Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Never had a boyfriend

• 06-11-2005 11:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

This is gonna sound really stupid but lately its starting to really get me down. I'm 20 and I've never had a boyfriend. In secondary school, at 17-18 all my friends were going out with people and I just never met anyone. I wasn't too bothered then, I assumed I'd meet someone in college.

So I started college and my halls turned out to be all girls, and unfortunately so did my classes so I never had much opportunity to talk to guys and when I did I never really knew what to say. When I did talk they didn't seem very interested in me. I went to parties etc with my friends and still no luck. Loads of my friends just met guys randomly, in the college bar or something and got invited to have coffee and that, and it never happened to me. I just don't know why. I can be shy with new people but in general I am chatty. When I went out to bars/clubs I did meet guys but they just wanted to snog etc and then go home. I don't want to sleep with random strangers, I'm not interested in having a relationship like that. I just can't understand how everyone else seems to have found a really nice boyfriend and I'm alone. Its not only cos I'm not slutty and don't put out on the first night cos neither are my friends.

I'm thinking its probably something to do with me, I come across a bit shy and reserved but so do lots of people?! Lots of guys have told me I'm pretty and sweet and blah blah but no one has actually asked me out! I consider myself a nice person, I'm really loyal and reliable and I'm a good friend. I know girls at college who treat their b/fs like crap, cheat on them and mess them around, it just seems so unfair!! Now I am 20 and people are constantly asking me why I don't have a boyfriend and I never know what to say! Its not that I don't want one. I just don't know how to find one! I feel really immature and inexperienced being a virgin at 20 and never having had a boyfriend. I feel ready now for a serious relationship. What am I supposed to do? All my friends make it look so easy but I just can't meet anyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

You seem to have a condition called Incel (Involuntarily celibate). I'm not taking the piss it actually exists. It's worth knowing that there are people like this out there. It pisses me off that some people assume that everyone has had a bf/gf when not everyone has. Indeed, the only thing certain in life is death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Novocaine

You seem to have a condition called Incel (Involuntarily celibate). I'm not taking the piss it actually exists. It's worth knowing that there are people like this out there. It pisses me off that some people assume that everyone has had a bf/gf when not everyone has. Indeed, the only thing certain in life is death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i'm kind of in the same situation except just in relation to college, i'm 20.....there just seems to be loads of people floating around who arnt assholes or deformed who would actually be great bf/gf material who would like to meet somebody but it just never happens, its depressing i know. i cant really seem to conquer my shyness either....its not much help i guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭audge

Hey, your not on your own, I was 18 before i got into my first relationship, and my best friend was 22. Just relax and it will happen in its own good time. If you rush into a relationship just for the sake of being in one, well, thats hardly for the right reasons, and it probably wont work out.
    Regarding meeting guys, do you have a little part time job? Hobbie? etc? I met my boyfriend in college, but you have already said thats not an option, my friend met her boyfirend in work, and another friend met her boyfriend at her drama club, so maybe thats something you can consider?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭audge

lonely20 wrote:
    I feel really immature and inexperienced being a virgin at 20 and never having had a boyfriend. QUOTE]
    I was 18 in my first relationship, which was never all that serious, and I was 22 loosing my virginity, its not stupid or immature to still be a virgin!!!! Don't let anyone tell you otherwise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

Well if your having problems meeting people through your college classes, why not join a club or Soc? I'm sure there would be plenty of fella's in them.

I guess it all depends on how people see you from the getgo in terms of people chatting to you. You say people have said you are pretty in in the past. But would you call your-self pretty? Or aprochable? Have you ever tried walking up to a lad you think is good looking or that you are interested in and talking to him? I know you say you are shy. But there is only one way to get around that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Sifo

Hey,

just to get this cr*p outta the way!!

have you tried social clubs in college blah blah blah :rolleyes:..

I'd recommend taking or giving your number to nice guys you meet when your out.. just start off with (no need to be shy when texting). This way you can take things slowly!!

I'm 27 stone and have been housebound for the last 3 years but as long as I've got the net Im in like flynn!! :D sorry!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭klash

Personally i think your making a mountain out of a molehill and being watching a bit too much dawsons creek.

