Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MC Qualifier

• 10-11-2005 6:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭

Good luck to all taking part tonight - post here and let us all know how you get on.

Unfortunately I won't be taking part as once again I was struck down with the curse of internet poker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Yes best of luck, what with the best players in Dublin playing this, and another gang going to the Emporium, I think I'll mosey on down to the Fitz and see if I can get a bye in the freeroll for the end of month game.

Good Luck Again Chaps

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Give me a shout when you are down there Culchie, I'll be up on the balcony playing.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

GL all :D

Great structure... 5k starting chips and 15-minute levels starting at 10-20 ... starting table not ideal though, including as it does Eamon (5pin5) Dave O'C (DaithiO) and Kevin Fitzpatrich (fitzyone)...

Updates later...

Dream start... KOed Eamon and Dave in consecutive hands, cracking pocket rockets each time :D

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

yes, I set the tournie structure, Peter wanted to give the finalist plenty of play.

So far I've over doubled up but then Muso caught a 2 outer that I couldnt get away from...

Back to 6.2k for now and back in the pack. God damn you and your queens Muso!

DeV.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Pure bad luck for you tom but it was difficult to let go of a strong overpair on the flop. I'm glad neither knocked the other out though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭celticwarriorjb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I'm gone already, AA cracked by KP's 66. Had the feeling I was up against a set but by that stage more than half my chips were in the middle. Feel fairly sick about it. I should have gotten away from it and battled on with my remaining 2k.

Aye, its a train crash and its inevitable. I might have been better off sticking you all in on the flop. I dunno if you would have called that but its my only out.

its funny I thought "this hand is going to get me into trouble" when I saw the pair of fours preflop.

DeV.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Blimey KK and I'm chip leader. Can't last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Daithio wrote:
    I'm gone already, AA cracked by KP's 66. Had the feeling I was up against a set but by that stage more than half my chips were in the middle. Feel fairly sick about it. I should have gotten away from it and battled on with my remaining 2k.
    Ye I think you could possibly have got away from it too, but hey, UL was hard to put him on trips there...

As expected gone card dead. Thankfully I have some chips I can use to get me through it.

Just put a guy all in for 4k.
    Me AK
    Him AJ

Flop: K 10 x - nice
    Turn: Q - you jammy son of xxxxX@X@
    River: J - phew

Good old Doc knocked me out :( - in BB shortish stacked with JJ - he raises me from SB, I re-raise him, he goes all in, I call - he has A10 - flops an A and bye bye - nh Doc, go on and win it now ...... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

gone.

saw that 2 pair J's and 7's - what happened there?? Only saw the chat box - didn't see what happened in the hand

Good old Shamanix - who is he???

Break time again and tom is chip leader, kp in third, me in 9th and oscar 12th I think with 18 left. Not sure of any other boardsies there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

been quite interested watching this. funny to see so many boardsie players

Well my night is over. Tom puts me all-in with A2 v my KK and hits a str8. No comment. Night wp gl gg.

Did I say no comment... You better win you jambag.

yeah....ouch

now he's got 10k on 2nd

edit: not any more.....must have put the knockers on him, lost 2 hands and 15k

ok, calmed down now.
    The Shamanix kept raising my raises so i got pocket nines, only he calls my raise.
    flop ten high, he reraises a sizable raise. i should have folded but instead went all in.
    he didnt have a ten.
    he had pocket jacks.
    looking back I should have respected his play instead of thinking he was playing just me.
    one words sums up my play in retrospect.
    dumb.
    i see he is out now in 14th.
    who is the shamanix? anyone know?
    he played well, too bloody well.

who is the shamanix? anyone know?
    he played well, too bloody well.
    He did play well, kept coming over my raises too... think we got bad seats, ;)

well he pissed away 19,000 in the time it took for me to go to the off licence and back. so someone clipped his wings alright.

no **** but I'll be back.

Sorry about that Muso. Officially out of the doghouse for that Q (and no pints needed!)

DeV.

baby i am one disappointed bunny, had my wardrobe all picked out for Monte Carlo, with a pizza ordered in my favourite pizza place at the edge of the sea wall.

I'll be back!

I'm back at the top, tough game though!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

crapshoot.

bit of a lottery now

Ah Shite just missed the last 10mins as i had to check someone in....what happened?

DeVore wrote:
    Give me a shout when you are down there Culchie, I'll be up on the balcony playing.

DeV.
    I missed that post Devore, I went out the door as soon as I posted mine ...sorry.

