must realise how farcial it sounds when someone starts a thread dedicated to their good looks. I'm in no way jealous of handsome/good looking men, I don't care if they get all the girls, what difference does it all make?. You say that we 'insecure' types wish we looked the way good looking people did, I don't, I'd rather be dumb and clever than pretty and stupid.
    What about smart and pretty? Those people do exist you know!:rolleyes:

LadyJ wrote:
    What about smart and pretty? Those people do exist you know!:rolleyes:

Maybe they do, but surely if these people were smart they'd realise that good looks are superficial and wouldn't go around trumpeting how attractive they are.

Laguna wrote:
    Maybe they do, but surely if these people were smart they'd realise that good looks are superficial and wouldn't go around trumpeting how attractive they are.
    And once again,there are people who are smart,good-looking and modest about it. I don't know mysterious so I can't comment on whether he is smart or good-looking,however,he may not be totally modest!

He did raise a good point in general though and you have proved it. You have prejudices about the "pretty" people and that's not particularly fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

don't see the big hullaballoo tbh fair enough the op might seem slightly cocky but we all have cocky friends at one stage who we will talk to about something like this so cut him some slack...i think good lookin people are the same as the notso good lookin ones..some are gobsh1tes some are brilliant people.

confidence is a great trait in a person and it almost doubles their attractivness if they handle themselves well be they phsyically attractive or not..cockiness is a really turn of and the 'trophy people' of our society...ie good looking but no real substance tend to have that a lot in my experience...thats not to say everyone is like that...its a very thin line u have to walk in this thread :p

i have a fair bit of confidence and i don't class myself as good lookin or anything.i just don't care what anyone thinks thats all..i have had a good few girlfriends and i think it is because i'm easy goin etc...so there's a lot to be said for confidence

LadyJ wrote:
    He did raise a good point in general though and you have proved it. You have prejudices about the "pretty" people and that's not particularly fair.

I wouldn't say I hold predjudice against good looking people, I'm saying that from my life experience I've found good looking girls to be shallow. Besides, why do you care?, I don't go out of my way to abuse good looking girls, I just don't get involved with them, is that a crime?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

Laguna wrote:

That's true. And usually, the people who are genuinely beautiful are the ones who don't know it!

Laguna wrote:
    If a girl is going to look at me and disregard me because I don't look like Brad Pitt/Tom Cruise, I'm glad; I wouldn't want to be with someone who is so shallow anyway

Why do people make the knee-jerk assumption that someone must be shallow if they appreciate a physically attractive person? If you had the choice between a plain-looking but intelligent and interesting girl, and a beautiful, intelligent and interesting girl, wouldn't it be more likely that you'd be interested in the more physically attractive of the two, all other things being equal? And if not (and providing you're being completely honest with yourself), why not? It's perfectly natural to be attracted to an attractive person (funnily enough).

I, for example, am particularly fussy about physical attributes of a potential girlfriend / fling / shag / whatever (particularly in short-term instances). Does this automatically make me emotionally shallow? How so? Define shallow please. I don't associate with bimbos, emotional and intellectual attraction is also very important to me - am I still shallow? For me to be interested in a girl, she must be interesting, intelligent and physically attractive. She must meet all three requirements. How is someone a better person than me if they only require the first two in a partner?

As for 'life experience', I have never had a girlfriend that was less than noticeably pretty. Sure, a couple of them were vapid, unintelligent creatures, but good-looking people do not have the monopoly here. Most of them were intelligent, interesting people.

Sico, you said that for a girl to be a potential fling/girlfriend she must meet your criteria, which is
    1. Intelligent
    2. Interesting
    3. Physically attractive

So, by your rationale, if a girl doesn't meet number 3, you disregard her; you don't see this as shallow?

No, I don't. Why should I settle for a girl who only meets 2 of the criteria when I could have one that meets all 3? I would also disregard any girl who doesn't meet 1 or 2 by the way. Is that any better?

How about you? Would you go out with a girl that wasn't interesting or intelligent?