Don't worry about something so daft, just do what you wanna do, go out enjoy yourself and let things work themselves out.

I've never asked a girl out in my life but i've been in a good few relationships, you just meet someone, get to know them and things go from there.

Anyways if that doesn't work i'll go out with ya ;)

carful now :D

would you consider going to the boards beers social(see link below)? plenty of great blokes there*

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=309481

*may only be blokes there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭bp

sure i was 19 going on 20 when i got a boyfriend...met him through work (we are still together three years later), i lost my virginity at 20........there are an awful lot of 20 year old who are still virgins who just dont talk about it! you would be surprise!

do what everyone here is telling you, join some soc's etc, approach a guy (they love that!)

good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

lonely20 wrote:
    I feel ready now for a serious relationship. What am I supposed to do?

No harm in leaving it late, some people are more picky than others when it comes to finding a partner, but you will, don't worry. And then you'll have a break up and you'll wonder why you were so enthusiastic to be in a relationship in the first place!

IIRC, over a third of people are virgins on their 21st birthday, so you're far from alone. Don't let it bother you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Maccattack

relaaaaaaax.

Youre 20 not 50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

Plenty of people don't have girlfriends/boyfriends at your age, I'm 22 and I don't have a girlfriend.

So what if you're a virgin?, it's not something you have to get rid of, like an unsightly mark on your forehead!.

If I met a girl who told she me she was a virgin I'd admire her because, firstly, she'd be illustrating her honesty to me and, secondly, she'd be indicating to me she has dignity about herself, not jumping into bed with any old guy just for the sake of losing her virginity.

I tried the whole clubs and socs things in college to try and meet girls (to no avail) and I used to go out on the occasional social drink to see what the scene was like there, unfortunately, I didn't meet anybody, maybe you might have better luck trying the same things. Nothing ventured is nothing gained.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Dax Wax

Maccattack wrote:
    relaaaaaaax.

Youre 20 not 50.

not great advice for the girl, since 14 she's prob been wondering is there something wrong with her when obviously theres not and your askin her to relax? If ya want my number pm me Im lonely now!!!(joke). just do what the rest says but when you think its right. being a virgin isnt a problem either. it will be great when it happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

ive never had a boyfriend either, neither has my best friend. we have no shortage of attention from guys they just dont seem interested in pursuing a relationship, would like to have one tho *sighs*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 massimo

U gotta friend here, i feel exactly the same, im 21 on thursday and still a virgin and never had a girlfriend. It gets me so down I dont know how to get one and all my friends always have different girl friends.. Its not as if im ugly or immature, i bet its because im respectable that most good looking girls only want the bad boy image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

well personally massimo im not into the bad boy image..i prefer respectable lads who are genuine/considerate/funny! Im 18 and never had a b/f either..I can relate to everything lonely20 said..!!! suppose it good to know i not alone!!:) I just started my first year of college this year but believe me this is no college for finding lads..its practically all girls here(Mary I)..lol:D !! life goes on..!

lonely20 wrote:
    This is gonna sound really stupid but lately its starting to really get me down. I'm 20 and I've never had a boyfriend. In secondary school, at 17-18 all my friends were going out with people and I just never met anyone. I wasn't too bothered then, I assumed I'd meet someone in college.

So I started college and my halls turned out to be all girls, and unfortunately so did my classes so I never had much opportunity to talk to guys and when I did I never really knew what to say. When I did talk they didn't seem very interested in me. I went to parties etc with my friends and still no luck. Loads of my friends just met guys randomly, in the college bar or something and got invited to have coffee and that, and it never happened to me. I just don't know why. I can be shy with new people but in general I am chatty. When I went out to bars/clubs I did meet guys but they just wanted to snog etc and then go home. I don't want to sleep with random strangers, I'm not interested in having a relationship like that. I just can't understand how everyone else seems to have found a really nice boyfriend and I'm alone. Its not only cos I'm not slutty and don't put out on the first night cos neither are my friends.