Just logged in to all in to see the very final hand. Well Done to Rebecca....is she a he or someone we know?

thats gonna sting in the morning for Tom and Ken, ul guys

missed from 7-3 go out:( how did happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭TimFoil

the mysterious rebecca.... is Charlie Harvey, regular cash player in the fitz. just rang me, sounded like he was having a stroke. well done charlie, think i may have convinced him to take me instead of Sue, his wife.

charlie... is it Asian Charles? hes in his twenties?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Or Charlie with a moustache?

Edit : No, that's Charlie Power isn't it on second thoughts.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

Anyone here win this thing tonight?

I am officially giving up on internet poker - I dropped alot the last two evening and it's hard to remember it happening other then a bad beat!!!

I agree with RoryC about everything he's said :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Oh yes...., Roryc knows all......

the badbeat king has spoken......

Ste05 wrote:
    Ye I think you could possibly have got away from it too, but hey, UL was hard to put him on trips there...

Yeah ste it wasn't one of my proudest moments. The main problem was that when I re raised him (after putting him on a check raise steal cos I thought he had me on two big cards following through) I raised him 2k, but I didn't know the poxy prima software adds in your original bet too, whick was 700. To explain more, I'd bet 700, Ken had re raised me, and I meant to make it 2.1k total, but the dumbass software made it 2.8k, adding in my original bet. Then I only had 1800 left out of my starting stack when Ken re re re raised me, and I was v pissed off, so I just stuck it in. Stupid decision all the same and there's no excuse. At least I had ten per cent of Ken, but it wasn't to be for him either despite cracking aces twice and playing excellently. I watched the end and it got a bit crapshooty which was a bit of a disappointment; at least an Irish guy won it in the end, although I think out of that final KP would have the best chance of actually succeeding in the MCM. Oh well I'm chuffed for Charlie too, he seems like a nice guy and played excellently so who knows what will happen. I hope he wins it!

Cheers Dave! Kind words! Looks like you made it no further than Burger King after Lillie's! I am playing £60 6paks on Betfair ... won the 1st one, 2nd one just underway ... sign up for next one if you fancy getting some of your chips back!!! :D

OK, won 2 out of 2 £60 6paks, time for bed before I tilt on PLO cash ... I wish stg£408 profit could negate the loss of the 30k euro package I felt sure I was going to win tonight ... ah well, Good Luck Charlie :D

Lol. Think I'm gonna hit the hay, had plans of going to college tomorrow which I haven't entirely abandoned yet. Give us a call anyway re St. Kitt's. GL, Dave.

Just registered for a third £60 6pak ... c'mon have a go! college shmollege! :D

Just missed it! I'm registered for a £90 one if you want to multi? If we get heads up you want to chop it regardless of chips?

of course! :D

Daithio wrote:
    To explain more, I'd bet 700, Ken had re raised me, and I meant to make it 2.1k total, but the dumbass software made it 2.8k, adding in my original bet. Then I only had 1800 left out of my starting stack when Ken re re re raised me, and I was v pissed off, so I just stuck it in.
    Ah I was wondering about that, the bet did seem a bit big at the time..

I didn't think the softwar on Prima did that, if you are raising to 2100, it should be 2100 in total.

It's Tribeca where your 2100 will be added to the 700 and be a 2800 bet in total.

Culchie wrote:
    I didn't think the softwar on Prima did that, if you are raising to 2100, it should be 2100 in total.

It's Tribeca where your 2100 will be added to the 700 and be a 2800 bet in total.

Culchie, you are right as regards raising on Prima when you have not put any chips in yet (i.e. raising from zero), but when you are RE-RE-raising, as Dave was, you type the amount you are raising by, not to, as Dave would be more used to doing on other sites, hence the problem... I am not used to playing on Prima and I had the same problem last night, twice raising by more than I had intended to... I also could not work out how to bet specific amounts throughout the tournament and found this quite a nuisance, to say the least :)

ah OK.

You just type in the white box how much you want to bet, if the muliple options it give are not to your liking.

I suppose it's what you are used to, I started playing on betfair and ladbrokes, and it's the same set up to laddies, except the lobby area is not as clear and tidy. I like the gaming software myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

The main problem with the raising as I see it is that when you enter a number and press enter the number you've entered is not updated in the raise button. It used to be updated so that when you pressed the raise button you knew what you were betting. Another annoying thing is that you have to type in the exact amount of your chips to go all-in and not some magically huge number like on other sites. Type in too big a number and it just works like a min raise :(