And please define shallow for me.

But surely you must realise having criteria in itself is shallow!, you've got a dictionary surely, you look up shallow! (I'm too lazy)
    Sico wrote:
    How about you? Would you go out with a girl that wasn't interesting or intelligent?
    I don't go out or want to go out with anyone, therefore I cannot answer that question.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I'm better looking than you all.

End of thread.

Attracted to, would shag, whatever.
    Laguna wrote:
    But surely you must realise having criteria in itself is shallow!

Why so? Explain please.

Are you saying you don't have criteria of some sort? You would be attracted to a girl no matter how ugly, boring and stupid she was? You must have some requirements for attraction. All I've done is put mine down in black and white, and I'm shallow?

What we seem to be arguing over here is the fact that I don't see anything wrong with being attracted to someone because they're beautiful, but you do. This is what I'm trying to get you to clarify.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I'm better looking than you all.

Well anyone who would be attracted to you is shallow! Take that. :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭*Lees*

mysterious wrote:
    I'm think I'm good looking, I'm not praising myelf :D
    but does anyone think there is pressure amongst Good looking people of both sexes? growing up, do you think you get more chances in life, I didnt have an easy life, just the norm I guess. I'm not special and there are of course better looking people out there.

Other times I take it for granted knowing a girl would come up to me,and get a dat without to much effort, nor is it always the case. i don't mean this to be cocky.
    but its not always succesful, Not all god looking people are succesful with date either I'd put myself into this category ,A lot of people say good looking people are successful all the time , Its about confidence and attractiveness .

Sometimes to me anyway , its hell pressure. Finding out why people say that or whatever it is other times i dont even be aware of, My Parents never told me I was good looking, but all my Aunts and Parents friends did and some mates do, My sister who is also very good looking too and she gets a lot of attention too.

what are your views on looks etc

Maybe you shouldn't have used yourself as an example here mysterious!!!!........ It is ok to know if you are good looking!!... but in my opinion if you know your good looking you shouldn't say it!... because no matter what way you say it your going to come across cocky!!
    I know this guy who is really good looking but is sooo cocky its disgusting!!... He just becomes really unattractive after speaking to him! uhh!...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

And that is the way I like it... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭EvilPixieOne

Anyway at the end of the day goodlooking people get used for their looks far more often, but they also use others more easily because of their looks, so its a fair deal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Another very interesting and intellectually stimulating thread :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Stepheninsane,perfect for this thread!Good call

Sico wrote:
    Are you saying you don't have criteria of some sort? You would be attracted to a girl no matter how ugly, boring and stupid she was? You must have some requirements for attraction.
    What did I say in my last post?
    Laguna wrote:
    I don't go out or want to go out with anyone, therefore I cannot answer that question.

In the past I fancied girls, and I would receive advice from friends to ask certain girls out (i.e. ones they were certain 'liked me' or whatever), unsurprisingly I was always turned down, being told I was a great friend/charming/great laugh or that they weren't interested in a relationship (even though a week later I'd see them going out with some Brad Pitt a-like). What can one deduce from this?, they turned me down not because of my personality but because I don't possess film star looks. When you continually get turned down like I have in my life, you soon give up bothering fancying anyone.

Good looking girls/lads have it easy, people will go out with them irrespective of their personalities because they're attractive. They'll get ream after ream of people throwing themselves at them at school/college/work/clubs/pubs just because of the way they look, is this fair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭EvilPixieOne

You can't just give up! I wasn't physically attracted to my last boyfriend when I first met him, but he didn't give up and he really grew on me. You just need some confidence or something

I've tons of confidence!, I've never been short of it. The simple fact is I don't care, I'm not prepared to stick my neck out anymore for the pleasure of some girl to tell me to **** off again, I'll quite happily go without, besides, I'm 22 going on 23, it's not like I'm some 16/17 year old who you can tell "Wait and see, you'll meet someone nice", I waited long enough; it's not going to happen and I accept that.