I'm thinking its probably something to do with me, I come across a bit shy and reserved but so do lots of people?! Lots of guys have told me I'm pretty and sweet and blah blah but no one has actually asked me out! I consider myself a nice person, I'm really loyal and reliable and I'm a good friend. I know girls at college who treat their b/fs like crap, cheat on them and mess them around, it just seems so unfair!! Now I am 20 and people are constantly asking me why I don't have a boyfriend and I never know what to say! Its not that I don't want one. I just don't know how to find one! I feel really immature and inexperienced being a virgin at 20 and never having had a boyfriend. I feel ready now for a serious relationship. What am I supposed to do? All my friends make it look so easy but I just can't meet anyone!

hiya. i know how you feel the only diff is im male and 22 but unlike yourself i do put it out the odd time in clubs (typical man lol!) but 99% of the time i get know where only a bit of flirting (with girls who prob already have boyfriends).

ive never had a relationship or even an offer and at times it gets me down as most of my friends have been involved in relationships and i know some gurriers who have managed to get into relationships.

At the moment theres someone im interested in who seems to show interest in me the odd time but i honestly dont know where to start in terms of getting to know her and im afraid it will just amount to nothing but disappointment.

but tomorrows another day and god willing ill meet the woman of my dreams whoever she may be or at least get a period where i can sow the wild oats and get all this frustration out of my system.

so your not alone dear. i think its merely a confidence thing with both of us. we just have to take the next step and learn how to cope with rejection (applies to me)

you seem like a nice girl and i think if you broadened your social scene perhaps it could be closer then you think. since i started driving ive got out more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Hey OP. I started a thread pretty much likes your's here a few months ago except I'm a 19 year old bloke.

There are alot of people out there just like you and me who crave to have someone in their life who they are absolutely crazy about, talk to and feel loved by. It's natural that you would feel that there is something wrong with you by not ever having a boyfriend when you see your friends having absolutely no trouble attracting the blokes. Listen: there is nothing wrong with you. As long as you are happy and comfortable with who YOU are then you've got everything going for you.

From what you've described yourself I'm in no doubt you will (or even secretly have) blokes queuing up for you. 3 months on after my thread I unfortunately still haven't met anyone. I don't have much hope of finding the right girl because most of my friends are male, I work with older people than myself, I can't even make any friends in college let alone find a girlfriend and I can't chat a girl up in a club to save my life. Like you I can be quite outgoing at times but I also very shy at times esp. with new people however with I get on better with girls than blokes. I do scratch my head at times and sadly I don't believe I'll ever find someone because I've never been close except the odd score in a club.

It still gets me down big time since I'm too much of a softy but at the end of the day you've got to keep your head held high and do your best to keep the smile on your face and stay confident or you'll continue to find it difficult to find the right person. If you get too down over it you won't have the confidence to say hello the stud you fancy etc.

IMO alot of it is down to luck. I know guys who've been in endless amounts of relationships who I'd consider myself to be far kinder person than them, more of a personality than them and better looking than them. What bothers me especially is the kind/treat your girl right/sensitive bit. It certainly appears to me that girls and even blokes go for the bastards/bitches. That sucks but that's life but hey I know for a fact that most people aren't like that and most of the people not in relationships aren't like that. I'd certainly say the more caring, sensitive individual find it harder going.

So what could you do to find your man? Well get yourself out there is what I say. It's rich coming from me since I'm not a poster boy for getting myself up and putting myself out there but lately I've realized the only way I'll ever meet anyone is by putting myself out there by getting involved and interacting more. Everyone will say join a club, society, class etc. but only do it if there is something that you are genuinely interested in.

At the end of the day there are good genuine decent blokes out there but it's all about finding them! Whatever you do don't get into a relationship for the sake of it. I know people who have and it's nearly always ended in tears. Keep the chin up, be yourself and you'll be grand! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 waterbabe

Join a martial arts club.Thats how i met my last two boyfriends.With a ratio of at least 10 lads to a girl your bound to find someone.Plus it will really increase your confidence with lads and you have something in common to talk about.
    Clubs are rubbish to meet people.I know some that have met their significant other that way but most of the time it ends in disaster.

waterbabe wrote:
    Join a martial arts club.Thats how i met my last two boyfriends.With a ratio of at least 10 lads to a girl your bound to find someone.Plus it will really increase your confidence with lads and you have something in common to talk about.
    Clubs are rubbish to meet people.I know some that have met their significant other that way but most of the time it ends in disaster.

true on both counts.

judo is actually a very up close and personal sport lol but be prepared for some sore ribs and bones.

it is impossible to get to know someone properly in a club too. they are really only useful for a quick shift and feel and im sorry for being blunt

im 21, and went through college feeling the same way as you. im now out of college and still have never had a relationship with a guy.

apparently it happens when youre not looking for it., i've been trying not to look for awhile :p

anyway, just wanted to say you're definitely not the only girl like this

Hey OP. I started a thread pretty much likes your's here a few months ago except I'm a 19 year old bloke.

There are alot of people out there just like you and me who crave to have someone in their life who they are absolutely crazy about, talk to and feel loved by. It's natural that you would feel that there is something wrong with you by not ever having a boyfriend when you see your friends having absolutely no trouble attracting the blokes. Listen: there is nothing wrong with you. As long as you are happy and comfortable with who YOU are then you've got everything going for you.

From what you've described yourself I'm in no doubt you will (or even secretly have) blokes queuing up for you. 3 months on after my thread I unfortunately still haven't met anyone. I don't have much hope of finding the right girl because most of my friends are male, I work with older people than myself, I can't even make any friends in college let alone find a girlfriend and I can't chat a girl up in a club to save my life. Like you I can be quite outgoing at times but I also very shy at times esp. with new people however with I get on better with girls than blokes. I do scratch my head at times and sadly I don't believe I'll ever find someone because I've never been close except the odd score in a club.

It still gets me down big time since I'm too much of a softy but at the end of the day you've got to keep your head held high and do your best to keep the smile on your face and stay confident or you'll continue to find it difficult to find the right person. If you get too down over it you won't have the confidence to say hello the stud you fancy etc.

IMO alot of it is down to luck. I know guys who've been in endless amounts of relationships who I'd consider myself to be far kinder person than them, more of a personality than them and better looking than them. What bothers me especially is the kind/treat your girl right/sensitive bit. It certainly appears to me that girls and even blokes go for the bastards/bitches. That sucks but that's life but hey I know for a fact that most people aren't like that and most of the people not in relationships aren't like that. I'd certainly say the more caring, sensitive individual find it harder going.

So what could you do to find your man? Well get yourself out there is what I say. It's rich coming from me since I'm not a poster boy for getting myself up and putting myself out there but lately I've realized the only way I'll ever meet anyone is by putting myself out there by getting involved and interacting more. Everyone will say join a club, society, class etc. but only do it if there is something that you are genuinely interested in.

At the end of the day there are good genuine decent blokes out there but it's all about finding them! Whatever you do don't get into a relationship for the sake of it. I know people who have and it's nearly always ended in tears. Keep the chin up, be yourself and you'll be grand! :)
    You've gone up in my estimation, Mr Zane.

OP, I know it's not easy, but try not to worry about it. It'll all come in good time, so just focus on what's good in your life and let the rest happen when it's meant to. My siblings are all much older than I; my sisters didn't have their first serious boyfriends until they were 25 or so - that was 8 & 6 years ago respectively, and they're both married now (not to the guys they had their first relationships with) and incredibly happy. You might meet someone tomorrow or it might be a few years, but you will meet someone. One of my sisters found it particularily difficult in her early twenties and battled with depression, but she got through it. There's light at the end of the tunnel, chin up!
    Lots of guys have told me I'm pretty and sweet and blah blah but no one has actually asked me out! I consider myself a nice person, I'm really loyal and reliable and I'm a good friend. I know girls at college who treat their b/fs like crap, cheat on them and mess them around, it just seems so unfair!! Now I am 20 and people are constantly asking me why I don't have a boyfriend and I never know what to say! Its not that I don't want one. I just don't know how to find one!
    I'm in a similar situation, although i've been asked out the odd time, I have a bad habit of sabotaging myself! People also ask why I'm missing an other half, and I've come up with a theory that helps keep me upbeat. Stay positive, group hug everybody!

It'll all come up Millhouse for you eventually, so chill. There's no point endless self-analysing yourself and thinking what you can do to change it, it'll just make you miserable. Focus on doing the things you like and focus on what you like about yourself.

Now, if you can avoid falling insanely head-over-heels in love with someone who doesn't feel the same way and you don't still think about them every day over a year later, you'll be doing well!

Gah, I miss her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 massimo

Clubs are rubbish for meeting girls. Where would you suggest that is a good place to meet girls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

waterbabe wrote:
    Ha! In my TKD class there are about 40, 40 kids! Although going to all the different events is agreat way to meet guys...oh yes...
    Live music events are great! And mostly when you like the same music you are fairly compatible, not entirely but fairly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

dont' feel under pressure to do anything you don't want to do just because everyone else appears to be doing it, loads of 20 year olds actually haven't. you'll know yourself when your ready, you've got to be your own boss and trust yourself and you will meet somone nice, after all birds of a feather flock together.

everyone is different. if you look at people who have had bfs do they appear any more happy then you do?

just be happy with who you and what you've got and when your not looking one will find you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Actually - heres a suggestion. Come to boards beers. There's a 5:1 lads:lassies ratio there, no-ones looking for a quick shag, and if you don't find someone you're almost certain to have a good night out.

ferdi wrote:
    would you consider going to the boards beers social(see link below)? plenty of great blokes there

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=309481

Actually - heres a suggestion. Come to boards beers. There's a 5:1 lads:lassies ratio there, no-ones looking for a quick shag, and if you don't find someone you're almost certain to have a good night out.
    hello?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭DAEDULUS

What have u actually done to get better with women? nothing serious i'd imagine
    might seem gay to you but there so much info on the internet about getting better with women,take a look and you might get somewhere because your pretty mixed up about how to get women judging from your post...

think about this... has there ever been a m8 of yours that was a total player,and would always have his pick of the bunch..if so,you think he is somehow born like this the player he is? doubt it,his looks or 'manly' attitude got him the attention when he was younger,and ever since he has been getting better and better with women,its not in your genes or luck,its a skill,knowing what to say just comes from practice :p

hopefully a bit motivating :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

all you guys/gals seem to dismiss clubs and pubs for meeting your partner. Its not all that bad. Alright most of them are far to loud and you cant chat anyone up inside which I f*cking hate (shouting into someone's ear aint healthy) but the smoking area is a brilliant area to meet the opposite side and show a bit of your personality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Adblock

manof20 wrote:

Not if your Jesus

Dax Wax wrote:
    not great advice for the girl, since 14 she's prob been wondering is there something wrong with her when obviously theres not and your askin her to relax? If ya want my number pm me Im lonely now!!!(joke). just do what the rest says but when you think its right. being a virgin isnt a problem either. it will be great when it happens

That is perfect advice. She has nothing to panic about. She is only 20. Just because she doesnt have a boyfriend NOW doesnt mean she NEVER will.

The best thing she can do is relax about it. Her husband will be glad she never had loads of boyfriends or one night stands when she was younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

no-ones looking for a quick shag
    Confounded! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Victor wrote:
    Confounded! ;)
    Hush, let them think that...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Someone needs to organise a boards beers thats actually a boards speed dating night. Seriously, the number of potential matches is fantastic.

OP, I wouldnt worry about your age, you'll definitely meet someone, probably soon. Just stop making it an issue and it will happen. Relax, go out with friends and if you see some you like and would like to see again, dont be afraid to pursue the issue.

If you ask a guy out he will 9 times out of ten accept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭styer

OP, don't worry about it at all, just get out there, join some societies and get involved, even if you don't meet anyone, at least it will start to build your confidence, they say you find a relationship when you are least looking for it, it's true cause your not pushing it, your more relaxed and that can come across well, I was older when I had my first proper girlfriend.. give it time you are still very young, it will come.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Troll

I didnt meet my 1st serious g/f until i was 22. Just give it time. Everyone gets down about it when they're not with someone, but usually, it all comes together.

I'm happier than ever now 20 months down the line.

Note: Girls do go for assholes, for some reason it's more attractive to them. Girls and guys for that matter get extremely attached to a partner that is less interested or that treats them like crap. Thats a fact. Of course there r e lots of loving relationships out there, but there are also countless examples of what i mentioned.

your right, girls seem to go for the bad boy that will treat them like crap, eventually they will go for the nice guy, they see him in a decent job living a respectable life, treating people as they deserve to be treated etc.... but by then usually all the nice guys usually aren't interested....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

styer wrote:
    your right, girls seem to go for the bad boy that will treat them like crap, eventually they will go for the nice guy, they see him in a decent job living a respectable life, treating people as they deserve to be treated etc.... but by then usually all the nice guys usually aren't interested....

Indeed, I'd regard myself as an easy going guy and wouldn't be interested in a girl coming on to me who'd had her fun and done the rounds with all the 'bad boys', like I'm 2nd best; I'd rather stay single.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Dax Wax

styer wrote:

spot on. btwn 17 - 25 bad boys seem great option, and without trying to sound sexist girls seem to grow out of it and look beyond it. I think they can argue though that most guys between 17 - 23 still act 12 anyway so Im gettin that out of the way before that arguement starts.

I wouldnt worry to much, it will happen in time. Like another said my sisters are alot older than me and didnt meet their fellas till 26/27 so you have loads of time. No need to rush stuff like that. It can be lonely but it really is a matter of gettin to know as many people as you can and getting out there. someone will catch your eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Neo#

Im a 22 year old guy and i have never had a gf or serious relationship. I try not to worry about it. You do get feelings like you have to hurry up. Like time is running out. Things have been looking up for me recently though with girls showing interest. I think everyone develops in their own time with this stuff. Im finding out now though that you have to get out there and start making it happen rather than hopeing it will happen to you. I like the sound of that boards speed dating. How cool would that be? Maybe you should give internet dating a go. At least everybody is in the same situation then?

ya i agree with the last post, Im 21 F and have never had a serious b-friend, just a few dates TBH It's great fun being single and I know I wont be able to do it forever. At least I can say I didn't miss out on all the fun that college can be and this is because ive never had to consider someone else. Ive been able to head abroad for the last 3 summers and enjoy them completely without missing anyone. So don't stress your not the only one out there who is still single and never gone out with someone... enjoy it while your still young!!! I know by going out and enjoying being single I will one day meet the guy that makes me completely happy, until then I wont stress.

you fing with relationships when it rains it really pours

yeah but i'm sitting on a twenty year drought over here!

20 years???

20 years and no - you know???

Laguna wrote:
    Indeed, I'd regard myself as an easy going guy and wouldn't be interested in a girl coming on to me who'd had her fun and done the rounds with all the 'bad boys', like I'm 2nd best; I'd rather stay single.

It's amazing, some girls get treated like crap by there boyfriends, then when they finally grow out of it or get a grip with themselves they go looking for a nice guy, someone she can settle down with, she has had her fun, lived her live etc, so the nice guy is 2nd best...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

I was the same until 2 years ago honey i know exactly how you feel (in fact I feel better after reading it!). I was never into being with anyone in school and in colege I lived quite a distance away and didnt socialise. I had a fling of a few weeks with an @sshole at 21 and at 23 met a guy and we went out for a bit but he was never really a boyfriend. Then last year I started going out with a friend id had for a while. we have been together a year now so it just goes to show these things do happen. im glad it took til now to find him and that I didnt just go off with the first guy who liked me for the sake of having a boyf (you wul dbe surprised how many girls do that). Being single makes you a strong and independant peron and these are great qualities to have and they will play a big part when you do get together with someone. Just take your time and relax - the right person will find you!!).

also look aon the brightside - at least you didnt end up going out with someone when you were younger and ending up pregnant young or catching an std or discovering you didnt real love him something like that!! ;-)